User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 9 out of 21
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FranceL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    2
    Wrapping a film in luscious sets, peopling a film with gifted actors, decorating a film with lovely music, does not a good movie make if, at its core, it consists of poorly written dialogue, lacks any uniting tension to justify the viewer's interest, and contains too many disjointed scenes in dire need of editing.
  2. JamieB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    0
    It's hard to picture in my mind that this garbage actually hit theaters. It is seriosuly the most BORING movie ever to be made.
  3. Jennifer
    Jul 21, 2007
    2
    With a great song from Dido on the trailer and a cast full or great actresses how could you go wrong. That is what I thought going into the film. I took my mom and grandmother and my grandmother was the only one who enjoyed it. My mother and I felt like it was two hours of our lives we would never get back. The film kept the same pace the entire time. A very dull place. Meryl Streep was With a great song from Dido on the trailer and a cast full or great actresses how could you go wrong. That is what I thought going into the film. I took my mom and grandmother and my grandmother was the only one who enjoyed it. My mother and I felt like it was two hours of our lives we would never get back. The film kept the same pace the entire time. A very dull place. Meryl Streep was only in the movie for all of 10 minutes if that. As soon as she made her exit it was back to dull again. I can't speak on the movie in detail because there is absolutely nothing to say. I left that movie figuring out how to salvage the rest of my day. Expand
  4. BillyS.
    Jul 2, 2007
    6
    Evening is a star-studded soap opera that moves at a snails pace that would have been much better without the flashbacks to a weekend wedding that plays like a Douglas Sirk take on The Great Gatsby. But I'd put down another ten bucks just to see the 10 minute scene between Vannessa Redgrave and Meryl Streep over again! It was like Pacino & DeNiro in Heat, one of those landmark Evening is a star-studded soap opera that moves at a snails pace that would have been much better without the flashbacks to a weekend wedding that plays like a Douglas Sirk take on The Great Gatsby. But I'd put down another ten bucks just to see the 10 minute scene between Vannessa Redgrave and Meryl Streep over again! It was like Pacino & DeNiro in Heat, one of those landmark meetings of acting Gods that make you forget that you've been sitting through 2 hours of schlock just for this moment, and boy is it worth it! Expand
  5. MarcK.
    Jun 27, 2007
    3
    Overly pretentious, overwrought, and over-rated. Depending on what you think about Claire Danes, she is either horribly miscast, or deserves the Razzie for worst performance of the year. She is that bad, and the movie is that bad.
  6. PatriciaR.
    Jun 30, 2007
    2
    I was INTENSELY disappointed by this movie which was replete with several reputable actors. The story was lackluster, inconsistent, and unworthy of the plethora of emotion which the actors were made to effuse. Despite the sorry medium, Hugh Dancy shone as an actor of great scope and ability.
  7. WillH.
    Jul 2, 2007
    2
    What a disappointment! I knew when I started counting the illuminated exit signs in the theater 45 minutes into the film that we were on a downward spiral. With such a stellar cast, I wondered if anyone actually read the script beforehand? The film is so plodding and lackluster that when Meryl Streep finally shows up at the end you hope for salvation. The actual short scene with Streep What a disappointment! I knew when I started counting the illuminated exit signs in the theater 45 minutes into the film that we were on a downward spiral. With such a stellar cast, I wondered if anyone actually read the script beforehand? The film is so plodding and lackluster that when Meryl Streep finally shows up at the end you hope for salvation. The actual short scene with Streep and Redgrave is riveting, unfortunately it only lasts minutes. Rent the DVD and fast forward to the last 20 minutes. Expand
  8. JF.
    Jul 28, 2007
    0
    Halfway through the film, I had to escape, so I got up, went into the lobby and talked to the lone ticket taker about the history of the theater and life in general. Since my aged Aunt was inside
  9. SteveC
    Aug 6, 2007
    0
    Although I have heard good things about the novel, the movie was excruciatingly bad. There isn't even the usual excuse that the author was not involved as she co-wrote the screenplay with another well-known author (and the writing was one of the worst things about the movie). Even the much-commented upon scene with Vanessa Redgrave and Meryl Streep arrives too late in this plodding Although I have heard good things about the novel, the movie was excruciatingly bad. There isn't even the usual excuse that the author was not involved as she co-wrote the screenplay with another well-known author (and the writing was one of the worst things about the movie). Even the much-commented upon scene with Vanessa Redgrave and Meryl Streep arrives too late in this plodding picture to evoke any reaction other than "Please die soon" [addressed to Redgrave's character]. Expand
  10. DanH.
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    Great Movie, Tense exciting and romantic
  11. TonyB.
    Dec 17, 2007
    7
    This is a multi-textured, multi-layered film that deserves much more than it got from American audiences and critcs. Its non-linear script, superb acting and effective production design make it a winner.
  12. StephenS
    Jul 24, 2007
    5
    Susan Minot
  13. Aug 14, 2011
    8
    the wonderful performances and spectacular work of Elend Kaczmarek on the soundtrack should make people rethink the idea that 100% of films should be full of action, with no time allowed for reflection or absorption
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33
  1. 63
    Susan Minot’s resplendent novel of a dying woman…stumbles on its way to the screen.
  2. What a cast but what a disappointment.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    60
    Individual moments are not without their felicitous touches -- mainly due to the cast, which is rich to the point of improbability.