Evil Dead (2013)

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 507 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. 88
    It’s ultimately everything a modern horror movie should be.
  2. 75
    Alvarez triumphs because he made one crucial decision: Avoid digital animation and use only practical in-camera special effects. He uses every trick from classic Hollywood and invents a few of his own.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Apr 7, 2013
    70
    Though it never channels the raw DIY energy of the original Evil Dead series — what big-budget version could? — this polished, clever remake remains true to the spirit of the original, which was at once viscerally terrifying and weirdly lighthearted.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 4, 2013
    60
    There is nothing about Evil Dead as groundbreaking as Raimi’s films (particularly the first two). But it’s smarter and better done than a lot of what’s come since those movies were made, which is to say there is at least some thought behind the killings.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 19, 2013
    60
    It is nowhere near as creepy as the recent indie horror "V/H/S," but it is a full-bloodedly grisly and macabre film that zaps over a few scares.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 7, 2013
    50
    Are we really looking to Evil Dead for gnarly possessions played straight? That’s what Alvarez gives us for an overlong stretch, until his reinterpretation of the malevolent-hand gag kicks off a last act that’s more freewheelingly, twistedly grisly. (Don’t skip the credits, because the fan-energizing momentum peaks at the very end.)
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Apr 3, 2013
    25
    This isn't a strict remake of Sam Raimi's hugely influential 1981 horror classic, but it does include the basic framework and some visual nods to the original. On its own, it's an irredeemable, sadistic torture chamber reveling in the bloody, cringe-inducing deaths of some of the stupidest people ever to spend a rainy night in a remote cabin in the woods.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 171
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    What can I say about this other than it's amazing? It's everything you want in a horror film. It's bloody, gory, and disgusting all in a goodWhat can I say about this other than it's amazing? It's everything you want in a horror film. It's bloody, gory, and disgusting all in a good way. It never fails to keep a creepy time to it throughout the film. It all looks just so realistic too. There's no CGI. Only practical effects which makes it 10 times better. I'll probably see this movie 3 more times while it's in theaters Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This was an awesome movie. I personally think this was a little better than the original in the 80s. This an example of what good scary moviesThis was an awesome movie. I personally think this was a little better than the original in the 80s. This an example of what good scary movies are. 10/10. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Brutal. Unforgiving. Unforgettable. Fun. I NEVER EVER sort by critic scores, because, well, they NEVER EVER get it right. Overtly dramaticBrutal. Unforgiving. Unforgettable. Fun. I NEVER EVER sort by critic scores, because, well, they NEVER EVER get it right. Overtly dramatic movies with predictable love stories or movies that put me to sleep are the only ones to ever get decent scores. This movie is no exception. 57 average? compared to 7.7? Critics aren't people, and they don't count. Period. Evil Dead was a great horror flick with plenty of homage to the original. Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    This remake of the original Sam Raimi film does what one expects of a horror film. It is suspenseful, full of atmosphere and foreboding, andThis remake of the original Sam Raimi film does what one expects of a horror film. It is suspenseful, full of atmosphere and foreboding, and bloody, very bloody. It is also totally entertaining without the slow patches that more po faced critically acclaimed films often suffer from. Good horror films these days are also full of great production values and this one is no exception. It has brilliant visuals, not only in the effects and make up but in the superb lighting of it's cinematography. The insistent music score is also amazing and the sound design adds immeasurably to the scare quotient. Sure, there are a couple of unintentional laughs involving severed arms, but in reality this just adds to the fun and relieves some tension. Overall this can stand up and be counted as a great example of its genre. Sam Raimi, one hopes, would approve. Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The re-utilization of practical effects makes this movie looks nasty and horrific. I feel this remake of the classic Evil Dead movie has done its part and it is a great horror movie. However there are missing scenes that are shown in the red band trailer. For instance the part where the possessed one that trapped in the basement says, "CUT IT! CUT IT!" but instead its being replaced to counter-psychological response saying "don't cut it". It feels the insanity is not there at all. On the other hand, it is a good start for new movies to imitate the practical effects and I can't wait to see what kind of movies will be made after. Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2013
    6
    I was really excited for this movie as the original scared the hell out of me as a teen. However, it just didn't deliver in the "scareI was really excited for this movie as the original scared the hell out of me as a teen. However, it just didn't deliver in the "scare factor". Like most new horror movies,it relied too much on gore and not enough on suspense.
    It is very well made,and has a few creepy moments,but most reaction will be from cringing at the various injury scenes.
    Overall i was let down,it was just "ok" in my book.
    Collapse
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    This movie a god awful, I can pull better movie out of my butt. First of all I've never even heard of the director, his movies look terrible.This movie a god awful, I can pull better movie out of my butt. First of all I've never even heard of the director, his movies look terrible. The most important thing is that is doesn't even follow the old Evil Dead movie so what's the point In even making a new one. I will say this, Jane Levy as a heroin addict going through withdrawal is a interesting part. Expand

See all 171 User Reviews

Trailers