User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 84
  2. Negative: 18 out of 84
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. katiey
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    What's with all the hate? I thought it was a really funny movie! Jason Bateman is great!
  2. JimmyJ.
    Dec 20, 2009
    4
    I expected more. Great cast that was under utilized. Script needed a little more diversity, and more 'wacky' moments. Too bad, I was looking forward to this one.
  3. CatS.
    Sep 5, 2009
    5
    This movie could have been so much better! Kristen Wiig is pretty much wasted in the role. All the critics are mentioning how great Ben Affleck is in it. I beg to differ. I think if I hadn't gone into it expecting it to be really funny, it would have been better. It was entertaining, which is why I gave it a five, but NOT any kind of hugely funny comedy. I think critics tend to This movie could have been so much better! Kristen Wiig is pretty much wasted in the role. All the critics are mentioning how great Ben Affleck is in it. I beg to differ. I think if I hadn't gone into it expecting it to be really funny, it would have been better. It was entertaining, which is why I gave it a five, but NOT any kind of hugely funny comedy. I think critics tend to overpraise movies from iconoclastic types like Judge. It's like they want it to be better than it is. Expand
  4. JT
    Oct 3, 2009
    3
    This movie is not funny... even on the rare occasions that the jokes work.
  5. RichardW.
    Sep 18, 2009
    3
    A major disappointment. A comedy with few laughs? A social commentary without commentary. An embarrassment to all except J.K. Simmons whose constant sense of bemusement may be the best review of this painful film.
  6. FlitrcroftG
    Sep 27, 2009
    3
    Unfortunately unfunny. I expected so much more, even after reading the mixed reviews here.
  7. EricO.
    Sep 5, 2009
    0
    Big disappointment. I didn't laugh once. Office Space is one of my all time favorite movies. Excellent cast but the script was void of humor.
  8. SheilaS.
    Sep 6, 2009
    2
    It has a poor view of women. Clearly the world as seen from a misogynist's point of view.
  9. TerenceS
    Sep 7, 2009
    3
    This movie cannot even be called a comedy. I laughed maybe 3 to 4 times. In a move to appease Hollywood types, this movie even lacks the originality of Idiocrasy. In a move to get Arrested Development fans, by casting Bateman, pretty much the same characters are present. There is a possibility that it may grow on someone the more times you watch it, but it doesn't seem likely from This movie cannot even be called a comedy. I laughed maybe 3 to 4 times. In a move to appease Hollywood types, this movie even lacks the originality of Idiocrasy. In a move to get Arrested Development fans, by casting Bateman, pretty much the same characters are present. There is a possibility that it may grow on someone the more times you watch it, but it doesn't seem likely from what I saw. Expand
  10. MichaelL.
    Sep 7, 2009
    6
    A little disappointed. Definitely not a classic like "Office Space", but much better than "Idiocracy".
  11. RyanSc.
    Jan 5, 2010
    8
    As a huge Mike Judge fan, I thought this movie was a treat. Great characters, hilarious situations, and a big heart.
  12. MattK
    Sep 10, 2009
    4
    I wanted to love this movie. Love "King of the Hill." Love "Beavis and Butthead." Unfortunately, "Extract" had me laughing maybe once or twice. It lacked the true blue Mike Judge flavor of sharp wit. Ben Affleck was a nice surprise, and Jason Bateman a tremendous disappointment.
  13. WendyL.
    Sep 4, 2009
    8
    We loved this movie. The characters are funny, the lines are hysterical, and the actors do a terrific job. Ben Affleck was a hoot, and the next door neighbor of Jason Bateman was like so many people you know who don't realize they are obnoxious. A very small crowd laughed uproariously all through the film. Why this hasn't been promoted more is beyond me. This was time and money We loved this movie. The characters are funny, the lines are hysterical, and the actors do a terrific job. Ben Affleck was a hoot, and the next door neighbor of Jason Bateman was like so many people you know who don't realize they are obnoxious. A very small crowd laughed uproariously all through the film. Why this hasn't been promoted more is beyond me. This was time and money well spent. Expand
  14. JimJim
    Sep 5, 2009
    1
    It was almost like the direction heard about this thing called a video game that was popular, did a quick check on wikipedia, looked at a screen shot or two and then went to it. They BUTCHER concepts. I remember me and a lot of other people in the theater burst out laughing when they talked about the effect of ping... And then after saying its the most important thing in the game, it It was almost like the direction heard about this thing called a video game that was popular, did a quick check on wikipedia, looked at a screen shot or two and then went to it. They BUTCHER concepts. I remember me and a lot of other people in the theater burst out laughing when they talked about the effect of ping... And then after saying its the most important thing in the game, it never gets talks of again. Which segways into something else about this movie, they introduce concepts or characters, then kill them not 10 minutes later.. It feels like he had a 4 hour plot in mind, but just cut out the middle of every situation; praying for the best. End of the day; bit waste of money. Expand
  15. StephenG.
    Sep 6, 2009
    6
    Uneven and stupid, but has a funny moments.
  16. ChadS.
    Sep 6, 2009
    6
    Not satisfied with just one instance of a woman behaving badly: the boss' wife who sleeps with a lunkhead, "Extract" gives the moviegoer a second disreputable woman: the golddigging temp who dates a blue collar hick for his insurance money. My problem with the cheating wife narrative is this: the man she has an affair with isn't good enough for her. The other man should be Not satisfied with just one instance of a woman behaving badly: the boss' wife who sleeps with a lunkhead, "Extract" gives the moviegoer a second disreputable woman: the golddigging temp who dates a blue collar hick for his insurance money. My problem with the cheating wife narrative is this: the man she has an affair with isn't good enough for her. The other man should be somebody she would leave her husband for. Her equal. The filmmaker owes it to this stay-at-home working woman. What she is put through, without her causing more of a ruckus, makes this wife seem too codependent on her partner. The cuckolded husband never truly suffers the consequences of his domestic intrigue(to be fair, he was high), which is evidenced by the magnanimity he showers upon the pool boy, in the form of a job. When the wife hears about this hiring, she should leave him, because a man who truly loves a woman, wouldn't be able to bear the sight of the other man on a daily basis. He forgives her, but should she forgive him? And then, there's the golddigging temp, the boss' reparation for compromising his wife's morals. Opposed to the boss' wife, who at least gets to be flawed, the grifter is just plain bad, without any redeemable characteristics. She is the "tramp" that the bartender mishears from the extract factory boss. (The film itself utters a Freudian slip.) "Extract" is misogynistic because even the good girl gets to be bad. To remedy the film's notion that all women are tramps, the golddigging temp needed one good trait, to show that bad women are capable of being in flux too, not just the good ones. Expand
  17. StuartL
    Oct 17, 2009
    1
    No script, no acting, no point.
  18. patarr.
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    Wow. I guess nobody here has seen a Mike Judge movie before. Funny movie, more along the lines of Office Space than Idiocracy. The humor is smarter and seemingly tuned down. Sorry kiddos, not a lot of the gross out and childish humor here. gotta use your mind to get alot of it. I wonder if that has something to do with the low user score. Anyway. See it. Or don't. Doesn't matter Wow. I guess nobody here has seen a Mike Judge movie before. Funny movie, more along the lines of Office Space than Idiocracy. The humor is smarter and seemingly tuned down. Sorry kiddos, not a lot of the gross out and childish humor here. gotta use your mind to get alot of it. I wonder if that has something to do with the low user score. Anyway. See it. Or don't. Doesn't matter to me. Just go in knowing that this is a more subtle comedy than alot of the comedies being released these days. Expand
  19. SlickDaddy
    Sep 11, 2009
    7
    I would have given it a 6, but I am in love with Kristin Wiig. It was not nearly as funny as the previews make it out to be.
  20. XavierP.
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    Hilarious movie. If you liked Office Space you'll love this movie.
  21. pauls.
    Sep 8, 2009
    0
    Probably the least funny "comedy" and most disappointing movie experience I have had in 5 years. I am a huge fan of Judge's Office space and Bateman's Arrested Development so you would think I am the target market here. This movie is an embarrassment for every player involved.
  22. CarlB
    Sep 8, 2009
    3
    Some amusing moments but for the most part the movie dragged on, wasting a lot of good talent,not to mention my time and money.
  23. EarthquakeM
    Sep 8, 2009
    8
    This movie is funny. It's certainly better than any Apatow garbage.
  24. IanK.
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    Extract is a funny dark comedy because it depicts a terrible mid-life crisis in a hilarious manner. Jason Bateman couldn't have been more perfect as the lead character, and the rest of the cast, most notably Ben Affleck, contribute funny performances. I had a great time watching this movie, and Mike Judge has not lost his charm in being able to tell the story of a lone, sane man in a Extract is a funny dark comedy because it depicts a terrible mid-life crisis in a hilarious manner. Jason Bateman couldn't have been more perfect as the lead character, and the rest of the cast, most notably Ben Affleck, contribute funny performances. I had a great time watching this movie, and Mike Judge has not lost his charm in being able to tell the story of a lone, sane man in a world full of idiots. Expand
  25. SeanF.
    Dec 30, 2009
    8
    Not sure what the people trashing this were watching. Great movie! Mike Judge delivers, his best work since Office Space! Not as good as Office Space, but IMO it is close! Surprisingly good performance by Ben Affleck, in a role unlike any he has done before.
  26. KathleenA
    Sep 14, 2009
    8
    I was in a theater of people and we laughed- frequently. I was entertained and ultimately,isn't that the point?
  27. Fantasy
    Sep 16, 2009
    0
    Absolutely dreadful. Not a funny scene in the entire movie. Avoid.
  28. joshington
    Sep 17, 2009
    0
    Maybe one of the dumbest movies ever made. I hated it.
  29. KK.
    Sep 22, 2009
    1
    Best laugh and only laugh was the neighbor's death scene.
  30. MarshallT
    Sep 22, 2009
    4
    D+ Wow! A rare "thumbs down" review (I can usually muster at least a "Meh!")! I'm horrified to see that the Russian judges {to extract a tired 80's meme much as the film under review} I can usually count on for sober stiffly-curved grades in EW's Critical Mass--a/k/a Dana Stevens & Stephanie Zacharek--have *both* given this POS film a-minus grades!! AYFKM!! WTF!! (sorry D+ Wow! A rare "thumbs down" review (I can usually muster at least a "Meh!")! I'm horrified to see that the Russian judges {to extract a tired 80's meme much as the film under review} I can usually count on for sober stiffly-curved grades in EW's Critical Mass--a/k/a Dana Stevens & Stephanie Zacharek--have *both* given this POS film a-minus grades!! AYFKM!! WTF!! (sorry meta-moderator: ayfkm!! wtf!!) Ten reasons I respectfully disagree: (10) Really? Every character in the movie is a caricature. And while I liked me my Beavis & Butt-Head (huh-huh rules) for its then-revelatory reductionist critique of the then-dying music video industry, this movie really doesn't much expand on such caricatures (and is not even half as funny) (huh-huh it sucks, huh-huh yeah yeah sucks Sucks SUCKS!) (9) Really? Every aspect of this Extract is manufactured as a lather-rinse-repeat monotone without any sense of irony or spiritual grace, culminating in an acquiescent debate about how many cars to drive *spoiler alert?* from the funeral. (8) Really? I swear that the cuts and scenes with dialogue involving Mila Kunis view much like a film student's audition tape for another film student's end-of-semester film project. (7) Really? If it's lust for pool boys (& others) with candy necklaces that you want, go with "Gods and Monsters". (6) Really? Speaking of God's Cock: rock band dude caricature (oh wait, I've already whined about the caricatures, and it's all well-packaged in the review in "Variety"). (5) Really? What the bleep did this film have to say about women and blue collar workers and all of us really? I'm down with edgy humor yet a lot of this was not edgy and simply was not funny and seemed misanthropic. Really?!? (4) Really? Although Gene Simmons surpasses his Ugly Betty entry, he's saddled with more borrowed (ball-slamming) material (. . . or is it really just homage to "Weeds"?--see '(1)' below and you decide!). (3) Really? In case you haven't figured it out, yes, I'm borrowing from a SNL motif (Really.) because the Annoying Neighbor motif in Extract reminded me (Really.) of the proverbial too-long SNL bit (MacGruber anyone? Really?). Yes, annoy me, make me squirm (brilliant!), but you can't claim authenticity after the umpteenth time. Really. (2) Really? If you *really* want to watch an entertaining riff on sordid lives, then you should actually watch "Sordid Lives" . . . simply transplanting Beth Grant and *repetition alert* having her represent for xenophobia as a one-note clucking, gossiping hen is tedious. Hector did it, Hector did it, Hector did it. All work and no thieving makes Hector a dull boy. (1) Really? Unless the goal of the movie is to get trashed (oh f**k, I finally figured it out . . . maybe this *is* a trojan horse that masquerades as a feature release . . . "Extract" is actually a drinking game packaged inside of a movie . . . and the title gives the necessary clue: drink every time you hear the word Dinkus (or see David Koechner's nosy neighbor approach or hear him say "the thing is"). And Matt Schulze's character's bong hit insistence provides the necessary reinforcement for this conspiracy theory. OK, with that revelation bouncin' around my noggin', I guess I'll have to award a postmodern bonus point (and hey Affleck+Wiig were appropriately ambivalent) . . . and so I'll actually rate the movie a 4: C- - -. Huh-huh. Umm . . . . yeah. Expand
  31. Jim
    Dec 31, 2009
    2
    A big disappointment - mean spirited and not funny.
  32. Oct 22, 2011
    6
    I love Mike Judge.. And I love Jason Bateman (AKA The Bater).. What could have gone wrong? Oh, yeah, not enough jokes or deep emotions. SHI I I I I T/
  33. Nov 18, 2010
    1
    Wow did this movie blow. I give it a 1 for effort but I haven't seen something suck this bad in a while. I don't even know WTF the movie was about? All I know was that it was depressing as hell and was a huge waste of my life.
  34. Dec 14, 2010
    7
    It is a live adaption of King of the Hill. I mean that as a compliment. It doesn't have the wild ideas of Idiocracy, which makes me think that Idiocracy wasn't supposed to be hilarious. It just shows what stupid people look like. Most of the things that happen in Extract seem to be pieced together from episodes of King of the Hill. I think it's funny for the things that happen that don'tIt is a live adaption of King of the Hill. I mean that as a compliment. It doesn't have the wild ideas of Idiocracy, which makes me think that Idiocracy wasn't supposed to be hilarious. It just shows what stupid people look like. Most of the things that happen in Extract seem to be pieced together from episodes of King of the Hill. I think it's funny for the things that happen that don't go as planned. Expand
  35. May 6, 2011
    5
    Extract is a pretty average comedy which is solid, if unspectacular. None of the jokes particularly stand out, yet very few fall entirely flat on their face. Everything about the film is relatively average, from the plot to the characters. That is not to say that a viewer will find no enjoyment from watching this film. Indeed, it is inoffensive and never becomes tedious. However, there areExtract is a pretty average comedy which is solid, if unspectacular. None of the jokes particularly stand out, yet very few fall entirely flat on their face. Everything about the film is relatively average, from the plot to the characters. That is not to say that a viewer will find no enjoyment from watching this film. Indeed, it is inoffensive and never becomes tedious. However, there are far better comedies out there. Expand
  36. j30
    Oct 7, 2011
    7
    Really funny movie. It's good to see Mike Judge getting work. There are some dead parts which doesn't put this even close to Office Space status.
  37. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    Glad I am not the only one who hated it. Unfunny and painfully slow/boring. Very generic comedy that I would not recommend to anyone at all....what so ever.
  38. Sep 1, 2014
    6
    An unusual film subject which ultimately ends up working and being quite humorous. Jason Bateman is in top-form in this not-your-average comedy. Not bad!
  39. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    I really enjoyed this film, it was rather similar to Office Space in terms of style and a little of the story. I thought that Ben Affleck was very good in his supporting role whilst Bateman did his best with the lead. It is definitely worth a watch.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Not a single person in this ensemble comedy doesn't suffer from colossal stupidity.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    40
    The picture's attempts at comic portraiture feel sketchy at best, more or less assigning each character a single, belabored trait.
  3. 70
    The movie is characterized by its crisp, cutting, classical framing, and comic timing. The style and approach recall classic Albert Brooks. Indeed, the beleaguered, cuckolded Joel would have been a great role for the young Brooks--adding a certain self-aggrandizing je ne sais quoi or a neurotic zetz that the appealing, but bland, Bateman lacks.