User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 84
  2. Negative: 18 out of 84
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JimmyJ.
    Dec 20, 2009
    4
    I expected more. Great cast that was under utilized. Script needed a little more diversity, and more 'wacky' moments. Too bad, I was looking forward to this one.
  2. CatS.
    Sep 5, 2009
    5
    This movie could have been so much better! Kristen Wiig is pretty much wasted in the role. All the critics are mentioning how great Ben Affleck is in it. I beg to differ. I think if I hadn't gone into it expecting it to be really funny, it would have been better. It was entertaining, which is why I gave it a five, but NOT any kind of hugely funny comedy. I think critics tend to This movie could have been so much better! Kristen Wiig is pretty much wasted in the role. All the critics are mentioning how great Ben Affleck is in it. I beg to differ. I think if I hadn't gone into it expecting it to be really funny, it would have been better. It was entertaining, which is why I gave it a five, but NOT any kind of hugely funny comedy. I think critics tend to overpraise movies from iconoclastic types like Judge. It's like they want it to be better than it is. Expand
  3. MichaelL.
    Sep 7, 2009
    6
    A little disappointed. Definitely not a classic like "Office Space", but much better than "Idiocracy".
  4. MattK
    Sep 10, 2009
    4
    I wanted to love this movie. Love "King of the Hill." Love "Beavis and Butthead." Unfortunately, "Extract" had me laughing maybe once or twice. It lacked the true blue Mike Judge flavor of sharp wit. Ben Affleck was a nice surprise, and Jason Bateman a tremendous disappointment.
  5. StephenG.
    Sep 6, 2009
    6
    Uneven and stupid, but has a funny moments.
  6. ChadS.
    Sep 6, 2009
    6
    Not satisfied with just one instance of a woman behaving badly: the boss' wife who sleeps with a lunkhead, "Extract" gives the moviegoer a second disreputable woman: the golddigging temp who dates a blue collar hick for his insurance money. My problem with the cheating wife narrative is this: the man she has an affair with isn't good enough for her. The other man should be Not satisfied with just one instance of a woman behaving badly: the boss' wife who sleeps with a lunkhead, "Extract" gives the moviegoer a second disreputable woman: the golddigging temp who dates a blue collar hick for his insurance money. My problem with the cheating wife narrative is this: the man she has an affair with isn't good enough for her. The other man should be somebody she would leave her husband for. Her equal. The filmmaker owes it to this stay-at-home working woman. What she is put through, without her causing more of a ruckus, makes this wife seem too codependent on her partner. The cuckolded husband never truly suffers the consequences of his domestic intrigue(to be fair, he was high), which is evidenced by the magnanimity he showers upon the pool boy, in the form of a job. When the wife hears about this hiring, she should leave him, because a man who truly loves a woman, wouldn't be able to bear the sight of the other man on a daily basis. He forgives her, but should she forgive him? And then, there's the golddigging temp, the boss' reparation for compromising his wife's morals. Opposed to the boss' wife, who at least gets to be flawed, the grifter is just plain bad, without any redeemable characteristics. She is the "tramp" that the bartender mishears from the extract factory boss. (The film itself utters a Freudian slip.) "Extract" is misogynistic because even the good girl gets to be bad. To remedy the film's notion that all women are tramps, the golddigging temp needed one good trait, to show that bad women are capable of being in flux too, not just the good ones. Expand
  7. MarshallT
    Sep 22, 2009
    4
    D+ Wow! A rare "thumbs down" review (I can usually muster at least a "Meh!")! I'm horrified to see that the Russian judges {to extract a tired 80's meme much as the film under review} I can usually count on for sober stiffly-curved grades in EW's Critical Mass--a/k/a Dana Stevens & Stephanie Zacharek--have *both* given this POS film a-minus grades!! AYFKM!! WTF!! (sorry D+ Wow! A rare "thumbs down" review (I can usually muster at least a "Meh!")! I'm horrified to see that the Russian judges {to extract a tired 80's meme much as the film under review} I can usually count on for sober stiffly-curved grades in EW's Critical Mass--a/k/a Dana Stevens & Stephanie Zacharek--have *both* given this POS film a-minus grades!! AYFKM!! WTF!! (sorry meta-moderator: ayfkm!! wtf!!) Ten reasons I respectfully disagree: (10) Really? Every character in the movie is a caricature. And while I liked me my Beavis & Butt-Head (huh-huh rules) for its then-revelatory reductionist critique of the then-dying music video industry, this movie really doesn't much expand on such caricatures (and is not even half as funny) (huh-huh it sucks, huh-huh yeah yeah sucks Sucks SUCKS!) (9) Really? Every aspect of this Extract is manufactured as a lather-rinse-repeat monotone without any sense of irony or spiritual grace, culminating in an acquiescent debate about how many cars to drive *spoiler alert?* from the funeral. (8) Really? I swear that the cuts and scenes with dialogue involving Mila Kunis view much like a film student's audition tape for another film student's end-of-semester film project. (7) Really? If it's lust for pool boys (& others) with candy necklaces that you want, go with "Gods and Monsters". (6) Really? Speaking of God's Cock: rock band dude caricature (oh wait, I've already whined about the caricatures, and it's all well-packaged in the review in "Variety"). (5) Really? What the bleep did this film have to say about women and blue collar workers and all of us really? I'm down with edgy humor yet a lot of this was not edgy and simply was not funny and seemed misanthropic. Really?!? (4) Really? Although Gene Simmons surpasses his Ugly Betty entry, he's saddled with more borrowed (ball-slamming) material (. . . or is it really just homage to "Weeds"?--see '(1)' below and you decide!). (3) Really? In case you haven't figured it out, yes, I'm borrowing from a SNL motif (Really.) because the Annoying Neighbor motif in Extract reminded me (Really.) of the proverbial too-long SNL bit (MacGruber anyone? Really?). Yes, annoy me, make me squirm (brilliant!), but you can't claim authenticity after the umpteenth time. Really. (2) Really? If you *really* want to watch an entertaining riff on sordid lives, then you should actually watch "Sordid Lives" . . . simply transplanting Beth Grant and *repetition alert* having her represent for xenophobia as a one-note clucking, gossiping hen is tedious. Hector did it, Hector did it, Hector did it. All work and no thieving makes Hector a dull boy. (1) Really? Unless the goal of the movie is to get trashed (oh f**k, I finally figured it out . . . maybe this *is* a trojan horse that masquerades as a feature release . . . "Extract" is actually a drinking game packaged inside of a movie . . . and the title gives the necessary clue: drink every time you hear the word Dinkus (or see David Koechner's nosy neighbor approach or hear him say "the thing is"). And Matt Schulze's character's bong hit insistence provides the necessary reinforcement for this conspiracy theory. OK, with that revelation bouncin' around my noggin', I guess I'll have to award a postmodern bonus point (and hey Affleck+Wiig were appropriately ambivalent) . . . and so I'll actually rate the movie a 4: C- - -. Huh-huh. Umm . . . . yeah. Expand
  8. Oct 22, 2011
    6
    I love Mike Judge.. And I love Jason Bateman (AKA The Bater).. What could have gone wrong? Oh, yeah, not enough jokes or deep emotions. SHI I I I I T/
  9. May 6, 2011
    5
    Extract is a pretty average comedy which is solid, if unspectacular. None of the jokes particularly stand out, yet very few fall entirely flat on their face. Everything about the film is relatively average, from the plot to the characters. That is not to say that a viewer will find no enjoyment from watching this film. Indeed, it is inoffensive and never becomes tedious. However, there areExtract is a pretty average comedy which is solid, if unspectacular. None of the jokes particularly stand out, yet very few fall entirely flat on their face. Everything about the film is relatively average, from the plot to the characters. That is not to say that a viewer will find no enjoyment from watching this film. Indeed, it is inoffensive and never becomes tedious. However, there are far better comedies out there. Expand
  10. Sep 1, 2014
    6
    An unusual film subject which ultimately ends up working and being quite humorous. Jason Bateman is in top-form in this not-your-average comedy. Not bad!
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Not a single person in this ensemble comedy doesn't suffer from colossal stupidity.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    40
    The picture's attempts at comic portraiture feel sketchy at best, more or less assigning each character a single, belabored trait.
  3. 70
    The movie is characterized by its crisp, cutting, classical framing, and comic timing. The style and approach recall classic Albert Brooks. Indeed, the beleaguered, cuckolded Joel would have been a great role for the young Brooks--adding a certain self-aggrandizing je ne sais quoi or a neurotic zetz that the appealing, but bland, Bateman lacks.