Focus Features | Release Date: March 19, 2004
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 970 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
892
Mixed:
34
Negative:
44
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
taymac18Oct 2, 2013
This movie was amazing! I loved the characters and I thought it was a refreshing change of romantic comedy. It really toughed base with the meaning behind a thoughtful relationship between one really odd couple. This movie really doesThis movie was amazing! I loved the characters and I thought it was a refreshing change of romantic comedy. It really toughed base with the meaning behind a thoughtful relationship between one really odd couple. This movie really does express the meaning behind two opposites attract. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MohsenZ.Feb 2, 2008
It was the most powerful film in my entire life that really made me to have its dreams in nights and was a brilliant idea for more directors. HUMAN MIND... watching 1 time is really unfair.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JasonJ.Mar 3, 2008
I had a chance to see this movie again in 2008 for only the second time. I saw it in the theater when it premiered 4 years earlier. What a piece of art! This movie goes deep into the heart of romantic love. It's not a love story, I had a chance to see this movie again in 2008 for only the second time. I saw it in the theater when it premiered 4 years earlier. What a piece of art! This movie goes deep into the heart of romantic love. It's not a love story, it's an internal examination of what love does to your mind. It's painful to watch at times because it dissects what most of us try to repress most of the time. But, if for just one moment, you allow yourself to "get into" this movie, you will have a deeper experience than you've ever had while viewing movie. Darwinian thought (as well as just about any religious thought) tells us that procreation is perhaps the most important of our human functions. Romantic love leads us in that venture and this movie delves into the most sensitive areas of that process. This film could have easily felt pseudointellectual had it not been for the way the film was shot. It looks like it was filmed inside someone's head - clausterphobic, impressionistic, etc. - all in the right balance. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
moviemongerFeb 1, 2011
A perfect concept wrapped around great performances. Kate Winslet, as usual, is spectacular. Anybody who has been in a relationship full of hills and valleys will appreciate this movie and shed a tear or two by the end. A movie to be filedA perfect concept wrapped around great performances. Kate Winslet, as usual, is spectacular. Anybody who has been in a relationship full of hills and valleys will appreciate this movie and shed a tear or two by the end. A movie to be filed under "original and thought provoking". Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CvrptnApr 6, 2011
There are those movies that provide you with two hours of mind-numbing entertainment, and then there are those movies that can change your view on life and human emotions while still providing you with two hours of entertainment. This movieThere are those movies that provide you with two hours of mind-numbing entertainment, and then there are those movies that can change your view on life and human emotions while still providing you with two hours of entertainment. This movie belongs to the latter category. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
buddyackerMay 19, 2011
This is one of my favorite movies without a doubt. I never tire of watching it. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are absolutely terrific together and I cry every time I see it. There is very little wrong with the film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BonesMay 25, 2011
Easily, 2004's best film. Charlie Kaufman delivers us his best script yet, Kate Winslet's amazing acting is probably the biggest highlight of the movie and surprisingly Jim Carrey's acting is not that horrible.
although the film is pure
Easily, 2004's best film. Charlie Kaufman delivers us his best script yet, Kate Winslet's amazing acting is probably the biggest highlight of the movie and surprisingly Jim Carrey's acting is not that horrible.
although the film is pure beauty it seems rather cheap for a 20,000,000$ movie.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
IAO123Jun 8, 2011
This film is wondrously creative, entertaining, clever and thought-provoking. It's based on an interesting premise, it's artistically shot and edited, and the story is told in an ingeniously innovative way. But this isn't half the reason it'sThis film is wondrously creative, entertaining, clever and thought-provoking. It's based on an interesting premise, it's artistically shot and edited, and the story is told in an ingeniously innovative way. But this isn't half the reason it's so good. At it's heart, it's a brilliantly acted bittersweet love story that avoids all cliches, feels uncannily real and ultimately engages the viewer emotionally on so many levels (which is rare for a Kaufman film, despite the guy's obvious artistic talent). I know a lot of people don't like Jim Carrey that much because he's been in a lot of rubbish stuff, but the guy can certainly act when given the opportunity, and Kate Winslet is simply brilliant. Together they make a wondrously believable couple that I've never stopped to question for an instant. Overall, one of my favorite all time films and an amazing cinematic achievement. Don't miss out on this! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RebeccaTYAug 17, 2011
Perfect. Favourite movie of all time. Showing a deeper and brilliant side to Jim Carrey that is lost with most of his hollywood comedies. Kate Winslet played the eccentric and irrational role of Clementine amazingly. Clever and thoughtful.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
joehezziJan 4, 2012
Please do not be scared of this film by those ignorant reviews saying that this film is "too artsy" or "to complicated". That is absolute bulls**t. This is one of the best films I've ever seen so I strongly advise everyone to watch it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFMar 14, 2013
This was just a delight. It was clever, it was original and it was downright emotional on so many levels that that have made this a timeless classic.
Eternal Sunshine tells the story of socially awkward Joel (Jim Carrey), who is detached
This was just a delight. It was clever, it was original and it was downright emotional on so many levels that that have made this a timeless classic.
Eternal Sunshine tells the story of socially awkward Joel (Jim Carrey), who is detached from his surroundings and everything going on around him, until he meets Clementine (Kate Winslet), a confrontational and free spirited woman who he immediately hits if off with, simply because their worlds couldn't be further apart.
The film is told in a very much non-linear fashion, and this is set up through the apparent break-up of the happy couple, Joel soon learns that Clementine has forgotten who Joel is, she did this through getting her memory of him erased by Lacuna, a company which deals in this.
Joel eventually decides to do the same thing and is told the process is done while he sleeps.
What follows is the true shining moment of the film, as Joel visits happier times with Clementine, to which we soon realise all is not as it seems.
The supporting cast includes Mark Ruffalo and Elijah Wood as technicians who carry out the erase part, Kirsten Dunst as the Lacuna receptionist and Tom Wilkinson as the Lacuna doctor, Howard Mierzwiak.
These characters, however, hold their own unique secrets and revelations that truly create a wonderful piece of cinema.
Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are simply fantastic as Joel and Clementine and it was wonderful to see these two step out of their comfort zone, Carrey the awkward and unfunny man, and Winslet the free and crude woman. The messages which are put across heighten the beauty and dramatic context of the film that never lets go of the wheel.
The pace of the story may leave some confused, but this is where the film truly becomes unique, there are so many elements of surprise and so many heart wrenching moments that succeed in creating a truly unique masterpiece, full of colourful scenes and artistic filmmaking that push the film further than many other love stories.
Its not surprising for many to say that this is one of their favourite films, there is enough drama to last a lifetime and enough talent to surpass your expectations in this flawless gem.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ginam5Jun 15, 2013
There are so few perfect movies. This is one of them. One of my all time favorite movies. So funny yet intelligent and romantic. It gets better every time you watch it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
MarcusMar 21, 2004
This film is inventive and well worth experiencing, but in the end I have to agree with the critics who say pairing Kaufman with Gondry is a kind of movie overload. Gondry's direction is filled with its own ideas, something Kaufman is This film is inventive and well worth experiencing, but in the end I have to agree with the critics who say pairing Kaufman with Gondry is a kind of movie overload. Gondry's direction is filled with its own ideas, something Kaufman is definitely not short on. Several wacky scenes demonstrate a great synergy emanating from the duo (and the actors deserve credit too). However, Gondry, who had the idea for the story that Kaufman wrote, does not approach the script as freshly and as deftly as he does the songs he brilliantly captures as music videos. At times, Gondry seems to be directing his own video, substituting rhythm and melody with something much less soothing or toe-tapping: Kaufman's twisted and fractured screenplay. As one critic asked "Are they collaborating or competing?" Whether this translates into more bang for the viewer's buck (or less) depends a lot on who is putting down the money for admission. It is hard to dispute that the filmmakers' manic stylings are perfectly suited to the storyline. An exhaustive second act where memories are marvelously deconstructed may go so far as to test the viewer's patience: the scenes - if what makes up the meat of this movie can be called 'scenes' - are fast and furious and unlike all others movie audiences have known. Yet they seem to build to a horror-suspense crescendo that may actually be the most conventional aspect of the film. Thank goodness there are breaks supplied by airier sequences bookending the innerworld drama. Most audiences will find something that takes them in (be it the drama, horror, suspense, sci-fi, or, as it's billed, romantic-comedy - though I would insist it's of the very post-When-Harry-Met-Sally genre). Without a doubt, ESOTSM is unique and artful cinema. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BJStankshaftAug 10, 2004
This movie was well made and had a clever premise. The story was solid but the characters could have used some work. Kate winslet's character seemed to be pushed passed what it was in the beging and made to be crazier and crazier. The This movie was well made and had a clever premise. The story was solid but the characters could have used some work. Kate winslet's character seemed to be pushed passed what it was in the beging and made to be crazier and crazier. The creators made all of the characters fall into a stereotype and limited their whole persona to that stereotype. They all had the emotion that they needed but they could not realisticly portray a normal person because their actions were limited to what someone of their stereotype would do. If the characters had more realistic actions and dialogue with eachother the movie could have been great. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TyeN.Oct 8, 2005
This is by far the best movie of 2004, and one of the greatest films of all-time. Jim Carrey and Kate Wislet share a magnetic bond that evolves way past the usual chemistry in movies. They are absolutely amazing, and they were both robbed of This is by far the best movie of 2004, and one of the greatest films of all-time. Jim Carrey and Kate Wislet share a magnetic bond that evolves way past the usual chemistry in movies. They are absolutely amazing, and they were both robbed of should-be Oscars. (especially Carrey, who wasn't even nominated) This film will forever be remembered as one of the films considered a true classic from the new era of 2000 and on. Brilliant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewG.Dec 17, 2006
Probably the most accurate, brutally honest dissection of what it is to be in love ever put to film. The concept behind the film may sound gimmicky, but it really is implemented brilliantly. A masterwork for all involved.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DK.Dec 3, 2006
This movie is a heartbreaker. Probably the most beautiful movie I've ever seen. Fantastic acting. Interesting story. Great soundtrack. If it doesn't move you, then you've never been in love.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
shlugalugOct 11, 2010
Just spellbinding. It's a while to build up and the wait is worth every second. Michel Gondry's direction is on top-form and brilliantly accompanied with a beautiful score and a precise screenplay. The story seems to go off astray but forJust spellbinding. It's a while to build up and the wait is worth every second. Michel Gondry's direction is on top-form and brilliantly accompanied with a beautiful score and a precise screenplay. The story seems to go off astray but for some reason, that's one of its best qualities. Jim Carrey is at his best since The Truman Show and thoroughly gives a performance that will be remembered for years. But the carpet from under his feet is Kate Winslet who delivers yet another monumental performance. This is my favourite role she's played because she played someone modern and she was funny at times. PLEASE, more Kate Winslet comedies. I rather liked Kirsten Dunst as the quirky receptionist who quotes Alexander Pope but underneath lies a secret unbeknownst to her. This is probably the best film of 2004 and one of my favourite films of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JonnyFendiJan 10, 2011
Did you ever fall in love so deeply and then you just broke up with her/him? That is the feeling you got from watching thiz film. The feeling about how you fall in love with her, and later you realize that time would never come back again.Did you ever fall in love so deeply and then you just broke up with her/him? That is the feeling you got from watching thiz film. The feeling about how you fall in love with her, and later you realize that time would never come back again. Starred by Jim Carrey, Kate Winslet, Mark Rufallo, and Kirsten Dunst. Directed by French Director, Michel Gondry. Gondry is one of the directors who always brings some absurd stories as his features (such as: THE SCIENCE OF SLEEP (2006), that also I like very much). The story is about how you dreams your past and you can actually feel it as just happens at the present time. Sometimes it happens based on what you remember. Thiz is interesting part, in one of the scene, the two characters (Carrey and Winslet) had interaction with each other but they surrounded by people who had plain/blank face, coz the Carey character don not remember how the people look like, so the scene describes it people with plain/blank face. Director was so lucky to got Carey and Winslet in appropriate time, Carey just desperately wants some serious drama beside his role always known as comedian, and Winslet wants to prove her truly acting skill after TITANIC (1997). Thiz Movie maybe not contains an extraordinary storyline, but can effectively reflects very well the description about how the event occurred.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
KivaAug 7, 2013
Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind is a story about a couple who obviously don't get well with each other and so the women goes to a doctor who can erase her memories of the men. When the men learns about that he wants to do it too. It isEternal sunshine of the spotless mind is a story about a couple who obviously don't get well with each other and so the women goes to a doctor who can erase her memories of the men. When the men learns about that he wants to do it too. It is an interesting idea but in the beginning the film is too complicated, strange rare and hard to understand which will confuse many people. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet were amazing and that surprised me as I am used to see Jim Carrey only in comedies. The cinematography is amazing as well as the direction of that film but it is a little bit confusing which is something I really didn't like. Yes it it touching and passes the message that we have to give a second chance to some people. But it is still over complicated for the kind of these films yet it is a new idea. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RecycledAirSep 19, 2013
An imaginative and unique work of art. This films cast delivers their comedic dialogue perfectly, along with stunning imagery and visuals, phenomenal acting, touching and heartbreaking moments, a breathtaking soundtrack, and a masterfulAn imaginative and unique work of art. This films cast delivers their comedic dialogue perfectly, along with stunning imagery and visuals, phenomenal acting, touching and heartbreaking moments, a breathtaking soundtrack, and a masterful script. With its unclear ending and its "easter eggs" that you find throughout the film, "Eternal Sunshine" has you asking questions and coming to conclusions the likes of which may go forever unanswered. The abundance of melancholy in the air just makes the movie so much better. The characters are some of the most personable and lovable characters I have seen since "The Perks Of Being A Wallflower." Their personalities consist of many traits that are noticeable, but one of those traits is over exaggerated to the point of making seem like caricatures, which makes their problems seem so much more important, making them so much more relatable, making them seem like long lost family members, which makes their emotions just so important to you. Emotional preparation is mandatory before watching this film. There are some scenes that just break your heart, it's just called good filmmaking. This beautiful film has put it's mark on cinema forever and will be always known as an instant classic. Its a masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AllisonL.Feb 9, 2008
Perfect and TOUCHING. One of my most favorite movies ever. The message is incredible! Never gets old for me and something new is uncovered to me every time I watch it. The soundtrack is absolutely beautiful too! I've watched this Perfect and TOUCHING. One of my most favorite movies ever. The message is incredible! Never gets old for me and something new is uncovered to me every time I watch it. The soundtrack is absolutely beautiful too! I've watched this probably 10 times, and I'll watch it the next time it comes on too. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful
10
TroelsJJan 21, 2009
This is the perfect love movie. In every way it is perfect and clever. And I generally hate love movies, but twisting the genre into this is just a majestetic achievement. It's crazy, sad, beautiful, funny and full of love; what every This is the perfect love movie. In every way it is perfect and clever. And I generally hate love movies, but twisting the genre into this is just a majestetic achievement. It's crazy, sad, beautiful, funny and full of love; what every love movie wants to be, but only "Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind" is. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful
10
heyitsmegrif4Jun 23, 2012
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is a heartfelt, funny, emotionally powerful, original, heartbreaking, piece of art. It features great performances from Winslet and Carrey, and offers a nice, sweet, fresh, twist on a regular romanticEternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is a heartfelt, funny, emotionally powerful, original, heartbreaking, piece of art. It features great performances from Winslet and Carrey, and offers a nice, sweet, fresh, twist on a regular romantic comedy. I give this movie 96%. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
MattM.Jun 3, 2005
This is the only film i have seen that gives me faith in post-modern eclectism. excellent. so many touching moments. emotions captured beautifully in imagery. not concept driven but with a superb concept. not melodramatic but emotional. the This is the only film i have seen that gives me faith in post-modern eclectism. excellent. so many touching moments. emotions captured beautifully in imagery. not concept driven but with a superb concept. not melodramatic but emotional. the characters were ecentric and interesting but relatable and their love was so universal. i feel touched when ever i hear beck's song. i just think of those last images of them holding hands on the beach. thankyou so much. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
TylerC.Feb 6, 2008
This may be my favorite film ever. Perfect casting, perfect direction, perfect writing. Clementine: My crotch is still here, just as you remembered it. Joel: Yuck!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
StevenH.Jul 8, 2005
This movie was an unbelievable mix of comedy and trajedy that forced you to follow it. You can not look away for a moment or you'll miss something, and this movie makes you not want to look away for even a moment. Amazing movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
HawrehJan 19, 2008
This film is one of the best movie I have ever seen in my life. and in any way is not Analogous with "being john Malkovich" and any other memory and Mind and Remembrance movies. Thanks for your rating.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
K.JamesJul 7, 2004
I love this movie. All the actors are so good (elijah wood). it is so funny. Jim Carrey is the best comedy actor (adam sandler sucks). Kirsten Dunst is second best actress evah. Kate Winslet is first. I love that bit where her and jim are I love this movie. All the actors are so good (elijah wood). it is so funny. Jim Carrey is the best comedy actor (adam sandler sucks). Kirsten Dunst is second best actress evah. Kate Winslet is first. I love that bit where her and jim are watching the movie and he says "there are people coming out of your butt" and she says "there is?". Genius...the best movie ever! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeHJan 8, 2010
Kaufman is a genius, nuff said.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RickyG.Oct 3, 2004
Simply beautiful film, Gondry's beautiful cinematic touch is yet again candy for us to consume. I love it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
richyfOct 8, 2004
Breathtaking...a story most of us could relate in some way or another and a perspective on life, love, hate, humour that deserves respect to the writer and director. Visually stunning....just brilliant!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndyG.Oct 8, 2004
I saw this film a few days ago on DVD (sadly having missed it at the cinema). I've barely stopped thinking about it since. It's simply one of the best films I've ever seen, so superb in every respect that I'd find it I saw this film a few days ago on DVD (sadly having missed it at the cinema). I've barely stopped thinking about it since. It's simply one of the best films I've ever seen, so superb in every respect that I'd find it difficult to find a single flaw. Jim Carrey proves once again that he has a far greater depth as an actor than many give him credit for (adding to his wonderful performances in The Truman Show and Man on the Moon), while Kate Winslet is fantastic too. The story is confusing at times initially but it all makes perfect sense in the end, and the score fits perfectly. Anyone put off watching this masterpiece by the few negative reader reviews -- don't be. Read their reviews, see their grammatical and spelling errors and realize that they simply didn't have the ability to grasp the film at all. Just ... brilliant. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShadieE.Mar 20, 2004
Charlie Kaufman keeps coming up with some of the most original movies ever created ... Michel Gondry implements that unique visual style where appropriate, with none of the misfires hanging over from Human Nature. The performances are all Charlie Kaufman keeps coming up with some of the most original movies ever created ... Michel Gondry implements that unique visual style where appropriate, with none of the misfires hanging over from Human Nature. The performances are all spotless, inherently creating inter-character dynamics so complex that this is a film that demands repeat viewings. Amazing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulM.Apr 4, 2004
When I walked into the theatre I noticed that me and my 3 friends were the only teenagers in the movie. I thought what have I gotten myself into... Within the first ten minutes Of the movie I found myself in love with it. My friends on the When I walked into the theatre I noticed that me and my 3 friends were the only teenagers in the movie. I thought what have I gotten myself into... Within the first ten minutes Of the movie I found myself in love with it. My friends on the other hand thought differently. But in the end I say one of the best movies ever! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulH.Apr 6, 2004
Rent or go to see this film as it is one of the best you are likely to see. i won't go into it in too much detail but this film goes straight into my top 5 films. kaufman yet again has delivered us a breath of fresh air.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ErwinK.May 3, 2004
God that was good.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
IsmelloscarJan 21, 2005
This is the best movie of the year, hands down. Screw "Sideways."
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JasonBJul 10, 2005
A brilliant movie, hands down. Anyone who says they don't understand the plot should stick to Spongebob. It's great to watch a movie where the people making it assume you're intelligent. If you aren't, stay away. you A brilliant movie, hands down. Anyone who says they don't understand the plot should stick to Spongebob. It's great to watch a movie where the people making it assume you're intelligent. If you aren't, stay away. you might hurt yourself thinking about it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jacomienSep 1, 2005
Only saw it last week... had been on my to watch list for too long. Very impressed though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeremyR.Jun 28, 2006
My current favorite film. An intriguing story about relationship, the good and the bad. All those reviews in here that "didn't get it" or hated it, you're entitled to your opininions, but I'm sorry for you that you missed out My current favorite film. An intriguing story about relationship, the good and the bad. All those reviews in here that "didn't get it" or hated it, you're entitled to your opininions, but I'm sorry for you that you missed out on a great movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FelixQ.Jul 25, 2006
Another classic of our time. There has never been another like it, nor will there ever be again. The elements conspire on this one to create something that leaves you not entirely sure what kind of movie you just watched- and loving it. Yes, Another classic of our time. There has never been another like it, nor will there ever be again. The elements conspire on this one to create something that leaves you not entirely sure what kind of movie you just watched- and loving it. Yes, it's funny, but never slapstick. Yes, it's dramatic, but it never goes Deep End of the Ocean. Yes, there are fantasy elements aplenty, but somehow it feels natural, as if the events just fit within the world of the film. There's even a mystery element, leaving you slightly confused until ut all comes together at the end. It has a slightly Donnie Darko-like quality in this way- somehow it feels like somewhere you missed something, and you have the urge to rewind and see what it was. Once all the threads are tied up, you're left with an "aaahh" sense of completetion. Complex characters, never dismissing development to focus on the more quirky elements of the film, never letting you get lazy as a viewer. No one character is a runaway favorite as each is flawed in the way they are supposed to be. One of the few movies that pulls off the darker, more morbid aspect without laying it on too thick. Outshines it's "cousin", Being John Malkovich, by a mile. My only critisism is possibly cramming just a leetle too much in there. Not enough to forfeit a point, though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MathewDOct 12, 2007
Quite possibly one of the finest films ever made. Heart-wrenching and sweet all in one. I watch this DVD at least once a week and it never gets old. Considering my hatred of Jim Carrey, this is a remarkable and surprising use of his talent.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattC.Aug 23, 2007
Typically confusing, but sadly enjoyable. It really is a confusing movie but the vibe that it gives off...its very unique. Its not bad, but after rewatching another time, its not THAT comfortable. The way i recommend anybody watching it is: Typically confusing, but sadly enjoyable. It really is a confusing movie but the vibe that it gives off...its very unique. Its not bad, but after rewatching another time, its not THAT comfortable. The way i recommend anybody watching it is: watch it late at night, peacefully, relaxing and let the take you in Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamuelC.Sep 18, 2007
Beautiful and touching. Very creative.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArtiomP.Jan 16, 2010
To bad there are only fiew of such films.. The abstractism should predominate into more movies, because there are less people who understand them, but they could understand more, why not?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HeatherD.Oct 17, 2004
Very heartbreaking to watch.... makes you appreciate someone you love more.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZacharyM.Oct 23, 2004
Excellent! Makes you laugh and think. Story catches you from the start. I'm not a huge Jim Carrey fan, but he was really good in this film. Thats the best bit of acting that I have seen in quite a while. This movie also has great replay Excellent! Makes you laugh and think. Story catches you from the start. I'm not a huge Jim Carrey fan, but he was really good in this film. Thats the best bit of acting that I have seen in quite a while. This movie also has great replay value because you catch something new everytime. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaveMar 20, 2004
Absolutely great movie. No one writes like Kaufman, he's just pure imagination at its best. Jim Carrey's performance is his best ever, bringing emotion and nuances to a complex character. Couldn't have left the theater happier.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DougD.Mar 24, 2004
Never before I have I seen a movie that better captured the love I feel for my wife. To me, it just struck a chord and was the most realistic romance I have ever seen in my entire life, I will love this one forever.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaW.Mar 29, 2004
This is a movie I'm sure I will never forget.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
YeaYunC.Mar 31, 2004
A refreshingly thought-provoking perspective on life, love, loss and relationships, this movie was beautiful, poignant and heart wrenching. Beautifully shot, wonderfully acted and highly imaginative in the way the plot unfolded ? this A refreshingly thought-provoking perspective on life, love, loss and relationships, this movie was beautiful, poignant and heart wrenching. Beautifully shot, wonderfully acted and highly imaginative in the way the plot unfolded ? this exceeded my expectations on every dimension. This is one to add to my collection of all-time favorites. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IliyaD.May 13, 2005
I feel sorrow for the people who didn't understand and sad for those who didn't like this movie. This movie is about love and all his aspects. This is a keeper.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
J.C.Mar 27, 2004
"You might as well put up a sign at the enterance of the theater: Stupid People Need Not Attend..." How about "stupid people might as well not comment on the quality of new movies unless they know how to spell"?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnY.Mar 20, 2004
As creative as can be, and with stellar performances, but nowhere near the excellence of "Being John Malkovich."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.ZimmermanMar 29, 2004
Breathtakingly complete. This is a movie that creates it's own universe out of the mysteries of the most vital human experience, love. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind seems to be part of a general trend in the progression of art; Breathtakingly complete. This is a movie that creates it's own universe out of the mysteries of the most vital human experience, love. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind seems to be part of a general trend in the progression of art; a completeness that marries all of experience to one emotional situation (in this movie's case, the confessive "I love and wish to be loved") and then proceeds to portray any and all behavior that would arise from the situation. As a filmic text, this is new sacred ground, folks. There are enough connections to be made between themes that reinforce one another, you could build a tower right to heaven. Pardon my musings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayB.Mar 20, 2004
Another great movie from one of the most original screenwriters on the planet! If you love brainless action movies, by all means avoid this beautiful love story. And once again, the critic from Baltimore who loved "Twisted" (Michael Another great movie from one of the most original screenwriters on the planet! If you love brainless action movies, by all means avoid this beautiful love story. And once again, the critic from Baltimore who loved "Twisted" (Michael Sragow-see above) gave this one 2 stars. Is there no end to the unreliabilty of his reviews???! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanKFeb 9, 2005
You will either love or hate this movie. I hold this movie on par with great literature as "The Great Gatsby" and "Catcher In The Rye". It speaks of true to life emotions and short comings we all posses. The acting and screen play were You will either love or hate this movie. I hold this movie on par with great literature as "The Great Gatsby" and "Catcher In The Rye". It speaks of true to life emotions and short comings we all posses. The acting and screen play were perfect in sculpting a believable scenerio. We can see well rounded characters in this movie. Winslet is "impulisve" and unpredictable and Carrey is the typical man stuck in a rut, living a dull self loathing life. But they both have one thing in commen: they need that something in thier life so they can go beyond thier typical self. Quoting another comment "Is it really better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all?". And of course the ironic title begs the question "would a spotless mind live in eternal sunshin?" In the end life is all about choice, isn't it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamP.Jun 9, 2007
The movie itself was fine, although I do have trouble with a director reusing the same scenes multiple times in a movie, it comes off as laziness. There is not much to get, it seems as though the people who say, "Did you get it?" were also The movie itself was fine, although I do have trouble with a director reusing the same scenes multiple times in a movie, it comes off as laziness. There is not much to get, it seems as though the people who say, "Did you get it?" were also overly enthralled by the Butterfly Effect and find fascination in the Gilmore Girls and One Tree Hill. The movie pulls off its premise, but does not providing a "WOW" factor by any means; the only saving grace is Jim Carrey doing what he does best in a quickly moving montage of acting as different characters from his past. Save yourself the time, go see Man in the Moon instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesW.Mar 22, 2004
From the commercials I expected this to be an offbeat comedy, but it really isn't. It's a thoughtful and very creative exploration into love and sadness and what people will tolerate for love. I really liked it, as did my wife and sister.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeB.Apr 16, 2004
Parts of this film are absolutely transcendent, which make up for its rather minor flaws. A movie for the ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickG.Apr 16, 2004
Eternal Sunshine works best when it stays focused on the relationship between Joel and Clementine. The movie falters when it goes off on tangents related to the messed up lives of the people doing Joel's memory erasing. Otherwise, Joel Eternal Sunshine works best when it stays focused on the relationship between Joel and Clementine. The movie falters when it goes off on tangents related to the messed up lives of the people doing Joel's memory erasing. Otherwise, Joel and Clementine are very amusing to watch. I liked it when Joel falls for the "She said I was the nicest man she ever met" line. Or when Joel tries to forget about Clementine's crotch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulaW.Apr 18, 2004
For all the perpetual grad students out there: this is the rare postmodern narrative in which the mechanics of metastory don't get in the way of deep emotion. This is the most romantic movie I've seen in a long time. It's the For all the perpetual grad students out there: this is the rare postmodern narrative in which the mechanics of metastory don't get in the way of deep emotion. This is the most romantic movie I've seen in a long time. It's the romantic comedy for people who don't like romantic comedies, the romantic comedy that won't hurt your brain with its stupidity, the first romantic comedy since at least 1960 whose leads aren't nitwits that you'd just as soon bitch-slap as watch for two hours. Kate Winslet is the most convincing Gen-X bookstore-haunting crazy girl I've seen yet in a major Hollywood movie (boo on previous attempts like Winona Ryder's too-cute wannabe filmmaker in Reality Bites and Bridget Fonda's boob-job-getting slacker waitress (snort!) in Singles). She's dazzling and infuriating in equal measure. Jim Carrey is actually sort of swoonworthy as a stodgy, bookish straight man. Oh yeah, and the movie does a good job of holding up the comedy half of the romantic-comedy label. Don't say you are sick of love until you've seen this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanH.Apr 2, 2004
Wonderful, so far the best movie of this year, another brilliant movie from the mind of Charlie Kaufman, easily the best performance of Carrey's career, equally wonderful is Winslet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahK.Apr 2, 2004
Tremendous. I don't know if Charlie Kaufman can do any original screenplay wrong. The people I talked to who don't like it are the ones who want a movie to come to them and sit on their lap and just be. They don't enjoy movies Tremendous. I don't know if Charlie Kaufman can do any original screenplay wrong. The people I talked to who don't like it are the ones who want a movie to come to them and sit on their lap and just be. They don't enjoy movies where you have to think and be actively engaged. So if that's you, you might not like it. But if, on the other hand, you have spectacular taste in movies, do NOT miss this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanelleB.Apr 4, 2004
This movie has to be the best I've seen in a long time. One of the best in my life. The way it was filmed, the plot line, the suspense, the romance and the humor were all timed at the perfect moment, at times I felt like crying. This movie has to be the best I've seen in a long time. One of the best in my life. The way it was filmed, the plot line, the suspense, the romance and the humor were all timed at the perfect moment, at times I felt like crying. It's amazing that people can make films this amazing, and that people would have enough imagination to come up wtih them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AustinW.Apr 4, 2004
A brilliant movie. Exceptionally sad in some parts, but the good, heartbreaking kind of sad that makes you feel more human.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Apr 8, 2004
Fantastic movie!!! Go see it for yourself ... then you will want to see it again. Warning: This movie is intended for mature audiences only. People who are entertained by brainless hollywood garbage (i.e. films starring Bruce Willis, Dennis Fantastic movie!!! Go see it for yourself ... then you will want to see it again. Warning: This movie is intended for mature audiences only. People who are entertained by brainless hollywood garbage (i.e. films starring Bruce Willis, Dennis Quaid, or Ashley Judd, etc.), please stay home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanM.Apr 9, 2004
Overall, a great experience. Clementine seems to be the kind of girl that all guys look for to spice up a boring or uninteresting life. But that is not the role that she wants to play, Charlie Kaufman has conjured up a very smart and Overall, a great experience. Clementine seems to be the kind of girl that all guys look for to spice up a boring or uninteresting life. But that is not the role that she wants to play, Charlie Kaufman has conjured up a very smart and convincing story that portrays real human qualities through a very odd medium. It challenges the notion that we would be better off without certain memories, maybe that was true in the case of Clementine and Joel, there is no definite answer, it can go either way. Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VassilisI.May 30, 2004
Someone can say a lot about this film, focusing on the very good acting of Carrey/Winslet or the smart direction of the film. But no words can describe the way you feel after you see this movie... Yes, it's better to love than to be Someone can say a lot about this film, focusing on the very good acting of Carrey/Winslet or the smart direction of the film. But no words can describe the way you feel after you see this movie... Yes, it's better to love than to be loved. The best film of this season. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekG.May 8, 2004
Absolutely brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrendanM.May 9, 2004
I've never seen a movie that made me really think about things, good or bad, like this one. Really enjoyed the acting as well as the music. I thought the moive was original and thoughtful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleS.Aug 31, 2004
Words cannot explain how truely AMAZING this film is. I am still completely in love with it, as well as in awe of it. Simply perfect - one of the best movies I have ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJSamsonAug 9, 2004
One of the most thought provoking, real love stories of our generation. Its genuine look at life and love affected me so much, I had to reflect on mine as well. Great film, worthy of an Oscar nomination, especially to Kirsten Dunst, who gave One of the most thought provoking, real love stories of our generation. Its genuine look at life and love affected me so much, I had to reflect on mine as well. Great film, worthy of an Oscar nomination, especially to Kirsten Dunst, who gave the best performance in the movie for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelCSep 30, 2004
Theres something magical about this movie. I just totally get what the director is trying to achieve, and the characters in the movie are so believable. Excellent performances. This movie can make me laugh for one minute, and the next im Theres something magical about this movie. I just totally get what the director is trying to achieve, and the characters in the movie are so believable. Excellent performances. This movie can make me laugh for one minute, and the next im thinking about the time I spent with my first true love and I cry. Such an original movie... it also makes me think about how my first true love hated this movie lol. Well, highly recommended by me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterJ.Jan 20, 2005
Great movie. Carey proves once again that he is an even better actor than he is a comedian. Having Kirsten Dunst to look at, if only for a few scenes, wasn't so bad either...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NormanMJan 30, 2005
One of the best films I've seen in a long time. Original and touching - it was overlooked by the Academy, in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AustinA.Feb 9, 2005
Truly amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanM.Mar 22, 2005
Kaufman doesn't disappoint with a much deserved original screenplay award. it's nice to see a hollywood produced movie that has some intellect, art and entertainment value to it. without taking itself too seriously this movie was Kaufman doesn't disappoint with a much deserved original screenplay award. it's nice to see a hollywood produced movie that has some intellect, art and entertainment value to it. without taking itself too seriously this movie was crafty and balanced. i think the people that didn't care for this movie have neither the patience nor the brain to wrap around this type of piece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkM.Apr 5, 2005
One of the best and most thought-provoking sci-fi films I've seen. Unlike in "Memento" where the chronological backwardness was a mere gimmick, here the unexplained displacements in time and place serve to heighten the emotional impact One of the best and most thought-provoking sci-fi films I've seen. Unlike in "Memento" where the chronological backwardness was a mere gimmick, here the unexplained displacements in time and place serve to heighten the emotional impact of what you're seeing. Cynicism squares off against hope by way of a novel, engaging premise. On first viewing I felt genuine suspense for how the story would leave Joel and Clementine's relationship--I was rooting for these kids. The storly brought forth the underlying questions about the nature of relationships--i.e. to what degree do we compromise or "settle" in order to live with ourselves and others? The mind-wipe procedure strikes me as a huge emotional cop-out, and yet how many of us would use it, if it were available? By placing the movie within a plausible setting we all can recognize, you're forced to grapple with this question. Despite the overall dramatic tone, there are also some laugh-out loud funny moments. A great movie, worth multiple viewings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisG.Feb 6, 2006
In a word: breathtaking. I realize that the unconventional means of storytelling employed in this film won't be everybody's cup of tea; many viewers don't want to have to think too much or feel too much when watching a movie. In a word: breathtaking. I realize that the unconventional means of storytelling employed in this film won't be everybody's cup of tea; many viewers don't want to have to think too much or feel too much when watching a movie. But this is an extraordinary film, and it deserves the fulll investment of attention and emotional engagement that it demands. Despite the arty cinematic methods used by Gondry (which will either astound you or irritate you, depending on your tastes), there is nothing highbrow or inaccessible about the story's message: love is worth experiencing, even when it's difficult or painful or imperfect. And love - and our lovers - can never be removed from our psyches, no mater how much we may sometimes wish it all could be. Beautifully acted (Jim Carrey is better than I would have ever expected him to be, and Kate Winslet equals him in every way), imaginatively directed, exquisitely written, and boldly designed and shot. This film is a challenge, but those who rise to it will be richly rewarded. Truly awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TakN.Jun 14, 2007
My favorite movie of all time. not much else to say except it is amazingly insightful and touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZeinaYOct 22, 2009
An absolutely riveting love story, that Gondry and Kauffman don't make a sappy mess out of.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielLJul 30, 2009
People criticise it for being confusing, okay think you kind of missed the point, it does not make them think and they are not entertained... okay you can not help who you fall in love with and it is better to remember to have loved and lost People criticise it for being confusing, okay think you kind of missed the point, it does not make them think and they are not entertained... okay you can not help who you fall in love with and it is better to remember to have loved and lost than not at all. the film is entertaining and romantic and something different and beautiful. this film lies in my top ten of all films, Jim Carrey should have got an Oscar nomination. The film should have bagged director and technology nominations. the best of the past 10 years, difficult to say with some good ones but definately in the top 5. See it and enjoy and get taken to a side of cinema which we love and are surprised how vivid some directors and writers can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChimpOct 1, 2004
Without a doubt the best movie in theaters this year, and the best ive seen all year including old movies. if it sounds corny to you just ignore what your thinking and go see it. it is simply incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanB.Oct 1, 2004
Brilliant. Just watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ABOct 10, 2004
One of the best movies I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LockneO.Oct 14, 2004
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is an excellent film that shouldn't be missed by anyone. Eternal Sunshine bends your mind and breaks your heart at the same time. Jim Carrey, Kate Winslet, Kirsten Dunst, and Mark Ruffalo give Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is an excellent film that shouldn't be missed by anyone. Eternal Sunshine bends your mind and breaks your heart at the same time. Jim Carrey, Kate Winslet, Kirsten Dunst, and Mark Ruffalo give exceptional performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveC.Oct 16, 2004
Probably the finest film in the last year. Totally original and (ironically) unlikely to leave your memory any time soon. Wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyM.Oct 17, 2004
Great, a masterpiece, best film of the year, maybe the best film of the decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickDec 1, 2004
Without a doubt, the best of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JedD.Oct 23, 2004
So far the best american film of 2004. Jim Carrey is great. Kaufman hits again. I hope this is not forgotten by the time oscars roll around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MimiJ.Oct 25, 2004
This movie was soo good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BelleCDec 5, 2004
Wow... nearly every member of the cast has done their finest work in this film. I was touched to tears by this tender work. It reminded me of the reason we continue to start new relationships, even after heartbreak. The viewer experiences Wow... nearly every member of the cast has done their finest work in this film. I was touched to tears by this tender work. It reminded me of the reason we continue to start new relationships, even after heartbreak. The viewer experiences the excitment of a new relationship, as well as the heartbreaking ending and is asked, "Is it all worth it?" This film is full of melancholy and hope, and one is thankful for both. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JavierADec 8, 2004
Hands down, the best movie of 2004 so far. Thoroughly innovative, it challenges everything cinema has taught us. Charlie Kaufman's writing is pure genius, but the real gem here is the stunning exploration of love that takes place. A Hands down, the best movie of 2004 so far. Thoroughly innovative, it challenges everything cinema has taught us. Charlie Kaufman's writing is pure genius, but the real gem here is the stunning exploration of love that takes place. A breathtaking gem, with top-notch performances from everyone involved (particularly Kate Winslet) and may achieve masterpiece status soon enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AAOct 3, 2004
Sorry to give this a 7 but i was expecting it to be really good. IT was good but i guess thats what i get for reading reviews before i watch a movie, it ruins the experience. Watch it, you will like it for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlejandroD.Oct 3, 2004
This movie is incredible.. Words can't describe it, it's an experience you have to go through to believe it. I think this movie will please a lot, but some will hate it, or won't even understand it. This is the kind of movie This movie is incredible.. Words can't describe it, it's an experience you have to go through to believe it. I think this movie will please a lot, but some will hate it, or won't even understand it. This is the kind of movie that is worth seeing, even if you hate it, you'll find it worth your time. The best movie I have ever seen in my life, highly recommended if you are a person that likes to use your brain!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesS.Oct 7, 2004
The best movie of 2004. Lives and decisions have literally been changed after watching this movie. A strange feeling of heartache and wonder lingers long after the lights come on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnOct 8, 2004
Weird but entertaining! The cast was fabulous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikeshG.Mar 16, 2004
Truely Genius Actor, Actress, Original Screenplay please.
0 of 0 users found this helpful