Extract

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 84
  2. Negative: 18 out of 84
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. katiey
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    What's with all the hate? I thought it was a really funny movie! Jason Bateman is great!
  2. RyanSc.
    Jan 5, 2010
    8
    As a huge Mike Judge fan, I thought this movie was a treat. Great characters, hilarious situations, and a big heart.
  3. WendyL.
    Sep 4, 2009
    8
    We loved this movie. The characters are funny, the lines are hysterical, and the actors do a terrific job. Ben Affleck was a hoot, and the next door neighbor of Jason Bateman was like so many people you know who don't realize they are obnoxious. A very small crowd laughed uproariously all through the film. Why this hasn't been promoted more is beyond me. This was time and money We loved this movie. The characters are funny, the lines are hysterical, and the actors do a terrific job. Ben Affleck was a hoot, and the next door neighbor of Jason Bateman was like so many people you know who don't realize they are obnoxious. A very small crowd laughed uproariously all through the film. Why this hasn't been promoted more is beyond me. This was time and money well spent. Expand
  4. patarr.
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    Wow. I guess nobody here has seen a Mike Judge movie before. Funny movie, more along the lines of Office Space than Idiocracy. The humor is smarter and seemingly tuned down. Sorry kiddos, not a lot of the gross out and childish humor here. gotta use your mind to get alot of it. I wonder if that has something to do with the low user score. Anyway. See it. Or don't. Doesn't matter Wow. I guess nobody here has seen a Mike Judge movie before. Funny movie, more along the lines of Office Space than Idiocracy. The humor is smarter and seemingly tuned down. Sorry kiddos, not a lot of the gross out and childish humor here. gotta use your mind to get alot of it. I wonder if that has something to do with the low user score. Anyway. See it. Or don't. Doesn't matter to me. Just go in knowing that this is a more subtle comedy than alot of the comedies being released these days. Expand
  5. SlickDaddy
    Sep 11, 2009
    7
    I would have given it a 6, but I am in love with Kristin Wiig. It was not nearly as funny as the previews make it out to be.
  6. XavierP.
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    Hilarious movie. If you liked Office Space you'll love this movie.
  7. EarthquakeM
    Sep 8, 2009
    8
    This movie is funny. It's certainly better than any Apatow garbage.
  8. IanK.
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    Extract is a funny dark comedy because it depicts a terrible mid-life crisis in a hilarious manner. Jason Bateman couldn't have been more perfect as the lead character, and the rest of the cast, most notably Ben Affleck, contribute funny performances. I had a great time watching this movie, and Mike Judge has not lost his charm in being able to tell the story of a lone, sane man in a Extract is a funny dark comedy because it depicts a terrible mid-life crisis in a hilarious manner. Jason Bateman couldn't have been more perfect as the lead character, and the rest of the cast, most notably Ben Affleck, contribute funny performances. I had a great time watching this movie, and Mike Judge has not lost his charm in being able to tell the story of a lone, sane man in a world full of idiots. Expand
  9. SeanF.
    Dec 30, 2009
    8
    Not sure what the people trashing this were watching. Great movie! Mike Judge delivers, his best work since Office Space! Not as good as Office Space, but IMO it is close! Surprisingly good performance by Ben Affleck, in a role unlike any he has done before.
  10. KathleenA
    Sep 14, 2009
    8
    I was in a theater of people and we laughed- frequently. I was entertained and ultimately,isn't that the point?
  11. Dec 14, 2010
    7
    It is a live adaption of King of the Hill. I mean that as a compliment. It doesn't have the wild ideas of Idiocracy, which makes me think that Idiocracy wasn't supposed to be hilarious. It just shows what stupid people look like. Most of the things that happen in Extract seem to be pieced together from episodes of King of the Hill. I think it's funny for the things that happen that don'tIt is a live adaption of King of the Hill. I mean that as a compliment. It doesn't have the wild ideas of Idiocracy, which makes me think that Idiocracy wasn't supposed to be hilarious. It just shows what stupid people look like. Most of the things that happen in Extract seem to be pieced together from episodes of King of the Hill. I think it's funny for the things that happen that don't go as planned. Expand
  12. j30
    Oct 7, 2011
    7
    Really funny movie. It's good to see Mike Judge getting work. There are some dead parts which doesn't put this even close to Office Space status.
  13. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    I really enjoyed this film, it was rather similar to Office Space in terms of style and a little of the story. I thought that Ben Affleck was very good in his supporting role whilst Bateman did his best with the lead. It is definitely worth a watch.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Not a single person in this ensemble comedy doesn't suffer from colossal stupidity.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    40
    The picture's attempts at comic portraiture feel sketchy at best, more or less assigning each character a single, belabored trait.
  3. 70
    The movie is characterized by its crisp, cutting, classical framing, and comic timing. The style and approach recall classic Albert Brooks. Indeed, the beleaguered, cuckolded Joel would have been a great role for the young Brooks--adding a certain self-aggrandizing je ne sais quoi or a neurotic zetz that the appealing, but bland, Bateman lacks.