Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Zhuravsy
    Apr 6, 2013
    67
    Erased starts out strong...but for the rest of the running time, we are watching Ben catch up with us, and that makes for uninteresting cinema no matter how kinetic the action.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    May 5, 2013
    50
    The film seldom pushes beyond the bare-minimum dictates of the thriller, only rarely offering up a memorable action sequence.
  3. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    May 16, 2013
    50
    Depending on your age and memory, you’ll recognize cinematic DNA from everything from "Three Days of the Condor" to the "Taken" and "Bourne" franchises in this tale of a father and daughter on the run from an evil conspiracy.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Apr 6, 2013
    40
    This semi-efficient, Belgian-set timewaster fuses Taken with Unknown, and almost works.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Posner
    May 31, 2013
    38
    Erased, I predict, is a word that will be used to describe what happens to your memory of this cloned facsimile of a movie immediately after watching it.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    May 17, 2013
    30
    Erased is eminently forgettable.
  7. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Apr 29, 2013
    20
    The film’s glib disregard for collateral murder runs to farcical extremes.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. May 18, 2013
    6
    It's not a bad thriller. Clearly a low budget movie, but Aaron's performance is good and the story movies at a fair clip. i'd recommend it.It's not a bad thriller. Clearly a low budget movie, but Aaron's performance is good and the story movies at a fair clip. i'd recommend it. Special mention has to be made of tLiana Liberato who is very convincing as the daughter. It's much more real than other spy movies. Expand
  2. May 18, 2013
    6
    Most people can only watch the same movie so many times. But Philipp Stölzl is clearly hopeful that when you’re done with “Taken” (and “TakenMost people can only watch the same movie so many times. But Philipp Stölzl is clearly hopeful that when you’re done with “Taken” (and “Taken 2”), you’ll want more of the same. Should that be the case, this undistinguished but decent knockoff is ready to satisfy. Aaron Eckhart takes the Liam Neeson role as Ben Logan, a former CIA agent who lives in Brussels with his teenage daughter, Amy (Liana Liberato). He’s been working on some technology patents, but one day he shows up at the office only to find that it no longer exists. Nor, more to the point, do any of his colleagues. (Though mostly inspired by “Taken,” writer Arash Amel borrows freely from a range of thrillers, including “3 Days of the Condor” and various Bourne adventures. Soon Ben and Amy are on the run, as assassins hired by a shady corporation try to separate them, kidnap her and kill him.
    Stölzl makes nice use of his Belgian locations, with each violent confrontation becoming yet another wrong turn in an increasingly lethal maze.
    But, finally the film is slow paced but does chill and thrill. The thrills aren't actual thrills but still Taken 2 sucked ass in front of Erased.
    Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    Erased was a halfway decent movie but it failed to deliver on many accounts. For one, the plot was incredibly weak, and this was a surpriseErased was a halfway decent movie but it failed to deliver on many accounts. For one, the plot was incredibly weak, and this was a surprise because the premise had so much potential. The concept of an ex-CIA agent turned blue-collar guy trying to make a living but getting duped by a shell company and having to fight for the survival of he and his daughter seemed very interesting. However, the failed execution due to poor writing where the only way the plot either progresses or reaches conflict is through character stupidity is a let down. The acting was solid by the entire cast, though I think Olga Kurylenko was underutilized. The action sequences were pretty legit as well. All in all, it's worth a free watch but if I would've paid money to see it, I would've been pretty disappointed. Collapse
  4. Jan 8, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Been in something of an action thriller mood lately, but this film had me to the point where I actually groaned at some of the scenes. I'm not sure why they needed to the gimmick of having the daughter be on the rollercoaster with her CIA father, but it ruins what little they may have gained with Aaron Eckhart in the lead role.

    Often times when I see an actor or actress doing something wrong in terms of how to accurately portray emotions without appearing over the top, I blame the director, especially in an instance where I have seen the same actor nail a more difficult and confusing emotion. There are too many scenes in this movie where the players feel like they are being forced to try too hard. The worst offender (be it her own fault or not) is the young Liana Liberato some of the emotional change ups she conveys are just too unrealistic, even for a 14-15 year old girl that she is supposed to be playing. It would appear though that the director didn't coach Aaron in his role (which would make sense given as much star power as he has these days), as it seems he's the only one of all of them that gives a consistent and overall good performance.

    Erased, was likely a labor of love, for the writer Arash Amel and much care was taken to give the dialogue an authentic feel, however the delivery of the lines makes them feel campy and clichéd. Too bad that the director had to ruin his own movie so much.
    Expand

Trailers