Fox 2000 Pictures | Release Date: December 15, 2006
3.4
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 322 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
68
Mixed:
57
Negative:
197
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
DaveHMar 29, 2010
Nice sfx effects but hell, it was written by a kid!!! It's obvious he only had 2 influences: Harry Potter books and the movie Dragonheart, which was good.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
4
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
The film would've been a lot better if Peter Jackson or Ridley Scott headlined it, and added and hour or so.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
DustyPigFeb 2, 2012
Just in case if you don't know, here is a rundown of the story - A poor farmboy finds a blue object with relations to a princess. When his uncle dies he goes with an old man to flee the Empire's elite troops. On the way the old man teachesJust in case if you don't know, here is a rundown of the story - A poor farmboy finds a blue object with relations to a princess. When his uncle dies he goes with an old man to flee the Empire's elite troops. On the way the old man teaches him of a magical force and gives him a weapon. The boy finds out that the old man used to be part of an ancient order that kept peace before they were betrayed by one of their own. They then go to rescue the princess that sent the blue object, but in doing so the old man dies trying to save the boy. They then go to the rebel stronghold, meeting a guy with a dark past along the way. However, they are tracked and the Empire attacks the rebels. However, the boy defeats the enemy commander in a dogfight and the rebels defeat the enemy force. Sound familiar? And on top of the story being an outright copy of Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope, the best actor is really the dragon. Ed Speelers just stands there going 'wow!', Jeremy Irons is given a really bland script and John Malkovich only speaks in one scene. The dragon is really the only redeeming factor, being that it looks and flows like a giant bird of prey and that Rachel Weisz voices her like who she is in the books, caring yet young and brash. The rest of the movie is just a worse rendition of something that we've all seen before, be it Star Wars or Lord of the Rings. Its not cliched, but reading the book and seeing the movie gave me the feeling that Christopher Paolini was a wannabe Tolkien who had seen too much Star Wars. The book is well written and worth reading (originality aside), but the movie misses 70% of the story, and is less worth your time than the book. Go watch the original Star Wars Trilogy, The Lord of the Rings or read the book. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JavoD.Mar 7, 2007
I read the two books that are out... its not even close to the true story. Yes, the effects are nice, and the relation dragon-rider is well portraited, but the story is confusing, far tru from the original and very melodramatic. Yuck!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JudithD.Dec 17, 2006
Being that the rating was PG I took my 6 year old grandson to see it and was not pleased with the violence that the movie portrayed. I was surprised this film was not rated PG-13 and am wondering how much of this rating system is political. Being that the rating was PG I took my 6 year old grandson to see it and was not pleased with the violence that the movie portrayed. I was surprised this film was not rated PG-13 and am wondering how much of this rating system is political. Why are some movies like Pirates of the Carribean and Superman have less violence that this one are rated PG-13? Other than that the movie is okay and very visual. A tear arose when I thought the dragon was dying. The end of the movie lets you know there will be a second and probably a third. I would rather have one really good movie than 3 so so films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlexDec 25, 2006
Not a bad movie... not a great one either. like most book-turned-movie movies, it doesn't quite justify the book. it was short, had some ho-hum acting, and only a few good moments. but, its definitely something to see on a snowy Not a bad movie... not a great one either. like most book-turned-movie movies, it doesn't quite justify the book. it was short, had some ho-hum acting, and only a few good moments. but, its definitely something to see on a snowy christmas eve-eve. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveK.Mar 21, 2007
It's decent fun if you like this sort of movie, not the "worst movie ever". It's not going to win over anyone who does not go out of their way to watch movies with dragons and magic. I actually felt that it was too short, not It's decent fun if you like this sort of movie, not the "worst movie ever". It's not going to win over anyone who does not go out of their way to watch movies with dragons and magic. I actually felt that it was too short, not enough time for any kind of character development, and the last 30 minutes feels super rushed. Good for kids and people who like kids' movies The first hour story is Star Wars, the last half hour is Lord of the Rings, but both not done nearly as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DevonC.Mar 23, 2007
Cheezy sets, nice acting, great visuals, interesting story, and better than the reviewer's say. My sister would really enjoy this one because its meant to be a kids film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
[Anaymous]Mar 24, 2007
Not as bad as review would suggest, but Eragon suffers from poor direction. The storytelling is mediocre, and the director has no grasp on emotions or character development. Fangmeier an FX guy, so the film looks good, but his lackluster Not as bad as review would suggest, but Eragon suffers from poor direction. The storytelling is mediocre, and the director has no grasp on emotions or character development. Fangmeier an FX guy, so the film looks good, but his lackluster direction leaves the film in an awkward grey spot. Sure, the novel, which i haven't read, won't win the pulitzer prize, but there no denying that Fangmeier failed to bring out the best in it. Eragon still makes passable fantasy entertainment, but you can't help but feel a bit frustrated that better direction could've made this a fire-breathing smash instead of a mediocre stumble. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LaurelO'BrienDec 16, 2006
The book is FANTASTIC!!! but the movie, was not something i would be proud to say i directed, for example. if this movie was anything like the book, it would be 10+. i'm disappointed. i was hoping to finally get a good movie out of myThe book is FANTASTIC!!! but the movie, was not something i would be proud to say i directed, for example. if this movie was anything like the book, it would be 10+. i'm disappointed. i was hoping to finally get a good movie out of my favorite book. if they do Eldest, they better shape up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LuisG.Dec 16, 2006
ok i was mildly entertained by this film the effects are high gloss .... script felt like a unrevised draft of a much better film.. stil the same my younger brother enjoyed himself hope to see the sequel ...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GregDec 17, 2006
Okay, it could have been worse... But it also could have been MUCH better, ad I'll leave it at that. One has to wonder how much Chris Paolini actually contirubted to this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelH.Dec 18, 2006
The movie, while not exactly bad, hits just below whelming. The plot feels too condensed, the story in the form of this movie just doesn't have an epic feel about it, and some scenes definitely have a Power Rangers feel about them. The The movie, while not exactly bad, hits just below whelming. The plot feels too condensed, the story in the form of this movie just doesn't have an epic feel about it, and some scenes definitely have a Power Rangers feel about them. The visuals are nice and the acting is passable, but these don't save the film from being slightly underwhelming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LaurieW.Dec 22, 2006
The book was so exciting and intricate. I was very disapointed in the screen play. Other than the character names and the general story line, the movie didn't really resemble the book. The characters played the parts well but the script The book was so exciting and intricate. I was very disapointed in the screen play. Other than the character names and the general story line, the movie didn't really resemble the book. The characters played the parts well but the script was lacking all the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlexH.Dec 28, 2008
I am a big fan of the book and I enjoyed it and I was excited to hear that a movie adaptation was to be released. I watched it the opening day and I was somewhat dissapointed. What I found most annoying about the movie is its large I am a big fan of the book and I enjoyed it and I was excited to hear that a movie adaptation was to be released. I watched it the opening day and I was somewhat dissapointed. What I found most annoying about the movie is its large differences between the book. But that counted for only about one-twelvth of my final decision of how good or bad the movie itself was. There was few let downs but all in all, the movie wasn't as bad as what most people are saying it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LiamDec 15, 2006
Terrible direction, pacing that would make anyone but Uwe Boll vomit, plot misdirection that makes a Wayan's comedy look good, acting worse than Hayden Christensen in 'Attack of the Clones' and script that sounds as if a 13 Terrible direction, pacing that would make anyone but Uwe Boll vomit, plot misdirection that makes a Wayan's comedy look good, acting worse than Hayden Christensen in 'Attack of the Clones' and script that sounds as if a 13 year old wrote it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AnonymouseDec 21, 2006
Well, it's a nice popcornmovie. The special effects make it worth watching. But the parallels to Lord of the Rings and Starwars are so clear :(, The story is lame most of the time. What a pity :(
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
oxanaAug 28, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I waited a lot from this movie - and then again, didn't dare to expect too much.

As a movie, Eragon wasn't the most brilliant piece I have seen. The scenes were merely bouncing from one place to another, cutting a piece from here, then rushing back to some other place. A longer movie may have erased this problem, I think.

Also, one couldn't stop thinking that "hey, this is just like in the Lord of the Rings" - which must happen with most fantasy movies these days.

The effects (dragons, for one) were realistic and beautiful. The rating should be higher, though, if you ask me. There was rather much violence, and although not much is shown... Well, the movie is dark.

Big minus for the ending. The last little scene did stand promisingly if you're looking forward to a sequel, but the one before that just reflected on the completely needless "romance" in the movie - they should have scratched that out and add a bit more between the character dynamics.

I haven't read the book, so I don't know how well it was translated into a movie. Altogether, I'm sure the makers of the movie wanted the scenes have more weight than they actually did in the end.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SerotamJan 9, 2017
Some may say this movie is arguably the worst of 2006 when prepared to compare it to the book. I've never seen the book so I can't compare this to it at all. Anyways, the movie to me makes sense for the most part and how could anyoneSome may say this movie is arguably the worst of 2006 when prepared to compare it to the book. I've never seen the book so I can't compare this to it at all. Anyways, the movie to me makes sense for the most part and how could anyone disagree? The background of this movie borrows a significant plot element from Star Wars - Episode III: Revenge of the Sith in terms of the King in relation to the dragon riders and the land of Alagaesia and the main story line borrows plot elements from Star Wars - Episode IV: A New Hope. Eragon is clearly a parallel to Luke Skywalker, Brom to Obi Whan Khenobi, Arya to Princess Leia, King Galbatorix and Durza the Shade to Darth Sidius/the Emperor and Darth Vader, Saphira to the X-Wing and the magic to the force. When viewers realize this, they may be even more so prepared to compare the plot of this movie to that of those and that is an awfully tall order so to speak considering that the Star Wars Saga is arguably the greatest in cinema history. Another thing that can prevent this movie from getting a positive average score is the fact that certain occurrences or instances unfortunately happen so randomly and without hardly any explanation if at all. Brom saving Eragon from being killed by Durza makes sense but is very unlikely to occur the way it did plus Murtagh saving Eragon later was arguably the most random part of the whole movie. Was Murtagh supposed to be Eragon's new mentor while Brom was dead and gone? If so, some may argue he should have had a bigger, more significant impact on the plot. I imagine other fans probably hope the same thing. IMDB even confirms specifically that there are well over 50 differences between the book and the movie plot lines and also that many fans were upset over the director's decision to take out crucial characters and plot lines which probably explains why it was so different from the book. It may very well be the worst book-to-movie adaptation possibly ever according to some of the fans of the book. If you are a fan of the book and are ready to compare this to it, don't bother seeing this movie unless you watch it over someone else's house perhaps. Maybe you'll enjoy it for the computer generated special effects which is one of a few reasons this didn't get a low, red score from me. The movie had arguably an all star cast featuring the up and coming Ed Speelers who beat out 180,000 other potential actors to win the role of Eragon, Djimon Hounsou as Ajihad, (the leader of the Varden/Rebels), Rachel Weisz as the voice of Saphira, John Malkovich as King Galbatorix and Jeremy Irons as Brom but these parts in addition to the special effects do not make up for an arguably flat story. Some may argue that this movie is not quite unwatchably bad but there could have been so much more to it to make the story seem more similar to that of the novel. The movie will most likely be a disappointment from the fans of the book because of this. Check Youtube for a 20+ minute review by KrimsonRogue to see what I mean. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JosephASowellJun 5, 2015
It's pretty solid as a movie itself. However, it does not in any way do its source material justice. There is nothing from the book that is in the movie, besides the characters and the general idea of the movie. Also, don't say "written byIt's pretty solid as a movie itself. However, it does not in any way do its source material justice. There is nothing from the book that is in the movie, besides the characters and the general idea of the movie. Also, don't say "written by a teenager and it shows," that is comparing this movie to the book, which is way better than this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FantasygeekApr 19, 2015
Another most abominable movie i have ever watch. i myself a teenager that began to wrote fantasy novel, when i began to watch this, my desire to wrote another word for my novel is gone. feeling afraid to receiving a negative review norAnother most abominable movie i have ever watch. i myself a teenager that began to wrote fantasy novel, when i began to watch this, my desire to wrote another word for my novel is gone. feeling afraid to receiving a negative review nor respond by critic, (when it came out). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
A Boy and His Dragon.

“Eragon” is what happens when misguided studio executives option a novel written by a teenager (Christopher Paolini) with a head full of Anne McCaffrey and Ursula K. Le Guin. Not full enough, however; this
A Boy and His Dragon.

“Eragon” is what happens when misguided studio executives option a novel written by a teenager (Christopher Paolini) with a head full of Anne McCaffrey and Ursula K. Le Guin. Not full enough, however; this boy-and-his-dragon fantasy set in a land bristling with Tolkienesque nomenclature and earnest British actors is as lacking in fresh ideas as Tim Allen’s manager. Even the scaly star, a Delft-blue beastie whose tint suggests either royal lineage or hypothermia, seems unsure of her motivation.

Directed by the wonderfully named Stefen Fangmeier, “Eragon” boasts the usual genre lineup: an evil king (John Malkovich), a whey-faced hero (Ed Speleers) and a serene warrior-maiden (Sienna Guillory), as well as the required rebel hordes and bucolic landscapes. A hint of the exotic is provided by a dreadlocked Djimon Hounsou — who seems to be phoning in his lines from a booth in the Bahamas — while the marvelous Scottish actor Robert Carlyle, playing a steadily decomposing wizard, hisses incantations from a mouth resembling a nicotine-stained graveyard.

The film’s few moments of hilarity are no less welcome for being completely unintended (the young hero’s heavy-breathing romp with a strapping male cousin could only have been envisioned by someone completely lacking in subtext radar), though “Into the sky, to win or die!” doesn’t have quite the same mythic flair as “One Ring to Rule Them All.” And if some of the characters won’t be returning for the sequel, no matter. In all likelihood, neither will the audience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SimpsonFansJan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tiber5Jan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ThisIsSparta666Jan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PAMAJan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Pama300Jan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Creepers200Jan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MinecraftFFeb 12, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews