Europa Report

Europa Report Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 9, 2013
    90
    If this isn’t quite a great movie, it should be an immensely gratifying one for sci-fi fans tired of the conceptual overkill and general dumbness of “Prometheus” or “Star Trek Into Darkness.”
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    Jul 28, 2013
    80
    The basic story has been told many times before, but it’s intriguingly retold by screenwriter Philip Gelatt and director Sebastian Cordero in this low-budget, bare-bones rendering of a familiar theme.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Aug 22, 2013
    80
    These characters are more than willing to risk their lives to further advances in science. That’s a passion and dedication that fuels Europa Report, and Cordero makes the most of it.
  4. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Aug 2, 2013
    75
    The beauty of Ecuadorian director Sebastian Cordero's film is the simplicity of its approach.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jul 31, 2013
    67
    As directed by Ecuadorian filmmaker Sebastián Cordero (Chronicles, Rage), Europa Report manages a few striking and intense sequences — most notably, a fatal drift into the endless vacuum of nothingness, filmed from the perspective of the disappearing spaceman.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 1, 2013
    60
    Finally, a found-footage thriller that merits, and expands on, this irrationally popular format.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jul 30, 2013
    40
    Simply put, the care and thoughtfulness that goes into footage-faking has not been applied to the film's script or structure.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Europa Report is no short of amazing, dark and mysterious with dazzling effects; you can actually believe that you are with the characters onEuropa Report is no short of amazing, dark and mysterious with dazzling effects; you can actually believe that you are with the characters on the spaceship, and the discovery, it is a beautiful wonder to sight. The whole movie has the cold claustrophobic feel to it, which is a unique style and feeling. This movie actually proves that we can bring science fiction thrillers without the use of much budget and gross out scenes ex: Alien & Aliens! Europa Report is a beautiful journey through the wonders of the universe around us. Just beautiful and a definite must see! Best of 2013! Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Visually interesting: use of multiple cam shots from different parts of the shuttle, scratchy disconnections etc. Interesting plot: loss ofVisually interesting: use of multiple cam shots from different parts of the shuttle, scratchy disconnections etc. Interesting plot: loss of connection to missile control, and the team continues on with the mission. I wouldn't normally watch science fiction, but I found this really engaging: especially the passion how important this was to them and it was believable, not over the top. Interesting actors. Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Europe Report by Sebastián Cordero: I had high expectations for this film, but I had a little incuriosito.Il film manages to put tensionEurope Report by Sebastián Cordero: I had high expectations for this film, but I had a little incuriosito.Il film manages to put tension throughout its duration, is consistent with himself, affascina.Riesce in order to be realistic despite the budget remeber, maybe there's a little something that could be done a little better, but you can not gloss over some difetti.I protagonists behave in a credible way, there is the appeal to discovery, there is a lot of curiosity in what accade.Il everything is made with the technique of found footage, which in this case is apt for this film.Ci are references to other science fiction films like A Space Odyssey that are sure to please however the film for me is very cool piacevole.Davvero is a good science fiction movie, definitely worth watching (I hope it comes out sooner or later in Italy), one of the best of its kind in recent years. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    7
    Not every sci-fi movie is an action-packed super-hero popcorn flick. Luckily! And Europa Report shines among those, lately rather rareNot every sci-fi movie is an action-packed super-hero popcorn flick. Luckily! And Europa Report shines among those, lately rather rare examples.

    Europa Report follows the line of a documentary and does that so successfully that I, throughout the movie, kept forgetting that humans actually have not yet landed on Europa. While the search for extraterrestrial is in fact the focus of the mission, it is not the focus of this movie, but rather human behavior and psychology, the magic of exploration and the steps we are ready to take for something that is larger than individual life.

    The story flows beautifully and, yes, with time-jumps demands full attention from the viewer. And as a consequence also delivers a great deal of excitement and enjoyment.

    I definitely recommend to all the science, space exploration and old- school-sci-fi fans.
    Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2014
    6
    I thought this film started off very well but then the plot line became a bit mired for my tastes. The acting was fine but the script becameI thought this film started off very well but then the plot line became a bit mired for my tastes. The acting was fine but the script became to thin in the middle. It sort of went from being an intelligent and challenging film to being a typical space disaster movie. I wonder why. The idea was interesting enough but it became improbable with creatures easily breaking through six feet of ice as if it was salt water taffy. I recommend it if you are looking for a hit of science fiction but it won't do for the evening by itself-you will finish watching t needing to see something else to break the mood of faint doom created by it. Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2015
    5
    The film was remarkably better than I expected. However, the film was not that well directed and lacked an inspiring story. The ending was notThe film was remarkably better than I expected. However, the film was not that well directed and lacked an inspiring story. The ending was not that great either. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2016
    0
    Quite boring. Nothing too interesting. Only good scene was the end, with the alien. Other than that, this film was a cliched mess, and I doQuite boring. Nothing too interesting. Only good scene was the end, with the alien. Other than that, this film was a cliched mess, and I do not recommend it. 0/10 Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.