Dimension Films | Release Date: April 23, 1999
3.0
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 139 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
40
Mixed:
15
Negative:
84
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
5
GroundfisherJul 16, 2004
I quite like Jude Law but in this movie he showcases what might be the most unconvincing American accent ever committed to film. It was painful to listen to. Despite what others say, I thought Leigh was an unconvincing game developer. The I quite like Jude Law but in this movie he showcases what might be the most unconvincing American accent ever committed to film. It was painful to listen to. Despite what others say, I thought Leigh was an unconvincing game developer. The end of the movie - the shootout scene - looks as though it was shot in my backyard using christmas tree lights, flares and an 80s disco smoke machine. The strength of this movie is the ideas it is built around. For me, it was good for provoking discussions about some of the topics raised, but not discussion about the movie itself. All in all, a dissatisfying movie. I'd recommend it to irrepressible computer game players, students of Technoculture, and fans of psychedelic drugs. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
StaticSpineFeb 21, 2014
I didn't like the movie much, despite the decent actors the movie is not well made, the visual characters are not that convincing, the killing scenes (and other visual effects) are lame and the whole story is not that good. Another thing II didn't like the movie much, despite the decent actors the movie is not well made, the visual characters are not that convincing, the killing scenes (and other visual effects) are lame and the whole story is not that good. Another thing I must mention that the movie is rather strange and sometimes disturbing. The only thing that I really liked - it's the way the game elements are shown in the movie - all that awkwardness in the story progression and NPC interaction. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EggsisTenseFeb 6, 2006
One of David Cronenberg's best and most underrated films. It's playful, knowing, funny, sexy and gross-out. What more could you want? Jennifer Jason Leigh is at her sexiest and coolest here - a charming, fey, untrustworthy heroine; One of David Cronenberg's best and most underrated films. It's playful, knowing, funny, sexy and gross-out. What more could you want? Jennifer Jason Leigh is at her sexiest and coolest here - a charming, fey, untrustworthy heroine; and Jude Law is perfectly cast as the nervous, passive bodyguard reluctantly caught up in her dangerous world. Great fun for all Cronenberg fans, and a genuine modern cult classic. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdamA.Sep 26, 2007
This movie is one of the best films I've seen. Totally original. Great cast and performances. Killer story and great direction. Totally creepy. So many great scenes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoshCNov 20, 2006
Cronenberg's best film since Dead Ringers. This film ends a decade long slump of duds and near misses. This movie returns to his greatnes of the 70's and 80's and stops pandering to smug critics like J. Hoberman. This film is Cronenberg's best film since Dead Ringers. This film ends a decade long slump of duds and near misses. This movie returns to his greatnes of the 70's and 80's and stops pandering to smug critics like J. Hoberman. This film is for the fans. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Oct 2, 2004
What David Cronenberg does here is remarkable. "Existenz" forces you to look at William Gibson's "Neuromancer" from another perspective. When Allegra (Jennifer Jason-Leigh) and Ted (Jude Law) "jack" out, they're still in the game. What David Cronenberg does here is remarkable. "Existenz" forces you to look at William Gibson's "Neuromancer" from another perspective. When Allegra (Jennifer Jason-Leigh) and Ted (Jude Law) "jack" out, they're still in the game. They're still characters. In "Neuromancer", Case jacks out and he's supposedly out of the computer, and back in reality. What "Existenz" does to the reader of Gibson's seminal novel, is make them view everything as a simulation. There doesn't seem to be any representation of normal people in "Neuromancer" (as noted by my professor in class today), which only adds to my belief that the book should be re-read within the context of Cronenberg's film. Because if you were writing characters for a game, why would you bother with boring ones? "The Matrix" is solid sci-fi, but "Existenz" has ideas and visuals that will make you stop and say, "Whoa!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Jan 7, 2004
Video games are not political, they are far more important.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YoonMinC.Sep 29, 2003
Cronenberg is far from my favorite director but his films such as Dead Ringers and Naked Lunch deserve respect. An almost clinical stylist using cinematic devices like gadgets which could as easily be torture weapons as medical instruments, Cronenberg is far from my favorite director but his films such as Dead Ringers and Naked Lunch deserve respect. An almost clinical stylist using cinematic devices like gadgets which could as easily be torture weapons as medical instruments, Cronenberg pries into our interior and pulls out foreign objects and scutinizes them like specimens in glass jars. Unlike Lynch, Cronenberg never overwhelms us with the irrationality swirling beneath our facades; he studies and experiments with it in the manner of a rogue scientist. eXistenz is one of his best, not to mention one of his most accessible and satisfying. It probes how biology fuses with technology ever more closely with advancement in both. More radically, it shows how even politics becomes subsumed within this new order. Will the world be just a big ongoing videogame, a never ending dream? On a far smaller scale yet endlessly more fascinating than Matrix and Dark City. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CharlieW.Mar 24, 2006
This movie made me scream at the end for its pure weirdness... I don't know whether I like it or not... *twitch* *twitch*
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoA.Jan 14, 2003
This is one tripped-out movie, but definitely held my attetion until the end. Check it out on cable....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisPFeb 12, 2005
This movie was amazing. The ending left you with a spine chilling line. "Guys... Are we still in the game?"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StealthgearJun 28, 2013
This movie was able to surpass the physical reality of digital computer games by representing them as living objects, then flip common viewpoints we have. "Its just a game" is no longer valid. Like Videodrome, Cronenberg knows there willThis movie was able to surpass the physical reality of digital computer games by representing them as living objects, then flip common viewpoints we have. "Its just a game" is no longer valid. Like Videodrome, Cronenberg knows there will always be a subversive element to media that extends beyond the screen. This time, our heroes know, but can't resist to plug in. One character believes that the creativity of game design grants them some free will in their own space and widens their identities into a new reality. Allegra Geller, with overconfidence of a game designer, goes on an adventure with the apprehensive Ted Pikul and they both lose perspective of their reality and their identity. Obvious comparisons to the Matrix or Dark City will take place, but this movie went beyond those in many ways. This story recognizes the desires people have to become someone new and how those desires could be exploited. Instead of becoming Neo with help of friends, Ted Pikul is forced into a much murkier game situation. While the stakes aren't as high as the existence of the human race, Ted and Geller's life and sanity are still on the line. This is not just a cheesy VR movie like many 80s 90s movies like Max Headroom, Remote Control, Jonny Mnemonic, Lawnmower Man and even the Matrix became. Now onto other elements of this movie...The musical score is just as good as Eastern Promises and later Cronenberg movies. You might not notice it against the absurdity of many of the scenes, but it is. The acting is quite good and its humor should appeal to a younger audience. The biological movie effects in this are excellent and you might lose your appetite. Perhaps this movie isn't as well liked as it could be because it doesn't involve as much violence and it doesn't have a tidy plot or demonic machine enemies. This movie had a different focus. There are spy elements that were added in but didn't turn the movie into a heightened thriller. The editing of this movie made it sort of like a bizarre reflective journey. You might not enjoy this movie if you think the digital world as fake and your identity as a biological life form is real. This is a great, entertaining movie, while is not perfect is one of my favorites with some re-watch value. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMar 15, 2016
eXistenZ is an incredibly weird film that is pretty hard to explain, but I still loved it. It has to be one of the weirder concepts I have seen put to film, but director David Cronenberg does a great job keeping track of it all as things geteXistenZ is an incredibly weird film that is pretty hard to explain, but I still loved it. It has to be one of the weirder concepts I have seen put to film, but director David Cronenberg does a great job keeping track of it all as things get weirder and weirder. Jennifer Jason Leigh and Jude Law's performances are very good here and, though some would call them wooden, it is purposeful here, so they did a good job capturing that. Additionally, the film really messes with your mind and makes you question reality incredibly well. What is real and what is not real is really hard to put together and it is thanks to Cronenberg's assured direction that the film is not a mess. eXistenZ is an oddball of a film that is an incredibly good time and really makes you think.

Ignore the rating on Metacritic. Something is odd, considering none of the negative ratings have an accompanying review.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews