Evil Dead

Evil Dead Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 536 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. 88
    It’s ultimately everything a modern horror movie should be.
  2. 75
    Alvarez triumphs because he made one crucial decision: Avoid digital animation and use only practical in-camera special effects. He uses every trick from classic Hollywood and invents a few of his own.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Apr 7, 2013
    70
    Though it never channels the raw DIY energy of the original Evil Dead series — what big-budget version could? — this polished, clever remake remains true to the spirit of the original, which was at once viscerally terrifying and weirdly lighthearted.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 4, 2013
    60
    There is nothing about Evil Dead as groundbreaking as Raimi’s films (particularly the first two). But it’s smarter and better done than a lot of what’s come since those movies were made, which is to say there is at least some thought behind the killings.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 19, 2013
    60
    It is nowhere near as creepy as the recent indie horror "V/H/S," but it is a full-bloodedly grisly and macabre film that zaps over a few scares.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 7, 2013
    50
    Are we really looking to Evil Dead for gnarly possessions played straight? That’s what Alvarez gives us for an overlong stretch, until his reinterpretation of the malevolent-hand gag kicks off a last act that’s more freewheelingly, twistedly grisly. (Don’t skip the credits, because the fan-energizing momentum peaks at the very end.)
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Apr 3, 2013
    25
    This isn't a strict remake of Sam Raimi's hugely influential 1981 horror classic, but it does include the basic framework and some visual nods to the original. On its own, it's an irredeemable, sadistic torture chamber reveling in the bloody, cringe-inducing deaths of some of the stupidest people ever to spend a rainy night in a remote cabin in the woods.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 173
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    What can I say about this other than it's amazing? It's everything you want in a horror film. It's bloody, gory, and disgusting all in a goodWhat can I say about this other than it's amazing? It's everything you want in a horror film. It's bloody, gory, and disgusting all in a good way. It never fails to keep a creepy time to it throughout the film. It all looks just so realistic too. There's no CGI. Only practical effects which makes it 10 times better. I'll probably see this movie 3 more times while it's in theaters Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This was an awesome movie. I personally think this was a little better than the original in the 80s. This an example of what good scary moviesThis was an awesome movie. I personally think this was a little better than the original in the 80s. This an example of what good scary movies are. 10/10. Collapse
  3. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Groovy, terrifying and incredibly entertaining. Evil Dead 2013 (unlike most remakes) is made with complete care to the original and paysGroovy, terrifying and incredibly entertaining. Evil Dead 2013 (unlike most remakes) is made with complete care to the original and pays plenty of fan service as well. Viewers can expect an intense, extremely gory and brutally terrifying instalment that never has a dull moment thanks to great cinematography, a nice pace and realistic prosthetics that make all the over-the-top and gruesome violence feel very real. Featuring great performances from Jane Levy and Lou Taylor Pucci and a horrifyingly chilling soundtrack, Evil Dead 2013 is a must see for any horror fan. Stay behind the end credits for an incredibly groovy surprise. Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    This remake of the original Sam Raimi film does what one expects of a horror film. It is suspenseful, full of atmosphere and foreboding, andThis remake of the original Sam Raimi film does what one expects of a horror film. It is suspenseful, full of atmosphere and foreboding, and bloody, very bloody. It is also totally entertaining without the slow patches that more po faced critically acclaimed films often suffer from. Good horror films these days are also full of great production values and this one is no exception. It has brilliant visuals, not only in the effects and make up but in the superb lighting of it's cinematography. The insistent music score is also amazing and the sound design adds immeasurably to the scare quotient. Sure, there are a couple of unintentional laughs involving severed arms, but in reality this just adds to the fun and relieves some tension. Overall this can stand up and be counted as a great example of its genre. Sam Raimi, one hopes, would approve. Expand
  5. May 25, 2014
    7
    The first Evil Dead was neither comical or "fun" when it first came out it was horrifying, gory, and relentless. Such as this film is. It alsoThe first Evil Dead was neither comical or "fun" when it first came out it was horrifying, gory, and relentless. Such as this film is. It also keeps in the tradition of each film being a different genre piece. Evil Dead was horror, Evil Dead 2 was horror comedy, and Army was comedy. People seem to completely forget the original Evil Dead and talk about Evil Dead 2 like it's the first. The only reason "Evil Dead" would be considered funny is due to its age and acting. This movie was fantastic, scary, non-stop, and crazy entertaining. Sure the film isn't perfect, but it makes up for that by being a blast to watch.

    Overall I give this movie a 7.0 i will be buying this and re-watching many times
    Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    6
    Anyone who says this is nothing like the original is wrong. The original was a gore film and so is this one. For some reason tho I do likeAnyone who says this is nothing like the original is wrong. The original was a gore film and so is this one. For some reason tho I do like this movie, it has that extra edge to it compared to the 1980's version. Worth a watch Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    This movie a god awful, I can pull better movie out of my butt. First of all I've never even heard of the director, his movies look terrible.This movie a god awful, I can pull better movie out of my butt. First of all I've never even heard of the director, his movies look terrible. The most important thing is that is doesn't even follow the old Evil Dead movie so what's the point In even making a new one. I will say this, Jane Levy as a heroin addict going through withdrawal is a interesting part. Expand

See all 173 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 15 Reboots Worse Than the Original Movies

    15 Reboots Worse Than the Original Movies Image
    Published: July 5, 2016
    While we await the verdict on the new Ghostbusters, we look back at 15 other recent film reboots that failed to match the quality of their predecessors.
  2. Fall TV Preview: The 23 Most Anticipated New Shows

    Fall TV Preview: The 23 Most Anticipated New Shows Image
    Published: September 10, 2015
    Get details on the fall season's most intriguing new shows, including the latest from the creators of Sons of Anarchy and Evil Dead, new shows based on Marvel and DC characters, an Aziz Ansari comedy, a Mr. Show reunion, and the Muppets' return to primetime. There's also a bonus list of five potential fall duds.
  3. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  4. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.