Metascore
14

Overwhelming dislike - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A detective hunts down a killer using video footage shot by the victims of a massacre at an abandoned gas station.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 7 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 14, 2013
    40
    Given that the camera always seems to fall or get knocked into the perfect position to capture the craziness at hand, any vérité pretenses soon prove ridiculous. But it’s no more ridiculous than the plot, which incessantly wastes time trying to flesh out its characters, but barely bothers with building suspense.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Jul 13, 2013
    38
    One wishes it had spared us the remedial theorizing on media culture and artistic representation and license and less apologetically acted the part of a straight-up horror film.
  3. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jul 17, 2013
    30
    Whatever suspense that might have been generated by the violently gory goings-on is dissipated by the sheer visual incomprehensibility.
  4. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    Jul 16, 2013
    20
    The film isn't as smart as it thinks it is, and its characters are painfully generic.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott MacDonald
    Jul 17, 2013
    16
    There have been a lot of shoddy found-footage flicks over the past few years, but maybe none quite so shoddy as this.
  6. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Neither suspenseful nor even comprehensible, John Swetnam’s dashed-off script (carelessly directed by Olatunde Osunsanmi) throws up plenty of red herrings — and a stupendously idiotic ending — but not a single character worth caring about.
  7. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jul 29, 2013
    10
    The movie itself is conclusive proof that the found-footage horror cycle sparked by “The Blair Witch Project” and mined successfully by the “Paranormal Activity” series has finally reached its low ebb.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    In all honesty it's a great movie. It's unique in it's way and I love the plot twist. The fact that you throughout the movie suspect more than one guy makes it even better. I'd love to see a sequel to this movie. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    7
    In the desert of Nevada, police uncover one of the most brutal crime scenes they've ever seen. There are a ton of bodies that are so badly mutilated, that they can't even tell if their victims are male or female. There is also an overwhelming lack of evidence, that is except for one small mini-cam found amongst the ruble. Evidence was one of those films that wasn't great, but wasn't terrible either. There is enough going on that you will keep watching it and you will be glad you did! Watching as many movies as I do, I tend to figure things out pretty quickly, and I was sure I had this film figured out early on. As I got to the end of the film, I was sure I knew what happened, and I was somewhat disappointed at the predictable story. Then, the writers throw a huge twist into the plot that you will never see coming and it really makes the whole film. Evidence quickly becomes one of those films that will keep you thinking about it long after the credits role, and too me, that is the best kind of movie. No one of name really stars in this film and there really aren't any stand out performances, it's just one of those movies that stands on a strong story. I usually hate these cheaply made, found footage films. The plots are lazy and they rely on cheap scares and effects to make people jump, but Evidence wasn't like that. The film starts off really slowly, but gets better and better leading up to an ending that no one will ever see coming. If you like a good mystery with that amazing twist in the end, Evidence will delivery exactly what you're looking for. Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    1
    stpud ima braen hurd i busted me lip on the standing ovation me and the crickets gave this storm. Petarded it was damn bull don't watch this ever why do i watch paint dry Collapse
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    It's awful. It's unwatchable and not scary. Do not ever try to watch it because you will not like it!!! It's not a thriller, it's not a horror. It's only horrible!!! Expand

Trailers