Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 691 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Joel (Carrey) is stunned to discover that his girlfriend Clementine (Winslet) has had her memories of their tumultuous relationship erased. Out of desperation, he contacts the inventor of the process, Dr. Howard Mierzwiak (Wilkinson), to have Clementine removed from his own memory. But as Joel's memories progressively disappear, he begins to rediscover his love for Clementine. (Focus Features) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    Feels like something entirely brand-new; such are the gifts of Kaufman and Gondry, inventors and magicians.
  2. It's a trippy but tender examination of human emotions, relationships, all-consuming love.
  3. Not only (Kaufman's) most accessible and romantic screenplay, it's his most complete. The third act works like a charm and pulls all his themes, characters and conflicts together beautifully.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    If films about coping with memory loss and/or reverse-order storytelling now constitute a mini-genre, then Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is arguably the best of the lot.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    It is by turns comic, dark and surprisingly tender. If one must reduce it to simple description, call it a love story with a twist. Or a twisted love story.
  6. 80
    There aren't many performers who can deliver the fullness of heart that such a plot demands, but Winslet is one of them. [22 March 2004, p. 102]
  7. 50
    Wants to be a bittersweet comedy about erotic loss and memory loss. But it doesn't have the heart or brain.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 287
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This movie was amazing! I loved the characters and I thought it was a refreshing change of romantic comedy. It really toughed base with the meaning behind a thoughtful relationship between one really odd couple. This movie really does express the meaning behind two opposites attract. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    This was just a delight. It was clever, it was original and it was downright emotional on so many levels that that have made this a timeless classic.
    Eternal Sunshine tells the story of socially awkward Joel (Jim Carrey), who is detached from his surroundings and everything going on around him, until he meets Clementine (Kate Winslet), a confrontational and free spirited woman who he immediately hits if off with, simply because their worlds couldn't be further apart.
    The film is told in a very much non-linear fashion, and this is set up through the apparent break-up of the happy couple, Joel soon learns that Clementine has forgotten who Joel is, she did this through getting her memory of him erased by Lacuna, a company which deals in this.
    Joel eventually decides to do the same thing and is told the process is done while he sleeps.
    What follows is the true shining moment of the film, as Joel visits happier times with Clementine, to which we soon realise all is not as it seems.
    The supporting cast includes Mark Ruffalo and Elijah Wood as technicians who carry out the erase part, Kirsten Dunst as the Lacuna receptionist and Tom Wilkinson as the Lacuna doctor, Howard Mierzwiak.
    These characters, however, hold their own unique secrets and revelations that truly create a wonderful piece of cinema.
    Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are simply fantastic as Joel and Clementine and it was wonderful to see these two step out of their comfort zone, Carrey the awkward and unfunny man, and Winslet the free and crude woman. The messages which are put across heighten the beauty and dramatic context of the film that never lets go of the wheel.
    The pace of the story may leave some confused, but this is where the film truly becomes unique, there are so many elements of surprise and so many heart wrenching moments that succeed in creating a truly unique masterpiece, full of colourful scenes and artistic filmmaking that push the film further than many other love stories.
    Its not surprising for many to say that this is one of their favourite films, there is enough drama to last a lifetime and enough talent to surpass your expectations in this flawless gem.
    Expand
  3. May 19, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite movies without a doubt. I never tire of watching it. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are absolutely terrific together and I cry every time I see it. There is very little wrong with the film. Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    touching. it is my one favorite film from my favorite films. I can suggest this film If you want to leave your home and go to this story. story is amazing, sometimes you will be sad but after this film you can understand some differences between real life and dreams.. Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Marvellous! Jim carrey proves us than he can be more than a clown. The plot is creative. I can't believe that we were waiting for something as awful as 'the green lantern'' from Gondry afterward, such a waste of talent. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    What can I say? The movie was cast brilliantly. Jim Carrey can act, and so can Kate Winslet. Kirsten Dunst turns out a rare performance where I wasn't disappointed with her. It was a pleasant surprise to see Mark Ruffalo in his character. The plot flows seamlessly. Two people, who are far from perfect, in love with each other. And the psychological hurdles they face to hold onto each others' memories. I'm glad I got to watch a psychological thriller with a laid-back, humorous tone. One of those gems of movies you shouldn't miss at any cost. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    One of my least favorite movies ever. The message is stupid. Watching it once was painful enough. All the actors should kiss their careers goodbye. I hated everything about it. Expand

See all 287 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.
  2. The Nightmare After Christmas: Are January Movies Really That Bad?

    The Nightmare After Christmas: Are January Movies Really That Bad? Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Conventional wisdom has it that January is a dumping ground for bad movies, and our numbers back that up. We compare January to other months, look for past releases that actually succeeded, and preview movies coming out in the next few weeks.
  3. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  4. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.