Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 289 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Steven Spielberg
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Sci-Fi, Drama, Fantasy, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 115 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Spielberg wrote a poem. And all the best movies are poems. [25 Mar 2002, p. 86]
  2. 100
    This movie made my heart glad. It is filled with innocence, hope, and good cheer. It is also wickedly funny and exciting as hell.
  3. 100
    Watching E.T now, in an era dominated by cold, loud special-effects-laden extravaganzas, one is struck less by its lavish grandeur than by its intimacy and precision.
  4. It's one modern film worthy of being called a contemporary classic.
  5. 100
    An all-time classic that seems even better after two decades.
  6. Reviewed by: Staff (not credited)
    80
    One of the most popular movies ever made, E.T. translates religious myth into cute, familiar terrain.
  7. Reviewed by: Don McKellar
    60
    E.T. is a dog movie. Genre-wise, I mean. It's about a boy meeting a dog, naming it, taming it, learning from it, and growing up. Of course, the genre is superficially disguised as science fiction, as was the fashion at the time.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 50
  2. Negative: 9 out of 50
  1. Sam
    May 13, 2006
    10
    A masterpiece that you will fall in love with every time you see it. Key word, "will."
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    E.T. is an heartwarming family hit and it will cherrish moviegoers of all ages.
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    When I was nine years old and watched E.T, I felt I would not see so soon any other film so rewarding and satisfying. Since then, 9 years haveWhen I was nine years old and watched E.T, I felt I would not see so soon any other film so rewarding and satisfying. Since then, 9 years have passed but my opinion has not changed. Expand
  4. JohnB.
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Don't listen to the cynics, those who reject anything with an ounce of heart. Forced sentimentality is junk, yes, but this movie has Don't listen to the cynics, those who reject anything with an ounce of heart. Forced sentimentality is junk, yes, but this movie has none of that. It's enchanting and wonderful. A great film all around. Expand
  5. JensJ.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    Ask John Williams to play in your country live with his orchestra in E.T.'s 30th Anniversary Edition. Please enter here: Ask John Williams to play in your country live with his orchestra in E.T.'s 30th Anniversary Edition. Please enter here: http://sites.google.com/site/et30thjohnwilliams/Home Expand
  6. May 30, 2012
    9
    One of the best sci-fi movies of all time.......One of the best sci-fi movies of all time....... period Expand
  7. EdwardH
    Mar 23, 2010
    0
    Like all Spielberg movies, every single minute of this looser is predictable. This is the first movie that made me realize that Hollywood was Like all Spielberg movies, every single minute of this looser is predictable. This is the first movie that made me realize that Hollywood was pandering to me--I was about 19 then. The term "puerile" not only comes to mind, but walks up to me with a stupid look n its face and slaps me around for ten solid minutes. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers