Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 9, 2013
    90
    If this isn’t quite a great movie, it should be an immensely gratifying one for sci-fi fans tired of the conceptual overkill and general dumbness of “Prometheus” or “Star Trek Into Darkness.”
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    Jul 28, 2013
    80
    The basic story has been told many times before, but it’s intriguingly retold by screenwriter Philip Gelatt and director Sebastian Cordero in this low-budget, bare-bones rendering of a familiar theme.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Aug 22, 2013
    80
    These characters are more than willing to risk their lives to further advances in science. That’s a passion and dedication that fuels Europa Report, and Cordero makes the most of it.
  4. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Aug 2, 2013
    75
    The beauty of Ecuadorian director Sebastian Cordero's film is the simplicity of its approach.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jul 31, 2013
    67
    As directed by Ecuadorian filmmaker Sebastián Cordero (Chronicles, Rage), Europa Report manages a few striking and intense sequences — most notably, a fatal drift into the endless vacuum of nothingness, filmed from the perspective of the disappearing spaceman.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 1, 2013
    60
    Finally, a found-footage thriller that merits, and expands on, this irrationally popular format.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jul 30, 2013
    40
    Simply put, the care and thoughtfulness that goes into footage-faking has not been applied to the film's script or structure.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Europa Report is no short of amazing, dark and mysterious with dazzling effects; you can actually believe that you are with the characters on the spaceship, and the discovery, it is a beautiful wonder to sight. The whole movie has the cold claustrophobic feel to it, which is a unique style and feeling. This movie actually proves that we can bring science fiction thrillers without the use of much budget and gross out scenes ex: Alien & Aliens! Europa Report is a beautiful journey through the wonders of the universe around us. Just beautiful and a definite must see! Best of 2013! Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This is a much watch sci fi movie. Many sci fi movies use C level CGI and throw lots of aliens/zombies at you in the same old predictable story line. Europa Report uses none of the above mentioned things and keeps you on the edge of your seat as you do not know what is going to happen. Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    I went into watching this with Syfy channel expectations... What I left with was a smart. Visually impressive. Realistic "lost footage" film about a journey in space. Fantastic film and highly recommended. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    When a sci-fi movie achieves a certain degree of excellence I have special category of greatness where I place such films. Europa Report, the little known sci-fi film of summer 2013 is placed squarely in this special category.

    The farthest than humankind has ever traveled; Europa Report takes us to a moon orbiting Jupiter where researchers believe there may be life. As a crew of scientists and engineers depart Earth they tread the well-worn path of many a space movie. Traveling to Europa the crew have their squabbles, their celebrations, their successes, their letters and videos made for loved ones on earth.

    Then lines go dead. They loose all contact with Earth. They have every possible gear malfunction imaginable, including a few mental and emotional ones. Director Sebastian Cordero permits this display, the usual psychological strains the typical sci-fi film character faces, but Cordero keeps them to a minimum. He does not rely on these typical factors to carry the film. The clichés become less and less important as the adventure of the actual mission intensifies

    Once on the crew arrive on the moon Europa everything goes wrong. When characters we’ve become fond of start dramatically disappearing we realize this is not a story about the power of the human spirit’s ability to overcome all odds. This is intended as a realistic portrayal of a real mission. What it would actually be like to venture to the far reaches of our solar system. It is a stunning achievement.

    For 10 million dollars this film transcends basic film devices. The Astronauts’ struggles to survive become incidental. Europa Report takes us past the mere human crusade of survival. Way past.

    Errata: Surprisingly the crew miscalculates the temperature of Europa as absolute zero. Absolute zero is a scientific impossibility according to the Smithsonian. Particles no longer move and energy is no longer transferred. At absolute zero, the principle that prevents perpetual motion from existing which is also used as an adjective to describe the decent into disorder- entropy- reaches its minimum value. The scenes on Europa are overflowing with entropy, so this absolute zero declaration is blatantly false.

    8/10
    Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2013
    8
    Surprisingly good visuals for a low budget film. This is the proof you can make a film with not that big of a budget but make it interesting, intense and such an attention grabber. Really enjoyed the journey and felt like I was in space. I felt the fear one must feel in this kind of situation. Maybe the very end was a little out of place (the last scenes). But overall, everybody did a good job and the landing on Europa was so captivating. I would give it a 7.5. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    7
    Not every sci-fi movie is an action-packed super-hero popcorn flick. Luckily! And Europa Report shines among those, lately rather rare examples.

    Europa Report follows the line of a documentary and does that so successfully that I, throughout the movie, kept forgetting that humans actually have not yet landed on Europa. While the search for extraterrestrial is in fact the focus of the mission, it is not the focus of this movie, but rather human behavior and psychology, the magic of exploration and the steps we are ready to take for something that is larger than individual life.

    The story flows beautifully and, yes, with time-jumps demands full attention from the viewer. And as a consequence also delivers a great deal of excitement and enjoyment.

    I definitely recommend to all the science, space exploration and old- school-sci-fi fans.
    Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2014
    1
    This is the Blair witch project in space. This movie actually proves that we have to much time on our hands. After waking up from a nap this thing was still on. Your best bet is to Keep scrolling Net-flix for something better. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers