Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A man struggles to keep his family and himself together under trying circumstances in this independent drama from writer and director Richard Levine. (Image Entertainment)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jan 13, 2011
    70
    Very well written and acted, Every Day feels like a glorified television drama softened with comic and surreal trimmings.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jan 22, 2011
    67
    Too often the sequences in this movie play out like snatches from a terrific play that somehow got lost along the way.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jan 14, 2011
    60
    There are too many overwritten moments designed solely to make the movie more interesting -- when, in fact, they undercut the low-key relatability that serves as its strongest asset.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Jan 11, 2011
    50
    Levine, previously a writer for "Nip/Tuck," sets the bar low, content to work within the shopworn crises, lazy epiphanies, and eye-rolling moments of redemption that have become standard formula in Amerindie family dramedies of the past 20 years.
  5. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jan 13, 2011
    50
    What makes this intriguing, yet woefully uneven film so relatable is that there is nothing about Ned's experience that seems extreme.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jan 13, 2011
    42
    At the movie's center, Schreiber approaches the role with a seriousness that lacks joy or any other colorful inflection.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 14, 2011
    25
    A 42-minute TV soap has more story than this limp and familiar tale of domestic woe.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. T-G
    Jul 18, 2011
    10
    I was very hesitant about watching this movie. I'm not usually a fan of dramas but for some reason I decided to watch it. Thank God I did! It is actually a great movie, with very relatable characters and a solid, yet simple plot. I really don't understand the poor reviews given to this realistic drama. I am a 19 year old male who is not really in touch with his emotions, and yet I felt sad for the characters through the tough times, and elated in the others! This is attributed to the sheer perfection of the actors, particularly Liev Schreiber and his gay son, played by Ezra Miller. They portray a very realistic representation of life and its problems. This movie is real, and tackles topics as common as homosexuality, stress and sexual boredom! The one tiny flaw I must highlight, is that there is one or two hitches in the plot which are slightly boring. But this movie is meant to depict the "Every Day" events of Ned and his families lives, the exciting and the not-so exciting, which it does!


    As I said before, I'm an average teenage male who is not effected greatly by emotional movies, but this one is an exception. I found myself engulfed in the world of this movie torn by the actions and reactions of the world inside the story. Its perfect blend of seriousness and light comedy, coupled with outstanding acting make it an extremely watchable and enjoyable movie. Obviously, this movie won't affect everyone in the same way as it did me, but I genuinely feel it deserves a chance, and I humble believe that it's low scores and ratings do not accurately portray its sheer brilliance!

    Thank you for reading!
    Collapse

Trailers