User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 92
  2. Negative: 5 out of 92

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Ha! I love this film. Nic cage actually rides a burning boat THROUGH another BURNING BOaT! How can anyone not love that? Best Nic Cage film hands down.
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    6
    The film has an interesting concept and some fun action but it is just alright. Its not just Nicholas Cage's acting that knocks it down but the length. This movie drags on way too long for my taste. Someone said it best the mirror scene should have been the climax.
  3. Jan 29, 2014
    5
    I generally dislike Cage's acting in just about anything so a positive review on any flick he's in is saying a lot. Face/Off has an interesting storyline, albeit a bit far-fetched. It's an alright way to pass your time if you've got an hour or two to spare.
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    Poetically violent action, magnetically brilliant lead performances, and an undeniably ingenious premise culminate in John Woo's "Face/Off," an action movie that never ceased to impress, entertain, and fulfill my hopeless masculine dreams.
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    My favorite movie....................................................................................................................
    ....................................................
    ....................................................
    ....................................................
    ....................................................

    ....................................................
    ....................................................
    ....................................................
    ....................................................
    ....................................................

    ace cuts no doubt.

    it really is 2good

    great film

    like i said my favorite of all time no joke no doubts true stuff
    Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    A pretty good action movie, and Woo is good at them. The plot is a little unrealistic, and I think the popular saying "YOU DON'T SAY" is a very relevant answer to that question, as Nick Cage is in this movie! I liked it for the most part, and it's worth a watch in the long run.
  7. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    The fact that this movie is listed as a crime thriller is a crime in of itself, because Face/Off is easily one of the best comedies the 1990's has to offer. The movie is full of so many insane elements that are so damaging to the senses, it's impossible to turn away. Based solely on the merit of comic relief and sheer entertainment, Face/Off scores a 9 in my book for reasons that are beyond our tangible world. Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    movies too often try to be realistic, the big brother of movie form. Face off, is a movie that moves beyond realism to the sublimely ridiculous. The fantasy of a five year old on crack. What sort of genuisly muddled mind come up with a plot that simutaneoulsy dumbs and enthrawls a watchers mind? John Travolta shines in a way you would never expect, but possibly this means he shines in nicholas cages skin. How am i to review when i am so confused. This confusion is the genuis, the genuis is the twist and turn the yes and the no of the watchers mind. The idea of identity, the idea of it being lost with ones name and body, the value of face. The value of ones face lost. What is really important? what really are you beyond the skin, face off to your expectactions, face off to the revelations, face off, because this movie asks, beyond face, what do you have to prove? Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Woo's third Hollywood movie, Face/Off, is the first to balance his visual imagination with the emotional intensity of his Hong Kong films.
  2. 75
    The high-tech stuff is flawlessly done, but the intriguing elements of the movie involve the performances.
  3. 75
    Woo, who is known and appreciated for his unique stylistic approach to violence and bloodshed, creates a kinetic ballet of bullets and explosions that drives the adrenaline level through the roof.