Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Feb 18, 2013
    60
    Feel-good but not cloying, zippy but not frenetic, and refreshingly free of snark, the default setting for a lot of kids' fare these days, the feature takes a pleasingly retro-futuristic stance on matters of décor and attitude.
  2. 50
    Unlike say, “Doogal” or “Hoodwinked 2,” at least you won’t want to gouge your eyes out after this one.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    Feb 15, 2013
    50
    The picture has enough entertainment value to tickle its target audience and even offers a few chuckles for accompanying adults. A strong cast and bright -- if uninspired — animation help to offset a thin story.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Feb 16, 2013
    50
    Colorful as the 3-D aliens-among-us comedy is to look at, though, Corddry is handed a role that’s beige as can be, and so are his castmates.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Feb 19, 2013
    50
    A lightweight, warp-speed, brightly colored trifle.
  6. Reviewed by: Vadim Rizov
    Feb 15, 2013
    40
    The late Douglas Adams summed up Earth as “mostly harmless,” a description that also applies to this eminently tolerable animated time-filler.
  7. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Feb 20, 2013
    0
    This movie is a mess: It keeps doubling back on itself – a twisting pretzel of a plot that doesn’t really make sense.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    This is a wonderful family movie for the family. My children were glued to the television screen. As an adult I very much enjoyed the movie asThis is a wonderful family movie for the family. My children were glued to the television screen. As an adult I very much enjoyed the movie as well. It had us laughing through the whole movie. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2015
    9
    I don understand why people give this cartoon such a low review number...

    The good things about this cartoon: - Story has a deeper layer.
    I don understand why people give this cartoon such a low review number...

    The good things about this cartoon:
    - Story has a deeper layer. It's all about the relationship between aliens, which you as viewer can reflect back to yourself. A heart warming cartoon that is at par with the greater productions of Disney or Dreamworks. Great ending.

    - The graphics are less good than the best cartoons, difference is like disney 10 and Escape from earth is 7.5, but hey , a good cartoon is a combination of multiple things that make it good or best.

    - As a cartoon lover, I like only the cartoons that are not too expensive and have a good morale.

    - Common jokes woven into the story.

    - Bad guys loose and good guys win!

    If you see this cartoon, watch it, you will not be disappointed! recommended!
    Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Clever, smart, and funny, Escape from Planet Earth is a thrilling animated good time at the movies. Its not a fabulous movie, but it still isClever, smart, and funny, Escape from Planet Earth is a thrilling animated good time at the movies. Its not a fabulous movie, but it still is a whole lot of fun with some smart humor, exciting moments, and some feel-good lessons on family, heroism and sibling bonding. The animation, while paling in comparison to "Brave" and "How To Train Your Dragon" is still sleek and cartoony.

    There's also not much to complain about. A few gross-out gags and a couple of other odd moments are as problematic as it gets. Some of the sci-fi explosions and whiz-bang action may be too intense for the youngest viewers.

    For a more detailed review, visit www.moviestakenseriously.blogspot.com
    Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2013
    5
    The movie, is good for kids...that have no sense of critique or criticism. The animation is great, the jokes are usually funny, but the plotThe movie, is good for kids...that have no sense of critique or criticism. The animation is great, the jokes are usually funny, but the plot was just thrown together in a huge mess!. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    4
    Escape From Planet Earth is not a bad movie but is by no means a compliment. Yes it does have some laughs and some clever ideas but theEscape From Planet Earth is not a bad movie but is by no means a compliment. Yes it does have some laughs and some clever ideas but the problems with this movie prevent them from shing. The story is cliché, most of the jokes are not that funny, the characters are not that interesting, and the majority of the character models aren’t good to look at. This is the film you put on to keep your 5 year old quiet and entertained for an hour and a half. For everyone else you can afford to skip it. There is nothing here worth your while outside of a couple laughs but they are not worth it. This is a film for babies nothing more if you are in the mood for an animated film there are tons of better ones you can check out. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2013
    3
    Strictly family-friendly fare with a predictable plot from beginning to end with stereotyped characters. The animation is top-notch and looksStrictly family-friendly fare with a predictable plot from beginning to end with stereotyped characters. The animation is top-notch and looks great on my 55-in HDTV via BluRay but that's really the only thing that separated it from being a standard plot live-action film. Not sure why they opted for expensive A/B-list voice talent unless that was supposed to draw adults in. If you're over 18 don't waste your time unless you really like animated features on a killer HDTV. Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2013
    2
    The first words that come to my mind when I'm done watching the movie are: unoriginal, and stereotypical. How many times have I heard ofThe first words that come to my mind when I'm done watching the movie are: unoriginal, and stereotypical. How many times have I heard of aliens? Too many times. They already have done an animated alien movie, which, not my opinion, but in others opinions not very good. Who in there right mind would expect anything better then that success rate? Maybe I don't have much to say about the stereotypical part of the movie, but there are other things that caught my attention, forgettable characters, usually a movie has at least one unforgettable character. For me there was ZERO. Another issue I had was a glitch in the story line (or two, or more), well maybe just one, but it was sure noticeable. The humans up in the booth. What did the main character say about having to come to Earth? It was a hassle to go 14 or 15 light years to get to Earth. From what I've seen, the humans didn't come with them back to their planet. Why would they go out of their way to go and get the two humans if it was such a hassle? Many unanswered questions, 2.4/10 Collapse

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers