Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Oct 11, 2013
    60
    Disney World, in this incoherent but often amazing work of American psychodrama, has a lot in common with the Overlook Hotel of “The Shining,” the Venice of “Death in Venice” and the booze-soaked Cuernavaca of “Under the Volcano.” It’s a zone of existential dread, the place where masculine dreams go to die, the place where the unburied ghosts of civilization rise up like Mouse-eared, three-fingered zombies and bite us in the ass.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Aug 19, 2013
    60
    Even as a quasi-experimental work of subjective surrealism, Escape From Tomorrow is massively erratic and isn't particularly original. But it must also be said that its take on Disney World, as well as many of its individual images, are indelible and won’t be easily forgotten.
  3. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Oct 25, 2013
    50
    The film, shot in black-and-white at canted angles, suggests an R-rated Twilight Zone episode with a twist of Fellini-lite, in a trite film school kind of way. Mickey Mouse is unlikely to be shaking in his big yellow shoes.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Oct 24, 2013
    50
    Once you get past the amazement this thing was made at all, the movie itself is an intermittently clever but mostly tedious, convoluted David Lynch knockoff that wanders all over the place.
  5. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Oct 11, 2013
    50
    True, Escape From Tomorrow, a handsomely mounted gallery of Mouse House cuteness inverted into grotesquerie, looks a sight more artful than do most home movies. But as an expose of Disney's manufactured happiness, and by extension the sins of corporate capitalism, it's pretty stale news.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Oct 10, 2013
    50
    As a movie, Escape From Tomorrow is at best pretty good, but the way it was made makes it something unique, possibly memorable.
  7. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Oct 10, 2013
    50
    The story of how Moore made the movie is ultimately more interesting than the film he’s put together. It’s not for lack of trying. It’s more a lack of a cogent story.
  8. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    Oct 8, 2013
    50
    While Escape is filled with inspired touches... Moore lacks the off-kilter psychological nuances of Lynch, as well as the go-for-broke storytelling skills and visual élan. It doesn't help that the cast is largely competent at best.
  9. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 8, 2013
    40
    In a word: Bibbidi-bobbidi-blah.
  10. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Oct 11, 2013
    40
    Moore shows promising ingenuity in shooting parts of the movie covertly, within the notoriously restrictive Disney World resort. But his script never takes the same sort of risk.
  11. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Oct 10, 2013
    40
    None of it is as scary or as funny as it should be, and what starts out as a sly thumb in the eye of corporate power ends up as a muddled and amateurish homage to David Lynch.
  12. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Oct 8, 2013
    40
    What we’re left with are a bunch of unseasoned performers and a first-time filmmaker clearly out of his depth (good lord, those green-screen shots!) hocking loogies at Mickey and friends with hit-and-mostly-miss fervidness.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Apr 2, 2015
    8
    DisneyLand, the land of dreams to come true right in front of your eyes, and your nightmares too.

    The film is about a middle-aged American
    DisneyLand, the land of dreams to come true right in front of your eyes, and your nightmares too.

    The film is about a middle-aged American husband and father of two learns that he has lost his job. Keeping the news from his nagging wife and wound-up children, he packs up the family and embarks on a full day of park hopping amid enchanted castles and fairy tale princesses. Soon, the manufactured mirth of the fantasy land around him begins to haunt his subconscious.

    Escape from Tomorrow is one of those films that you have to wait about two days after seeing the film, to get all my thoughts of the film to come together it's basically like solving a jigsaw puzzle. I tried my best to dissect the hell out of this movie by it's story, it's different and new style and the movies uncomfortable tone. I found out a lot of interesting things of this movie and the fact that they didn't have Disney's permission to film and get away with it, blows my mind how they pulled it off.

    I enjoyed Escape from Tomorrow, I enjoyed it in a way that it feels like a guilty pleasure for me and overall I think this movie is weird, messed up, but still a well done film from a first time director. What the movie does so well is putting you in the main character shoes and showing you the anxiety and what it can do.

    The cinematography in this movie are some of the best and perfect shots I have seen in a movie. I love the black and white look to it, it made the movie more sinister and nerving to watch, which worked so well. I kept thinking to myself of how they didn't get Disney's permission to film but still got away with shots that I have no idea how they got away with, Moore you are a genius.

    Randy Moore first time film and straight away I want to see him doing other films, because he went for it and it didn't back fire on him.

    Some people may be put off by the weirdness of the film and it's style and it's laughable moments, which is fine because people can like what their want to like, but what the movie dose so well and I think so people might agree on and that is Randy Moore made DisneyLand look like a place to avoid.

    Overall I enjoyed watching Escape from Tomorrow and I'm not going to give it the perfect rating, because I don't feel that this movie is "amazing" or "the best movie of century", no but the movie is still worth checking out.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    2
    this could've been a much, much better film. disneyworld as alternaworld, filmed on location, great premise. but, the acting was so bad, thethis could've been a much, much better film. disneyworld as alternaworld, filmed on location, great premise. but, the acting was so bad, the plot nosedived into ridiculousness, and the whole enterprise became cheesy camp. Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    2
    While the story of how the film was made is interesting, the film itself is just utter garbage. But that's what happens when you are making aWhile the story of how the film was made is interesting, the film itself is just utter garbage. But that's what happens when you are making a film that is just a glorified publicity stunt. It was obvious that writer/director Randy Moore was more interested with making a film that would create buzz and controversy on the film festival circuit rather than make a semi-coherent film. The story is sloppy, the acting is just awful, the editing was done (I'm assuming) by a blind man and the overall presentation just looks like Moore didn't actually care about the film itself and was more worried about how he could get his name out there. This wasn't a film, it was a publicity stunt. Full Review »