Escape Plan

Escape Plan Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 268 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Ray Breslin (Sylvester Stallone), one of the world's foremost authorities on structural security, agrees to take on one last job: breaking out of an ultra-secret, high-tech facility called The Tomb. Deceived and wrongly imprisoned, Ray must recruit fellow inmate Emil Rottmayer (ArnoldRay Breslin (Sylvester Stallone), one of the world's foremost authorities on structural security, agrees to take on one last job: breaking out of an ultra-secret, high-tech facility called The Tomb. Deceived and wrongly imprisoned, Ray must recruit fellow inmate Emil Rottmayer (Arnold Schwarzenegger) to help devise a daring, nearly impossible plan to escape from the most protected and fortified prison ever built. [Summit Entertainment] Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Oct 17, 2013
    75
    So chalk Escape Plan up as a pretty good action movie given an extra edge by the intelligent use of its two main actors.
  2. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Oct 17, 2013
    68
    A Stallone / Schwarzenegger film that isn't completely beneath them.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Oct 20, 2013
    63
    Stupid but fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Lowry
    Oct 15, 2013
    60
    A highly enjoyable slice of in-one-eye, out-the-other nonsense. It may coast on the charisma of its leads at times, and it’s hardly deep, but there’s a Friday night to be had.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Oct 17, 2013
    50
    Action fans -- particularly devotees of brainless '80s shoot-em-ups -- may find enough to like here, particularly the preposterous mayhem of the third act.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Oct 17, 2013
    40
    It’s not fair to either of these actors to want to see Rocky and the Terminator over and over again. But it is fair to want to see them in something better than this.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Oct 17, 2013
    25
    A dim anti-privatization parable that preaches a familiar strain of cynical, unchallenged self-righteousness in the face of widespread abuse of civil liberties.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    this film was fantastic, i swear critics these days just dont have any sense of humor, and all films have to be super serious in order for thethis film was fantastic, i swear critics these days just dont have any sense of humor, and all films have to be super serious in order for the score to be good. this was really enjoyable Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Is a excelent movie i saw the trailers i like it i want to see the movie beacuse in Venezuela the movie has not arrived I have to dowloandIs a excelent movie i saw the trailers i like it i want to see the movie beacuse in Venezuela the movie has not arrived I have to dowloand the movie i think that is't have to be very good Expand
  3. Dec 22, 2015
    9
    This is all completely ridiculous and sensationally entertaining.

    Watch this movie here for free
    This is all completely ridiculous and sensationally entertaining.

    Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1cf3eb-Escape-Plan-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  4. May 28, 2014
    7
    "Heh heh. You hit like a vegetarian!"

    You know the trailer for this movie looked good but once reviews came out for it and i saw that
    "Heh heh. You hit like a vegetarian!"

    You know the trailer for this movie looked good but once reviews came out for it and i saw that critics were hating on it i lost desire to watch it anytime soon. But seeing that i have been on a action movie binge for that past couple days i thought that id give it a watch. Surprisingly though i actually liked the movie more then what i thought i would sure it may not be one of the better movies from the past couple years but it was for sure one of the better action movies within that time. Escape Plan stars my two favorite action movie actors and with each of them having come off a underwhelming solo movie it was nice to see them finally in a movie together as the main characters and kick some ass. Seeing that i have only seen two of director Mikael Håfström movie both of them being horrors neither of them good it was quite nice too see that he was able to make a solid action flick.

    The film follows Ray Breslin(Stallone) a highly skilled prison escape artist that makes a living by breaking out of all the country's best prisons by finding the flaws within its system. Soon he and his team Abigail(Amy Ryan) and Hush(50 Cent) are approached by the CIA seeing if he will try to escape from a highly top secret prison known as The Tomb designed for only the most ruthless of prisoners. He accepts the job but upon being abducted he soon figures out this is no normal job and comes face to face with terms that he has been set up and his now locked up in the prison with no help from his team. Ray soon becomes friends a with fellow inmate named Rottmayer (Schwarzenegger) after he protects him from being attacked back when he first arrives at the prison. From here we see are two actors plan out their escape that ends up having its fair share up screw ups and twists, i will say that the big twist in the film was not that great and i seen it coming something Schwarzenegger confirms at the end of the film.

    The action was solid but nothing great although it was totally awesome seeing Schwarzenegger gun down all those people with the huge machine gun at the end it was for sure my favorite scene. The fight that Stallone has with Vinnie Jones (the films lackey) at the end was decent but overall a letdown,[spoiler] also it was funny seeing James Caviezel (the warden of the prison) get blown up there at the end and you see his roasting body fall on the ground. The movie did have its fair share of "Shake my head" moments but all that is forgotten once the bullets start flying. The very ending i would have to say the is the weakest part of the movie and would have rather them had spend just a little more time and wrap it up a bit more nicely.

    Overall i give it a 7.0
    Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    Upon looking at the cast of Escape Plan, it seemed like another type of Expendables 2 or Red 2 type movie restating that "old guys are cool."Upon looking at the cast of Escape Plan, it seemed like another type of Expendables 2 or Red 2 type movie restating that "old guys are cool." We all have seen one these types of movies with no such plot or storyline, just 80ish minutes of action. Just seeing that the movie was 115 minutes and that Arnold Shwarzenegger was in it didn't seem right so I had to go see it.

    Escape Plan is the story of Ray Breslin (Sylvester Stallone) whose job is to test the security of prisons around the world. When asked to test a prison that makes criminals certain people "disappear" he accepts the offer and is taken to the prison. After soon learning that the whole thing was a setup, he meets Emil Rottmayer (Arnold Shwarzenegger), and together they attempt a breakout.

    To me it seemed like another scheme just to get the two men back on screen together but it turned out to be much more. I enjoyed watching the chemistry on screen between characters and it seemed effortless (probably because they've been doing these roles for 35+ years).

    The prison (picture one and two) was very unrealistic compared to the regular prison the movie started off with. The mix of CGI (Computer Generated Imagery) and soundstage filming turned out nice, but the overall concept of the cells was a little too imaginary. The guards (picture two) were all dressed in these black suits and cheap party masks. Though it seemed unnecessary at first, I realized that this was done so that the prisoners couldn’t tell who the guards were, make friends with them, know their patterns or know when the guards were actually looking at them.

    The movie felt like someone said "here's an idea, now make it a movie and release it next month." Don't get me wrong, the clever things Stallone did on screen must've taken some top writers to think up and wowed me. It was clear that they rushed the filming in some scenes though. For example, when a supposedly large helicopter was flying over the ocean, it actually looked like a toy helicopter on a wire over a lake.

    Overall, it was easy to tell that Shwarzenegger and Stallone didn't make the movie for the money, but more to show that they're still making movies. I did enjoy Escape Plan for the 115 minutes it ran, but I probably won't remember it a few weeks from now.
    Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2014
    6
    One's an action star who's still got plenty of action left in him, the other is Schwarzenegger. That pretty much sums up this action title.One's an action star who's still got plenty of action left in him, the other is Schwarzenegger. That pretty much sums up this action title. There's some decent action scenes and the ones involving Arine you can clearly see his double taking the hits. Stallone is the only one who saves this movie from becoming unwatchable, he's still has what it takes to keep you in your seat. As for Arnie, hit the gym running California has made him soft and doughy. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    3
    This film delivered less than it seemed to promise. I was left desperately wanting some classic Arnold lines, but for better or worse he seemsThis film delivered less than it seemed to promise. I was left desperately wanting some classic Arnold lines, but for better or worse he seems set in establishing himself as an independent character.

    There is some entertainment value and I wouldn't recommend avoiding this film. I only say, after it is over you may ask yourself, could I have done something better with that 90 minutes of my life? Probably. But if you can't think of anything you can always give this film a try.

    Also you get to see 50 cent attempt to be a nerd.
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers