Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: February 15, 2013
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 66 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
21
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
phildogFeb 15, 2013
Groundbreaking animation, unique original world, fleshed out characters with real humanity and depth. This movie has all the hallmarks of a Mainframe studios production...or it would, if this were over a decade ago, before Mainframe becameGroundbreaking animation, unique original world, fleshed out characters with real humanity and depth. This movie has all the hallmarks of a Mainframe studios production...or it would, if this were over a decade ago, before Mainframe became Rainmaker, and eliminated every part aspect of creativity and life within this studio.

As it stands, this movie is just awful. It has no consistent theme, not an quanta of depth within it, and will bore you to tears if you don't walk right out of the theater. It is everything Mainframe wasn't. Everything Pixar isn't. It was painful. Shrek 5 painful.

If you must see this movie, stop and grab a good book along the way, that way you'll have something to entertain you. This movie won't
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
2
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
So conventional to the point that you can almost always get tired with the movie. Its okay for animation, but the movie takes another turn with the same old plot on alien movies that wants you to get out of the theater and re-watch otherSo conventional to the point that you can almost always get tired with the movie. Its okay for animation, but the movie takes another turn with the same old plot on alien movies that wants you to get out of the theater and re-watch other movies you've already been to, rather than this predictable movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
EludiumQ36Aug 24, 2013
Strictly family-friendly fare with a predictable plot from beginning to end with stereotyped characters. The animation is top-notch and looks great on my 55-in HDTV via BluRay but that's really the only thing that separated it from being aStrictly family-friendly fare with a predictable plot from beginning to end with stereotyped characters. The animation is top-notch and looks great on my 55-in HDTV via BluRay but that's really the only thing that separated it from being a standard plot live-action film. Not sure why they opted for expensive A/B-list voice talent unless that was supposed to draw adults in. If you're over 18 don't waste your time unless you really like animated features on a killer HDTV. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
LanaDelReyMar 24, 2013
No Creativity At All... Another Boring Bland Animated Movie....
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
RyanAJun 16, 2013
The first words that come to my mind when I'm done watching the movie are: unoriginal, and stereotypical. How many times have I heard of aliens? Too many times. They already have done an animated alien movie, which, not my opinion, but inThe first words that come to my mind when I'm done watching the movie are: unoriginal, and stereotypical. How many times have I heard of aliens? Too many times. They already have done an animated alien movie, which, not my opinion, but in others opinions not very good. Who in there right mind would expect anything better then that success rate? Maybe I don't have much to say about the stereotypical part of the movie, but there are other things that caught my attention, forgettable characters, usually a movie has at least one unforgettable character. For me there was ZERO. Another issue I had was a glitch in the story line (or two, or more), well maybe just one, but it was sure noticeable. The humans up in the booth. What did the main character say about having to come to Earth? It was a hassle to go 14 or 15 light years to get to Earth. From what I've seen, the humans didn't come with them back to their planet. Why would they go out of their way to go and get the two humans if it was such a hassle? Many unanswered questions, 2.4/10 Collapse
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
eagleeyevikingApr 25, 2014
It could have been much worse but what director Cal Brunker does is bad enough; craft an unfunny, unequal and weak bore fest. All jokes felt recycled, a plot thinner than paper, a twist so unbelievably predictable and dialogue so unfunny andIt could have been much worse but what director Cal Brunker does is bad enough; craft an unfunny, unequal and weak bore fest. All jokes felt recycled, a plot thinner than paper, a twist so unbelievably predictable and dialogue so unfunny and lame. That being said, it was fairly entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
It could have been much worse but what director Cal Brunker does is bad enough; craft an unfunny, unequal and weak bore fest. All jokes felt recycled, a plot thinner than paper, a twist so unbelievably predictable and dialogue so unfunny andIt could have been much worse but what director Cal Brunker does is bad enough; craft an unfunny, unequal and weak bore fest. All jokes felt recycled, a plot thinner than paper, a twist so unbelievably predictable and dialogue so unfunny and lame. That being said, it was fairly entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Escape From Planet Earth" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Bad) ...

The Good: There were a couple of moments that were somewhat cute. The story gets off to a solid start. Brendan Fraser and Rob Corddry both were decent and were somewhat
"Escape From Planet Earth" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Bad) ...

The Good: There were a couple of moments that were somewhat cute. The story gets off to a solid start. Brendan Fraser and Rob Corddry both were decent and were somewhat unrecognizable.

The Bad: For the most part, aside from who I mentioned above, the voice cast was awful. The story itself becomes pretty mundane and run-of-the-mill, even for a kids movie. The animation was nothing special. Animated films have come a long way in the last 10-20 years (both in style and story) and the bar has been raised ... this particular film falls well below it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeMay 13, 2016
Why? Why should I escape from my own home planet? Unless you don't count... ooohhh, I felt that.... anything bad happening to the Earth, then that's okay. Escape from Planet Earth feels more like Coming to Planet Earth and that's saying something.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
gameguardian21Aug 25, 2016
Quickly, escape the horrors of this movie. Escape from planet earth is hard to watch without getting bored. Characters are as flat as the humor. The story is poorly told with nothing much really going on. I would recommend you avoid this messQuickly, escape the horrors of this movie. Escape from planet earth is hard to watch without getting bored. Characters are as flat as the humor. The story is poorly told with nothing much really going on. I would recommend you avoid this mess of a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SuperemeMar 5, 2017
This Movie is Junk because I don't Like this Film Anymore because I finally Learned the Truth. It was Supposed to be Released on Friday February 15 2013
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews