Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Callan Brunker
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Sci-Fi, Comedy, Animation, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 89 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Feb 18, 2013
    60
    Feel-good but not cloying, zippy but not frenetic, and refreshingly free of snark, the default setting for a lot of kids' fare these days, the feature takes a pleasingly retro-futuristic stance on matters of décor and attitude.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Feb 15, 2013
    50
    Unlike say, “Doogal” or “Hoodwinked 2,” at least you won’t want to gouge your eyes out after this one.
  3. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Feb 15, 2013
    50
    It’s unchallenging fun for a younger crowd, but adults might feel like they’re staring down a colorful 24-piece board puzzle, trying to figure out how such a simple activity could be drawn out over 90 minutes.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Feb 16, 2013
    50
    Colorful as the 3-D aliens-among-us comedy is to look at, though, Corddry is handed a role that’s beige as can be, and so are his castmates.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Feb 19, 2013
    50
    A lightweight, warp-speed, brightly colored trifle.
  6. Reviewed by: Vadim Rizov
    Feb 15, 2013
    40
    The late Douglas Adams summed up Earth as “mostly harmless,” a description that also applies to this eminently tolerable animated time-filler.
  7. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Feb 20, 2013
    0
    This movie is a mess: It keeps doubling back on itself – a twisting pretzel of a plot that doesn’t really make sense.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    This is a wonderful family movie for the family. My children were glued to the television screen. As an adult I very much enjoyed the movie as well. It had us laughing through the whole movie. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Clever, smart, and funny, Escape from Planet Earth is a thrilling animated good time at the movies. Its not a fabulous movie, but it still is a whole lot of fun with some smart humor, exciting moments, and some feel-good lessons on family, heroism and sibling bonding. The animation, while paling in comparison to "Brave" and "How To Train Your Dragon" is still sleek and cartoony.

    There's also not much to complain about. A few gross-out gags and a couple of other odd moments are as problematic as it gets. Some of the sci-fi explosions and whiz-bang action may be too intense for the youngest viewers.

    For a more detailed review, visit www.moviestakenseriously.blogspot.com
    Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    Wow, I don't know why everyone is so hard on this movie. Saw it opening day, went with another family, 5 kids, we and they all really liked it. No it's not a Pixar mega movie by any means, but it's still good. We laughed, the kids laughed, there were some adult orientated jokes as expected, etc etc. Saying the movie had no depth? Ok, I guess, it's not DEEP, but it's a kids flick. Nerdy alien brother, helps save the day over stronger jock brother, and the aliens escape the planet. Don't listen to the hard A$$es on here, they are out to lunch. Go see the flick, it's entertaining, and that's what we go to the movies for right? To be entertained. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    5
    The Animation Is A Bit Cheesy, The Characters Are Eh, The Story Is OK, the Recommend Audience For this Film is Ages 2-10 Anyone Under 2 Will Forget Because Memory Has not Kicked in At That age, Anyone Over 10 Like The Parents Who Go To See This Movie Might find it Over The Top. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    4
    Escape From Planet Earth is not a bad movie but is by no means a compliment. Yes it does have some laughs and some clever ideas but the problems with this movie prevent them from shing. The story is cliché, most of the jokes are not that funny, the characters are not that interesting, and the majority of the character models aren’t good to look at. This is the film you put on to keep your 5 year old quiet and entertained for an hour and a half. For everyone else you can afford to skip it. There is nothing here worth your while outside of a couple laughs but they are not worth it. This is a film for babies nothing more if you are in the mood for an animated film there are tons of better ones you can check out. Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2013
    3
    Groundbreaking animation, unique original world, fleshed out characters with real humanity and depth. This movie has all the hallmarks of a Mainframe studios production...or it would, if this were over a decade ago, before Mainframe became Rainmaker, and eliminated every part aspect of creativity and life within this studio.

    As it stands, this movie is just awful. It has no consistent theme, not an quanta of depth within it, and will bore you to tears if you don't walk right out of the theater. It is everything Mainframe wasn't. Everything Pixar isn't. It was painful. Shrek 5 painful.

    If you must see this movie, stop and grab a good book along the way, that way you'll have something to entertain you. This movie won't
    Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2013
    2
    The first words that come to my mind when I'm done watching the movie are: unoriginal, and stereotypical. How many times have I heard of aliens? Too many times. They already have done an animated alien movie, which, not my opinion, but in others opinions not very good. Who in there right mind would expect anything better then that success rate? Maybe I don't have much to say about the stereotypical part of the movie, but there are other things that caught my attention, forgettable characters, usually a movie has at least one unforgettable character. For me there was ZERO. Another issue I had was a glitch in the story line (or two, or more), well maybe just one, but it was sure noticeable. The humans up in the booth. What did the main character say about having to come to Earth? It was a hassle to go 14 or 15 light years to get to Earth. From what I've seen, the humans didn't come with them back to their planet. Why would they go out of their way to go and get the two humans if it was such a hassle? Many unanswered questions, 2.4/10 Expand

See all 14 User Reviews