Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: February 15, 2013
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 66 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
21
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
SuperemeMar 5, 2017
This Movie is Junk because I don't Like this Film Anymore because I finally Learned the Truth. It was Supposed to be Released on Friday February 15 2013
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tiber5Nov 3, 2016
This really kicks the crap out of Planet 51. It's a mega animated movie, and it's totally epic. It digs deep into the mines and collects diamond and redstone. It is such a treasure to keep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
gameguardian21Aug 25, 2016
Quickly, escape the horrors of this movie. Escape from planet earth is hard to watch without getting bored. Characters are as flat as the humor. The story is poorly told with nothing much really going on. I would recommend you avoid this messQuickly, escape the horrors of this movie. Escape from planet earth is hard to watch without getting bored. Characters are as flat as the humor. The story is poorly told with nothing much really going on. I would recommend you avoid this mess of a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Crane2003Aug 12, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ayyyy dios... Bueno, es que.. Ósea, qué?! No tengo mucho que decir de esto, algunos personajes son planos y algo aburridos, no parecen tener mucha personalidad (excepto gary) los alienigenas del área 51 apenas me agradan, no dan risa, pero no irritan mucho... La animación está bien, a pesar de que la película sea de bajo presupuesto, con 40 millones de dólares puedes hacer animación decente. La banda sonora es poco memorable, no llegas a recordar ninguna pista o música en algún momento. También la comedia es estupida, ninguno de los chistes da risa, están mal ejecutados, el único chiste que me dio risa fue en la guerra de comida, cuando unos tipos del área 51 veian la pelea, pero la cámara estaba en blanco y negro, y no tenía audio, y uno de ellos empezó a tocar el piano como si fuera un cortometraje de los 40's. Pero todos los chistes son mierda... La ejecución de la película es bastante rara. Cuando pasa una escena, pasa rápidamente a otra, siendo esta muy apresurada, al hermano de gary lo secuestran a los 20 minutos de haber empezado la película, dando como se puso muy apresurado la película, aparte que cuando pasa una escena, con los mismos u otros personajes en otro escenario, parece como si fuera otra película, o algo así..

Bueno, esta película no la odio, y me parece un poco mala, al menos, tengo 12 años, y esta es otra de esas películas que no me gustan, como que este tipo de películas tiene un "toque que no me agrada" por así decirlo... En conclusión, escape from planet earth es una pelicula, un tanto pasable como mediocre...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeMay 13, 2016
Why? Why should I escape from my own home planet? Unless you don't count... ooohhh, I felt that.... anything bad happening to the Earth, then that's okay. Escape from Planet Earth feels more like Coming to Planet Earth and that's saying something.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
feetjaiMar 14, 2015
I don understand why people give this cartoon such a low review number...

The good things about this cartoon: - Story has a deeper layer. It's all about the relationship between aliens, which you as viewer can reflect back to yourself. A
I don understand why people give this cartoon such a low review number...

The good things about this cartoon:
- Story has a deeper layer. It's all about the relationship between aliens, which you as viewer can reflect back to yourself. A heart warming cartoon that is at par with the greater productions of Disney or Dreamworks. Great ending.

- The graphics are less good than the best cartoons, difference is like disney 10 and Escape from earth is 7.5, but hey , a good cartoon is a combination of multiple things that make it good or best.

- As a cartoon lover, I like only the cartoons that are not too expensive and have a good morale.

- Common jokes woven into the story.

- Bad guys loose and good guys win!

If you see this cartoon, watch it, you will not be disappointed! recommended!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Escape From Planet Earth" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Bad) ...

The Good: There were a couple of moments that were somewhat cute. The story gets off to a solid start. Brendan Fraser and Rob Corddry both were decent and were somewhat
"Escape From Planet Earth" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Bad) ...

The Good: There were a couple of moments that were somewhat cute. The story gets off to a solid start. Brendan Fraser and Rob Corddry both were decent and were somewhat unrecognizable.

The Bad: For the most part, aside from who I mentioned above, the voice cast was awful. The story itself becomes pretty mundane and run-of-the-mill, even for a kids movie. The animation was nothing special. Animated films have come a long way in the last 10-20 years (both in style and story) and the bar has been raised ... this particular film falls well below it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
It could have been much worse but what director Cal Brunker does is bad enough; craft an unfunny, unequal and weak bore fest. All jokes felt recycled, a plot thinner than paper, a twist so unbelievably predictable and dialogue so unfunny andIt could have been much worse but what director Cal Brunker does is bad enough; craft an unfunny, unequal and weak bore fest. All jokes felt recycled, a plot thinner than paper, a twist so unbelievably predictable and dialogue so unfunny and lame. That being said, it was fairly entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HaithamBAug 17, 2014
Escape From Planet Earth is a guilty pleasure of mine. But it would be more than biased to upgrade this movie because I just love it. With all honesty, it is a 7eleven commercial at times. Despite having its moments, it is cliched and veryEscape From Planet Earth is a guilty pleasure of mine. But it would be more than biased to upgrade this movie because I just love it. With all honesty, it is a 7eleven commercial at times. Despite having its moments, it is cliched and very predictable yet it is a guilty pleasure of mine that I can't get enough with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieReviewsJun 16, 2014
Before going into this movie, I knew that the movie is not going to be as good as a Pixar animation or a Dreamworks one. However, Escape from Planet Earth is really entertaining, funny and heartfelt at some parts. The movie is not flawless,Before going into this movie, I knew that the movie is not going to be as good as a Pixar animation or a Dreamworks one. However, Escape from Planet Earth is really entertaining, funny and heartfelt at some parts. The movie is not flawless, at some parts the animation feels like a video game animation, at other parts it feels like an ad for 7eleven, the characters are fairly cliched and briefly develop throughout, some unconvincing aspects of the film, and also some boring sequences, but the movie is fun, and that is what you want from such animated movie, for the most part. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
heidililyApr 30, 2014
Escape From Planet Earth is a really good family movie. It's really good for kids and is rated PG. My favorite part was when he went on a baby rescue mission. I highly recommend this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
eagleeyevikingApr 25, 2014
It could have been much worse but what director Cal Brunker does is bad enough; craft an unfunny, unequal and weak bore fest. All jokes felt recycled, a plot thinner than paper, a twist so unbelievably predictable and dialogue so unfunny andIt could have been much worse but what director Cal Brunker does is bad enough; craft an unfunny, unequal and weak bore fest. All jokes felt recycled, a plot thinner than paper, a twist so unbelievably predictable and dialogue so unfunny and lame. That being said, it was fairly entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpeedArtDec 25, 2013
The movie, is good for kids...that have no sense of critique or criticism. The animation is great, the jokes are usually funny, but the plot was just thrown together in a huge mess!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JacobNov 23, 2013
Escape From Planet Earth is not a bad movie but is by no means a compliment. Yes it does have some laughs and some clever ideas but the problems with this movie prevent them from shing. The story is cliché, most of the jokes are not thatEscape From Planet Earth is not a bad movie but is by no means a compliment. Yes it does have some laughs and some clever ideas but the problems with this movie prevent them from shing. The story is cliché, most of the jokes are not that funny, the characters are not that interesting, and the majority of the character models aren’t good to look at. This is the film you put on to keep your 5 year old quiet and entertained for an hour and a half. For everyone else you can afford to skip it. There is nothing here worth your while outside of a couple laughs but they are not worth it. This is a film for babies nothing more if you are in the mood for an animated film there are tons of better ones you can check out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lequebcois385Nov 4, 2013
I am posting this because I think critics are a little bit to sever about this one. This movie deserve a better metascore. If you want to enjoy a good looking fun to watch animation movie. This is one you might like. I give it 7, but a kidI am posting this because I think critics are a little bit to sever about this one. This movie deserve a better metascore. If you want to enjoy a good looking fun to watch animation movie. This is one you might like. I give it 7, but a kid might give it 9/10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
EludiumQ36Aug 24, 2013
Strictly family-friendly fare with a predictable plot from beginning to end with stereotyped characters. The animation is top-notch and looks great on my 55-in HDTV via BluRay but that's really the only thing that separated it from being aStrictly family-friendly fare with a predictable plot from beginning to end with stereotyped characters. The animation is top-notch and looks great on my 55-in HDTV via BluRay but that's really the only thing that separated it from being a standard plot live-action film. Not sure why they opted for expensive A/B-list voice talent unless that was supposed to draw adults in. If you're over 18 don't waste your time unless you really like animated features on a killer HDTV. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
film_bugAug 18, 2013
An easy-going family cartoon. The storyline had some family values, good for kids, not so much for adults. It was entertaining as far as a cartoon goes. The characters were one dimensional, and everything else was quite straight forward. GoodAn easy-going family cartoon. The storyline had some family values, good for kids, not so much for adults. It was entertaining as far as a cartoon goes. The characters were one dimensional, and everything else was quite straight forward. Good for a family movie night with the kids. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
MrEpic012Jul 18, 2013
The Animation Is A Bit Cheesy, The Characters Are Eh, The Story Is OK, the Recommend Audience For this Film is Ages 2-10 Anyone Under 2 Will Forget Because Memory Has not Kicked in At That age, Anyone Over 10 Like The Parents Who Go To SeeThe Animation Is A Bit Cheesy, The Characters Are Eh, The Story Is OK, the Recommend Audience For this Film is Ages 2-10 Anyone Under 2 Will Forget Because Memory Has not Kicked in At That age, Anyone Over 10 Like The Parents Who Go To See This Movie Might find it Over The Top. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
So conventional to the point that you can almost always get tired with the movie. Its okay for animation, but the movie takes another turn with the same old plot on alien movies that wants you to get out of the theater and re-watch otherSo conventional to the point that you can almost always get tired with the movie. Its okay for animation, but the movie takes another turn with the same old plot on alien movies that wants you to get out of the theater and re-watch other movies you've already been to, rather than this predictable movie. Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
RyanAJun 16, 2013
The first words that come to my mind when I'm done watching the movie are: unoriginal, and stereotypical. How many times have I heard of aliens? Too many times. They already have done an animated alien movie, which, not my opinion, but inThe first words that come to my mind when I'm done watching the movie are: unoriginal, and stereotypical. How many times have I heard of aliens? Too many times. They already have done an animated alien movie, which, not my opinion, but in others opinions not very good. Who in there right mind would expect anything better then that success rate? Maybe I don't have much to say about the stereotypical part of the movie, but there are other things that caught my attention, forgettable characters, usually a movie has at least one unforgettable character. For me there was ZERO. Another issue I had was a glitch in the story line (or two, or more), well maybe just one, but it was sure noticeable. The humans up in the booth. What did the main character say about having to come to Earth? It was a hassle to go 14 or 15 light years to get to Earth. From what I've seen, the humans didn't come with them back to their planet. Why would they go out of their way to go and get the two humans if it was such a hassle? Many unanswered questions, 2.4/10 Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
blakewilsonJun 15, 2013
Clever, smart, and funny, Escape from Planet Earth is a thrilling animated good time at the movies. Its not a fabulous movie, but it still is a whole lot of fun with some smart humor, exciting moments, and some feel-good lessons on family,Clever, smart, and funny, Escape from Planet Earth is a thrilling animated good time at the movies. Its not a fabulous movie, but it still is a whole lot of fun with some smart humor, exciting moments, and some feel-good lessons on family, heroism and sibling bonding. The animation, while paling in comparison to "Brave" and "How To Train Your Dragon" is still sleek and cartoony.

There's also not much to complain about. A few gross-out gags and a couple of other odd moments are as problematic as it gets. Some of the sci-fi explosions and whiz-bang action may be too intense for the youngest viewers.

For a more detailed review, visit www.moviestakenseriously.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
meganahernandezJun 13, 2013
This is a wonderful family movie for the family. My children were glued to the television screen. As an adult I very much enjoyed the movie as well. It had us laughing through the whole movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
LanaDelReyMar 24, 2013
No Creativity At All... Another Boring Bland Animated Movie....
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
ThegodfathersonMar 8, 2013
Escape from planet earth is very interesting. Very sweet for a children's film. I think It was not bad because its been Bredan Freaser's best CGI character. It packs a lot but its a must watch for every animated films lover in every part ofEscape from planet earth is very interesting. Very sweet for a children's film. I think It was not bad because its been Bredan Freaser's best CGI character. It packs a lot but its a must watch for every animated films lover in every part of the world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Ramrod77Feb 26, 2013
Wow, I don't know why everyone is so hard on this movie. Saw it opening day, went with another family, 5 kids, we and they all really liked it. No it's not a Pixar mega movie by any means, but it's still good. We laughed, the kids laughed,Wow, I don't know why everyone is so hard on this movie. Saw it opening day, went with another family, 5 kids, we and they all really liked it. No it's not a Pixar mega movie by any means, but it's still good. We laughed, the kids laughed, there were some adult orientated jokes as expected, etc etc. Saying the movie had no depth? Ok, I guess, it's not DEEP, but it's a kids flick. Nerdy alien brother, helps save the day over stronger jock brother, and the aliens escape the planet. Don't listen to the hard A$$es on here, they are out to lunch. Go see the flick, it's entertaining, and that's what we go to the movies for right? To be entertained. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
3
phildogFeb 15, 2013
Groundbreaking animation, unique original world, fleshed out characters with real humanity and depth. This movie has all the hallmarks of a Mainframe studios production...or it would, if this were over a decade ago, before Mainframe becameGroundbreaking animation, unique original world, fleshed out characters with real humanity and depth. This movie has all the hallmarks of a Mainframe studios production...or it would, if this were over a decade ago, before Mainframe became Rainmaker, and eliminated every part aspect of creativity and life within this studio.

As it stands, this movie is just awful. It has no consistent theme, not an quanta of depth within it, and will bore you to tears if you don't walk right out of the theater. It is everything Mainframe wasn't. Everything Pixar isn't. It was painful. Shrek 5 painful.

If you must see this movie, stop and grab a good book along the way, that way you'll have something to entertain you. This movie won't
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews