Europa Report

Europa Report Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 9, 2013
    90
    If this isn’t quite a great movie, it should be an immensely gratifying one for sci-fi fans tired of the conceptual overkill and general dumbness of “Prometheus” or “Star Trek Into Darkness.”
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    Jul 28, 2013
    80
    The basic story has been told many times before, but it’s intriguingly retold by screenwriter Philip Gelatt and director Sebastian Cordero in this low-budget, bare-bones rendering of a familiar theme.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Aug 22, 2013
    80
    These characters are more than willing to risk their lives to further advances in science. That’s a passion and dedication that fuels Europa Report, and Cordero makes the most of it.
  4. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Aug 2, 2013
    75
    The beauty of Ecuadorian director Sebastian Cordero's film is the simplicity of its approach.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jul 31, 2013
    67
    As directed by Ecuadorian filmmaker Sebastián Cordero (Chronicles, Rage), Europa Report manages a few striking and intense sequences — most notably, a fatal drift into the endless vacuum of nothingness, filmed from the perspective of the disappearing spaceman.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 1, 2013
    60
    Finally, a found-footage thriller that merits, and expands on, this irrationally popular format.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jul 30, 2013
    40
    Simply put, the care and thoughtfulness that goes into footage-faking has not been applied to the film's script or structure.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Europa Report is no short of amazing, dark and mysterious with dazzling effects; you can actually believe that you are with the characters onEuropa Report is no short of amazing, dark and mysterious with dazzling effects; you can actually believe that you are with the characters on the spaceship, and the discovery, it is a beautiful wonder to sight. The whole movie has the cold claustrophobic feel to it, which is a unique style and feeling. This movie actually proves that we can bring science fiction thrillers without the use of much budget and gross out scenes ex: Alien & Aliens! Europa Report is a beautiful journey through the wonders of the universe around us. Just beautiful and a definite must see! Best of 2013! Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    This is the best picture I've ever seen. Its great on so many levels I dont know where to begin, like its use of real life-like NASA footageThis is the best picture I've ever seen. Its great on so many levels I dont know where to begin, like its use of real life-like NASA footage to the real scientific argument of the possibility of life on Eurpa(even a clip of Neil Degrasse Tyson). There were no "red herrings" or romance interest between the crew, which is rare in movies now a days, and most of all the story of the crew and how each one sacrifice themselves for one another as well as their research. Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    I went into watching this with Syfy channel expectations... What I left with was a smart. Visually impressive. Realistic "lost footage" filmI went into watching this with Syfy channel expectations... What I left with was a smart. Visually impressive. Realistic "lost footage" film about a journey in space. Fantastic film and highly recommended. Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2014
    8
    Although the premise of the movie seems a little flawed (Why would we send a manned flight to one of Jupiter's moons to do a job that couldAlthough the premise of the movie seems a little flawed (Why would we send a manned flight to one of Jupiter's moons to do a job that could just as easily be done with probes?), I nonetheless found it thoroughly engrossing. It's hard science-fiction done well. The camera-work (the found-footage technique is used) and minimalist sound editing do a great job of inserting you into the claustrophobic confines of the spacecraft. The character development is fantastic and I'm not going to give anything away, but there are a fair number of little puzzles that the viewer gets to work on for a while before the answers are made apparent. Great film! Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2015
    7
    Riveting from beginning to end, Europa Report manages to extract a ton of thrills out of the mystery surrounding the happenings and what theyRiveting from beginning to end, Europa Report manages to extract a ton of thrills out of the mystery surrounding the happenings and what they will find on Europa. The film has a certain chilliness to it that really keeps you on edge and waiting to see what comes next. Though, it can drag a bit in the middle until things really kick in. The constant jumping in time period also does not help matters in that regard. However, the pay-off is more than worth it and once they reach Europa, it really becomes a very good science fiction film. Somehow, it managed to be this good of a science fiction film with beautiful production design and effects with an under $10 million production budget, which is worthy of acclaim. An interesting twist on the found footage genre, Europa Report never truly feels like a found footage film, which helps. Entertaining, thrilling, and well made, Europa Report may not be great, but it is certainly more than worth your time. Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2014
    6
    I thought this film started off very well but then the plot line became a bit mired for my tastes. The acting was fine but the script becameI thought this film started off very well but then the plot line became a bit mired for my tastes. The acting was fine but the script became to thin in the middle. It sort of went from being an intelligent and challenging film to being a typical space disaster movie. I wonder why. The idea was interesting enough but it became improbable with creatures easily breaking through six feet of ice as if it was salt water taffy. I recommend it if you are looking for a hit of science fiction but it won't do for the evening by itself-you will finish watching t needing to see something else to break the mood of faint doom created by it. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    1
    Nope, boring and long drawn out, payoff only came in last minute. Mildly interesting intellectually but poor audience-design. That is, NASANope, boring and long drawn out, payoff only came in last minute. Mildly interesting intellectually but poor audience-design. That is, NASA types may find this very engaging but this screenplay wasn't written with the general public in mind. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers