Miramax Films | Release Date: September 4, 2009
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 93 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
30
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
katieyJan 18, 2010
What's with all the hate? I thought it was a really funny movie! Jason Bateman is great!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
4
JimmyJ.Dec 20, 2009
I expected more. Great cast that was under utilized. Script needed a little more diversity, and more 'wacky' moments. Too bad, I was looking forward to this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CatS.Sep 5, 2009
This movie could have been so much better! Kristen Wiig is pretty much wasted in the role. All the critics are mentioning how great Ben Affleck is in it. I beg to differ. I think if I hadn't gone into it expecting it to be really funny, This movie could have been so much better! Kristen Wiig is pretty much wasted in the role. All the critics are mentioning how great Ben Affleck is in it. I beg to differ. I think if I hadn't gone into it expecting it to be really funny, it would have been better. It was entertaining, which is why I gave it a five, but NOT any kind of hugely funny comedy. I think critics tend to overpraise movies from iconoclastic types like Judge. It's like they want it to be better than it is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JTOct 3, 2009
This movie is not funny... even on the rare occasions that the jokes work.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RichardW.Sep 18, 2009
A major disappointment. A comedy with few laughs? A social commentary without commentary. An embarrassment to all except J.K. Simmons whose constant sense of bemusement may be the best review of this painful film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
FlitrcroftGSep 27, 2009
Unfortunately unfunny. I expected so much more, even after reading the mixed reviews here.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EricO.Sep 5, 2009
Big disappointment. I didn't laugh once. Office Space is one of my all time favorite movies. Excellent cast but the script was void of humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SheilaS.Sep 6, 2009
It has a poor view of women. Clearly the world as seen from a misogynist's point of view.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TerenceSSep 7, 2009
This movie cannot even be called a comedy. I laughed maybe 3 to 4 times. In a move to appease Hollywood types, this movie even lacks the originality of Idiocrasy. In a move to get Arrested Development fans, by casting Bateman, pretty much This movie cannot even be called a comedy. I laughed maybe 3 to 4 times. In a move to appease Hollywood types, this movie even lacks the originality of Idiocrasy. In a move to get Arrested Development fans, by casting Bateman, pretty much the same characters are present. There is a possibility that it may grow on someone the more times you watch it, but it doesn't seem likely from what I saw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelL.Sep 7, 2009
A little disappointed. Definitely not a classic like "Office Space", but much better than "Idiocracy".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanSc.Jan 5, 2010
As a huge Mike Judge fan, I thought this movie was a treat. Great characters, hilarious situations, and a big heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattKSep 10, 2009
I wanted to love this movie. Love "King of the Hill." Love "Beavis and Butthead." Unfortunately, "Extract" had me laughing maybe once or twice. It lacked the true blue Mike Judge flavor of sharp wit. Ben Affleck was a nice surprise, and I wanted to love this movie. Love "King of the Hill." Love "Beavis and Butthead." Unfortunately, "Extract" had me laughing maybe once or twice. It lacked the true blue Mike Judge flavor of sharp wit. Ben Affleck was a nice surprise, and Jason Bateman a tremendous disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WendyL.Sep 4, 2009
We loved this movie. The characters are funny, the lines are hysterical, and the actors do a terrific job. Ben Affleck was a hoot, and the next door neighbor of Jason Bateman was like so many people you know who don't realize they are We loved this movie. The characters are funny, the lines are hysterical, and the actors do a terrific job. Ben Affleck was a hoot, and the next door neighbor of Jason Bateman was like so many people you know who don't realize they are obnoxious. A very small crowd laughed uproariously all through the film. Why this hasn't been promoted more is beyond me. This was time and money well spent. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JimJimSep 5, 2009
It was almost like the direction heard about this thing called a video game that was popular, did a quick check on wikipedia, looked at a screen shot or two and then went to it. They BUTCHER concepts. I remember me and a lot of other people It was almost like the direction heard about this thing called a video game that was popular, did a quick check on wikipedia, looked at a screen shot or two and then went to it. They BUTCHER concepts. I remember me and a lot of other people in the theater burst out laughing when they talked about the effect of ping... And then after saying its the most important thing in the game, it never gets talks of again. Which segways into something else about this movie, they introduce concepts or characters, then kill them not 10 minutes later.. It feels like he had a 4 hour plot in mind, but just cut out the middle of every situation; praying for the best. End of the day; bit waste of money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StephenG.Sep 6, 2009
Uneven and stupid, but has a funny moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Sep 6, 2009
Not satisfied with just one instance of a woman behaving badly: the boss' wife who sleeps with a lunkhead, "Extract" gives the moviegoer a second disreputable woman: the golddigging temp who dates a blue collar hick for his insurance Not satisfied with just one instance of a woman behaving badly: the boss' wife who sleeps with a lunkhead, "Extract" gives the moviegoer a second disreputable woman: the golddigging temp who dates a blue collar hick for his insurance money. My problem with the cheating wife narrative is this: the man she has an affair with isn't good enough for her. The other man should be somebody she would leave her husband for. Her equal. The filmmaker owes it to this stay-at-home working woman. What she is put through, without her causing more of a ruckus, makes this wife seem too codependent on her partner. The cuckolded husband never truly suffers the consequences of his domestic intrigue(to be fair, he was high), which is evidenced by the magnanimity he showers upon the pool boy, in the form of a job. When the wife hears about this hiring, she should leave him, because a man who truly loves a woman, wouldn't be able to bear the sight of the other man on a daily basis. He forgives her, but should she forgive him? And then, there's the golddigging temp, the boss' reparation for compromising his wife's morals. Opposed to the boss' wife, who at least gets to be flawed, the grifter is just plain bad, without any redeemable characteristics. She is the "tramp" that the bartender mishears from the extract factory boss. (The film itself utters a Freudian slip.) "Extract" is misogynistic because even the good girl gets to be bad. To remedy the film's notion that all women are tramps, the golddigging temp needed one good trait, to show that bad women are capable of being in flux too, not just the good ones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
StuartLOct 17, 2009
No script, no acting, no point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
patarr.Dec 26, 2009
Wow. I guess nobody here has seen a Mike Judge movie before. Funny movie, more along the lines of Office Space than Idiocracy. The humor is smarter and seemingly tuned down. Sorry kiddos, not a lot of the gross out and childish humor here. Wow. I guess nobody here has seen a Mike Judge movie before. Funny movie, more along the lines of Office Space than Idiocracy. The humor is smarter and seemingly tuned down. Sorry kiddos, not a lot of the gross out and childish humor here. gotta use your mind to get alot of it. I wonder if that has something to do with the low user score. Anyway. See it. Or don't. Doesn't matter to me. Just go in knowing that this is a more subtle comedy than alot of the comedies being released these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SlickDaddySep 11, 2009
I would have given it a 6, but I am in love with Kristin Wiig. It was not nearly as funny as the previews make it out to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
XavierP.Sep 6, 2009
Hilarious movie. If you liked Office Space you'll love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
pauls.Sep 8, 2009
Probably the least funny "comedy" and most disappointing movie experience I have had in 5 years. I am a huge fan of Judge's Office space and Bateman's Arrested Development so you would think I am the target market here. This movie Probably the least funny "comedy" and most disappointing movie experience I have had in 5 years. I am a huge fan of Judge's Office space and Bateman's Arrested Development so you would think I am the target market here. This movie is an embarrassment for every player involved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CarlBSep 8, 2009
Some amusing moments but for the most part the movie dragged on, wasting a lot of good talent,not to mention my time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EarthquakeMSep 8, 2009
This movie is funny. It's certainly better than any Apatow garbage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanK.Nov 9, 2009
Extract is a funny dark comedy because it depicts a terrible mid-life crisis in a hilarious manner. Jason Bateman couldn't have been more perfect as the lead character, and the rest of the cast, most notably Ben Affleck, contribute Extract is a funny dark comedy because it depicts a terrible mid-life crisis in a hilarious manner. Jason Bateman couldn't have been more perfect as the lead character, and the rest of the cast, most notably Ben Affleck, contribute funny performances. I had a great time watching this movie, and Mike Judge has not lost his charm in being able to tell the story of a lone, sane man in a world full of idiots. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanF.Dec 30, 2009
Not sure what the people trashing this were watching. Great movie! Mike Judge delivers, his best work since Office Space! Not as good as Office Space, but IMO it is close! Surprisingly good performance by Ben Affleck, in a role unlike any he Not sure what the people trashing this were watching. Great movie! Mike Judge delivers, his best work since Office Space! Not as good as Office Space, but IMO it is close! Surprisingly good performance by Ben Affleck, in a role unlike any he has done before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KathleenASep 14, 2009
I was in a theater of people and we laughed- frequently. I was entertained and ultimately,isn't that the point?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasySep 16, 2009
Absolutely dreadful. Not a funny scene in the entire movie. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
joshingtonSep 17, 2009
Maybe one of the dumbest movies ever made. I hated it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KK.Sep 22, 2009
Best laugh and only laugh was the neighbor's death scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarshallTSep 22, 2009
D+ Wow! A rare "thumbs down" review (I can usually muster at least a "Meh!")! I'm horrified to see that the Russian judges {to extract a tired 80's meme much as the film under review} I can usually count on for sober stiffly-curved D+ Wow! A rare "thumbs down" review (I can usually muster at least a "Meh!")! I'm horrified to see that the Russian judges {to extract a tired 80's meme much as the film under review} I can usually count on for sober stiffly-curved grades in EW's Critical Mass--a/k/a Dana Stevens & Stephanie Zacharek--have *both* given this POS film a-minus grades!! AYFKM!! WTF!! (sorry meta-moderator: ayfkm!! wtf!!) Ten reasons I respectfully disagree: (10) Really? Every character in the movie is a caricature. And while I liked me my Beavis & Butt-Head (huh-huh rules) for its then-revelatory reductionist critique of the then-dying music video industry, this movie really doesn't much expand on such caricatures (and is not even half as funny) (huh-huh it sucks, huh-huh yeah yeah sucks Sucks SUCKS!) (9) Really? Every aspect of this Extract is manufactured as a lather-rinse-repeat monotone without any sense of irony or spiritual grace, culminating in an acquiescent debate about how many cars to drive *spoiler alert?* from the funeral. (8) Really? I swear that the cuts and scenes with dialogue involving Mila Kunis view much like a film student's audition tape for another film student's end-of-semester film project. (7) Really? If it's lust for pool boys (& others) with candy necklaces that you want, go with "Gods and Monsters". (6) Really? Speaking of God's Cock: rock band dude caricature (oh wait, I've already whined about the caricatures, and it's all well-packaged in the review in "Variety"). (5) Really? What the bleep did this film have to say about women and blue collar workers and all of us really? I'm down with edgy humor yet a lot of this was not edgy and simply was not funny and seemed misanthropic. Really?!? (4) Really? Although Gene Simmons surpasses his Ugly Betty entry, he's saddled with more borrowed (ball-slamming) material (. . . or is it really just homage to "Weeds"?--see '(1)' below and you decide!). (3) Really? In case you haven't figured it out, yes, I'm borrowing from a SNL motif (Really.) because the Annoying Neighbor motif in Extract reminded me (Really.) of the proverbial too-long SNL bit (MacGruber anyone? Really?). Yes, annoy me, make me squirm (brilliant!), but you can't claim authenticity after the umpteenth time. Really. (2) Really? If you *really* want to watch an entertaining riff on sordid lives, then you should actually watch "Sordid Lives" . . . simply transplanting Beth Grant and *repetition alert* having her represent for xenophobia as a one-note clucking, gossiping hen is tedious. Hector did it, Hector did it, Hector did it. All work and no thieving makes Hector a dull boy. (1) Really? Unless the goal of the movie is to get trashed (oh f**k, I finally figured it out . . . maybe this *is* a trojan horse that masquerades as a feature release . . . "Extract" is actually a drinking game packaged inside of a movie . . . and the title gives the necessary clue: drink every time you hear the word Dinkus (or see David Koechner's nosy neighbor approach or hear him say "the thing is"). And Matt Schulze's character's bong hit insistence provides the necessary reinforcement for this conspiracy theory. OK, with that revelation bouncin' around my noggin', I guess I'll have to award a postmodern bonus point (and hey Affleck+Wiig were appropriately ambivalent) . . . and so I'll actually rate the movie a 4: C- - -. Huh-huh. Umm . . . . yeah. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JimDec 31, 2009
A big disappointment - mean spirited and not funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DillinOct 22, 2011
I love Mike Judge.. And I love Jason Bateman (AKA The Bater).. What could have gone wrong? Oh, yeah, not enough jokes or deep emotions. SHI I I I I T/
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
LondonTrueloveNov 18, 2010
Wow did this movie blow. I give it a 1 for effort but I haven't seen something suck this bad in a while. I don't even know WTF the movie was about? All I know was that it was depressing as hell and was a huge waste of my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FortinbrasDec 14, 2010
It is a live adaption of King of the Hill. I mean that as a compliment. It doesn't have the wild ideas of Idiocracy, which makes me think that Idiocracy wasn't supposed to be hilarious. It just shows what stupid people look like. Most of theIt is a live adaption of King of the Hill. I mean that as a compliment. It doesn't have the wild ideas of Idiocracy, which makes me think that Idiocracy wasn't supposed to be hilarious. It just shows what stupid people look like. Most of the things that happen in Extract seem to be pieced together from episodes of King of the Hill. I think it's funny for the things that happen that don't go as planned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Cotts1988May 6, 2011
Extract is a pretty average comedy which is solid, if unspectacular. None of the jokes particularly stand out, yet very few fall entirely flat on their face. Everything about the film is relatively average, from the plot to the characters.Extract is a pretty average comedy which is solid, if unspectacular. None of the jokes particularly stand out, yet very few fall entirely flat on their face. Everything about the film is relatively average, from the plot to the characters. That is not to say that a viewer will find no enjoyment from watching this film. Indeed, it is inoffensive and never becomes tedious. However, there are far better comedies out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
j30Oct 7, 2011
Really funny movie. It's good to see Mike Judge getting work. There are some dead parts which doesn't put this even close to Office Space status.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
An unusual film subject which ultimately ends up working and being quite humorous. Jason Bateman is in top-form in this not-your-average comedy. Not bad!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleNov 23, 2016
Extract is a pretty straight forward film. Directed by Mike Judge, Extract is a modern day comedy that has some solid jokes along the way, is not memorable in any fashion, and has a very dumb plot. There is certainly comedy in the plot atExtract is a pretty straight forward film. Directed by Mike Judge, Extract is a modern day comedy that has some solid jokes along the way, is not memorable in any fashion, and has a very dumb plot. There is certainly comedy in the plot at times, but Extract is the very definition of escapism. It is the furthest thing from a serious film and, though mildly entertaining in the moment, it is already beginning to escape my mind. With each passing word I type, I forget a piece of Extract's plot. That is probably not a great sign as to its staying power.

Starring Jason Bateman as Joel, the owner of Reynold's Extract, the film is basically about Joel's marriage problems with Suzie (Kristen Wiig). With the flame dying and Suzie no longer willing to have sex (her lack of desire noted by putting on sweatpants daily at 8PM...), Joel is introduced to thief Cindy (Mila Kunis). In order to sleep with Cindy guilt free, Joel confides in moron friend Dean (Ben Affleck) who advises him to hire a male prostitute named Brad (Dustin Milligan) to sleep with Suzie. Meanwhile, an accident at Joel's plant takes off one of his employee's testicles and Cindy, seeing an opportunity to cash in, snuggles up to the maimed Step Wilkinson (Clifton Collins, Jr.) in order to convince him to sue Reynold's Extract. With his wife now having a full blown affair and his company on the brink of bankruptcy, Joel's life is falling apart.

Unfortunately, all of this drama is created by a complete lack of communication. Instead of confronting his problems by talking to anybody, Joel just shuts out Suzie, does not talk to the trusted long-time employee Step, and instead just talks to his moron druggy friend Dean. While it may help the comedy of the film, it is a truly annoying premise at times that really aggravates more than it entertains. That said, it is a largely fun ride due to the idiotic ideas concocted by Dean and Joel. In particular, the character of Brad Chavez, the male prostitute, is hysterical. Hilariously stupid, Brad really has nothing going on in his head and, as a result, any interaction with him is Extract's greatest source of comedy. Director Mike Judge uses him just the right amount because too much Brad could have really had a negative effect on the film. As it stands, Judge reins his greatest weapon and we get enough of Brad to make us entertained, but not annoyed.

Other than this, Extract is largely quite harmless. It does suffer from that lack of communication, but it sort of just floats along, does its thing, and ends. It is really the definition of nothing entertainment and though I love rambling on about whatever it is I just watched, I am currently drawing a blank about what to write about regarding Extract. Largely well-written, it is a decidedly modern comedy and if you have seen any other comedy this century, you know what to expect from Extract. The film does miss an opportunity in terms of the factory, as it never really delves into the factory workers too much, especially when faced with the potential of General Mills buying the company. We get little glimpses that could be something akin to Office Space, but Judge never really explores this potential, which is a shame.

So...yeah. If you have an hour and a half to kill, there are worse options than Extract. Even better, if you are tired, you could toss it on, fall asleep, and wake up just in time to still understand it all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I really enjoyed this film, it was rather similar to Office Space in terms of style and a little of the story. I thought that Ben Affleck was very good in his supporting role whilst Bateman did his best with the lead. It is definitely worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMar 9, 2017
The movie was actually fun at times even though the characters were cliché and the movie was predictable. The acting was good, the story was good enough for this kind of movie and it was entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
avamiller21Apr 28, 2016
Extract doesn't have a memorable message, a moralizing mission or a satirical axe to grind. But if your life needs a little humorous flavoring, pour away.

Watch here for free
Extract doesn't have a memorable message, a moralizing mission or a satirical axe to grind. But if your life needs a little humorous flavoring, pour away.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-2f66-Extract-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews