Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 9, 2013
    90
    If this isn’t quite a great movie, it should be an immensely gratifying one for sci-fi fans tired of the conceptual overkill and general dumbness of “Prometheus” or “Star Trek Into Darkness.”
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    Jul 28, 2013
    80
    The basic story has been told many times before, but it’s intriguingly retold by screenwriter Philip Gelatt and director Sebastian Cordero in this low-budget, bare-bones rendering of a familiar theme.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Aug 22, 2013
    80
    These characters are more than willing to risk their lives to further advances in science. That’s a passion and dedication that fuels Europa Report, and Cordero makes the most of it.
  4. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Aug 2, 2013
    75
    The beauty of Ecuadorian director Sebastian Cordero's film is the simplicity of its approach.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jul 31, 2013
    67
    As directed by Ecuadorian filmmaker Sebastián Cordero (Chronicles, Rage), Europa Report manages a few striking and intense sequences — most notably, a fatal drift into the endless vacuum of nothingness, filmed from the perspective of the disappearing spaceman.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 1, 2013
    60
    Finally, a found-footage thriller that merits, and expands on, this irrationally popular format.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jul 30, 2013
    40
    Simply put, the care and thoughtfulness that goes into footage-faking has not been applied to the film's script or structure.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Visually interesting: use of multiple cam shots from different parts of the shuttle, scratchy disconnections etc. Interesting plot: loss of connection to missile control, and the team continues on with the mission. I wouldn't normally watch science fiction, but I found this really engaging: especially the passion how important this was to them and it was believable, not over the top. Interesting actors. Expand
  2. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Europa Report is no short of amazing, dark and mysterious with dazzling effects; you can actually believe that you are with the characters on the spaceship, and the discovery, it is a beautiful wonder to sight. The whole movie has the cold claustrophobic feel to it, which is a unique style and feeling. This movie actually proves that we can bring science fiction thrillers without the use of much budget and gross out scenes ex: Alien & Aliens! Europa Report is a beautiful journey through the wonders of the universe around us. Just beautiful and a definite must see! Best of 2013! Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2014
    8
    Although the premise of the movie seems a little flawed (Why would we send a manned flight to one of Jupiter's moons to do a job that could just as easily be done with probes?), I nonetheless found it thoroughly engrossing. It's hard science-fiction done well. The camera-work (the found-footage technique is used) and minimalist sound editing do a great job of inserting you into the claustrophobic confines of the spacecraft. The character development is fantastic and I'm not going to give anything away, but there are a fair number of little puzzles that the viewer gets to work on for a while before the answers are made apparent. Great film! Expand
  4. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Europe Report by Sebastián Cordero: I had high expectations for this film, but I had a little incuriosito.Il film manages to put tension throughout its duration, is consistent with himself, affascina.Riesce in order to be realistic despite the budget remeber, maybe there's a little something that could be done a little better, but you can not gloss over some difetti.I protagonists behave in a credible way, there is the appeal to discovery, there is a lot of curiosity in what accade.Il everything is made with the technique of found footage, which in this case is apt for this film.Ci are references to other science fiction films like A Space Odyssey that are sure to please however the film for me is very cool piacevole.Davvero is a good science fiction movie, definitely worth watching (I hope it comes out sooner or later in Italy), one of the best of its kind in recent years. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    Amazing special effects and visuals. Some stupid choices are made that trained professional astronauts would never make, and proper safety measures weren't followed most of the time. Over all I really enjoyed this creepy sci-fi thriller and applaud the sheer scope of this film's purpose. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    6
    Shot in a documentary-style with lots of jumping around and "live"/recorded camera feeds from the ship and from a handheld, which isn't a type of movie I generally like but I gave this a chance. The pacing and the order of things seemed a little jumbled and confused in the beginning but got better towards the middle I think they jumped around way too much. Arguably it did add to more to the mystery of what happened during the mission as well as helped to build some further tension, but I think the pacing and order of the scenes could have been done much better.

    The performances by the cast were actually very good, and the characters did have some depth to them. That said there were a lot of strange actions, much involving plain disregard for protocols and safety measures that astronauts training for deep space missions would simply not do.

    While evident that the budget wasn't exactly big, I think they did a good job with this movie. But the fact that I don't really like documentary-type films plus my dislike of the pacing, scene-order, and parts of the plot knock the rating down for me. Watchable and entertaining for the most part, but not exactly a movie I'd tell someone they have to see.
    Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    1
    Nope, boring and long drawn out, payoff only came in last minute. Mildly interesting intellectually but poor audience-design. That is, NASA types may find this very engaging but this screenplay wasn't written with the general public in mind. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers