Miramax Films | Release Date: September 4, 2009
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 93 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
30
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
JimmyJ.Dec 20, 2009
I expected more. Great cast that was under utilized. Script needed a little more diversity, and more 'wacky' moments. Too bad, I was looking forward to this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CatS.Sep 5, 2009
This movie could have been so much better! Kristen Wiig is pretty much wasted in the role. All the critics are mentioning how great Ben Affleck is in it. I beg to differ. I think if I hadn't gone into it expecting it to be really funny, This movie could have been so much better! Kristen Wiig is pretty much wasted in the role. All the critics are mentioning how great Ben Affleck is in it. I beg to differ. I think if I hadn't gone into it expecting it to be really funny, it would have been better. It was entertaining, which is why I gave it a five, but NOT any kind of hugely funny comedy. I think critics tend to overpraise movies from iconoclastic types like Judge. It's like they want it to be better than it is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MichaelL.Sep 7, 2009
A little disappointed. Definitely not a classic like "Office Space", but much better than "Idiocracy".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattKSep 10, 2009
I wanted to love this movie. Love "King of the Hill." Love "Beavis and Butthead." Unfortunately, "Extract" had me laughing maybe once or twice. It lacked the true blue Mike Judge flavor of sharp wit. Ben Affleck was a nice surprise, and I wanted to love this movie. Love "King of the Hill." Love "Beavis and Butthead." Unfortunately, "Extract" had me laughing maybe once or twice. It lacked the true blue Mike Judge flavor of sharp wit. Ben Affleck was a nice surprise, and Jason Bateman a tremendous disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StephenG.Sep 6, 2009
Uneven and stupid, but has a funny moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Sep 6, 2009
Not satisfied with just one instance of a woman behaving badly: the boss' wife who sleeps with a lunkhead, "Extract" gives the moviegoer a second disreputable woman: the golddigging temp who dates a blue collar hick for his insurance Not satisfied with just one instance of a woman behaving badly: the boss' wife who sleeps with a lunkhead, "Extract" gives the moviegoer a second disreputable woman: the golddigging temp who dates a blue collar hick for his insurance money. My problem with the cheating wife narrative is this: the man she has an affair with isn't good enough for her. The other man should be somebody she would leave her husband for. Her equal. The filmmaker owes it to this stay-at-home working woman. What she is put through, without her causing more of a ruckus, makes this wife seem too codependent on her partner. The cuckolded husband never truly suffers the consequences of his domestic intrigue(to be fair, he was high), which is evidenced by the magnanimity he showers upon the pool boy, in the form of a job. When the wife hears about this hiring, she should leave him, because a man who truly loves a woman, wouldn't be able to bear the sight of the other man on a daily basis. He forgives her, but should she forgive him? And then, there's the golddigging temp, the boss' reparation for compromising his wife's morals. Opposed to the boss' wife, who at least gets to be flawed, the grifter is just plain bad, without any redeemable characteristics. She is the "tramp" that the bartender mishears from the extract factory boss. (The film itself utters a Freudian slip.) "Extract" is misogynistic because even the good girl gets to be bad. To remedy the film's notion that all women are tramps, the golddigging temp needed one good trait, to show that bad women are capable of being in flux too, not just the good ones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarshallTSep 22, 2009
D+ Wow! A rare "thumbs down" review (I can usually muster at least a "Meh!")! I'm horrified to see that the Russian judges {to extract a tired 80's meme much as the film under review} I can usually count on for sober stiffly-curved D+ Wow! A rare "thumbs down" review (I can usually muster at least a "Meh!")! I'm horrified to see that the Russian judges {to extract a tired 80's meme much as the film under review} I can usually count on for sober stiffly-curved grades in EW's Critical Mass--a/k/a Dana Stevens & Stephanie Zacharek--have *both* given this POS film a-minus grades!! AYFKM!! WTF!! (sorry meta-moderator: ayfkm!! wtf!!) Ten reasons I respectfully disagree: (10) Really? Every character in the movie is a caricature. And while I liked me my Beavis & Butt-Head (huh-huh rules) for its then-revelatory reductionist critique of the then-dying music video industry, this movie really doesn't much expand on such caricatures (and is not even half as funny) (huh-huh it sucks, huh-huh yeah yeah sucks Sucks SUCKS!) (9) Really? Every aspect of this Extract is manufactured as a lather-rinse-repeat monotone without any sense of irony or spiritual grace, culminating in an acquiescent debate about how many cars to drive *spoiler alert?* from the funeral. (8) Really? I swear that the cuts and scenes with dialogue involving Mila Kunis view much like a film student's audition tape for another film student's end-of-semester film project. (7) Really? If it's lust for pool boys (& others) with candy necklaces that you want, go with "Gods and Monsters". (6) Really? Speaking of God's Cock: rock band dude caricature (oh wait, I've already whined about the caricatures, and it's all well-packaged in the review in "Variety"). (5) Really? What the bleep did this film have to say about women and blue collar workers and all of us really? I'm down with edgy humor yet a lot of this was not edgy and simply was not funny and seemed misanthropic. Really?!? (4) Really? Although Gene Simmons surpasses his Ugly Betty entry, he's saddled with more borrowed (ball-slamming) material (. . . or is it really just homage to "Weeds"?--see '(1)' below and you decide!). (3) Really? In case you haven't figured it out, yes, I'm borrowing from a SNL motif (Really.) because the Annoying Neighbor motif in Extract reminded me (Really.) of the proverbial too-long SNL bit (MacGruber anyone? Really?). Yes, annoy me, make me squirm (brilliant!), but you can't claim authenticity after the umpteenth time. Really. (2) Really? If you *really* want to watch an entertaining riff on sordid lives, then you should actually watch "Sordid Lives" . . . simply transplanting Beth Grant and *repetition alert* having her represent for xenophobia as a one-note clucking, gossiping hen is tedious. Hector did it, Hector did it, Hector did it. All work and no thieving makes Hector a dull boy. (1) Really? Unless the goal of the movie is to get trashed (oh f**k, I finally figured it out . . . maybe this *is* a trojan horse that masquerades as a feature release . . . "Extract" is actually a drinking game packaged inside of a movie . . . and the title gives the necessary clue: drink every time you hear the word Dinkus (or see David Koechner's nosy neighbor approach or hear him say "the thing is"). And Matt Schulze's character's bong hit insistence provides the necessary reinforcement for this conspiracy theory. OK, with that revelation bouncin' around my noggin', I guess I'll have to award a postmodern bonus point (and hey Affleck+Wiig were appropriately ambivalent) . . . and so I'll actually rate the movie a 4: C- - -. Huh-huh. Umm . . . . yeah. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DillinOct 22, 2011
I love Mike Judge.. And I love Jason Bateman (AKA The Bater).. What could have gone wrong? Oh, yeah, not enough jokes or deep emotions. SHI I I I I T/
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Cotts1988May 6, 2011
Extract is a pretty average comedy which is solid, if unspectacular. None of the jokes particularly stand out, yet very few fall entirely flat on their face. Everything about the film is relatively average, from the plot to the characters.Extract is a pretty average comedy which is solid, if unspectacular. None of the jokes particularly stand out, yet very few fall entirely flat on their face. Everything about the film is relatively average, from the plot to the characters. That is not to say that a viewer will find no enjoyment from watching this film. Indeed, it is inoffensive and never becomes tedious. However, there are far better comedies out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
An unusual film subject which ultimately ends up working and being quite humorous. Jason Bateman is in top-form in this not-your-average comedy. Not bad!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleNov 23, 2016
Extract is a pretty straight forward film. Directed by Mike Judge, Extract is a modern day comedy that has some solid jokes along the way, is not memorable in any fashion, and has a very dumb plot. There is certainly comedy in the plot atExtract is a pretty straight forward film. Directed by Mike Judge, Extract is a modern day comedy that has some solid jokes along the way, is not memorable in any fashion, and has a very dumb plot. There is certainly comedy in the plot at times, but Extract is the very definition of escapism. It is the furthest thing from a serious film and, though mildly entertaining in the moment, it is already beginning to escape my mind. With each passing word I type, I forget a piece of Extract's plot. That is probably not a great sign as to its staying power.

Starring Jason Bateman as Joel, the owner of Reynold's Extract, the film is basically about Joel's marriage problems with Suzie (Kristen Wiig). With the flame dying and Suzie no longer willing to have sex (her lack of desire noted by putting on sweatpants daily at 8PM...), Joel is introduced to thief Cindy (Mila Kunis). In order to sleep with Cindy guilt free, Joel confides in moron friend Dean (Ben Affleck) who advises him to hire a male prostitute named Brad (Dustin Milligan) to sleep with Suzie. Meanwhile, an accident at Joel's plant takes off one of his employee's testicles and Cindy, seeing an opportunity to cash in, snuggles up to the maimed Step Wilkinson (Clifton Collins, Jr.) in order to convince him to sue Reynold's Extract. With his wife now having a full blown affair and his company on the brink of bankruptcy, Joel's life is falling apart.

Unfortunately, all of this drama is created by a complete lack of communication. Instead of confronting his problems by talking to anybody, Joel just shuts out Suzie, does not talk to the trusted long-time employee Step, and instead just talks to his moron druggy friend Dean. While it may help the comedy of the film, it is a truly annoying premise at times that really aggravates more than it entertains. That said, it is a largely fun ride due to the idiotic ideas concocted by Dean and Joel. In particular, the character of Brad Chavez, the male prostitute, is hysterical. Hilariously stupid, Brad really has nothing going on in his head and, as a result, any interaction with him is Extract's greatest source of comedy. Director Mike Judge uses him just the right amount because too much Brad could have really had a negative effect on the film. As it stands, Judge reins his greatest weapon and we get enough of Brad to make us entertained, but not annoyed.

Other than this, Extract is largely quite harmless. It does suffer from that lack of communication, but it sort of just floats along, does its thing, and ends. It is really the definition of nothing entertainment and though I love rambling on about whatever it is I just watched, I am currently drawing a blank about what to write about regarding Extract. Largely well-written, it is a decidedly modern comedy and if you have seen any other comedy this century, you know what to expect from Extract. The film does miss an opportunity in terms of the factory, as it never really delves into the factory workers too much, especially when faced with the potential of General Mills buying the company. We get little glimpses that could be something akin to Office Space, but Judge never really explores this potential, which is a shame.

So...yeah. If you have an hour and a half to kill, there are worse options than Extract. Even better, if you are tired, you could toss it on, fall asleep, and wake up just in time to still understand it all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews