Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2011
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 175 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
81
Mixed:
62
Negative:
32
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ajs101Feb 3, 2012
This is not a movie staring Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock (they are good in their supporting roles) . It is not really about the World Trade Center or Ground Zero. That said, I believe many viewers are let down and disappointed becauseThis is not a movie staring Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock (they are good in their supporting roles) . It is not really about the World Trade Center or Ground Zero. That said, I believe many viewers are let down and disappointed because their expectations are not met by the advertising for this movie. . The reality is; this is a well written and developed drama. The child actor Thomas Horn is incredible in the star role of Oskar Schell. This movie is worth seeing. Master Horn should get an award for his performance. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
smoman03Jan 20, 2012
Cannot say enough good things about this film. It is full of emotion both heavy and happy. The struggle of Oskar and what he is dealing with was a wonderful journey on the screen. Loved the payoff at the end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Cincinnati57Jan 12, 2012
Thomas Horn is brilliant beyond description. The movie has Stephen Daldry written all over it. The screeplay is crafted in a fashion that has one sitting on the edge of the chair with emotions. If Thomas Horn doesn't win the Oscar for playingThomas Horn is brilliant beyond description. The movie has Stephen Daldry written all over it. The screeplay is crafted in a fashion that has one sitting on the edge of the chair with emotions. If Thomas Horn doesn't win the Oscar for playing Oskar, something is bad wrong. Horn's crafty facial expressions and his use of voice along with the emotional looks that he displays cannot be described. Just simply an amazing job by someone so young. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
nandopJan 28, 2012
I thank I read the bad reviews before seeing the movie, because with such low expectations, it's quite a good movie, and it goes creatively into an un-shown disaster of 9/11 (and others alike): the one that goes (extremely and incredibly)I thank I read the bad reviews before seeing the movie, because with such low expectations, it's quite a good movie, and it goes creatively into an un-shown disaster of 9/11 (and others alike): the one that goes (extremely and incredibly) inside of a person that has to deal with life as it is (with loss). Sure it has some cliches and stuff, but it's human and it has a heart. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
stuwingFeb 21, 2012
I loved this film! It was a tad slow until Max von Sydow entered. He would have been a great in the silent film era. I got very emotional watching the story play out. The ending was enjoyable too.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
2bearnestApr 9, 2012
Unfortunately, the movie didn't even come close to the beauty of the book. Really how could it though? Too many famous actors in this one to make it work. Check out the Everything is Illuminated movie and book also by Foer too.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
BradleyFilmApr 17, 2012
Vigorously overlooked by many viewers, but thankfully not by the Academy, 'Extremely Loud' proves that something good can be born from any disaster. Thomas Horn is indelibly powerful as are Max von Sydow and Sandra Bullock; who proves she'sVigorously overlooked by many viewers, but thankfully not by the Academy, 'Extremely Loud' proves that something good can be born from any disaster. Thomas Horn is indelibly powerful as are Max von Sydow and Sandra Bullock; who proves she's an Academy Award Winner! A very good film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
WachachaAug 25, 2012
Extremely GOOD and Incredibly IGNORED by the critics and people. I really liked it and think the Academy did a good job nominating this film when other awards shows just went with the "popular good movies".
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Jamison12Jun 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie made me tear up. This is such a sad film, but it's such an outstanding film. Anything with Tom Hanks, except for Larry Crowne, is good. A movie that'll make you feel for poor young boy whose father dies in 9/11. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysSep 28, 2013
Some may say the emotion is sappy, but that's just because what you would expect from a movie like this. The story is something we all feel for on a national level, and we sympathize with all who were effected by it. The movie really makesSome may say the emotion is sappy, but that's just because what you would expect from a movie like this. The story is something we all feel for on a national level, and we sympathize with all who were effected by it. The movie really makes you feel for the characters and the emotion is real. The way the story presents itself and the little quirky things Oskar does will probably make some of us cry by the end. Well done. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
SammetsfanDec 26, 2011
As somebody whose son died on 9/11, I found this film to be both exploitive and inaccurate. It was forced and poorly done. A disappointment. And boy is Sandra Bullock getting old.
12 of 18 users found this helpful126
All this user's reviews
8
NedRyerson1Feb 27, 2012
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is the most underrated film of the year. Although the topic is a little bit repeated, the point of view that shows is new: the perspective of a boy in the 9/11. The plot of the film is not very interestingExtremely Loud and Incredibly Close is the most underrated film of the year. Although the topic is a little bit repeated, the point of view that shows is new: the perspective of a boy in the 9/11. The plot of the film is not very interesting and also predictable.
Definitely Thomas Horn performance increases the value of this film. The character of Oskar is heartbreaking; he is boy trying to turn the senseless in sense. Being completely rational, everybody and everything it is turn into a number of a big equation that needs to be solved. But sometimes Oskar forgets that he is also a human being, and for us is aloud to make mistakes. The scene that represents best the whole character is the one that Oskar start running and shouting, but never stops playing his tambourine. The performance of Max Von Sydow is also remarkable, because he is trying to make changes in his life and in the life of the boy, but he is trap by a Yes/No sign in his hand, a pencil and a notebook. The scene that explains all this is when Oskar is showing him the recording of his father, he begins to despair, but what he writes is not enough to show it well.
The contrast between a boy who knows little and what know a lot against a old man who knows a lot and what to know little is priceless.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
4
khan2705Feb 14, 2012
Oh my goodness! what was that? What happened to the Academy? i wish they announce that that it was a mistake and take the nomination back i mean this is a shame nominating a movie with bad reviews over much well received movies? No seriouslyOh my goodness! what was that? What happened to the Academy? i wish they announce that that it was a mistake and take the nomination back i mean this is a shame nominating a movie with bad reviews over much well received movies? No seriously this movie was so fake and ridiculously pretentious. Performances were not so amazing except the wonderful Max Von Sydow, i appreciate Thomas Horn carrying the entire movie on his own small shoulders. The basic core foundation of this movie itself was just wrong. One of the worst nominated movie in the history or probably the worst since 60 or 70 years. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
KasperZApr 15, 2012
This is the most touching movie i have ever seen. It's hard to find a more moving film than this. I simply do not understand all the negative reviews about this. This is definitely a must see!
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
NJWolfgangMar 29, 2012
If there is a single criticism of this film that has any merit is that the piece might be a bit long. The problem is however what do you cut when telling the story? There really isn't much waste in the film when you reach the conclusion ofIf there is a single criticism of this film that has any merit is that the piece might be a bit long. The problem is however what do you cut when telling the story? There really isn't much waste in the film when you reach the conclusion of the journey and realize completely the road you've traveled. The surprise is the understanding that is revealed in the last few minutes of the film that one is continually wondering about through the entire picture. Max Von Sydow gives a lesson in performance that mirrors the performance of Falconetti in the great silent film about the trial of Joan of Arc. Sydow's silent performance is etched in every line and crevice of his face and with each diverted glance of his eyes. He is perfect. Sandra Bullock acquits herself brilliantly. She is as troubled as her son and when the time comes is as revealing as Max Von Sydow's face. Viola Davis once again turns in a superb performance along with Jeffrey Wright. Daldry uses New York City as his landscape and paints the details resoundingly. And yes the pivotal piece of the film is 9/11 but only that 9/11 was the catalyst to the story that evolves and not the story itself. Critics and Bloggers made this piece more about 9/11 than it really was and managed to kill the audience for the piece. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
lovesmoviesDec 29, 2011
Self-indulgent, without redemption, exploitative. The only adjectives applicable to this disturbing attempt at emotional manipulation using 9/11 as its storyline...so disappointing!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
tjm52667Jan 18, 2012
This movie is just the type of crap the Academy loves to award itself for , beyond awful. i have a bag of lint that is a more convincing actor than Thomas Horn and i assume Tom Hanks jumped to get out of this pretentious piece of garbage
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
5
oscarrDec 25, 2011
This review will be a landmark for me: I will be judging acting, overall movie, and storyline with out of 10 ratings, plus extra notes. Overall movie: 5/10 Acting: 6/10 Storyline: 4/10. The storyline can get a little crazy, but the actorsThis review will be a landmark for me: I will be judging acting, overall movie, and storyline with out of 10 ratings, plus extra notes. Overall movie: 5/10 Acting: 6/10 Storyline: 4/10. The storyline can get a little crazy, but the actors save the film from completely tearing itself apart. I really didn't feel the emotion. In my opinion, 9/11 is one of the saddest time in history, and it should not be treated so lightly and fake. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
4
allmoviesDec 30, 2011
Drama. Oskar (Thomas Horn) is convinced that his father (Tom Hanks), who died in the 9/11 attacks on the World Trade Center, has left a final message for him hidden somewhere in the city. Feeling disconnected from his grieving mother (SandraDrama. Oskar (Thomas Horn) is convinced that his father (Tom Hanks), who died in the 9/11 attacks on the World Trade Center, has left a final message for him hidden somewhere in the city. Feeling disconnected from his grieving mother (Sandra Bullock) and driven by a relentlessly active mind that refuses to believe in things that can't be observed, Oskar begins searching New York City for the lock that fits a mysterious key he found in his father's closet. His journey through the five boroughs takes him beyond his own loss to a greater understanding of the observable world around him. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
4
MickeyMickMic02Feb 19, 2012
Extremely overrated and incredibly disappointing movie... Stephen Daldry's getting worse... This film didn't deserve Best Picture Nomination...
Instead, great movies like 'Drive' or 'The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo' or 'We Need to Talk about
Extremely overrated and incredibly disappointing movie... Stephen Daldry's getting worse... This film didn't deserve Best Picture Nomination...
Instead, great movies like 'Drive' or 'The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo' or 'We Need to Talk about Kevin' deserved its position...
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
RichieBoyJan 24, 2012
This is all I know. 'The worst day' has been portrayed in a multitude of ways on film. 'Extremely Loud' touches a nerve that none of the others on the subject do.
This is a roller coaster ride that moves with an intense grace and profound
This is all I know. 'The worst day' has been portrayed in a multitude of ways on film. 'Extremely Loud' touches a nerve that none of the others on the subject do.
This is a roller coaster ride that moves with an intense grace and profound intellect. This film is smart and grabs the heart with fearless verve.The journey is often uncomfortable, just as it should be.
Young Thomas Horn conducts the concert with nervous passion that is countered by Von Sydows silent vibrancy.
Each is truly brilliant as is the enigmatic screenplay.
Hanks, Bullock, Viola Davis and Jeffrey Wright keep the ship sailing through uncharted air space.
I am astounded by the many negatives that have been sounded regarding this film.
It is a brave testament that will gain attention due to it's Oscar nomination.
I am no fan of that little statue and the politics it services in the name of art.
But should the program drive people to see films such as this, it provides a valiant artistic service.
In a world of 'Bridesmaids' , thank the Angels of cinema who dare to provide such soul searing observations within a culture that is creeping toward a deficit of daring.
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
10
listen2themovieDec 26, 2011
I am seriously disappointed by alot of the critics on this one. This movie was gripping, well acted, well directed and very entertaining. Go Tom Hanks!!
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
1
AJEDec 30, 2011
Embarrassingly forced, and extremely slow moving. Random lines like "I wish it was you..(that the mom died instead of the dad)", that don't flow with the hack job story line make sensitive watchers cry. Other than those few forced tears,Embarrassingly forced, and extremely slow moving. Random lines like "I wish it was you..(that the mom died instead of the dad)", that don't flow with the hack job story line make sensitive watchers cry. Other than those few forced tears, there is no way any decent critic would give this movie a nod. Thomas Horn's reviews all talk about his stint on Jeopardy. Stick with games shows, my friend. It's a real shame since a gripping 9/11 movie would be appreciated. No doubt one of the worst movies I have seen in the last 10 years. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
BHBarryJan 27, 2012
â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
JamesStealJan 6, 2012
The movie should be renamed "Extremely Melodramatic and Incredibly Boring". If you want to watch a movie about 9/11, go watch 911: The Road to Tyranny.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryJan 27, 2012
After his father (Tom Hanks) perishes in the World Trade Center, an obsessive boy searches for the lock that fits a key from his father. This journey takes him throughout New York's boroughs and helps him grow in the process (no surpriseAfter his father (Tom Hanks) perishes in the World Trade Center, an obsessive boy searches for the lock that fits a key from his father. This journey takes him throughout New York's boroughs and helps him grow in the process (no surprise there). The story has a few good surprises, but the unhurried pacing and the boy's neurotic behavior make the experience wearisome and frustrating. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
alleyt1989Jun 9, 2012
What rubbish! Possibly one of the most irritating protagonists I have ever come across. He needs a whole lot of 'harden up'. The attempts at emotional manipulation is far too obvious and make this even more unbearable. Really bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
MorriBeyFeb 18, 2012
The kid is annoying. The voice over will drive you nuts. Its a fairy tale movie where there is no real tale to speak of. Tom Hanks will give some wind to its sails but its destiny is the bargain bin.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
TastyJamProjectApr 9, 2012
The film is based on a timely and touchy subject - 9/11. However, it is approached beautifully with a young, gifted boy grieving over the loss of his father as a metaphor for a city dealing with a significant tragedy. This film is rivetingThe film is based on a timely and touchy subject - 9/11. However, it is approached beautifully with a young, gifted boy grieving over the loss of his father as a metaphor for a city dealing with a significant tragedy. This film is riveting and will emotionally rock you - it's also one of the most heartfelt and intelligent films of the year. The bad reviews of this film are missing the point. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Tazmania32Jan 26, 2012
The film was cool, but in some cases, it got annoying. The monologues felt like soft versions of what Spike Lee would include in his films, and the narrations kinda felt unneeded. The kid also seemed a little annoying at times too. I lovedThe film was cool, but in some cases, it got annoying. The monologues felt like soft versions of what Spike Lee would include in his films, and the narrations kinda felt unneeded. The kid also seemed a little annoying at times too. I loved Max von Sydow and Sandra Bullock, though; was hoping to see more of them and Tom Hanks. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews