Escape from Planet Earth

Escape from Planet Earth Image
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Feb 18, 2013
    60
    Feel-good but not cloying, zippy but not frenetic, and refreshingly free of snark, the default setting for a lot of kids' fare these days, the feature takes a pleasingly retro-futuristic stance on matters of décor and attitude.
  2. 50
    Unlike say, “Doogal” or “Hoodwinked 2,” at least you won’t want to gouge your eyes out after this one.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    Feb 15, 2013
    50
    The picture has enough entertainment value to tickle its target audience and even offers a few chuckles for accompanying adults. A strong cast and bright -- if uninspired — animation help to offset a thin story.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Feb 16, 2013
    50
    Colorful as the 3-D aliens-among-us comedy is to look at, though, Corddry is handed a role that’s beige as can be, and so are his castmates.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Feb 19, 2013
    50
    A lightweight, warp-speed, brightly colored trifle.
  6. Reviewed by: Vadim Rizov
    Feb 15, 2013
    40
    The late Douglas Adams summed up Earth as “mostly harmless,” a description that also applies to this eminently tolerable animated time-filler.
  7. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Feb 20, 2013
    0
    This movie is a mess: It keeps doubling back on itself – a twisting pretzel of a plot that doesn’t really make sense.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 9 out of 22
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    This is a wonderful family movie for the family. My children were glued to the television screen. As an adult I very much enjoyed the movie asThis is a wonderful family movie for the family. My children were glued to the television screen. As an adult I very much enjoyed the movie as well. It had us laughing through the whole movie. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2015
    9
    I don understand why people give this cartoon such a low review number...

    The good things about this cartoon: - Story has a deeper layer.
    I don understand why people give this cartoon such a low review number...

    The good things about this cartoon:
    - Story has a deeper layer. It's all about the relationship between aliens, which you as viewer can reflect back to yourself. A heart warming cartoon that is at par with the greater productions of Disney or Dreamworks. Great ending.

    - The graphics are less good than the best cartoons, difference is like disney 10 and Escape from earth is 7.5, but hey , a good cartoon is a combination of multiple things that make it good or best.

    - As a cartoon lover, I like only the cartoons that are not too expensive and have a good morale.

    - Common jokes woven into the story.

    - Bad guys loose and good guys win!

    If you see this cartoon, watch it, you will not be disappointed! recommended!
    Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Clever, smart, and funny, Escape from Planet Earth is a thrilling animated good time at the movies. Its not a fabulous movie, but it still isClever, smart, and funny, Escape from Planet Earth is a thrilling animated good time at the movies. Its not a fabulous movie, but it still is a whole lot of fun with some smart humor, exciting moments, and some feel-good lessons on family, heroism and sibling bonding. The animation, while paling in comparison to "Brave" and "How To Train Your Dragon" is still sleek and cartoony.

    There's also not much to complain about. A few gross-out gags and a couple of other odd moments are as problematic as it gets. Some of the sci-fi explosions and whiz-bang action may be too intense for the youngest viewers.

    For a more detailed review, visit www.moviestakenseriously.blogspot.com
    Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    5
    The Animation Is A Bit Cheesy, The Characters Are Eh, The Story Is OK, the Recommend Audience For this Film is Ages 2-10 Anyone Under 2 WillThe Animation Is A Bit Cheesy, The Characters Are Eh, The Story Is OK, the Recommend Audience For this Film is Ages 2-10 Anyone Under 2 Will Forget Because Memory Has not Kicked in At That age, Anyone Over 10 Like The Parents Who Go To See This Movie Might find it Over The Top. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    3
    Groundbreaking animation, unique original world, fleshed out characters with real humanity and depth. This movie has all the hallmarks of aGroundbreaking animation, unique original world, fleshed out characters with real humanity and depth. This movie has all the hallmarks of a Mainframe studios production...or it would, if this were over a decade ago, before Mainframe became Rainmaker, and eliminated every part aspect of creativity and life within this studio.

    As it stands, this movie is just awful. It has no consistent theme, not an quanta of depth within it, and will bore you to tears if you don't walk right out of the theater. It is everything Mainframe wasn't. Everything Pixar isn't. It was painful. Shrek 5 painful.

    If you must see this movie, stop and grab a good book along the way, that way you'll have something to entertain you. This movie won't
    Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    3
    No Creativity At All... Another Boring Bland Animated Movie....
  7. Jun 16, 2013
    2
    The first words that come to my mind when I'm done watching the movie are: unoriginal, and stereotypical. How many times have I heard ofThe first words that come to my mind when I'm done watching the movie are: unoriginal, and stereotypical. How many times have I heard of aliens? Too many times. They already have done an animated alien movie, which, not my opinion, but in others opinions not very good. Who in there right mind would expect anything better then that success rate? Maybe I don't have much to say about the stereotypical part of the movie, but there are other things that caught my attention, forgettable characters, usually a movie has at least one unforgettable character. For me there was ZERO. Another issue I had was a glitch in the story line (or two, or more), well maybe just one, but it was sure noticeable. The humans up in the booth. What did the main character say about having to come to Earth? It was a hassle to go 14 or 15 light years to get to Earth. From what I've seen, the humans didn't come with them back to their planet. Why would they go out of their way to go and get the two humans if it was such a hassle? Many unanswered questions, 2.4/10 Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.