Fox 2000 Pictures | Release Date: December 15, 2006
3.4
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 325 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
68
Mixed:
59
Negative:
198
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
MariaB.Jan 15, 2007
The movie was a horrible attempt to bring a book and a magical world to the theaters. Making a book into a movie is ussualy never succesful and this movie took all the don't and put them there. They changed the story line, cut too many The movie was a horrible attempt to bring a book and a magical world to the theaters. Making a book into a movie is ussualy never succesful and this movie took all the don't and put them there. They changed the story line, cut too many events, rushed into teh action and basicaly destroyed an authors work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HL.Dec 30, 2007
The movie sucked. I don't think the director read the book. The director managed to remove everything good from the book and put in scenes that sucked. This was the worst movie of my life! A total waste of money. Who the heck made the The movie sucked. I don't think the director read the book. The director managed to remove everything good from the book and put in scenes that sucked. This was the worst movie of my life! A total waste of money. Who the heck made the script? Whoever it was, the person was a dope to cut out every single good part from the book! What happened to the urgals' horns? What happened to the deserted city? I just hope the movie director will finally decide to read Eldest and Eragon to make the second movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WesleyY.Mar 16, 2007
I don't know why all the critics ripped this movie apart. No, it won't win any awards, but it was an ok movie. As far as comparisons to LoTR, it was nothing like those movies, I liked it better than LoTR, but then again, I'm I don't know why all the critics ripped this movie apart. No, it won't win any awards, but it was an ok movie. As far as comparisons to LoTR, it was nothing like those movies, I liked it better than LoTR, but then again, I'm not one of those geeks that thinks hobbits and elves are awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LaurenR.Mar 23, 2007
Yeah, its definately a Star Wars plot plopped into the LOTR world, but its worth checking out. The actors are pretty decent, the dragon is wonderful, and the plot? Well, its a fun fantasy epic sure to entertain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BenH.Mar 28, 2007
Anyone who has read the books should agree, this is crud. It doesn't hardly follow the story at all - there is NO history and there is no reason to watch it. We should all ban together and get someone to make a movie that's Anyone who has read the books should agree, this is crud. It doesn't hardly follow the story at all - there is NO history and there is no reason to watch it. We should all ban together and get someone to make a movie that's accurate. I don't care if it's 6 hours long; that's what I want to see. I just cannot understand the mentality of the director and writers. What the heck is going on? It's RIDICULOUS how the movie turned out. It's way too short even with all the stuff out of it. It's just junk. True fans will not like this movie at all. It was very hard to actually watch the whole thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EricC.Mar 29, 2007
I knew how bad the reviews were, and I had read the book, which was such an obvious rip off of other fantasies that it would probably lose a purgery lawsuit. But despite this, I decided to give it a chance. My attention span lasted a I knew how bad the reviews were, and I had read the book, which was such an obvious rip off of other fantasies that it would probably lose a purgery lawsuit. But despite this, I decided to give it a chance. My attention span lasted a surprising one hour before I finally got up and walked away, with the sounds of this terrible movie at my back. I wish I could call it a decent kids movie, but I can't imagine any kid that wouldn't be bored to tears by this flick. It has no redeeming qualities at all. The special effects were even dull. If I could go back in time, only once, to do just one thing, it would be to hunt down the kid who wrote this (Paolini or something), and burn every scrap of his book before it could be published, so I could get back all the time I wasted reading and watching this atrociously bad story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AdamE.Apr 19, 2007
It is unfortunate when a mediocre book that gets popularity solely from less-than-avid readers is made into a film. Eragon is one of the worst of such films, failing to inspire like the far superior "Lord of the Rings", lacking both original It is unfortunate when a mediocre book that gets popularity solely from less-than-avid readers is made into a film. Eragon is one of the worst of such films, failing to inspire like the far superior "Lord of the Rings", lacking both original plot and compelling action. Purely derivative and a waste of 2 hours. Just watch LOTR3 again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChikoH.May 23, 2007
This has got to be the worst movie make of a book ever made. The ONLY similarities is the names and the the plot, re-written into 300 words! All the details were left out, the acting could be done buy a grade 8 media arts class and the This has got to be the worst movie make of a book ever made. The ONLY similarities is the names and the the plot, re-written into 300 words! All the details were left out, the acting could be done buy a grade 8 media arts class and the special effects could have been done buy a nerd in grade 10. I have read the books and they are catchy but the movie destroys every fragment of goodness that was in the book. Actually the movie shouldn't even be associated with the book. Maybe the writers of the movie should have read the book before they wrote the script. I had to watch the Lord of the Rings trilogy just to get the bad taste out of my mouth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BG.Jan 13, 2008
I gotta tell ya. I read this book and i can find hardly any likeness to the book at all. The book was great, the movie was horrible. They replaced the urgals with fat bald men. The replaced the dwarves with black people. They skipped at I gotta tell ya. I read this book and i can find hardly any likeness to the book at all. The book was great, the movie was horrible. They replaced the urgals with fat bald men. The replaced the dwarves with black people. They skipped at least twenty or so chapters. In fact, the only thing I can actually say that the movie adapted from the book was the names of people and places. When I saw this movie I wasn't expecting Lord of the Rings quality, but for god's sake man at least try to keep to the original. It seems like they took the pages of the book, ripped them out, let them soak in water for a while, then threw them at a pile of glue. Whatever stuck and whatever they could read is what went into the movie, and they blatantly made up the rest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlexH.Dec 28, 2008
I am a big fan of the book and I enjoyed it and I was excited to hear that a movie adaptation was to be released. I watched it the opening day and I was somewhat dissapointed. What I found most annoying about the movie is its large I am a big fan of the book and I enjoyed it and I was excited to hear that a movie adaptation was to be released. I watched it the opening day and I was somewhat dissapointed. What I found most annoying about the movie is its large differences between the book. But that counted for only about one-twelvth of my final decision of how good or bad the movie itself was. There was few let downs but all in all, the movie wasn't as bad as what most people are saying it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LiamDec 15, 2006
Terrible direction, pacing that would make anyone but Uwe Boll vomit, plot misdirection that makes a Wayan's comedy look good, acting worse than Hayden Christensen in 'Attack of the Clones' and script that sounds as if a 13 Terrible direction, pacing that would make anyone but Uwe Boll vomit, plot misdirection that makes a Wayan's comedy look good, acting worse than Hayden Christensen in 'Attack of the Clones' and script that sounds as if a 13 year old wrote it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Dec 15, 2006
Disaster. Nothing Like the Book. don't waste your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JadeC.Dec 16, 2006
I've read both books prior to seeing the show. All of the core plot pieces are there but there are a few things missing to fit everything into the movie. I thought the special effects were done well and Saphira looks great. I reccomend I've read both books prior to seeing the show. All of the core plot pieces are there but there are a few things missing to fit everything into the movie. I thought the special effects were done well and Saphira looks great. I reccomend watching the movie. No movie ever matches a book exactly. Just enjoy the show and when you have a chance read the books they are excellent. Don't bother comparing it to other movies, some critic probably ripped them apart to. I can't wait for the third book and I am looking forward to more Eragon and Saphira in new movies in the future! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BobB.Dec 16, 2006
Horrible acting, awful script, lousy unoriginal source material, and costumes right out of a bad rennaissance festival amount to a steaming pile of a film. Its just simply awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
Ralphkings...Dec 16, 2006
Really bad, no words to explain such thing! Director, do you read the book? Only Saphira is great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JG.SrDec 16, 2006
This movie is just plain bad. Bad writing. A waste of good and talented actors. The story was rushed and not developed. In the first 15 minutes, it was like soggy bread. No form and it just stayed in a mush state throughout. If you are one This movie is just plain bad. Bad writing. A waste of good and talented actors. The story was rushed and not developed. In the first 15 minutes, it was like soggy bread. No form and it just stayed in a mush state throughout. If you are one of the thousands of people who read the books, you had a better chance of staying with the completely altered storyline than a first time viewer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RandyM.Dec 16, 2006
This movie was made for the sole purpose of making money off of the Eragon license. This movie comes together in shambles and will disappoint even the hardcore Eragon fan. Almost everything in the book has been changed, which made me very This movie was made for the sole purpose of making money off of the Eragon license. This movie comes together in shambles and will disappoint even the hardcore Eragon fan. Almost everything in the book has been changed, which made me very angry. What no dwarves? Arya looks human? The Urgals look like bikers? Oh come on!! Overall, not worth the ticket money. I was severely disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ReaderADec 16, 2006
If you read and enjoyed the book, stay away from this movie! Only the names are the same. The story line was obliterated, character's appearances changed, and many important parts left out or changed beyond recognition. If Paolini had If you read and enjoyed the book, stay away from this movie! Only the names are the same. The story line was obliterated, character's appearances changed, and many important parts left out or changed beyond recognition. If Paolini had any control over this abomination, he owes his readers an apology. His time would have been better spent finishing the third book. If he didn't have any control, I hope he has learned his lesson! It's probably the worst screen adaptation of a book I've ever seen. They even put feathers on the dragon! Don't go, it's a Turkey! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WavetraXDec 18, 2006
We only started to enjoy this movie when we noticed its uncanny familiarity to Star Wars. Once we realized that the only way to enjoy it was to point out and laugh at the similarities to Star Wars (Jeremy Irons encased in carbonite!!!) Sad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
dubDec 18, 2006
The screenplay is awful and the acting virtually unwatchable. The whole mess is so shallow and transparent that even top FX Studios like Weta Dig & ILM couldn't add some magic with the Dragon, however well-rendered it may be. Avoid at The screenplay is awful and the acting virtually unwatchable. The whole mess is so shallow and transparent that even top FX Studios like Weta Dig & ILM couldn't add some magic with the Dragon, however well-rendered it may be. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AnonymouseDec 21, 2006
Well, it's a nice popcornmovie. The special effects make it worth watching. But the parallels to Lord of the Rings and Starwars are so clear :(, The story is lame most of the time. What a pity :(
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SamBDec 21, 2006
Made me cringe the whole way through by the way it condensed the magic of the best-selling book into a few good dragon flying special effect scenes. From the first scene when Durza walked through the fire which was so obviously blue screen Made me cringe the whole way through by the way it condensed the magic of the best-selling book into a few good dragon flying special effect scenes. From the first scene when Durza walked through the fire which was so obviously blue screen it hurt, I knew I was in for two boring hours. I don't know how they could spend so much money and then blow it all on a terrible script, it's just flabbergasting. Read the book rather than watch the movie PLEASE! The movie does it such injustice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarieDec 22, 2006
I saw the movie with two 8 year olds, who breathlessly declared it to be the best movie they had ever seen. They actually enjoyed the derivative parts; in their eyes it was extremely cool for a movie to be part Star Wars, part Harry Potter, I saw the movie with two 8 year olds, who breathlessly declared it to be the best movie they had ever seen. They actually enjoyed the derivative parts; in their eyes it was extremely cool for a movie to be part Star Wars, part Harry Potter, part Lord of the Rings. And for myself... I actually had a good time. I don't think this movie is nearly as bad as the critics say. Quite enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CharlesW.Dec 26, 2006
The pacing, acting, cinematography, and writing to this movie borders on atrocious. Someone call up George Lucas, I think he'll want his cut from this baby.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JonahM.Dec 26, 2006
Take Lord of the Rings, remove the originality, add bad acting, plot inconsistency, and horrid dialog and you get Eragon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JennyE.Dec 27, 2006
When I saw this movie I thought, "wow, this is a good movie." But after reading the book, I was completely disappointed. They left out a lot of good things and turned, what could have been a good movie, into a horrible one. With a great book When I saw this movie I thought, "wow, this is a good movie." But after reading the book, I was completely disappointed. They left out a lot of good things and turned, what could have been a good movie, into a horrible one. With a great book like Eragon, it was really disappointing to have a movie like this. I feel really bad for the author of this book, but oh well. I guess if you haven't read the book, then you'll like the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
kpNov 22, 2008
Ok, I expected nothing from this movie. Actually, I thought it'd be horrible. But to my surprise I thought it was pretty solid. The weakest link is the acting by "Eragon". But the rest of the cast was decent. I was actually touched by Ok, I expected nothing from this movie. Actually, I thought it'd be horrible. But to my surprise I thought it was pretty solid. The weakest link is the acting by "Eragon". But the rest of the cast was decent. I was actually touched by the story. I didn't read the book, so I couldn't care less if it did the book justice. Put it this way, it's not Return of the Jedi, but the are a lot of sci fi flicks out there that are MUCH worse than this. Writing and score were also quite solid. If you like D & D, video games and that sort of thing, I think you'll appreciate this one...it's at least worth a rent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexK.Dec 27, 2008
The worst atrocity I have ever seen in any context anywhere. Violently rapes the source novels of all redeeming features, resulting in atrocities that make the Harry Potter movies look completely faithful and loyal to the underlying novels. The worst atrocity I have ever seen in any context anywhere. Violently rapes the source novels of all redeeming features, resulting in atrocities that make the Harry Potter movies look completely faithful and loyal to the underlying novels. Not only is the film itself atrocious, the degree to which it disgraces the novels is unparalleled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DeVr33zSep 4, 2010
It's Lord of the Rings without the depth, or Star Wars without the sense of adventure. Either way the film is awful. The book might interest some people, but stay far away from this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MrCinnamonJul 15, 2011
I've always understood films deviating from the source. Some things which may have been written cannot be filmed. Lord of the Rings was a perfect example of how to do it. Jackson looked long and hard at the books and only cut scenes if theyI've always understood films deviating from the source. Some things which may have been written cannot be filmed. Lord of the Rings was a perfect example of how to do it. Jackson looked long and hard at the books and only cut scenes if they had no semblance to the overall plot. What came out was a masterpiece. So what about Eragon? There is only one word for this: An abomination. Every detail was wrong. Colour of their hair, age, growth, places they went too, how they got there, I could go on forever but instead I shall finish with why these cuts are such an atrocity. He cuts out parts key to the plot. No future films will be made from this...... this..... atrocity unto mankind. This film is a waste of your time, money and intelligence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
vini1904Aug 19, 2012
A few words to briefly describe this film: unbearable, boring, weak and boring, the acting is bad and the ending is quite predictable, save up scenarios.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Mad_Hatter91Dec 11, 2012
Eragon is a fantasy film of 2006 based on the novel by Christopher Paolini and directed by Stefen Fangmeier. The story is set in Alagaesia, a magical world ruled by a cruel tyrant Galbatorix which eliminated the race of dragons and his braveEragon is a fantasy film of 2006 based on the novel by Christopher Paolini and directed by Stefen Fangmeier. The story is set in Alagaesia, a magical world ruled by a cruel tyrant Galbatorix which eliminated the race of dragons and his brave knights, the only ones who had the courage to oppose his power. When young Eragon finds a blue stone in the forest initially thinks he has found a precious object to be able to sell to feed his family but later prove to be a dragon egg, which soon gives birth to a baby that grows with extraordinary speed. The creature, named Saphira soon establishes a telepathic contact with the young man, he discovers it to be an elected member of the Dragon Riders. And from here begins a dangerous adventure to save Alagaesia. The film itself has a lot of negative things such as the direction, which attempts to mimic that of "The Lord of the Rings" unsuccessfully the script that has cut many important parts and chapters for the movie success and the interpretation of some actors especially that of Edward Speleers in the role of Eragon. The special effects and the music are saved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
oxanaAug 28, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I waited a lot from this movie - and then again, didn't dare to expect too much.

As a movie, Eragon wasn't the most brilliant piece I have seen. The scenes were merely bouncing from one place to another, cutting a piece from here, then rushing back to some other place. A longer movie may have erased this problem, I think.

Also, one couldn't stop thinking that "hey, this is just like in the Lord of the Rings" - which must happen with most fantasy movies these days.

The effects (dragons, for one) were realistic and beautiful. The rating should be higher, though, if you ask me. There was rather much violence, and although not much is shown... Well, the movie is dark.

Big minus for the ending. The last little scene did stand promisingly if you're looking forward to a sequel, but the one before that just reflected on the completely needless "romance" in the movie - they should have scratched that out and add a bit more between the character dynamics.

I haven't read the book, so I don't know how well it was translated into a movie. Altogether, I'm sure the makers of the movie wanted the scenes have more weight than they actually did in the end.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
moonman1994Jan 27, 2013
Simply a terrible movie. Horrible acting and a bad adaptation of a great book. Overall it was a travesty. The only redeeming factor is Jeremy Irons' performance and that is the only reason I gave this a 1 instead of a 0. The worst part isSimply a terrible movie. Horrible acting and a bad adaptation of a great book. Overall it was a travesty. The only redeeming factor is Jeremy Irons' performance and that is the only reason I gave this a 1 instead of a 0. The worst part is that we all know that Malkovich can act but he wasn't in this movie. He was simply yelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Sh4rk82Oct 21, 2013
I am keen of fantasy movie but I say that this film is the worst that I ever seen on this genre. I don't read the book but I think that the storyline is too simply and silly. The plot hasn't deep, it's all told too fast, in my opinion theI am keen of fantasy movie but I say that this film is the worst that I ever seen on this genre. I don't read the book but I think that the storyline is too simply and silly. The plot hasn't deep, it's all told too fast, in my opinion the story jumps important steps. The story could be good, there is good element on which working but they didn't knew make a good film. The main actor (Eragon) acting bad like good part of the others actors. For make an example the lord of the rings is literally on the other planet!!! You don't see it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
InvdrShadowPonySep 6, 2012
NNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
This is unacceptable. How could you mess this movie up so badly? Really? The book was amazing and even better when you notice that it was made by someone who wasn't even 18 yet. But... How? How do you make this movie
NNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
This is unacceptable. How could you mess this movie up so badly? Really? The book was amazing and even better when you notice that it was made by someone who wasn't even 18 yet. But... How? How do you make this movie THIS bad? If I point out ever single detail, we'll be here all day, so I'll just do a few.
The acting was bad. Bad. Terrible. No one knew how to act. The visuals where very "Eh." They spent it all on a few individual shots. The story was utter crap. It jumped around way too much and never made sense. It still doesn't make sense if you read the book. Like how Saphira could fly into the sky and suddenly become a fully-grown dragon at the start of the film.
It was so far off from the original book (like how the Ra'zac where... Whatever the hell they were, how... Everything about Brom was executed or how they made Eragon seem like a Disney princess) that I couldn't believe it was even kind of related. Even if it was it's own thing without the book, it would still be the worst film of all time. I would rate it -1 out of 999,999,999 if I could, but sadly, I can only rate it a zero out of ten.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
jfrotylpe532Dec 4, 2012
Oh dear lord where to begin. You know you've seen a piece of crap when you watch this film. To make a film out of an adult setting book with darkness everywhere and instead make cheesy and boring lines everwhere dissapoints me. The eventsOh dear lord where to begin. You know you've seen a piece of crap when you watch this film. To make a film out of an adult setting book with darkness everywhere and instead make cheesy and boring lines everwhere dissapoints me. The events were poorly plotted, not to mention the terrible Saphira and Eragon. In the future, if your gonna make a book into a movie make sure you read it first Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
KaitlynGFeb 13, 2013
The movie Eragon is almost a completely different story than the book that it is based on. The book is about 544 words and the movie is only 104 minutes long, so obliviously there is going to some shortcomings in the movie. But compared toThe movie Eragon is almost a completely different story than the book that it is based on. The book is about 544 words and the movie is only 104 minutes long, so obliviously there is going to some shortcomings in the movie. But compared to other movies that are based off of books, this movie was a huge disappointment! The movie put the story together with a series of scenes that tell the story in a choppy manner.
If you have never read the book then you might be able to understand the story and like it, but for those that have read the book, you will basically want to stop the movie not even half way through. The book is long because the author, Christopher Paloini, put an immense of detail into the story and in the movie there is almost no detail. It seems as if the producers wanted to get the story across without any embellishments, in which case they accomplished their goal. There is only two characters that I thought were portrayed well: the dragon Shaphira and the Razac. The Razac were hideous and deadly looking and Saphira was beautiful, graceful, and strong which is how she is portrayed in the book as well.
Overall I would say this movie would be a one-time view, nothing more.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
clivecusslerfanMar 12, 2013
i read the books till the last one. even though i initially felt the stories were borrowed the last book was just epic. and my humble recommendation pls dont watch the movie, a waste of time, money. the movie didnt have the dwarves or thei read the books till the last one. even though i initially felt the stories were borrowed the last book was just epic. and my humble recommendation pls dont watch the movie, a waste of time, money. the movie didnt have the dwarves or the elves who are imp and i wont even attempt to watch a sequel to this damned movie if there is one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
FranzHcriticJan 7, 2014
I am generally not a person leaning towards the fantasy genre, in books and, after watching this for the first time when it first premiered, especially movies. The lugubrious story is pitiful to watch, the acting is corny as well as theI am generally not a person leaning towards the fantasy genre, in books and, after watching this for the first time when it first premiered, especially movies. The lugubrious story is pitiful to watch, the acting is corny as well as the dialogue, and to see Malkovich and Irons act in a film like this one is disgraceful. Irons should stick to being a villain. I re-watched to see why it was so bad. Now I come to regret letting my curiosity make my decisions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MichaelBagameryJan 29, 2015
Absolutely awful, and I say that having read and enjoyed the book when I was eleven years old and had lousy taste. I hated this movie enough not yet having seen "Star Wars" [*cue collective flabbergasted gasps from everyone who reads this*],Absolutely awful, and I say that having read and enjoyed the book when I was eleven years old and had lousy taste. I hated this movie enough not yet having seen "Star Wars" [*cue collective flabbergasted gasps from everyone who reads this*], and now that I have, I regret have seen THIS even more. At least "Star Wars" has better acting and a reasonably thrilling plot; the effects and sets are what little this movie has going for it and they are not on display nearly long enough to redeem it from utter turpitude. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SerotamJan 9, 2017
Some may say this movie is arguably the worst of 2006 when prepared to compare it to the book. I've never seen the book so I can't compare this to it at all. Anyways, the movie to me makes sense for the most part and how could anyoneSome may say this movie is arguably the worst of 2006 when prepared to compare it to the book. I've never seen the book so I can't compare this to it at all. Anyways, the movie to me makes sense for the most part and how could anyone disagree? The background of this movie borrows a significant plot element from Star Wars - Episode III: Revenge of the Sith in terms of the King in relation to the dragon riders and the land of Alagaesia and the main story line borrows plot elements from Star Wars - Episode IV: A New Hope. Eragon is clearly a parallel to Luke Skywalker, Brom to Obi Whan Khenobi, Arya to Princess Leia, King Galbatorix and Durza the Shade to Darth Sidius/the Emperor and Darth Vader, Saphira to the X-Wing and the magic to the force. When viewers realize this, they may be even more so prepared to compare the plot of this movie to that of those and that is an awfully tall order so to speak considering that the Star Wars Saga is arguably the greatest in cinema history. Another thing that can prevent this movie from getting a positive average score is the fact that certain occurrences or instances unfortunately happen so randomly and without hardly any explanation if at all. Brom saving Eragon from being killed by Durza makes sense but is very unlikely to occur the way it did plus Murtagh saving Eragon later was arguably the most random part of the whole movie. Was Murtagh supposed to be Eragon's new mentor while Brom was dead and gone? If so, some may argue he should have had a bigger, more significant impact on the plot. I imagine other fans probably hope the same thing. IMDB even confirms specifically that there are well over 50 differences between the book and the movie plot lines and also that many fans were upset over the director's decision to take out crucial characters and plot lines which probably explains why it was so different from the book. It may very well be the worst book-to-movie adaptation possibly ever according to some of the fans of the book. If you are a fan of the book and are ready to compare this to it, don't bother seeing this movie unless you watch it over someone else's house perhaps. Maybe you'll enjoy it for the computer generated special effects which is one of a few reasons this didn't get a low, red score from me. The movie had arguably an all star cast featuring the up and coming Ed Speelers who beat out 180,000 other potential actors to win the role of Eragon, Djimon Hounsou as Ajihad, (the leader of the Varden/Rebels), Rachel Weisz as the voice of Saphira, John Malkovich as King Galbatorix and Jeremy Irons as Brom but these parts in addition to the special effects do not make up for an arguably flat story. Some may argue that this movie is not quite unwatchably bad but there could have been so much more to it to make the story seem more similar to that of the novel. The movie will most likely be a disappointment from the fans of the book because of this. Check Youtube for a 20+ minute review by KrimsonRogue to see what I mean. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Eragon just fails.
A sad and terrible adaption of the book. Eragon is shot down almost to begin with over poor writing and a bad script. The movie goes from an action adventure to a crud filled tornado in a matter of minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
entelejentMar 5, 2014
The worst or second worst movie I've fully watched. My mouth was gaping for a good part of it. It (hopefully temporarily) degraded my mind; I was seriously wondering whether some terrorists had produced this movie.
There are movies you may
The worst or second worst movie I've fully watched. My mouth was gaping for a good part of it. It (hopefully temporarily) degraded my mind; I was seriously wondering whether some terrorists had produced this movie.
There are movies you may say have "no depth." But this goes further, because it seemed as if they did almost everything they could to fantastically make situations as shallow as possible. I loved the book. But this...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JosephASowellJun 5, 2015
It's pretty solid as a movie itself. However, it does not in any way do its source material justice. There is nothing from the book that is in the movie, besides the characters and the general idea of the movie. Also, don't say "written byIt's pretty solid as a movie itself. However, it does not in any way do its source material justice. There is nothing from the book that is in the movie, besides the characters and the general idea of the movie. Also, don't say "written by a teenager and it shows," that is comparing this movie to the book, which is way better than this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FantasygeekApr 19, 2015
Another most abominable movie i have ever watch. i myself a teenager that began to wrote fantasy novel, when i began to watch this, my desire to wrote another word for my novel is gone. feeling afraid to receiving a negative review norAnother most abominable movie i have ever watch. i myself a teenager that began to wrote fantasy novel, when i began to watch this, my desire to wrote another word for my novel is gone. feeling afraid to receiving a negative review nor respond by critic, (when it came out). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
A Boy and His Dragon.

“Eragon” is what happens when misguided studio executives option a novel written by a teenager (Christopher Paolini) with a head full of Anne McCaffrey and Ursula K. Le Guin. Not full enough, however; this
A Boy and His Dragon.

“Eragon” is what happens when misguided studio executives option a novel written by a teenager (Christopher Paolini) with a head full of Anne McCaffrey and Ursula K. Le Guin. Not full enough, however; this boy-and-his-dragon fantasy set in a land bristling with Tolkienesque nomenclature and earnest British actors is as lacking in fresh ideas as Tim Allen’s manager. Even the scaly star, a Delft-blue beastie whose tint suggests either royal lineage or hypothermia, seems unsure of her motivation.

Directed by the wonderfully named Stefen Fangmeier, “Eragon” boasts the usual genre lineup: an evil king (John Malkovich), a whey-faced hero (Ed Speleers) and a serene warrior-maiden (Sienna Guillory), as well as the required rebel hordes and bucolic landscapes. A hint of the exotic is provided by a dreadlocked Djimon Hounsou — who seems to be phoning in his lines from a booth in the Bahamas — while the marvelous Scottish actor Robert Carlyle, playing a steadily decomposing wizard, hisses incantations from a mouth resembling a nicotine-stained graveyard.

The film’s few moments of hilarity are no less welcome for being completely unintended (the young hero’s heavy-breathing romp with a strapping male cousin could only have been envisioned by someone completely lacking in subtext radar), though “Into the sky, to win or die!” doesn’t have quite the same mythic flair as “One Ring to Rule Them All.” And if some of the characters won’t be returning for the sequel, no matter. In all likelihood, neither will the audience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
The3AcademySinsOct 19, 2017
Yikes, is Eragon BAD. To be fair, the books are derivative, but they are entertaining and bring new elements to tried and true storytelling techniques. The books are at the very least, a fun ride. The movie is utterly bland at best and aYikes, is Eragon BAD. To be fair, the books are derivative, but they are entertaining and bring new elements to tried and true storytelling techniques. The books are at the very least, a fun ride. The movie is utterly bland at best and a nightmare at worst. The only elements that save this movie from being a 0 are Jeremy Irons as Brom and Rachel Weisz as Saphira. They honestly do their best with a bad script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SimpsonFansJan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tiber5Jan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ThisIsSparta666Jan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PAMAJan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Pama300Jan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Creepers200Jan 9, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MinecraftFFeb 12, 2017
The holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All basesThe holiday movie season's only epic fantasy adventure, certainly gets no points for originality. It's such a clone of "The Lord of the Rings," it probably could lose a plagiarism suit. There's also a heavy dash of "Harry Potter." All bases are covered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews