Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Ray Breslin (Sylvester Stallone), one of the world's foremost authorities on structural security, agrees to take on one last job: breaking out of an ultra-secret, high-tech facility called The Tomb. Deceived and wrongly imprisoned, Ray must recruit fellow inmate Emil Rottmayer (Arnold Schwarzenegger) to help devise a daring, nearly impossible plan to escape from the most protected and fortified prison ever built. [Summit Entertainment] Expand
  • Director: Mikael Håfström
  • Genre(s): Action, Sci-Fi, Drama, Mystery, Thriller, Crime
  • Rating: R
  • Runtime: 115 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Oct 17, 2013
    75
    So chalk Escape Plan up as a pretty good action movie given an extra edge by the intelligent use of its two main actors.
  2. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Oct 17, 2013
    68
    A Stallone / Schwarzenegger film that isn't completely beneath them.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Oct 20, 2013
    63
    Stupid but fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Lowry
    Oct 15, 2013
    60
    A highly enjoyable slice of in-one-eye, out-the-other nonsense. It may coast on the charisma of its leads at times, and it’s hardly deep, but there’s a Friday night to be had.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Oct 17, 2013
    50
    Action fans -- particularly devotees of brainless '80s shoot-em-ups -- may find enough to like here, particularly the preposterous mayhem of the third act.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Oct 17, 2013
    40
    It’s not fair to either of these actors to want to see Rocky and the Terminator over and over again. But it is fair to want to see them in something better than this.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Oct 17, 2013
    25
    A dim anti-privatization parable that preaches a familiar strain of cynical, unchallenged self-righteousness in the face of widespread abuse of civil liberties.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    this film was fantastic, i swear critics these days just dont have any sense of humor, and all films have to be super serious in order for the score to be good. this was really enjoyable Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    Great movie Stallone and Schwarzenegger make a GREAT TEAM!!! I LOVE IT!!! The film is interesting, and i never move because this movie is fantastic!!!
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    When this was in theaters, I had no desire to see this. I redboxed it and now I'm going to buy it. Arnie and Sly on the same film?? It's an action film on steroids! Get it? Oh man! I kill myself! This was very entertaining. I really hope they do more buddy films. Great team and they surprisingly play off of each other well. This movie will really PUMP.... YOU.... UP!!! Oh man! There I go again! Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    Sylvester Stallone spends his days in jail, not because he’s a criminal. He’s a security specialist who cleverly breaks out of prisons to help them become less vunerable. When he’s put into a super-security, supercool facility, he teams up with fellow inmate Arnold Schwarzenegger to make his break. The brain-teaser plot pushes credibility, but it still unravels without ever getting dumb or dull. The action is mostly average with a few moments of flash. You don’t go to a movie with these two expecting great drama or deep meaning, just some macho fun and a few laffs. It's enjoyable popcorn escapism, literally. Collapse
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    7
    I have no idea why Escape Plan is receiving negative reviews. Escape Plan is great, it is really clever and intelligent, I think that Stallone and Schwarzenegger pulled this off, they rocked. The whole plot is new and entertaining, smart and overall very funny. Escape Plan is one of the better thrillers this year (Runner Runner anyone?) it is Clever, entertaining, funny and new, I really enjoyed it, can't wait to watch it again! Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    A surprisingly good action film with a great 90's throwback feel. Arnold and Stallone give two of there better performances in a long time. Overall a good solid fun film. B Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    3
    This film delivered less than it seemed to promise. I was left desperately wanting some classic Arnold lines, but for better or worse he seems set in establishing himself as an independent character.

    There is some entertainment value and I wouldn't recommend avoiding this film. I only say, after it is over you may ask yourself, could I have done something better with that 90 minutes of my life? Probably. But if you can't think of anything you can always give this film a try.

    Also you get to see 50 cent attempt to be a nerd.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers