User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 495 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Emily
    Jun 25, 2004
    9
    Many people cried during the film, it was that awesome. At 2pm, there was a line for the movie going out the theater, which I've never seen before. As an American, perplexed at the varying stories from the news media, I have been dying to know a clear, concise explanation about Sept. 11th, and I recieved it and more. Finally! I thought the movie was funny too, and exceptionally Many people cried during the film, it was that awesome. At 2pm, there was a line for the movie going out the theater, which I've never seen before. As an American, perplexed at the varying stories from the news media, I have been dying to know a clear, concise explanation about Sept. 11th, and I recieved it and more. Finally! I thought the movie was funny too, and exceptionally well-done. I felt it was crisper than Moore's last film, which I also enjoyed. Whoever gives it a low rating must have not watched the movie, or they would have noticed THE REAL FOOTAGE of BUSH knowingly doing a photo-op while the Twin Towers were collasping. You must remember that this is NOT a MOVIE to critique for fun, folks, it's real footage, not fantasy and special effects. Not to mention, the audience did clap at the end of of movie. I will be back to watch it again once it's not sold-out, thank you very much! Expand
  2. TaylorJ.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    The most patriotic and emotionally moving movie that I've ever seen.
  3. Misha
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Watching the movie hasn't changed my mind much, as I already had a strong opinion about the whole thing... My message to everyone - open your eyes! Wake up to face the music. Moore has done a great job to shake us all up.
  4. JoeS.
    Sep 24, 2007
    5
    Anyone who voted this movie a "0" is completely wrong. I'm not saying that I believe everything this movie tells me, but I'm not saying I don't believe it either. The point is not to take sides my fellow Americans. To completely put all your trust and faith into Bush or Moore is wrong. It is not un-American at all to distrust and disagree with our president. Again, I Anyone who voted this movie a "0" is completely wrong. I'm not saying that I believe everything this movie tells me, but I'm not saying I don't believe it either. The point is not to take sides my fellow Americans. To completely put all your trust and faith into Bush or Moore is wrong. It is not un-American at all to distrust and disagree with our president. Again, I don't necessarily believe or take to heart what Moore has presented, but I respect the fact that he's going out on a limb to question someone of high authority. Moore isn't an "America hater", if anything he is more American by questioning and thinking freely. So don't take sides, because you don't have to. Think for yourself, and remember that questioning your government will never be a bad thing. Expand
  5. NickA.
    Oct 10, 2006
    9
    Never could one film have so polarized opinions on both sides of the political spectrum within the USA as this. Although some of Mr. Moore
  6. StacieL.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I don't care if people think that Michael Moore has twisted facts and edited the footage to make George Bush look bad. Personally I think George did this himself. All that Michael did was give us facts, have his say on it and let us decide whether or not Bush was right about his actions. This film has made me open my eyes to the cruelness and the lies that's in the world.
  7. LucaT.
    Jun 29, 2004
    2
    Much of this information was already known, in fact, CBC's 'the fifth estate' did a special on the ties between the Bin Ladens and the Bushs which was more informative, better produced and better written. The movie had far too many news clips and irrelevant Micheal Moore clips (what was up with the peace group???) . I would have rather watched Bowling for Columbine again!!
  8. DarwinF.
    Jul 20, 2004
    0
    Left wing liberal propaganda without any opportunity for debate. Mr. Moore is very convincing at placing blame but does not provide a fair chance to respond to his charges. For that reason this film cannot be classified as a documentary. Instead it is a paid (by you) commercial for Kerry/Edwards. Very disappointing to say the least.
  9. DonaldI.
    Sep 2, 2004
    2
    It is truly fortunate that Michael Moore still lives in America. If he released this piece of tripe in another country, he'd most likely be imprisoned before he could utter another larcenous, poisonous word. A totally irresponsible work by a man not particularly noted for his balanced sense of perspective. Not exactly a good quality in someone who proclaims himself to be a It is truly fortunate that Michael Moore still lives in America. If he released this piece of tripe in another country, he'd most likely be imprisoned before he could utter another larcenous, poisonous word. A totally irresponsible work by a man not particularly noted for his balanced sense of perspective. Not exactly a good quality in someone who proclaims himself to be a documentary filmaker. If he is such, then Leni Riefenstahl should qualify for that honor as well. An utterly reprehensible mess. I can't seem to make up my mind if he should be tried for treason or just simply ignored for filming it. This film has gotten too much recognition as is. Save your money. Expand
  10. Jake
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    I've just got to say, America is full of morons and brainwashed people. Americans (mainly just stupid people) let this monster of a president into office, and now he's completely screwed up America and this movie exposes it. If this country completely depending on the direct vote of the people, that piece of garbage in the white house wouldn't be our president.
  11. Nov 2, 2010
    6
    A good documentary but your enjoyment of it will depend too much on how you feel about sensitive political issues. I believe that most of what is portrayed here is relevant and true and wish more people would at least have an open mind about this.
  12. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    It's clear that Michael Moore often has his own agenda, but I'm sure if he could prove any of the things he says in this film, a lot of people would be in prison. Some things are VERY interesting and really makes you think, while other stuff is complete bull meant to serve his personal agenda, never the less, it was entertaining and it does gives you something to think about.
  13. AndreaE.
    Jul 5, 2004
    8
    More akin to a newspaper editorial column than a news story, Michael Moore puts his opinion (that you should not re-elect Bush) to film in a witty, subversive, and entertaining way. The research (to support that opinion) is superficial, but any thinking person can see what is opinion, and what is fact, and hopefully clarify their own opinions via the issues he touches on. Creative use of More akin to a newspaper editorial column than a news story, Michael Moore puts his opinion (that you should not re-elect Bush) to film in a witty, subversive, and entertaining way. The research (to support that opinion) is superficial, but any thinking person can see what is opinion, and what is fact, and hopefully clarify their own opinions via the issues he touches on. Creative use of music, spot-on edits, and a flow that keeps your interest, is what I saw good about this film. Too many people are misunderstanding that to like this film is to agree with it, and to disagree with it requires one to dislike it. Let's try that standard on Chein Andalou. All those who like popped eyeballs can think it is a good film and all those who find it gross can think that whole film is bad? This IS good documentary film making, which needs to be seen in context to its intentions (to present one man's opinion, much like a newspaper editorial column) not judged by whether one agrees with that man's opinion or not. Expand
  14. PayamM.
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    I loved the movie. I made me both laugh and cry, but most importantly, it makes me want to vote. I signed up last week and I know where my vote is going. The DVD came out today and I am buying a copy for my mom, and my brother, my dad, my aunts, and my neighbor. Oh, and one for myself. Thank you Michael for showing us that you can't bribe the "rich" forever. No the common middle I loved the movie. I made me both laugh and cry, but most importantly, it makes me want to vote. I signed up last week and I know where my vote is going. The DVD came out today and I am buying a copy for my mom, and my brother, my dad, my aunts, and my neighbor. Oh, and one for myself. Thank you Michael for showing us that you can't bribe the "rich" forever. No the common middle class knows whats going on. We have power in numbers and that will be reflected in our votes! Expand
  15. AnneG
    Aug 22, 2004
    8
    I'm an Australian who has visited the States many times and loved both the countryside and the people I met there. But I a, shocked at the number of 0 votes for this film!!! Almost all of them claim that Moore is lying or misrepresenting the truth but I haven't read ONE which actually points out in which areas he has lied. The Marines in the car park definitelt exist, do they I'm an Australian who has visited the States many times and loved both the countryside and the people I met there. But I a, shocked at the number of 0 votes for this film!!! Almost all of them claim that Moore is lying or misrepresenting the truth but I haven't read ONE which actually points out in which areas he has lied. The Marines in the car park definitelt exist, do they not? The young Iraqi boy with his left arm totally mangled is not a lie, is he? I would LOVE to hear from some viewers who can present their side of the story and show that Bush sent his troops (with Australian backup) for a viable reason. Expand
  16. Dave
    Sep 10, 2004
    8
    How can anybody claim this movie is a 'bunch of lies' or 'fictitious' when much of the movie is made up of actual quotes that came straight from George W. Bush's mouth? Some things may be exaggerated, but the essence of the film cannot be disputed.
  17. ZsuzsaB
    Oct 10, 2004
    4
    Very partial....it is not enough to listen to just one side, we have to listen to the other side as well and after it we can make our opinion...
  18. MooreforpresidentM
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    Best movie Ive seen all year. A lot of you out there need to open your ignorant eyes and see that the Bush Administration is corrupt. Do you know what that word means?
  19. TonyP.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    I wonder if any conservatives give the film a high rating and, inversely, if any liberals found the film wanting?
  20. JoeM.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    One of the best pictures of the year. If this doesn't wake people up to the injustices and misguided totalitarianistic leanings of the Bush and Chaney show, nothing will.
  21. Brendan
    Jun 24, 2004
    0
    Absolute terrible presentation of a viewpoint supported only by fiction. Moore like the coward he is fails to give the facts, and like the Hollywood today, has fallen victim to the mental disorder of liberalism and Bush-bashing
  22. JoeR.
    Jun 25, 2004
    1
    WHAT A BUNCH OF LIES! But I guess thats what most movies are, FICTION. Good thing MM lives in a country that provides him the right to make such garbage.
  23. Aramis
    Jun 27, 2004
    9
    Information I already from the BBC & NYtimes (Are they lying too?) + Bias = Entertainment. I don't hear anyone pleading for Saddam's story to be treated without bias. Shouldn't all war criminals get equal treatment? Besides all I heard at the end of this movie was applause (and the full house theatre was packed with seniors).
  24. TH
    Jun 30, 2004
    8
    First of all, Richard Clark worked for GW. If Clark let the Bin Laden family go, Bush should bear the responsibility. Most negative reviews here are made by believers of right-wing propaganda and are deviod of any facts...just like they are accusing this movie of doing. F/911 is a good movie, whether you like what it says or not. There are some very strong messages and it will entertain First of all, Richard Clark worked for GW. If Clark let the Bin Laden family go, Bush should bear the responsibility. Most negative reviews here are made by believers of right-wing propaganda and are deviod of any facts...just like they are accusing this movie of doing. F/911 is a good movie, whether you like what it says or not. There are some very strong messages and it will entertain the viewer from start to finish. Expand
  25. BirdMan
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Great film everyone should see
  26. JimS.
    Jul 1, 2004
    1
    I just saw that Hezbollah endorsed the film & wants to distribute it to all of its associates in the middle east. That's one hell of an endorsement! And driving by the Federal Building in LA yesterday, I saw posters showing Michael Moore as a god-like figure and Bush with a swastika on his head. Is this what the left wing in this country has come to??? Nice movie...
  27. Amber
    Jul 11, 2004
    0
    I have to laugh at how all you liberals are being taken in by this BS piece of propaganda. No one is denying that it it is more important who you know, than what you know. All in a free society network. Moore's film is meant to swing your vote against the current administration. Brainwashing is a wonderful instrument when used against individuals who are unable to think for I have to laugh at how all you liberals are being taken in by this BS piece of propaganda. No one is denying that it it is more important who you know, than what you know. All in a free society network. Moore's film is meant to swing your vote against the current administration. Brainwashing is a wonderful instrument when used against individuals who are unable to think for themselves. Research all the facts before jumping to the predictable conclusion this Canadian wants you to make. Be careful what you wish for... Expand
  28. UsmanT.
    Jul 1, 2004
    8
    Okay, lets put this film into context. It comes from a man who is an open conspiracy theorist pushing his own agneda. Now lets discuss the film. It is an eye opening film for mass audience which shows the behind the scenes going ons in reaction to the tradegy of sept 11. It reflects the motives of bush and his friends both within government and the oil industry in reaction to sept 11, Okay, lets put this film into context. It comes from a man who is an open conspiracy theorist pushing his own agneda. Now lets discuss the film. It is an eye opening film for mass audience which shows the behind the scenes going ons in reaction to the tradegy of sept 11. It reflects the motives of bush and his friends both within government and the oil industry in reaction to sept 11, trying to maximise their profits with no regard for the welfare of other people. I find it rather limiting in terms of sources once it gets to the Iraq reporting and rather one sided without showing the whole picture on some occations, to the extent of taking things out of context to show the writers own point of view. In conclusion, I would say it is a dark reality of the current political situation, and it is time the public stood up and put their views forward to influence the government so they dont go to war on the basis of oil rather on the premise of humanitarian aid with a UN resolution and an agreement of the security council. Expand
  29. Fantasy
    Jul 10, 2004
    0
    I don't care if you are a Republican or Democrat but you need to open your eyes. The Bush administration may have a lot to answer for and that is certainly true. But the way, Michael Moore, a Canadian portrays him is disrespectful, totally unfair and taken out of context. This is a film that delves heavily into innuendo with unsupported allegations. The summations are spoon fed to I don't care if you are a Republican or Democrat but you need to open your eyes. The Bush administration may have a lot to answer for and that is certainly true. But the way, Michael Moore, a Canadian portrays him is disrespectful, totally unfair and taken out of context. This is a film that delves heavily into innuendo with unsupported allegations. The summations are spoon fed to the audience as the entire film is subjective. What's so troubling is that Mr. Moore, a Canadian, is attempting to swing the vote in an election year. If not for the United States, Mr. Moore and his fellow Canadians would all be speaking German this morning lest he ever forget. If you buy into his left wing liberal ideaology, it's not his son or daughter who will be drafted. Although the film is very clever be aware that it is a total piece of propaganda to influence your vote. Expand
  30. PaulD.
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    This movie will open your eyes. Bush is a complete idiot who rode his name and his father's friends to the white house. Watch the movie and judge for yourself!
  31. BrandonS.
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    The critics who don't seem to like this movie often say "moore made this up." Yet I have not seen one fact refuted yet. Newsweek tried to, but they ended up misquoting the film. This is a clearly presented argument culled together from the things those of us paying attention already knew, helping to bring this info to those who started paying attention too late and are now waking up The critics who don't seem to like this movie often say "moore made this up." Yet I have not seen one fact refuted yet. Newsweek tried to, but they ended up misquoting the film. This is a clearly presented argument culled together from the things those of us paying attention already knew, helping to bring this info to those who started paying attention too late and are now waking up from the haze of Bush's propaganda. Two devastating scenes: Bush's (non)reaction to the news that "America is under attack" and the black-screen, audio-only presentation of the 9/11 strike. The story of the mother who lost her son in Iraq is painful to watch, but demonstrates the real hearts of Americans as well as I've ever seen done. A strong argument against the worst president in American history (and, no, this is not an exaggeration of the current, truly horrific administration.) Expand
  32. TonyT.
    Jul 20, 2004
    7
    Not as good as 'Bowling for Columbine', it isn't as humorous and its more obvious. A lot of things were already known by me and we all Know Bush isn't the best president of the states ever. Still a very good effort from Moore to get the public to see what kind of a Nit-wit Bush actually is. And of course great timing in election year.
  33. Melissa
    Jul 2, 2004
    0
    What a bunch of B.S. Lying liberal dogma. Mr. Moore takes tragedy and turns it into gold for himself. What a traitor to this country.
  34. JamesH.
    Jul 27, 2004
    8
    This is a film that lists a series of facts and then links these facts together with speculation. The speculation is of course, just speculation and will be dismissed and praised in equal measure. However, the facts are pretty hard to dispute and for an independant like me, it was difficult to reach a significantly different conclusion to Moore's speculation. Even the most die-hard This is a film that lists a series of facts and then links these facts together with speculation. The speculation is of course, just speculation and will be dismissed and praised in equal measure. However, the facts are pretty hard to dispute and for an independant like me, it was difficult to reach a significantly different conclusion to Moore's speculation. Even the most die-hard Bush/GOP supporter will be left with a few questions to ask after watching this film. Expand
  35. KaynI
    Jul 3, 2004
    0
    Fahrenheit is a movie length political ad. Moore appears to be a bitter person filled with hatred. I would not recommend Americans to trust such a man. Bitterness and hatred impairs sound judgement. I can see his delusion from the other side of the world (Nagaland). Acquiring wealth making movies, living in comfort and security, Moore can never comprehend what it's like staring Fahrenheit is a movie length political ad. Moore appears to be a bitter person filled with hatred. I would not recommend Americans to trust such a man. Bitterness and hatred impairs sound judgement. I can see his delusion from the other side of the world (Nagaland). Acquiring wealth making movies, living in comfort and security, Moore can never comprehend what it's like staring terror face to face. In one flashing moment, with clarity...you can see the face of evil. President Bush can see that and that's what Americans soldiers are fighting against and Moore is bent on stopping him. Please take my word for it, I know what terror is. Expand
  36. PeterA.
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    This movie was a brilliant achievement, one of the most patriotic compositions ever put to cellulite.
  37. W.Wagner
    Jul 5, 2004
    9
    Forces you to question not only the state of our country and its leaders, but also your own views regarding all things political. Hilarious and heartbreaking file footage makes the film. If only Moore could have kept his hatred on the cutting room floor and allowed the evidence to mount on its own; that would have bolstered the argument and sharpened the sting.
  38. PaulW.
    Jul 6, 2004
    9
    Having watched this film its only gone to confirm what I and most of the people who don't live in the USA think that bush is a clown that should not get a second term in office or the whole world is doomed. Thank God for Michael Moore lifting the lid on some awful unhanded things that the bush admin have been up to since they came to power. Thats why this film won best picture in Having watched this film its only gone to confirm what I and most of the people who don't live in the USA think that bush is a clown that should not get a second term in office or the whole world is doomed. Thank God for Michael Moore lifting the lid on some awful unhanded things that the bush admin have been up to since they came to power. Thats why this film won best picture in Cannes. To everyone who thought this was a load of lies....open your eyes and get your head out of the sand. Expand
  39. NicholasS.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    I have been reading other users comments. None of the people denouncing the movie have attacked any of Moore's arguments, such as the link between Bush, the Bin Ladens and oil, the fact that the Bush administration flew the Bin Ladens out of the US right after the 9-11 attack or the fact that Bush sat in a classroom for upwords of 7 minutes when he heard the 2nd tower was bombed I have been reading other users comments. None of the people denouncing the movie have attacked any of Moore's arguments, such as the link between Bush, the Bin Ladens and oil, the fact that the Bush administration flew the Bin Ladens out of the US right after the 9-11 attack or the fact that Bush sat in a classroom for upwords of 7 minutes when he heard the 2nd tower was bombed (what was he doing?). Yes, the movie is propaganda, but so is things the media says and things that the Bush administration say, such as Iraq had WMDs. All of the people have critiqued the method of the film and NOT its CONTENT. Please, start making an argument. Expand
  40. LukeJ.
    Jul 6, 2004
    1
    Unfortunately, it is a complete travesty to call this film a documentary. Calling it a documentary is quite possibly the furthest thing from the truth. Michael Moore has put together a masterful film, that no one can argue. However, the mastery is rooted within the films clever editing techniques which only serve to perpetuate Michael Moore's false premise. The film at times does Unfortunately, it is a complete travesty to call this film a documentary. Calling it a documentary is quite possibly the furthest thing from the truth. Michael Moore has put together a masterful film, that no one can argue. However, the mastery is rooted within the films clever editing techniques which only serve to perpetuate Michael Moore's false premise. The film at times does come right out and lie, however, this is not what happens in the majority of the film. Rather, Michael Moore chooses to leave out crucial details allowing him to paint his own version of events. I suggest that anyone viewing this film do a little research about its truthfulness. I further suggest you read the review found in Newsweek by David Gates as it outlines many of the film's inherent flaws. Expand
  41. JeremyH.
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    Phenomenal and incredible. This film will not convince any bush administration apologists... it takes too much pleasure in exposing Bush as the contemptible fool we all believe him to be. I am fairly certain that Moore specifically wants to raise the ire of the informed left (and any fence-sitters as well) by encapsulating all of the arguments against this administration into a perfect Phenomenal and incredible. This film will not convince any bush administration apologists... it takes too much pleasure in exposing Bush as the contemptible fool we all believe him to be. I am fairly certain that Moore specifically wants to raise the ire of the informed left (and any fence-sitters as well) by encapsulating all of the arguments against this administration into a perfect summation, so that anyone who views it will be absolutely sure to vote Bush and co. out of office. One thing I was surprised about was how well Moore articulated a sense of concern for the people of the military that have been sacrificed by bush and rumsfeld, a feeling of pride and patriotism for the people in uniform who are willing to risk and die to protect and support the United States. It's impossible to watch this film, and not feel that these kids (and they are kids) need all the support they can get from everyone back safe within the borders of the US. Attack the film and Moore if you must, but the message is loud and clear. It's time to end the mistaken reign of GWB and his administration once and for all, for the good of the country and the world. Expand
  42. BobH.
    Jul 9, 2004
    0
    Michael Moore has done a masterful job of spinning his web of innuendo and deceipt against the current administration. It really doesn't matter which Party you support. Because a film like this is so masterfully designed that it will make you challenge your own beliefs? It will make you laugh, cry and eventually drive you to your boiling point. This is what it was intended to do. It Michael Moore has done a masterful job of spinning his web of innuendo and deceipt against the current administration. It really doesn't matter which Party you support. Because a film like this is so masterfully designed that it will make you challenge your own beliefs? It will make you laugh, cry and eventually drive you to your boiling point. This is what it was intended to do. It is the ultimate in propaganda films and a must see. After viewing it you will understand exactly why American's are so despised. Of course this has billed as a documentary. But strangely, the accused have no opportunity to refute the charges made against them, or to present their point of view. Only the writer and producer one Michael Moore as the Judge and Jury. He will have you believe that The "Three Stooges" and their inbred cousins are running our country. His ultra left wing liberal views are so transparent. But in making his point he reveals his own hypocrisy. For example, it's a well known fact that the Armed Services recruit from the impoverished regions of the U.S. Every country has done so from the beginning of time. It affords impoverished youth to earn money for college and the opportunity to learn a trade? It's a great offer in times of peace. Did those who enlisted of their free will actually think they were joining the Boy Scouts? Michael goes to Capital Hill to see if he can induce any of our legislators to send their own children into harm's way. Needless to say they brush him off. His fallacy in asking this question is what would happen if he asked the same thing of his Left Wing Hollywood friends? They too would look at him incredulously? What affluent American in his right mind is going to send his kid into war? Of course, the failing with the entire liberal majority is that if no one enlisted, then the draft would have to be reenacted. Let's see how many would then be willing to send their own children to their deaths? How come the Hollywood Liberals do not send money to Flint, Michigan and other needy regions to abolish poverty? But, Michael if he can swing the election for the Democrats can't wait until he sleeps on that fine linen he makes fun of in the White House. Michael will take the $50 million in blood money and sleep very well as our brave soldiers die on the battlefield. Is this a great country or what? Where else can you Monday morning quarterback against your own government without any fear of reprisal? Try that in the Middle East and see what happens? We fail to recognize that indeed America is a Capitalistic society. And thank God it is. Expand
  43. DamianP.
    Jul 9, 2004
    9
    Very funny movie. You couldn't make this stuff up if you tried, so it must be true. Right?
  44. Nadine
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    Anyone who says this movie is anti-American needs to use their brains and take a better look at this movie. I've noticed the only people who don't like this movie are IGNORANT in every sense of the word and very closed minded.
  45. MatthieuR.
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    A must see for anyone foolish enough to actually support this war. Drop the tough guy act and rhetoric, and actually witness some of the horrors we are guilty of.
  46. MikeS.
    Nov 15, 2004
    7
    Hello again Sparklemotion. you complaints would be okay, if not for the fact that Britian, our largest ally, has only lost about 70 soldiers. The democrats did not embrace Moore and you cannot say that he is the reason that Bush won. Americans are not smart enough to allow that to happen, it would require actually becoming infromed, which most did not. Instead they chose to vote with Hello again Sparklemotion. you complaints would be okay, if not for the fact that Britian, our largest ally, has only lost about 70 soldiers. The democrats did not embrace Moore and you cannot say that he is the reason that Bush won. Americans are not smart enough to allow that to happen, it would require actually becoming infromed, which most did not. Instead they chose to vote with their hearts. About the movie, you may have disagreed with it, but that is no reason to give it a zero. Moore's passion on the topic is noticable to all, and that is commendable, in an age where we are faced with mindless movies all the time. There are many things that I disagree with, but that doesn't mean that I can't see their passion, that does not mean that I have to hate something. That is one of the few things we have left in America, freedom of speech. Expand
  47. BillyB.
    Oct 14, 2004
    3
    Yet another reason why it's ridiculous to claim that this film is a "documentary" -- Moore fails to show that 73% of all soldiers in today's military support President Bush. Instead, he spotlights a deserter and the mother of a killed soldier. Great sample there, Mike.
  48. dsmobey
    Oct 15, 2004
    3
    Despite all the praise, and regardless of politics, it all falls to pieces at last with the fat lady walking around crying. It seems like she is the last 1/3 of the film. Moore seems to think she sums up everything, but she has little to say and what she does say is contradictory. She certainly doesn't sell the point. If it were a 10 point movie (and it's not) up until then, Despite all the praise, and regardless of politics, it all falls to pieces at last with the fat lady walking around crying. It seems like she is the last 1/3 of the film. Moore seems to think she sums up everything, but she has little to say and what she does say is contradictory. She certainly doesn't sell the point. If it were a 10 point movie (and it's not) up until then, you'd have to subtract at least five points for wasting my time and his film. Expand
  49. JohnH.
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    In reality, it is a nine, but I wish to counter-balance the conservative fools who give it zeros. They just want the ****ing tax breaks. Moore gives an insightful look into the darker side of big buisness. In its nature, it is to point out people who get power, and abuse it. Since Bush is one of the best examples now, he just happens to get bashed. Anyway, Bravo!
  50. CarolC.
    Oct 18, 2004
    0
    Lee, you're here to discuss the film? Okay, you really believe that our President and his administration are in cahoots with bin Laden with regard to 911 and this is a coverup? C'mon, have some common sense. Moore twists answers to match up with questions that were NEVER posed to those who respond. And you think this a fair and balanced film? In any other country but America, Lee, you're here to discuss the film? Okay, you really believe that our President and his administration are in cahoots with bin Laden with regard to 911 and this is a coverup? C'mon, have some common sense. Moore twists answers to match up with questions that were NEVER posed to those who respond. And you think this a fair and balanced film? In any other country but America, Moore and Commie thinkers such as you from the left wing would be in jail or worse. The bottom line is that we did not start the Great Jihad. The Muslims want you dead on that you can be certain. Where do you want to fight the war? In the streets of America or across the pond in Iraq? Your choice home or away as nothing else matters. Before 911 you will have us all believe that there was no chance of bin Laden attacking America either. Take your liberal BS and go bye-bye. As for the movie if you want to reflect on its worthiness as a documentary then by all means do so. But to say it was fair is nothing more than bold faced lie. Moore is left wing liberal who prefers that the Bush administration be toppled. To use the greatest tragedy in American history as his sounding board discredits the brave men and women fighting to protect our way of life. Expand
  51. GregT.
    Oct 20, 2004
    7
    Most of the reviews below are not based on the movie, but on political bent and belief. As a documentary, this film was interesting and fairly comprehensive. There may be lies in it, skewed against the current U.S. Administration. But the corpses were real and so was the Iraqi woman screaming "Oh God. Where are you? I beg for vengence." And vengence, they will get, if it kills them. Bush Most of the reviews below are not based on the movie, but on political bent and belief. As a documentary, this film was interesting and fairly comprehensive. There may be lies in it, skewed against the current U.S. Administration. But the corpses were real and so was the Iraqi woman screaming "Oh God. Where are you? I beg for vengence." And vengence, they will get, if it kills them. Bush stated in this film "They are not happy being occupied. I wouldn't be happy if we were occupied." And indeed that is at least one truth. This movie documents not just the recent war in Iraq but the failure of human beings generally to evolve much beyond the cave man days, in which, in the modern era, we are still all hitting each other over the head with clubs, in an ultimately vain attempt at controlling dictators, governments, land, oil and religion. We are in a helluva mess and indeed "God, where are you?" Expand
  52. PH
    Oct 30, 2004
    7
    There is, of course, a reason people on the far-right want you to avoid this movie: It's entertaining and damning of Bush at the same time. They are entitled to their opinion, of course, as long as they've seen the film. What troubles me is their belief that patriotism can not encompass dissent. (Though they never had a problem with this when Clinton was in office!) To those on There is, of course, a reason people on the far-right want you to avoid this movie: It's entertaining and damning of Bush at the same time. They are entitled to their opinion, of course, as long as they've seen the film. What troubles me is their belief that patriotism can not encompass dissent. (Though they never had a problem with this when Clinton was in office!) To those on the far-right who say "Move to Canada!" or whatever new version of "love it or leave it" they can manage, I say that the idea of a nation with millions of nuclear weapons and exclusively made up of neo-cons is a very scary though. Me and my moderate-to-left-leaning ass are staying. Expand
  53. TrentK
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    I think any person who gave it a 0 is a Republican, and a scared one at that. Moore makes such valid points, that your fear is justified. See this movie. Very eye-opening.
  54. RyanM.
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    Every thread of this film, which challenges "Hoop Dreams" for the spot of best documentary ever, is not fiction but fact. People who disagree with Moore would love to find something in this film that was fabricated, but it isn't. That is, at its very core, the genius of "Fahrenheit 9/11". It's reality not fantasy, and even at that, it's more riveting than any other film Every thread of this film, which challenges "Hoop Dreams" for the spot of best documentary ever, is not fiction but fact. People who disagree with Moore would love to find something in this film that was fabricated, but it isn't. That is, at its very core, the genius of "Fahrenheit 9/11". It's reality not fantasy, and even at that, it's more riveting than any other film I've seen so far this year. Completely amazing in every way. Expand
  55. jifu
    Oct 8, 2004
    9
    Resolution 1441 did not authorize the war. Many people feel that the war was illegal, such as Hans Blix and Kofi Annan, who said that the invasion did not have the Security Council approval and was therefore illegal. Not that Americans care what the U.N. thinks. As to the movie: the best of his movies so far. The editing and music were superb, and only once or twice did the pacing seem Resolution 1441 did not authorize the war. Many people feel that the war was illegal, such as Hans Blix and Kofi Annan, who said that the invasion did not have the Security Council approval and was therefore illegal. Not that Americans care what the U.N. thinks. As to the movie: the best of his movies so far. The editing and music were superb, and only once or twice did the pacing seem off. This was a very moving work of art that really hits the emotions. I am happy that it is being called more than a documentary. Expand
  56. TimothyG.
    Jun 24, 2004
    9
    Ok, here's my prediction, this movie will not do as well as the hype... Just look at the scores... It's split 50/50 with very "love it" or "hate it" feelings. No one will leave this film with a "yeah, I thought it was ok..." feeling. Granted, it will still be the top grossing documentary of all time, but it is certainly not going to live up to the controversy. It's Ok, here's my prediction, this movie will not do as well as the hype... Just look at the scores... It's split 50/50 with very "love it" or "hate it" feelings. No one will leave this film with a "yeah, I thought it was ok..." feeling. Granted, it will still be the top grossing documentary of all time, but it is certainly not going to live up to the controversy. It's essentially an "art flick" being marketed to the mainstream media. Personally, I love when that happens, remember Blair Witch? I was a projectionist at the time, people left the theatre going "what the hell was that!!!?, demanding refunds.. lol, and the same will apply to this, believe it or not, folks will walk into Fahrenheit 911 thinking it's a remake of the Bradbury novel.. Watch it happen. Enjoy the Fun! Expand
  57. BrianY.
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    Important film. Well made and disturbing.
  58. [Anonymous]
    Jun 25, 2004
    0
    How can anyone say this movie is fully accurate and truthful when the intent of this Bush-hating director is apparent. He picks and chooses the material he has to destroy W. If you are a negative person and relate to the negativity of Moore and Kerry, by all means, see it. Better to be positive and proactive in my book. This movie is "passive negatism" at its worst. My production called How can anyone say this movie is fully accurate and truthful when the intent of this Bush-hating director is apparent. He picks and chooses the material he has to destroy W. If you are a negative person and relate to the negativity of Moore and Kerry, by all means, see it. Better to be positive and proactive in my book. This movie is "passive negatism" at its worst. My production called "Bill" will be 2 hours staring at a cigar and explaining its uses - all true! Expand
  59. RichieRich
    Jun 25, 2004
    9
    Any way you cut it, this is a powerful film. Sure Moore takes some cheap shots and twists things to suit his purposes. Those are not the hard hitting points in this film. The story of the soldier's whose lives are lost or forever changed is the real story here. Why?
  60. Tony
    Jun 25, 2004
    8
    First, the usually empty matinee was packed. Second, there were more laughs and more applause then any movie I can remember. Now, about the movie - only thing I could find wrong was that a few parts dragged a little. 15 minutes shorter would have worked better. Otherwise, it was totally enjoyable, and from what I have heard, accurate in what it said, although I'm sure Bush has done First, the usually empty matinee was packed. Second, there were more laughs and more applause then any movie I can remember. Now, about the movie - only thing I could find wrong was that a few parts dragged a little. 15 minutes shorter would have worked better. Otherwise, it was totally enjoyable, and from what I have heard, accurate in what it said, although I'm sure Bush has done and said some good things that were left out. Everyone has to see this - then decide for themselves what to do come November. Expand
  61. StanleyT.
    Jun 26, 2004
    4
    Jeff L.: That second argument is the classic Marist/Stalinist argument, and it's never going to work in this country. In my opinion, this was Moore's least persuasive argument in the film. I also thought that it was tasteless of him to demonize Colin Powell, the one person in the Bush administration who is a true hero and stand-up guy. I would agree with another post below, that Jeff L.: That second argument is the classic Marist/Stalinist argument, and it's never going to work in this country. In my opinion, this was Moore's least persuasive argument in the film. I also thought that it was tasteless of him to demonize Colin Powell, the one person in the Bush administration who is a true hero and stand-up guy. I would agree with another post below, that if you're against the action in Iraq, there's only one candidate to vote for -- the person that Moore endorsed in 2000 - Ralph Nader. Kerry would have gone to war with a little more international support, but if you buy into Moore's logic, Nader is your only option. Actually, the best choice for Democrats would have been Howard Dean, the only major-party candidate who opposed the war from the start. Kerry is the old-Money, Yale Skull 'N Bones guy just like Bush. If you are truly persuaded by Moore, your only choice this fall will be Nader. And to be honest with you, he makes a hell of a lot of sense. Expand
  62. VinceH.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    First of all, I must say that I was biased before seeing this movie becuause I just so happen to agree with the politics of this film and I'm a fan of Moore's books & films. But I was blown away with this one. A.O. Scott of the NY Times says he feels that with this film, Moore has gone beyond mere doc-maker to a great filmmaker, and I must agree. Yes, the footage of Moore riding First of all, I must say that I was biased before seeing this movie becuause I just so happen to agree with the politics of this film and I'm a fan of Moore's books & films. But I was blown away with this one. A.O. Scott of the NY Times says he feels that with this film, Moore has gone beyond mere doc-maker to a great filmmaker, and I must agree. Yes, the footage of Moore riding around in an Ice Cream truck and handing out Army recruting brochures to senators all reek of Moore's usual show-offy style which is usually more about him and his antics than what the film is about, and another sequence where Moore visits the mother of a dead soldier drags on a bit too long and begins to feel like a very special 20/20 episode. But Moore is an unequal master of editing news & video footage into effective & brilliantly placed places in the film to serve his purpose. Regardless of your political stance, many facts presented in the film (esp. in the first hour) will startle even the most jaded viewer. To the people who state this movie is "full of lies" and "distorts the truth" etc. Moore has stated many times in interviews that he is a personal filmmaker who presents his subjects and his facts about them to leave it up to the viewer to decide who they believe. He is not telling people what to think or who to vote for, but presenting (very strong) evidence that could very well change the way you see the world around you. Expand
  63. SkipH.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    Pay no attention to all the naysayers on this film. Many of them haven't even seen it and will not drop their blind support of "their master" Bush. Every theater I went to here in Bush country, Austin Texas, was sold out for just about every single showing. It's a powerful film and should be seen by everyone. See for yourself, then make up your mind. My guess is that those Pay no attention to all the naysayers on this film. Many of them haven't even seen it and will not drop their blind support of "their master" Bush. Every theater I went to here in Bush country, Austin Texas, was sold out for just about every single showing. It's a powerful film and should be seen by everyone. See for yourself, then make up your mind. My guess is that those who've blindly locked-step with the monstrosities they now call "Neo-Cons" (Cons... how appropriate ;-)... my guess is that they will leave the theater with their collective heads hanging in shame. Face it, you were duped by corporate criminals who used your good patriotic nature for the lust of power and financial gain. I know you're not all bad people, but it's not too late to right the horrible wrongs your endorsments have helped bring about. If Moore is lying as many of your charge... why isn't anyone suing him? Could it be because he isn't lying? Expand
  64. StanJ.
    Jun 26, 2004
    0
    Absolute garbage. Mr. moore was just chatting with the British media and said the American public was the dumbest group of people in the world... I'm sure he was refering to those on his side of the aisle who march in lockstep and buy into this trash without questioning anything... Iraq wasn't such a bad place before we got there? Tell that to the Kurds and the untold thousands Absolute garbage. Mr. moore was just chatting with the British media and said the American public was the dumbest group of people in the world... I'm sure he was refering to those on his side of the aisle who march in lockstep and buy into this trash without questioning anything... Iraq wasn't such a bad place before we got there? Tell that to the Kurds and the untold thousands who were systematically slaughtered, dismembered and raped by the Hussein family... Bush lied about the WMD's and Iraq's links to al-Qaida? Umm- no... There is more and more evidence coming out daily of each of these... Unfortunately you just won't hear about it from Dan Rather... Hmm, and let's see, Vladimir Putin last weekend announced to the world that his own Russian intelligence agents gave the US information before the war that the Iraqi's were planning attacks against the US at home and abroad- that's HUGE news (not to mention a huge blow to Mr. moore and his fellow spineless, limp-wristed, blowhard left-wing wacko friends) why is it not being reported? Too bad the media of this country is far too close to the side of Mr. moore... Expand
  65. Mike
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    All the people giving this movie a "0" or a "1" crack me up. They're just angry that the movie doesn't reinforce the views that the people who think for them at Fox News have been spewing for the last 3 years. And when Michael moore talks about how dumb Americans are, take a guess who he's talking about.
  66. ValarieB.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    I hope this movie, at the very least, makes some people want to discover what the truth REALLY is. The majority of the media does not tell us the truth- most are owned by those who want to keep the truth from the people. I feel people should do what they can to discover the truth for themselves. And as far as a person whom I could see making positive changes in this country - I am going I hope this movie, at the very least, makes some people want to discover what the truth REALLY is. The majority of the media does not tell us the truth- most are owned by those who want to keep the truth from the people. I feel people should do what they can to discover the truth for themselves. And as far as a person whom I could see making positive changes in this country - I am going to vote for Dennis Kucinich, even though I will have to write his name in. I would encourage people to check him out, and look into everyone who's attempting to run. You can vote for whomever you want. Don't just take what anyone feeds you. Expand
  67. JasonS.
    Jun 26, 2004
    6
    Why do people think that documentaries are supposed to be balanced? They're not newscasts; they're commentary on a subject a filmmaker feels strongly about. While this movie was strong on evidence and drama, it's all still kind of boring. Too many scenes went on too long and it wasn't as hard hitting as I expected. I did appreciate that Moore brought to light Why do people think that documentaries are supposed to be balanced? They're not newscasts; they're commentary on a subject a filmmaker feels strongly about. While this movie was strong on evidence and drama, it's all still kind of boring. Too many scenes went on too long and it wasn't as hard hitting as I expected. I did appreciate that Moore brought to light Bush's fear campaign of the last 3 years. Expand
  68. JerradH.
    Jun 26, 2004
    8
    Those who are pawns of the Right will see this movie as a batch of lies and conspiracy theories that hold no merit, and anyone who believes anything Moore says is an unpatriotic moron. They're wrong. Those who are pawns of the Left will see this movie as gospel and perfection, and that we have completely failed the war on terror and caused nothing but endless suffering in Iraq. Those who are pawns of the Right will see this movie as a batch of lies and conspiracy theories that hold no merit, and anyone who believes anything Moore says is an unpatriotic moron. They're wrong. Those who are pawns of the Left will see this movie as gospel and perfection, and that we have completely failed the war on terror and caused nothing but endless suffering in Iraq. They're wrong too. Somewhere in the middle lies the truth. Basically, the way I saw it, Moore asks a lot of interesting questions, and certainly proves that our President is, without a doubt, low on the totem pole of presidential history and ability. However, he failed to showcase some of the good things we're doing in Iraq, even though he does a good job at proving we went to war there without good reason. He also fails to show just how bad things were under Saddam's regime, and paints an incorrect picture of happiness and productivity there before the attack. He also completely omits Britain from his "Coalition" segment, and also did a few edits that were contrary to his point of view. In other words, mostly right, but hardly perfect. This war was wrong, people are suffering, Bush is not a good president, the administration is ineffective and straining international relationships, but other issues that should've been raised simply weren't. For that, it gets an 8. Expand
  69. SandraC.
    Jun 26, 2004
    7
    After seeing this movie, which was very effective, it leaves me with only one choice in this presidential election, and anybody who takes Moore's message seriously has to vote for the same candidate: Ralph NADER. No matter how much you disagree with Bush, Kerry is right there in bed with him by authorizing the Iraq war. Go Vote, people, but if you don't like the Iraq war, you After seeing this movie, which was very effective, it leaves me with only one choice in this presidential election, and anybody who takes Moore's message seriously has to vote for the same candidate: Ralph NADER. No matter how much you disagree with Bush, Kerry is right there in bed with him by authorizing the Iraq war. Go Vote, people, but if you don't like the Iraq war, you have to vote for Nader. The only thing Kerry would have done differently would have been to employ more French troops, more Germans, and more Russians, all of whom would have bombed innocent Iraquis like we have done. War is hell, and ONLY Nader was against war in Iraq. Kerry voted to authorize this war. Kerry participated in free fire zones in Vietnam. Maybe he would have extended the inspections for a few more months, but he wanted this war just as much as Bush. They are both full of it. It's NADER time. (And you all know who Moore voted for in 2000, right? Nader.) Expand
  70. Amanda
    Jun 26, 2004
    9
    I understand that there are issues with this film, and how Moore presents certain facts. But we have to realise that the world is more complex than black and white, there are many gray areas, to ignore them is dangerous.
  71. AaronP.
    Jun 26, 2004
    8
    It seemed the only people watching this movie were those who already disliked the Bush adminstration. Very few of the comments had not already been in the news, but it was put together as a political ad campaign for Kerry. (I wonder if he contributed) Of course people were cheering in the theatre. My only hope is that the rest of the country who may not be as informed get a chance to It seemed the only people watching this movie were those who already disliked the Bush adminstration. Very few of the comments had not already been in the news, but it was put together as a political ad campaign for Kerry. (I wonder if he contributed) Of course people were cheering in the theatre. My only hope is that the rest of the country who may not be as informed get a chance to watch this in time. Lets hope Blockbuster is willing to carry the DVD/VHS before the election. Next lets see Moore tackle obesity in America. Expand
  72. MarcusQ.
    Jun 26, 2004
    0
    AWFUL MOVIE, Was not even close to the real truth, Michael Moore is a liar and a traitor to his country!
  73. GingerB.
    Jun 27, 2004
    8
    This movie is good, not great...there is some great footage of our "leader"...but for the most part it won't be anything new to people who visit the real news websites...also...c'mon people...1's and 0's?!!...you make yourself out to a be a right wing lunatic when you rate with a score like that...why put so much energy into defending a politician?...because the movie This movie is good, not great...there is some great footage of our "leader"...but for the most part it won't be anything new to people who visit the real news websites...also...c'mon people...1's and 0's?!!...you make yourself out to a be a right wing lunatic when you rate with a score like that...why put so much energy into defending a politician?...because the movie holds more truth than you would like?...I personally could watch michael moore take cheap shots at bush for days...and he could...it's just such an easy thing to do... Expand
  74. TimC.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    If you want a true picture of the inner workings of the current American regime (aka the Bush Administration) then this is your film. As expected the right wing repub extremists are using every propoganda technique they've got to trash this film, but unfortunately for them facts are facts. This film is well conceived and well presented, and leaves a powerful impact upon its audience.
  75. JedV.
    Jun 27, 2004
    6
    Stirring and maddening, but not a great movie. I needed no further convincing that Bush is a bad president, but had hoped for a lucid presentation of new evidence that I could use to combat pro-Bushites. Alas, despite some excellent moments, the movie comes off as a vindictive, uneven portrayal of Michael Moore's passions and personality.
  76. JonnyR.
    Jun 27, 2004
    7
    Although i agree with most of Michael Moore's points-of-view, i feel that his movies are one-sided. For example, in Fahrenheit 911 he interviewed countless soliders who despise the war, and would do anything to not be in Iraq. How come he didn't interview U.S. soliders who enjoy the killing...lets be honest, all armies have those who enjoy hurting/killing other people. Not Although i agree with most of Michael Moore's points-of-view, i feel that his movies are one-sided. For example, in Fahrenheit 911 he interviewed countless soliders who despise the war, and would do anything to not be in Iraq. How come he didn't interview U.S. soliders who enjoy the killing...lets be honest, all armies have those who enjoy hurting/killing other people. Not everyone in Iraq is there to "free" it's people. Yet this was only briefly touched on. However this said, i do think this is an important film. It shows us how truly awful our foreign policy is. If another country doesn't want to play ball with us, we will invade them and replace their government with one that is similar to ours. After all...our system works for us, it must work for everyone right?! Who cares what the Iraqis want...it is what we want that counts! And damn it, we want oil! M Many republicans wanted to ban this movie from being shown to the public, as it made our judicially appointed president look bad. Obviously a violation of the free speech ammendment...yet they they claim to be patriots?! Another minor detail...Moore played the wrong song in the soundtrack.. The "Bodies" song the solider was reffering to is written/performed by Drowning Pool. No matter how one feels towards Michael Moore's movies, the fact that they spark so much debate makes it worth while. Expand
  77. C.B.
    Jun 27, 2004
    9
    I just wish Moore was running for Prime Minister in Canada. We love him up here! A+
  78. MarkT.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    Powerful, moving, humorous, tragic. It's finally refreshing to see other parts of the story not reported by the media or suppressed by the current administration. Anyone who claims to believe in truth and democracy must see this film.
  79. MikeN.
    Jun 27, 2004
    8
    Newcomer George W. Bush portrays a Forrest Gump-type simpleton who, by simply "Being There," manages to become President of the United States. Once in office, Bush spends all of his time on vacation, playing golf and goofing off. But then, no surprise, enemies of the United States take advantage of his complete incompetance to attack. Comedy ensues! It is not difficult to see why Cannes Newcomer George W. Bush portrays a Forrest Gump-type simpleton who, by simply "Being There," manages to become President of the United States. Once in office, Bush spends all of his time on vacation, playing golf and goofing off. But then, no surprise, enemies of the United States take advantage of his complete incompetance to attack. Comedy ensues! It is not difficult to see why Cannes judges considered giving Bush a special award for Best Comedic Performance. This is, quite simply, the funniest comedic performance in the history of the cinema. Bush is a natural comedic genius. The camera loves him. Jim Carrey's rubber faced muggings seem contrived and staged compared to Bush's ridiculous attempts to deliver a simple home-spun aphorism. Peter Sellers turn in this same role now seems forced compared to Bush's interpretation. He inhabits the role of the "heaven blessed dimwit" in absolutely convincing fashion. Moore has the good sense to get out his star's way, realising that there is nothing funnier than putting Bush on screen for five straight minutes. The film is cleverly made however. Moore carefully juxtaposes some manipulative scenes with Bush's own witless attempts at media manipulation. The net effect is that no matter how much you dislike being manipulated by Moore, you dislike being manipulated by Bush much, much more. Expand
  80. MelissaG.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    I think we should send Bush to the front lines in Iraq for a month. And send all of our military home. Bush should be tried for war crimes. Look at the thousands he has killed. I will be taking my children to see this documentary. And I will encourage everyone I can, friend, co-workers, to see this. And Mr. Bush the saying is, "Screw me over once, shame on you, screw me over twice shame I think we should send Bush to the front lines in Iraq for a month. And send all of our military home. Bush should be tried for war crimes. Look at the thousands he has killed. I will be taking my children to see this documentary. And I will encourage everyone I can, friend, co-workers, to see this. And Mr. Bush the saying is, "Screw me over once, shame on you, screw me over twice shame on me". Or in other words, don't expect to get a second term in office! Expand
  81. PatC.
    Jun 27, 2004
    1
    Prequel to a future award-winning documentary about a filmmaker's rabid personality disorder. Holds American leadership to a hypothetical standard that humans, especially the likes of Mr. Moore, cannot and have never satisfied. Of course Cannes liked it - they're the ones without petroleum resources who get an uninterrupted supply without expending any guilt or blood. Excuse me, Prequel to a future award-winning documentary about a filmmaker's rabid personality disorder. Holds American leadership to a hypothetical standard that humans, especially the likes of Mr. Moore, cannot and have never satisfied. Of course Cannes liked it - they're the ones without petroleum resources who get an uninterrupted supply without expending any guilt or blood. Excuse me, but our government officials and those of us who unapologetically use petroleum products did not fly those airliners into those buildings. 1 point for demonstrating that our system of government still protects a cheap-shot imbecile's right to speak out. Maybe another point later on if our country proves wise enough to sort out the hypocrisy inflicted by the irresponsible polarizers on both sides. Expand
  82. D.A.
    Jun 28, 2004
    0
    Michael Moore twisted and created "information" to back up his bogus points. He blatantly states false information and assumes more than he is due.
  83. EricR.
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    Wraps up many newspaper stories about Bush that haven't seen popular news coverage, but does so in an over-the-top manner, which is tremendous fun, given the method of documentary filmmaking Moore practices. More documentarians need to learn from Moore, we need more of his filmmaking and less of 'Discovery' channel fare.
  84. Edsfilms
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    A truly important film to be seen at this time of our American history. Whether you agree with our President or don't, you owe it to yourself to at least see the film and then decide for yourself. And even if there are things in the film that are exaggerated for making a point, if even 25% of what is in the film is true, then this country is in the sorriest state of political A truly important film to be seen at this time of our American history. Whether you agree with our President or don't, you owe it to yourself to at least see the film and then decide for yourself. And even if there are things in the film that are exaggerated for making a point, if even 25% of what is in the film is true, then this country is in the sorriest state of political upheaval in its short and violent history Expand
  85. JayG.
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    This film gets top score because it shines the harsh light of scrutiny on an Administration that has tried EVERYTHING to avoid it. Gods know you can't rely on American media for it. As for this much touted Hitchens' article on Slate, what a joke. Chris Hitchens takes 'Moore' to task for essentially blaming Bush on the Bin Laden/Saudi evacuations when Clark tried to be This film gets top score because it shines the harsh light of scrutiny on an Administration that has tried EVERYTHING to avoid it. Gods know you can't rely on American media for it. As for this much touted Hitchens' article on Slate, what a joke. Chris Hitchens takes 'Moore' to task for essentially blaming Bush on the Bin Laden/Saudi evacuations when Clark tried to be the fall guy from it. What Hitchens fails to say is that the FAA had to approve such departures, and the FAA is an Executive branch, therefore Bush is responsible. Oh ya, and he then bitches about how Moore said we needed twice as many troops in Iraq than were deployed, even though he was against the invasion. Is Hitchens this stupid? You bet, apparently if you oppose the war you want your troops to lose, instead of getting adequate numbers to do the job. What an idiot. If this is the best the Right can do, then Nov. '04 is going to be a blast! Expand
  86. JohnB.
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    Now we need another one on Bush's lies about the economy and environment.
  87. SusanB.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Moore does a great job exposing our Leader as a shifty, narrow-minded idiot who can't even form his own sentences. It's obvious he only cares about money and will use his power to get more for the "haves, and haves more" , dividing our country even further. Bad, bad Bush.
  88. JamesF.
    Jun 30, 2004
    0
    Excuse me, uh, Kel R, (4 messages down), it's called homophobia. keisha's performance had more passion.
  89. RobertA
    Jun 30, 2004
    8
    Go Gore! aw dammit! he lost. begin to end this is the movie in a nutshell.
  90. DonW.
    Jun 30, 2004
    8
    The complaint that a lot of the information contained was already known seems to miss the point of the film, in my opinion. It seems much more concerned with putting all of the most severe indictments against Bush into one tight little package aimed at getting the most passionate response possible from the audience. It succeeds masterfully, I think. Is some of the information manipulated The complaint that a lot of the information contained was already known seems to miss the point of the film, in my opinion. It seems much more concerned with putting all of the most severe indictments against Bush into one tight little package aimed at getting the most passionate response possible from the audience. It succeeds masterfully, I think. Is some of the information manipulated beyond any resemblance of truth? I strongly doubt it. Is the film take great liberties with the arrangement of clips and the exaggeration of its points and the merits of some circumstantial evidence? Of course. That's Moore's trademark. He does this better than anybody. Expand
  91. AdrianP.
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    Fantastic. It should be a requirment for every American citizen to see this movie.
  92. JoshL
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    Michael Moore is NOT A Canadian! He was born and raised in Flynt Michigan, simple research can tell you. He's one of the most patriotic and brilliant people to have the guts to speak out in America against evil. This movie is undoubtledly one-sided, but admittedly so, just as it is undoubtably genius.
  93. JohnA.
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    Excellent! Sure it's biased but there's too much here to dismiss. See it if only for the candid footage that you won't be seeing on Fox or CNN for that matter. Hell they're not allowed to show a coffin.
  94. SteveO
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    When did Michael Moore become a Canadian? He was born in Michigan! Or maybe if you question the political climatic currently in this country you must be a foreigner. This is a profound movie no matter what your political bent. Of course the right will attack and the left will use it as a rallying call, but the point is to discuss and think about these issues. Many comments have stated When did Michael Moore become a Canadian? He was born in Michigan! Or maybe if you question the political climatic currently in this country you must be a foreigner. This is a profound movie no matter what your political bent. Of course the right will attack and the left will use it as a rallying call, but the point is to discuss and think about these issues. Many comments have stated that the administration has not had a chance to respond, which is not true considering their view is the only one usually heard and took us to war. Expand
  95. DuncanJ.
    Jul 12, 2004
    8
    Right, So, about this Michael Moore thing: First thing that I want to say is that it was very American orientated this time. It was the last time too, in Bowling for Columbine, but he also expanded his outlook to further than just the borders of the US. This time he focused on the internal set up in the U.S. vis-à-vis the American ruling class and it?s close and insidious ties, not Right, So, about this Michael Moore thing: First thing that I want to say is that it was very American orientated this time. It was the last time too, in Bowling for Columbine, but he also expanded his outlook to further than just the borders of the US. This time he focused on the internal set up in the U.S. vis-à-vis the American ruling class and it?s close and insidious ties, not just amongst it?s own members, but with outside agencies such as the Saudi ruling family. He also turned his attention to the ?little man?, the working class families, that are caught up in doing the actual fighting in Iraq. He followed the story of one woman, and the dreadful lose of her son in Iraq. She almost turned from pro army and war to anti army and war, and she was left with such pain, it was hard to watch. This film also highlighted an expansion in Michael?s understanding of the world, in terms of class struggle and hierarchical structures. He highlighted the conditions necessary to perpetuate the status quo in terms of fear. The documentary featured a psychologist who spoke very soundly on the ?state of fear? that is being produced by the colour coding of terrorist threats from green through blue on to orange and then to red. This colour coding system is backed up and enforced by continual changes in status level and unconfirmed and unfounded threats being broadcast on the daily or hourly news channels. The telling statement at this stage of the documentary was that there is no way that the ?threat?, or ?construed threat? as it should be labelled, will ever go to ?Green?. Although it is an obvious statement, it?s one that needs to be heard, as it will get folk thinking. The general feel of this documentary was one of intense knowledge being imparted. One felt like one was in a class room, with names, dates, facts, figures being thrown at one, however, although slightly laboured and a little overwhelming at times, the importance of what was being said was not diluted. In fact, the documentary cleverly used a lot of sound bites and historical footage to highlight just how irrational, opportunistic and parasitic the ruling class can be. With completely contradictory statements being heard from the mouths of high-level figures in the current US Bush administration. The impact of the facts and figures was further highlighted by some horrific footage of beheadings, burning bodies, wounded and dead civilians and disaffected and disillusioned American soldiers. There are two points that I am very glad that he rose. Firstly, he highlighted whom ?politicians? really ?work? for and secondly, hinted at the hierarchical structure that is the very nature of the whole system. First point first. There is footage of George W. Bush addressing a ruling class ?elite? dinner. To quote: ?What an impressive crowd: the haves, and the have-mores. Some people call you the elite, I call you my base..? More, much more, could have been made of this point, but as it was, it was sort of put out there, but glanced over. This is a central point to what it is to be ?under? capitalism. Working class folk, voters in general, have hitherto felt that the government and politicians were there for them, and to serve their needs, this highlights the fact that this was a completely false assumption. As already noted, this documentary was very American centred, however this point about politicians, if it was more generic, could have included a piece about the ?Privy Council? in the United Kingdom, and the fact that all cabinet members have to swear allegiance to a group of un-elected, un-accountable people. The second point, regarding the hierarchical structure of society ties in neatly with the first point of allegiance. The hierarchical nature of society and the controls and mechanisms that are necessary for it?s continuation were highlighted throughout the documentary in terms of fear and the control which that afforded the ruling classes over the oppressed masses. Latterly he highlighted the fact that maybe this was not the best way to organise production and hence society. Although, throughout the film, the proceeding two points were minor ones, the fact that Michael chose to include them in this piece is very telling, in terms of both his personal development and understanding as well as being very thought provoking to the general masses, like you and I. Another significant indicator of Michael?s thinking was the fact that the word ?Capitalism? was never once mentioned. One can take this as a very clever way of circumventing the irrational and dogmatic appeal that the word, and it?s connotations of freedom and justice, has on the American public, hence removing barriers to the film in terms of understanding and acceptance, from the populace at large. Or, if you look at it in a slightly more negative way, he still assumes that some form of capitalism is possible, with just the current ?big players? needing removed. In retrospect, it?s hard to cling to the idea that he feels that Capital is the way forward, though he?s been clever enough not to put a label on the god of the people. He has crucified the current system, in terms of its main players and supporters, but he has not labelled the system and hence can get away with that. I dare say that this cinematic piece would have been very differently received if he had labelled the system as capitalism and said that it was rotten to the core, which of course, in terms of decay, may not be a though that he shares. Another major aspect of this piece of work is that it was delivered via the cinema screens. In a sociological sense, media, especially the TV and the cinema have a huge impact on the psyche of individuals. It has been the media that has oppressed them, shaped them, made them think as they think and shown them they way forward for so many years, in all its formats, from TV through cinema, to the newspapers and books. It is fitting with both ironic justice and dialectical thought, that one form of weighted communication, cinema, will highlight the pitfalls, the terror and tyranny of the system that created it, hence showing the way forward to thinking individuals. As Karl Marx said; "What the bourgeoisie, therefore, produces, above all, is its own grave-diggers. Its fall and the victory of the proletariat are equally inevitable" He?s still accurate, all these years down the line. He has still to have his renaissance; we are still to have our chance to shine, as a race. Prison These walls that have been constructed They can not be seen, touched, smelled or affected You see, they crumble, from the inside Just like the sand, before the rolling tide. And just as surely as the tide comes and goes From here, to who knows? The walls are creaking and straining Inside their world, it?s continually raining Their sky is grey and overcast, they know they have to fight to the last, But when the last is, only we can decide Take it upon ourselves, do it with pride! In Solidarity, Dunk Expand
  96. SashaB.
    Jul 13, 2004
    9
    An excellent movie, that should not be missed no matter what your political leanings. People are being killed daily because of Bush's policies, so one cannot ignore any side of this debate. It amazes me how many misconceptions about this movie I have already heard. For instance, the comment from Fantasy, who thinks Moore must be Canadian. Sorry Fantasy, Moore is American, it is An excellent movie, that should not be missed no matter what your political leanings. People are being killed daily because of Bush's policies, so one cannot ignore any side of this debate. It amazes me how many misconceptions about this movie I have already heard. For instance, the comment from Fantasy, who thinks Moore must be Canadian. Sorry Fantasy, Moore is American, it is possible to be American and criticize the Bush administration after all. Frankly, no matter how biased you think this film is, there are important issues here that need to be discussed and not avoided. Expand
  97. Stan.R.
    Jul 16, 2004
    3
    Quick update on the children of Congress score. Sam Bond, son of Republican Senator Kit Bond, is finishing up training at Quantico's infantry officer's school and will be heading off to Iraq shortly. From what I just heard at MSNBC, Senator bond didn't "sign his son up" for the service, he did it under his own free will, his own sense of duty. So those of you looking for a Quick update on the children of Congress score. Sam Bond, son of Republican Senator Kit Bond, is finishing up training at Quantico's infantry officer's school and will be heading off to Iraq shortly. From what I just heard at MSNBC, Senator bond didn't "sign his son up" for the service, he did it under his own free will, his own sense of duty. So those of you looking for a tangible example of the kids of those in power volunteering for the war, there's one for you. Sorry Mikey... (Sucks that a patriotic act screws with your thesis, huh! Sucks that every time your country makes progress, you look like a fool. Trust me, rooting against the united states will always be a losing postion, Mike. But I'm sure France will always have their arms open to you...) Expand
  98. BrandonE.
    Jul 1, 2004
    0
    It is not Bush that is dividing the country like some people think, but movies like this supported by Democrats who can't stand that Bush is in control. Bush-Cheney 2004!!
  99. BillH.
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    Those 7 minutes of Bush sitting in the Florida classroom after he'd been told the country was under attack said it all to me!!
  100. Jared
    Jul 1, 2004
    8
    I believe the people that rate this film a zero and then give thier naive comments about "no truth" and "propaganda" should do their own homework and learn the FACTS. Democratic or Rebulican, doesn't make a difference, our "leader" failed us.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Moore stays "on message" here from first shot to last. There is no debate, no analysis of facts or search for historical context. Moore simply wants to blame one man and his family for the situation in Iraq the United States now finds itself in…So the real question is not how good a film is Fahrenheit 9/11 -- it is undoubtedly Moore's weakest -- but will a film help to get a president fired?
  2. Reviewed by: David Gates
    60
    That's the real problem with Fahrenheit 9/11: not the message, but the method… Moore’s default mode is overkill: he even notes that on the night before the attacks Bush slept on "fine French linen." Surely scratchy muslin wouldn't have stopped the evildoers.
  3. 70
    Fahrenheit 9/11 offers the thrill of a coherent explanation for everything, but parts of the movie are no better than a wild, lunging grab at a supposed master plan. [28 June 2004, p. 108]