Europa Report

Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 1, 2013
    60
    Finally, a found-footage thriller that merits, and expands on, this irrationally popular format.
  2. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Jul 15, 2013
    59
    Europa Report doesn’t entirely sell out to convention by the end, but the steps it takes to reach its noble conclusion reflect a lack of imagination and invention, especially for a film that initially seems to champion such qualities.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Aug 2, 2013
    55
    While Europa Report recalls such small-ensemble stuck-in-space flicks as "Moon" and "Sunshine," it's basically "The Blair Witch Project" relocated to the vicinity of Jupiter.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Aug 1, 2013
    50
    "Another Earth" and "Moon" transcended their financial and physical limitations with mystery and ambiguity. Europa Report goes ploddingly where bolder films have gone before.
  5. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jul 26, 2013
    50
    After a while, it's hard to escape the fact that the audience is watching a potential monster movie in which most of the fun stuff — i.e. the monster—has been pared away.
  6. 50
    Director Sebastian Cordero — he did the John Leguizamo journalism thriller “Chronicles” — serves up chilling and all-too-real ways to die in space and maintains tension even if suspense is in short supply in a tale told in flashback.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jul 30, 2013
    40
    Simply put, the care and thoughtfulness that goes into footage-faking has not been applied to the film's script or structure.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Europa Report is no short of amazing, dark and mysterious with dazzling effects; you can actually believe that you are with the characters onEuropa Report is no short of amazing, dark and mysterious with dazzling effects; you can actually believe that you are with the characters on the spaceship, and the discovery, it is a beautiful wonder to sight. The whole movie has the cold claustrophobic feel to it, which is a unique style and feeling. This movie actually proves that we can bring science fiction thrillers without the use of much budget and gross out scenes ex: Alien & Aliens! Europa Report is a beautiful journey through the wonders of the universe around us. Just beautiful and a definite must see! Best of 2013! Full Review »
  2. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Europe Report by Sebastián Cordero: I had high expectations for this film, but I had a little incuriosito.Il film manages to put tensionEurope Report by Sebastián Cordero: I had high expectations for this film, but I had a little incuriosito.Il film manages to put tension throughout its duration, is consistent with himself, affascina.Riesce in order to be realistic despite the budget remeber, maybe there's a little something that could be done a little better, but you can not gloss over some difetti.I protagonists behave in a credible way, there is the appeal to discovery, there is a lot of curiosity in what accade.Il everything is made with the technique of found footage, which in this case is apt for this film.Ci are references to other science fiction films like A Space Odyssey that are sure to please however the film for me is very cool piacevole.Davvero is a good science fiction movie, definitely worth watching (I hope it comes out sooner or later in Italy), one of the best of its kind in recent years. Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    Europa Report 8/10. I loved it. Bravo Sebastián Cordero, you did with a 10 million dollar budget what Shane Black and 200 million could onlyEuropa Report 8/10. I loved it. Bravo Sebastián Cordero, you did with a 10 million dollar budget what Shane Black and 200 million could only dream of: make a great movie, LOL. Seriously, if you're a sci-fi fan tired of the same old predictable repetitive crap, then watch this. It has tension, emotion, depth, mystery, everything that makes a great sci-fi movie. Full Review »