Summit Entertainment | Release Date: October 18, 2013
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 275 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
208
Mixed:
57
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MrFlanksterApr 16, 2014
When this was in theaters, I had no desire to see this. I redboxed it and now I'm going to buy it. Arnie and Sly on the same film?? It's an action film on steroids! Get it? Oh man! I kill myself! This was very entertaining. I really hope theyWhen this was in theaters, I had no desire to see this. I redboxed it and now I'm going to buy it. Arnie and Sly on the same film?? It's an action film on steroids! Get it? Oh man! I kill myself! This was very entertaining. I really hope they do more buddy films. Great team and they surprisingly play off of each other well. This movie will really PUMP.... YOU.... UP!!! Oh man! There I go again! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
audreythomas25Dec 22, 2015
This is all completely ridiculous and sensationally entertaining.

Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1cf3eb-Escape-Plan-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ThegodfathersonOct 19, 2013
A film can't be recommended only on the merits of its big, action-packed finale, and Escape Plan isn't the movie on which to make an exception to that rule. The first 3/4 of the film are plodding, so much exposition and senseless set-up thatA film can't be recommended only on the merits of its big, action-packed finale, and Escape Plan isn't the movie on which to make an exception to that rule. The first 3/4 of the film are plodding, so much exposition and senseless set-up that has you crawling for some classic, '80s-level action. An explosion, at least. But as meandering as most of the film is, it's never boring, and the promise of one, extended, awesome action scene is just enough to keep you invested in the proceedings. Stallone and Schwarzenegger and we, the action fans of the world finally have their big, team-up movie, and like the action powerhouses themselves, Escape Plan is a bulky mess. It still knows how to fire a mean weapon, though. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
helloworld1066Oct 19, 2013
this film was fantastic, i swear critics these days just dont have any sense of humor, and all films have to be super serious in order for the score to be good. this was really enjoyable
12 of 15 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
10
kykinsonOct 23, 2013
Stallone and Schwarzenegger in one movie?! That has to be the greatest movie that has ever existed and yes it is! I think the critics that give so low scores are just old people that dont like their job.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGoer14Oct 18, 2013
I have no idea why Escape Plan is receiving negative reviews. Escape Plan is great, it is really clever and intelligent, I think that Stallone and Schwarzenegger pulled this off, they rocked. The whole plot is new and entertaining, smart andI have no idea why Escape Plan is receiving negative reviews. Escape Plan is great, it is really clever and intelligent, I think that Stallone and Schwarzenegger pulled this off, they rocked. The whole plot is new and entertaining, smart and overall very funny. Escape Plan is one of the better thrillers this year (Runner Runner anyone?) it is Clever, entertaining, funny and new, I really enjoyed it, can't wait to watch it again! Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryOct 29, 2013
Sylvester Stallone spends his days in jail, not because he’s a criminal. He’s a security specialist who cleverly breaks out of prisons to help them become less vunerable. When he’s put into a super-security, supercool facility, he teams upSylvester Stallone spends his days in jail, not because he’s a criminal. He’s a security specialist who cleverly breaks out of prisons to help them become less vunerable. When he’s put into a super-security, supercool facility, he teams up with fellow inmate Arnold Schwarzenegger to make his break. The brain-teaser plot pushes credibility, but it still unravels without ever getting dumb or dull. The action is mostly average with a few moments of flash. You don’t go to a movie with these two expecting great drama or deep meaning, just some macho fun and a few laffs. It's enjoyable popcorn escapism, literally. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
410MaXiMuSDec 10, 2013
I don't understand why the critics hate this film. Solid plot, solid acting, solid action..... it doesn't want or need to be Pulp Fiction.... it's simply a fun movie with an awesome plot.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
pkerouacNov 19, 2013
Very solid and decent thriller. Surprisingly clever and with an unexpected chemistry between the stars and a villain not to be forgotten. Th action packed final is way over the top, but the movie works very, very well. Fortunately, it'sVery solid and decent thriller. Surprisingly clever and with an unexpected chemistry between the stars and a villain not to be forgotten. Th action packed final is way over the top, but the movie works very, very well. Fortunately, it's grossing big overseas. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
AlexProductionsOct 29, 2013
Upon looking at the cast of Escape Plan, it seemed like another type of Expendables 2 or Red 2 type movie restating that "old guys are cool." We all have seen one these types of movies with no such plot or storyline, just 80ish minutes ofUpon looking at the cast of Escape Plan, it seemed like another type of Expendables 2 or Red 2 type movie restating that "old guys are cool." We all have seen one these types of movies with no such plot or storyline, just 80ish minutes of action. Just seeing that the movie was 115 minutes and that Arnold Shwarzenegger was in it didn't seem right so I had to go see it.

Escape Plan is the story of Ray Breslin (Sylvester Stallone) whose job is to test the security of prisons around the world. When asked to test a prison that makes criminals certain people "disappear" he accepts the offer and is taken to the prison. After soon learning that the whole thing was a setup, he meets Emil Rottmayer (Arnold Shwarzenegger), and together they attempt a breakout.

To me it seemed like another scheme just to get the two men back on screen together but it turned out to be much more. I enjoyed watching the chemistry on screen between characters and it seemed effortless (probably because they've been doing these roles for 35+ years).

The prison (picture one and two) was very unrealistic compared to the regular prison the movie started off with. The mix of CGI (Computer Generated Imagery) and soundstage filming turned out nice, but the overall concept of the cells was a little too imaginary. The guards (picture two) were all dressed in these black suits and cheap party masks. Though it seemed unnecessary at first, I realized that this was done so that the prisoners couldn’t tell who the guards were, make friends with them, know their patterns or know when the guards were actually looking at them.

The movie felt like someone said "here's an idea, now make it a movie and release it next month." Don't get me wrong, the clever things Stallone did on screen must've taken some top writers to think up and wowed me. It was clear that they rushed the filming in some scenes though. For example, when a supposedly large helicopter was flying over the ocean, it actually looked like a toy helicopter on a wire over a lake.

Overall, it was easy to tell that Shwarzenegger and Stallone didn't make the movie for the money, but more to show that they're still making movies. I did enjoy Escape Plan for the 115 minutes it ran, but I probably won't remember it a few weeks from now.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerFeb 23, 2014
Stallone and Schwarzenegger together in an action movie? Oh, heck yes! Even better than the team up is how awesome is the movie they are teaming up on. With a great plot, nice action, and some great one-liners this is one of the best movies IStallone and Schwarzenegger together in an action movie? Oh, heck yes! Even better than the team up is how awesome is the movie they are teaming up on. With a great plot, nice action, and some great one-liners this is one of the best movies I think either have been in. If you enjoy action movies, as well as enjoy Stallone and Schwarzenegger, then this is an action movie I highly recommend you check out. It's one that should be around the top of your must watch list. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
DeakenBlackNov 14, 2013
I love Arnold movies. I was never really a Stallone fan, but he was good in this to and he's growing on me in recent years. I love the way Arnold is embracing himself and letting out his inner Arnold.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
shakirshuvoJan 27, 2014
Escape Plan is a good action film. Having two of the most notable action heroes of the 80s and 90s in one movie is priceless. The movie outlines the danger of privatization and extra-judicial prison system. It draws some comparison withEscape Plan is a good action film. Having two of the most notable action heroes of the 80s and 90s in one movie is priceless. The movie outlines the danger of privatization and extra-judicial prison system. It draws some comparison with Guantanamo Bay Prison. A very enjoyable movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
mijxeroFeb 12, 2014
This was a very enjoyable movie. I personally think that it has a 90s action movie throwback feel to it. It isn't the most realistic movie ever but if you allow yourself to just enjoy it for what it is then I found it to be an entertainingThis was a very enjoyable movie. I personally think that it has a 90s action movie throwback feel to it. It isn't the most realistic movie ever but if you allow yourself to just enjoy it for what it is then I found it to be an entertaining movie. I'm also glad to see these guys back in action. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
danielr125Feb 2, 2014
Great movie Stallone and Schwarzenegger make a GREAT TEAM!!! I LOVE IT!!! The film is interesting, and i never move because this movie is fantastic!!!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Kikex22Nov 30, 2013
Is a excelent movie i saw the trailers i like it i want to see the movie beacuse in Venezuela the movie has not arrived I have to dowloand the movie i think that is't have to be very good
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
LeZeeFeb 7, 2014
The content wise it is the same movie to all prison break theme, but
the characters were a bit modified. The new fashion in today's cinema
is the twist at the opening as well at the end. So this movie had one like that in both the
The content wise it is the same movie to all prison break theme, but
the characters were a bit modified. The new fashion in today's cinema
is the twist at the opening as well at the end. So this movie had one
like that in both the portions.

If you are a Schwarzenegger fan, you would disappoint a bit because the
Stallone rules whole show. I can say it was fairly balanced screenspace
only due to the capacity wise. Capacity comes under strength factor, so
Stallone had the upper hand and does justice. Schwarzenegger looked
better than his last movie, especially with less wrinkles in his face.

Good cast and good idea but lack of good stunt sequences and
intelligent scenes. In a couple of scenes they show Stallone like
vision Sherlock Holme had about the 3 dimensional structure of the
surrounds. It has been just imitated not the original. The Islamic
character in the movie as well included due to one reason and that is
to find the position of their location. Otherwise the alliance would
have been only between Stallone and Schwarzenegger. That is why I was
not surprised by the elimination of that character.

As the movie had great actors it was a little let down. Entertainment
is guaranteed but visually not spectacular. Expected a better execution
from the Swedish director. I believe he did not get a better crew
except two iconic stars. It had a good commercial success, but won't
remain in people's mind for a very long. If you are a fan of one of
these actors you would have a good time, but for others it is one time
watch and forgettable.

7.5/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Whatpumpkin456Oct 26, 2013
This movie isn't like Sylvester Stallone's usual movies. There isn't a lot of action, but what there is a lot of interesting plot. Sylvester Stallone plays a guy who breaks out of prisons for a living. One day he's given a job to break out ofThis movie isn't like Sylvester Stallone's usual movies. There isn't a lot of action, but what there is a lot of interesting plot. Sylvester Stallone plays a guy who breaks out of prisons for a living. One day he's given a job to break out of a prison that is said to be impossible to break out of, but there's a twist. He's set up and treated like an actual prisoner and the only way out is to break out of the prison for real.

The way the prison is ran is interesting and the way he breaks out is thrilling to watch. I would recommend this movie to anyone that loves action movies. My only complaint is that sometimes the dialog was a little cheesy and it took away from the tension of the movie. 88/100 B+
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
K1ll3r2100Nov 15, 2013
i have no idea whats wrong with the critics...its a really interesting movie..you dont really know how the main character is going to escape that prison....i recomand it..its not a perfect movie to want over and over and over again withouti have no idea whats wrong with the critics...its a really interesting movie..you dont really know how the main character is going to escape that prison....i recomand it..its not a perfect movie to want over and over and over again without getting bored of it but i loved it and i think i will watch it again some time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 28, 2014
"Heh heh. You hit like a vegetarian!"

You know the trailer for this movie looked good but once reviews came out for it and i saw that critics were hating on it i lost desire to watch it anytime soon. But seeing that i have been on a action
"Heh heh. You hit like a vegetarian!"

You know the trailer for this movie looked good but once reviews came out for it and i saw that critics were hating on it i lost desire to watch it anytime soon. But seeing that i have been on a action movie binge for that past couple days i thought that id give it a watch. Surprisingly though i actually liked the movie more then what i thought i would sure it may not be one of the better movies from the past couple years but it was for sure one of the better action movies within that time. Escape Plan stars my two favorite action movie actors and with each of them having come off a underwhelming solo movie it was nice to see them finally in a movie together as the main characters and kick some ass. Seeing that i have only seen two of director Mikael Håfström movie both of them being horrors neither of them good it was quite nice too see that he was able to make a solid action flick.

The film follows Ray Breslin(Stallone) a highly skilled prison escape artist that makes a living by breaking out of all the country's best prisons by finding the flaws within its system. Soon he and his team Abigail(Amy Ryan) and Hush(50 Cent) are approached by the CIA seeing if he will try to escape from a highly top secret prison known as The Tomb designed for only the most ruthless of prisoners. He accepts the job but upon being abducted he soon figures out this is no normal job and comes face to face with terms that he has been set up and his now locked up in the prison with no help from his team. Ray soon becomes friends a with fellow inmate named Rottmayer (Schwarzenegger) after he protects him from being attacked back when he first arrives at the prison. From here we see are two actors plan out their escape that ends up having its fair share up screw ups and twists, i will say that the big twist in the film was not that great and i seen it coming something Schwarzenegger confirms at the end of the film.

The action was solid but nothing great although it was totally awesome seeing Schwarzenegger gun down all those people with the huge machine gun at the end it was for sure my favorite scene. The fight that Stallone has with Vinnie Jones (the films lackey) at the end was decent but overall a letdown,[spoiler] also it was funny seeing James Caviezel (the warden of the prison) get blown up there at the end and you see his roasting body fall on the ground. The movie did have its fair share of "Shake my head" moments but all that is forgotten once the bullets start flying. The very ending i would have to say the is the weakest part of the movie and would have rather them had spend just a little more time and wrap it up a bit more nicely.

Overall i give it a 7.0
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
abi_abhiabiSep 28, 2014
i liked this movie a lot. i believe critics were paid to rate this movie so badly. it definitely deserves a lot more than the metacritic score. it is an action thriller with lots of fun and suspense which will not disappoint you. its worth a watch!!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Jan 27, 2015
Escape Plan was a surprisingly entertaining film. Sylvester Stallone and Arnold Schwarzenegger do a good job in carrying the predictable yet well executed plot. Their acting is as is expected in just about every role they've done but it fitEscape Plan was a surprisingly entertaining film. Sylvester Stallone and Arnold Schwarzenegger do a good job in carrying the predictable yet well executed plot. Their acting is as is expected in just about every role they've done but it fit the story well. There were also a couple of scenes that were absolutely hilarious, as they catered to the stereotypes that the actors have established over the decades of their careers. It felt a bit cliche at times but it was an overall solid film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oblique15May 2, 2015
They put them in the most extreme jail ever. It`s a fun movie watching the old guys at again trying to get out.They keep the good movies coming. Critics just want movies similar to their lives witch is boring as hell.The rest of us have noThey put them in the most extreme jail ever. It`s a fun movie watching the old guys at again trying to get out.They keep the good movies coming. Critics just want movies similar to their lives witch is boring as hell.The rest of us have no interest in watching two people have tea by the window. If you like movies with people having tea by the window this is not for you.If you like movies with guys that would make the guy having tea spill it this is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
It was nice to see Arnie and Sly working together again in Escape Plan. This movie its really as action packed as you'd expect from these two. They do a little bit more talking then you expect, but its pretty hard to dislike. You even get aIt was nice to see Arnie and Sly working together again in Escape Plan. This movie its really as action packed as you'd expect from these two. They do a little bit more talking then you expect, but its pretty hard to dislike. You even get a surprise ending that you won't see coming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tethysdustNov 3, 2016
This was a fun "inverse-heist" film about a professional prison-breaker (Stallone) who is illegally trapped in an unethical private prison. The leads worked really well together, and the action & humor was nice. You might know already moreThis was a fun "inverse-heist" film about a professional prison-breaker (Stallone) who is illegally trapped in an unethical private prison. The leads worked really well together, and the action & humor was nice. You might know already more or less how things will turn out, but I enjoyed watching work through it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews