eXistenZ

eXistenZ Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. 90
    eXistenZ gives us Cronenberg at his wittiest, and Leigh at her most vulnerable and fascinating.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    80
    Like the virtual game he plays on us, the film is weird, it's addictive, and Lord, it's alive!
  3. Typically icky and unusually witty.
  4. 70
    Cronenberg, who both wrote and directed, is out to fool you -- to give you just enough information to let you figure out what's going on, and then bluff you out of using it. The movie, in other words, is a game itself.
  5. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: Jami Bernard
    63
    David Cronenberg is one of the most intellectual film makers around.
  6. Crazy? Crazy is too mild a word by far to describe the twisted worm at play inside the skull of the Canadian director David Cronenberg -- And that craziness is given full vent in the vomitorium called eXistenZ.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. AdamA.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    This movie is one of the best films I've seen. Totally original. Great cast and performances. Killer story and great direction. Totally This movie is one of the best films I've seen. Totally original. Great cast and performances. Killer story and great direction. Totally creepy. So many great scenes. Expand
  2. EggsisTense
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    One of David Cronenberg's best and most underrated films. It's playful, knowing, funny, sexy and gross-out. What more could you One of David Cronenberg's best and most underrated films. It's playful, knowing, funny, sexy and gross-out. What more could you want? Jennifer Jason Leigh is at her sexiest and coolest here - a charming, fey, untrustworthy heroine; and Jude Law is perfectly cast as the nervous, passive bodyguard reluctantly caught up in her dangerous world. Great fun for all Cronenberg fans, and a genuine modern cult classic. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. JoshC
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    Cronenberg's best film since Dead Ringers. This film ends a decade long slump of duds and near misses. This movie returns to his Cronenberg's best film since Dead Ringers. This film ends a decade long slump of duds and near misses. This movie returns to his greatnes of the 70's and 80's and stops pandering to smug critics like J. Hoberman. This film is for the fans. Collapse
  4. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    This movie was able to surpass the physical reality of digital computer games by representing them as living objects, then flip commonThis movie was able to surpass the physical reality of digital computer games by representing them as living objects, then flip common viewpoints we have. "Its just a game" is no longer valid. Like Videodrome, Cronenberg knows there will always be a subversive element to media that extends beyond the screen. This time, our heroes know, but can't resist to plug in. One character believes that the creativity of game design grants them some free will in their own space and widens their identities into a new reality. Allegra Geller, with overconfidence of a game designer, goes on an adventure with the apprehensive Ted Pikul and they both lose perspective of their reality and their identity. Obvious comparisons to the Matrix or Dark City will take place, but this movie went beyond those in many ways. This story recognizes the desires people have to become someone new and how those desires could be exploited. Instead of becoming Neo with help of friends, Ted Pikul is forced into a much murkier game situation. While the stakes aren't as high as the existence of the human race, Ted and Geller's life and sanity are still on the line. This is not just a cheesy VR movie like many 80s 90s movies like Max Headroom, Remote Control, Jonny Mnemonic, Lawnmower Man and even the Matrix became. Now onto other elements of this movie...The musical score is just as good as Eastern Promises and later Cronenberg movies. You might not notice it against the absurdity of many of the scenes, but it is. The acting is quite good and its humor should appeal to a younger audience. The biological movie effects in this are excellent and you might lose your appetite. Perhaps this movie isn't as well liked as it could be because it doesn't involve as much violence and it doesn't have a tidy plot or demonic machine enemies. This movie had a different focus. There are spy elements that were added in but didn't turn the movie into a heightened thriller. The editing of this movie made it sort of like a bizarre reflective journey. You might not enjoy this movie if you think the digital world as fake and your identity as a biological life form is real. This is a great, entertaining movie, while is not perfect is one of my favorites with some re-watch value. Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2016
    8
    eXistenZ is an incredibly weird film that is pretty hard to explain, but I still loved it. It has to be one of the weirder concepts I haveeXistenZ is an incredibly weird film that is pretty hard to explain, but I still loved it. It has to be one of the weirder concepts I have seen put to film, but director David Cronenberg does a great job keeping track of it all as things get weirder and weirder. Jennifer Jason Leigh and Jude Law's performances are very good here and, though some would call them wooden, it is purposeful here, so they did a good job capturing that. Additionally, the film really messes with your mind and makes you question reality incredibly well. What is real and what is not real is really hard to put together and it is thanks to Cronenberg's assured direction that the film is not a mess. eXistenZ is an oddball of a film that is an incredibly good time and really makes you think.

    Ignore the rating on Metacritic. Something is odd, considering none of the negative ratings have an accompanying review.
    Expand
  6. CharlieW.
    Mar 24, 2006
    7
    This movie made me scream at the end for its pure weirdness... I don't know whether I like it or not... *twitch* *twitch*
  7. Feb 21, 2014
    6
    I didn't like the movie much, despite the decent actors the movie is not well made, the visual characters are not that convincing, the killingI didn't like the movie much, despite the decent actors the movie is not well made, the visual characters are not that convincing, the killing scenes (and other visual effects) are lame and the whole story is not that good. Another thing I must mention that the movie is rather strange and sometimes disturbing. The only thing that I really liked - it's the way the game elements are shown in the movie - all that awkwardness in the story progression and NPC interaction. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.