User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 495 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LucaT.
    Jun 29, 2004
    2
    Much of this information was already known, in fact, CBC's 'the fifth estate' did a special on the ties between the Bin Ladens and the Bushs which was more informative, better produced and better written. The movie had far too many news clips and irrelevant Micheal Moore clips (what was up with the peace group???) . I would have rather watched Bowling for Columbine again!!
  2. DarwinF.
    Jul 20, 2004
    0
    Left wing liberal propaganda without any opportunity for debate. Mr. Moore is very convincing at placing blame but does not provide a fair chance to respond to his charges. For that reason this film cannot be classified as a documentary. Instead it is a paid (by you) commercial for Kerry/Edwards. Very disappointing to say the least.
  3. DonaldI.
    Sep 2, 2004
    2
    It is truly fortunate that Michael Moore still lives in America. If he released this piece of tripe in another country, he'd most likely be imprisoned before he could utter another larcenous, poisonous word. A totally irresponsible work by a man not particularly noted for his balanced sense of perspective. Not exactly a good quality in someone who proclaims himself to be a It is truly fortunate that Michael Moore still lives in America. If he released this piece of tripe in another country, he'd most likely be imprisoned before he could utter another larcenous, poisonous word. A totally irresponsible work by a man not particularly noted for his balanced sense of perspective. Not exactly a good quality in someone who proclaims himself to be a documentary filmaker. If he is such, then Leni Riefenstahl should qualify for that honor as well. An utterly reprehensible mess. I can't seem to make up my mind if he should be tried for treason or just simply ignored for filming it. This film has gotten too much recognition as is. Save your money. Expand
  4. Brendan
    Jun 24, 2004
    0
    Absolute terrible presentation of a viewpoint supported only by fiction. Moore like the coward he is fails to give the facts, and like the Hollywood today, has fallen victim to the mental disorder of liberalism and Bush-bashing
  5. JoeR.
    Jun 25, 2004
    1
    WHAT A BUNCH OF LIES! But I guess thats what most movies are, FICTION. Good thing MM lives in a country that provides him the right to make such garbage.
  6. JimS.
    Jul 1, 2004
    1
    I just saw that Hezbollah endorsed the film & wants to distribute it to all of its associates in the middle east. That's one hell of an endorsement! And driving by the Federal Building in LA yesterday, I saw posters showing Michael Moore as a god-like figure and Bush with a swastika on his head. Is this what the left wing in this country has come to??? Nice movie...
  7. Amber
    Jul 11, 2004
    0
    I have to laugh at how all you liberals are being taken in by this BS piece of propaganda. No one is denying that it it is more important who you know, than what you know. All in a free society network. Moore's film is meant to swing your vote against the current administration. Brainwashing is a wonderful instrument when used against individuals who are unable to think for I have to laugh at how all you liberals are being taken in by this BS piece of propaganda. No one is denying that it it is more important who you know, than what you know. All in a free society network. Moore's film is meant to swing your vote against the current administration. Brainwashing is a wonderful instrument when used against individuals who are unable to think for themselves. Research all the facts before jumping to the predictable conclusion this Canadian wants you to make. Be careful what you wish for... Expand
  8. Fantasy
    Jul 10, 2004
    0
    I don't care if you are a Republican or Democrat but you need to open your eyes. The Bush administration may have a lot to answer for and that is certainly true. But the way, Michael Moore, a Canadian portrays him is disrespectful, totally unfair and taken out of context. This is a film that delves heavily into innuendo with unsupported allegations. The summations are spoon fed to I don't care if you are a Republican or Democrat but you need to open your eyes. The Bush administration may have a lot to answer for and that is certainly true. But the way, Michael Moore, a Canadian portrays him is disrespectful, totally unfair and taken out of context. This is a film that delves heavily into innuendo with unsupported allegations. The summations are spoon fed to the audience as the entire film is subjective. What's so troubling is that Mr. Moore, a Canadian, is attempting to swing the vote in an election year. If not for the United States, Mr. Moore and his fellow Canadians would all be speaking German this morning lest he ever forget. If you buy into his left wing liberal ideaology, it's not his son or daughter who will be drafted. Although the film is very clever be aware that it is a total piece of propaganda to influence your vote. Collapse
  9. Melissa
    Jul 2, 2004
    0
    What a bunch of B.S. Lying liberal dogma. Mr. Moore takes tragedy and turns it into gold for himself. What a traitor to this country.
  10. KaynI
    Jul 3, 2004
    0
    Fahrenheit is a movie length political ad. Moore appears to be a bitter person filled with hatred. I would not recommend Americans to trust such a man. Bitterness and hatred impairs sound judgement. I can see his delusion from the other side of the world (Nagaland). Acquiring wealth making movies, living in comfort and security, Moore can never comprehend what it's like staring Fahrenheit is a movie length political ad. Moore appears to be a bitter person filled with hatred. I would not recommend Americans to trust such a man. Bitterness and hatred impairs sound judgement. I can see his delusion from the other side of the world (Nagaland). Acquiring wealth making movies, living in comfort and security, Moore can never comprehend what it's like staring terror face to face. In one flashing moment, with clarity...you can see the face of evil. President Bush can see that and that's what Americans soldiers are fighting against and Moore is bent on stopping him. Please take my word for it, I know what terror is. Expand
  11. LukeJ.
    Jul 6, 2004
    1
    Unfortunately, it is a complete travesty to call this film a documentary. Calling it a documentary is quite possibly the furthest thing from the truth. Michael Moore has put together a masterful film, that no one can argue. However, the mastery is rooted within the films clever editing techniques which only serve to perpetuate Michael Moore's false premise. The film at times does Unfortunately, it is a complete travesty to call this film a documentary. Calling it a documentary is quite possibly the furthest thing from the truth. Michael Moore has put together a masterful film, that no one can argue. However, the mastery is rooted within the films clever editing techniques which only serve to perpetuate Michael Moore's false premise. The film at times does come right out and lie, however, this is not what happens in the majority of the film. Rather, Michael Moore chooses to leave out crucial details allowing him to paint his own version of events. I suggest that anyone viewing this film do a little research about its truthfulness. I further suggest you read the review found in Newsweek by David Gates as it outlines many of the film's inherent flaws. Expand
  12. BobH.
    Jul 9, 2004
    0
    Michael Moore has done a masterful job of spinning his web of innuendo and deceipt against the current administration. It really doesn't matter which Party you support. Because a film like this is so masterfully designed that it will make you challenge your own beliefs? It will make you laugh, cry and eventually drive you to your boiling point. This is what it was intended to do. It Michael Moore has done a masterful job of spinning his web of innuendo and deceipt against the current administration. It really doesn't matter which Party you support. Because a film like this is so masterfully designed that it will make you challenge your own beliefs? It will make you laugh, cry and eventually drive you to your boiling point. This is what it was intended to do. It is the ultimate in propaganda films and a must see. After viewing it you will understand exactly why American's are so despised. Of course this has billed as a documentary. But strangely, the accused have no opportunity to refute the charges made against them, or to present their point of view. Only the writer and producer one Michael Moore as the Judge and Jury. He will have you believe that The "Three Stooges" and their inbred cousins are running our country. His ultra left wing liberal views are so transparent. But in making his point he reveals his own hypocrisy. For example, it's a well known fact that the Armed Services recruit from the impoverished regions of the U.S. Every country has done so from the beginning of time. It affords impoverished youth to earn money for college and the opportunity to learn a trade? It's a great offer in times of peace. Did those who enlisted of their free will actually think they were joining the Boy Scouts? Michael goes to Capital Hill to see if he can induce any of our legislators to send their own children into harm's way. Needless to say they brush him off. His fallacy in asking this question is what would happen if he asked the same thing of his Left Wing Hollywood friends? They too would look at him incredulously? What affluent American in his right mind is going to send his kid into war? Of course, the failing with the entire liberal majority is that if no one enlisted, then the draft would have to be reenacted. Let's see how many would then be willing to send their own children to their deaths? How come the Hollywood Liberals do not send money to Flint, Michigan and other needy regions to abolish poverty? But, Michael if he can swing the election for the Democrats can't wait until he sleeps on that fine linen he makes fun of in the White House. Michael will take the $50 million in blood money and sleep very well as our brave soldiers die on the battlefield. Is this a great country or what? Where else can you Monday morning quarterback against your own government without any fear of reprisal? Try that in the Middle East and see what happens? We fail to recognize that indeed America is a Capitalistic society. And thank God it is. Expand
  13. BillyB.
    Oct 14, 2004
    3
    Yet another reason why it's ridiculous to claim that this film is a "documentary" -- Moore fails to show that 73% of all soldiers in today's military support President Bush. Instead, he spotlights a deserter and the mother of a killed soldier. Great sample there, Mike.
  14. dsmobey
    Oct 15, 2004
    3
    Despite all the praise, and regardless of politics, it all falls to pieces at last with the fat lady walking around crying. It seems like she is the last 1/3 of the film. Moore seems to think she sums up everything, but she has little to say and what she does say is contradictory. She certainly doesn't sell the point. If it were a 10 point movie (and it's not) up until then, Despite all the praise, and regardless of politics, it all falls to pieces at last with the fat lady walking around crying. It seems like she is the last 1/3 of the film. Moore seems to think she sums up everything, but she has little to say and what she does say is contradictory. She certainly doesn't sell the point. If it were a 10 point movie (and it's not) up until then, you'd have to subtract at least five points for wasting my time and his film. Expand
  15. CarolC.
    Oct 18, 2004
    0
    Lee, you're here to discuss the film? Okay, you really believe that our President and his administration are in cahoots with bin Laden with regard to 911 and this is a coverup? C'mon, have some common sense. Moore twists answers to match up with questions that were NEVER posed to those who respond. And you think this a fair and balanced film? In any other country but America, Lee, you're here to discuss the film? Okay, you really believe that our President and his administration are in cahoots with bin Laden with regard to 911 and this is a coverup? C'mon, have some common sense. Moore twists answers to match up with questions that were NEVER posed to those who respond. And you think this a fair and balanced film? In any other country but America, Moore and Commie thinkers such as you from the left wing would be in jail or worse. The bottom line is that we did not start the Great Jihad. The Muslims want you dead on that you can be certain. Where do you want to fight the war? In the streets of America or across the pond in Iraq? Your choice home or away as nothing else matters. Before 911 you will have us all believe that there was no chance of bin Laden attacking America either. Take your liberal BS and go bye-bye. As for the movie if you want to reflect on its worthiness as a documentary then by all means do so. But to say it was fair is nothing more than bold faced lie. Moore is left wing liberal who prefers that the Bush administration be toppled. To use the greatest tragedy in American history as his sounding board discredits the brave men and women fighting to protect our way of life. Expand
  16. [Anonymous]
    Jun 25, 2004
    0
    How can anyone say this movie is fully accurate and truthful when the intent of this Bush-hating director is apparent. He picks and chooses the material he has to destroy W. If you are a negative person and relate to the negativity of Moore and Kerry, by all means, see it. Better to be positive and proactive in my book. This movie is "passive negatism" at its worst. My production called How can anyone say this movie is fully accurate and truthful when the intent of this Bush-hating director is apparent. He picks and chooses the material he has to destroy W. If you are a negative person and relate to the negativity of Moore and Kerry, by all means, see it. Better to be positive and proactive in my book. This movie is "passive negatism" at its worst. My production called "Bill" will be 2 hours staring at a cigar and explaining its uses - all true! Expand
  17. StanJ.
    Jun 26, 2004
    0
    Absolute garbage. Mr. moore was just chatting with the British media and said the American public was the dumbest group of people in the world... I'm sure he was refering to those on his side of the aisle who march in lockstep and buy into this trash without questioning anything... Iraq wasn't such a bad place before we got there? Tell that to the Kurds and the untold thousands Absolute garbage. Mr. moore was just chatting with the British media and said the American public was the dumbest group of people in the world... I'm sure he was refering to those on his side of the aisle who march in lockstep and buy into this trash without questioning anything... Iraq wasn't such a bad place before we got there? Tell that to the Kurds and the untold thousands who were systematically slaughtered, dismembered and raped by the Hussein family... Bush lied about the WMD's and Iraq's links to al-Qaida? Umm- no... There is more and more evidence coming out daily of each of these... Unfortunately you just won't hear about it from Dan Rather... Hmm, and let's see, Vladimir Putin last weekend announced to the world that his own Russian intelligence agents gave the US information before the war that the Iraqi's were planning attacks against the US at home and abroad- that's HUGE news (not to mention a huge blow to Mr. moore and his fellow spineless, limp-wristed, blowhard left-wing wacko friends) why is it not being reported? Too bad the media of this country is far too close to the side of Mr. moore... Expand
  18. MarcusQ.
    Jun 26, 2004
    0
    AWFUL MOVIE, Was not even close to the real truth, Michael Moore is a liar and a traitor to his country!
  19. PatC.
    Jun 27, 2004
    1
    Prequel to a future award-winning documentary about a filmmaker's rabid personality disorder. Holds American leadership to a hypothetical standard that humans, especially the likes of Mr. Moore, cannot and have never satisfied. Of course Cannes liked it - they're the ones without petroleum resources who get an uninterrupted supply without expending any guilt or blood. Excuse me, Prequel to a future award-winning documentary about a filmmaker's rabid personality disorder. Holds American leadership to a hypothetical standard that humans, especially the likes of Mr. Moore, cannot and have never satisfied. Of course Cannes liked it - they're the ones without petroleum resources who get an uninterrupted supply without expending any guilt or blood. Excuse me, but our government officials and those of us who unapologetically use petroleum products did not fly those airliners into those buildings. 1 point for demonstrating that our system of government still protects a cheap-shot imbecile's right to speak out. Maybe another point later on if our country proves wise enough to sort out the hypocrisy inflicted by the irresponsible polarizers on both sides. Expand
  20. D.A.
    Jun 28, 2004
    0
    Michael Moore twisted and created "information" to back up his bogus points. He blatantly states false information and assumes more than he is due.
  21. JamesF.
    Jun 30, 2004
    0
    Excuse me, uh, Kel R, (4 messages down), it's called homophobia. keisha's performance had more passion.
  22. Stan.R.
    Jul 16, 2004
    3
    Quick update on the children of Congress score. Sam Bond, son of Republican Senator Kit Bond, is finishing up training at Quantico's infantry officer's school and will be heading off to Iraq shortly. From what I just heard at MSNBC, Senator bond didn't "sign his son up" for the service, he did it under his own free will, his own sense of duty. So those of you looking for a Quick update on the children of Congress score. Sam Bond, son of Republican Senator Kit Bond, is finishing up training at Quantico's infantry officer's school and will be heading off to Iraq shortly. From what I just heard at MSNBC, Senator bond didn't "sign his son up" for the service, he did it under his own free will, his own sense of duty. So those of you looking for a tangible example of the kids of those in power volunteering for the war, there's one for you. Sorry Mikey... (Sucks that a patriotic act screws with your thesis, huh! Sucks that every time your country makes progress, you look like a fool. Trust me, rooting against the united states will always be a losing postion, Mike. But I'm sure France will always have their arms open to you...) Expand
  23. BrandonE.
    Jul 1, 2004
    0
    It is not Bush that is dividing the country like some people think, but movies like this supported by Democrats who can't stand that Bush is in control. Bush-Cheney 2004!!
  24. JohnK.
    Jul 3, 2004
    0
    Give me a break. Documentary? Hardly. Your film needs to at least be based on real facts to qualify for a documetary. This film is dangerous propoganda at best and high treason at worst... Mr. Moore's pandering to our enemies in a time of war is beyond despicable. Pity we couldn't have traded Mr. Moore for Paul Johnson or Nick Berg. Don't give this clown a penny of your Give me a break. Documentary? Hardly. Your film needs to at least be based on real facts to qualify for a documetary. This film is dangerous propoganda at best and high treason at worst... Mr. Moore's pandering to our enemies in a time of war is beyond despicable. Pity we couldn't have traded Mr. Moore for Paul Johnson or Nick Berg. Don't give this clown a penny of your hard earned cash. Expand
  25. ColbyC.
    Jul 3, 2004
    1
    Mr. Moore attempts to make 2+2=5 throughout this movie. Bush's family has done business with the Bin Ladins (who, except for their RENOUNCED family member Osama, are well respected businessmen throughout the world), therefore Mr. Bush allowed them to "OWN AMERICA" (which Mr. Moore says throughout the movie.) Walking away from Fahrenheit 9/11 was that doing business with Saudis means Mr. Moore attempts to make 2+2=5 throughout this movie. Bush's family has done business with the Bin Ladins (who, except for their RENOUNCED family member Osama, are well respected businessmen throughout the world), therefore Mr. Bush allowed them to "OWN AMERICA" (which Mr. Moore says throughout the movie.) Walking away from Fahrenheit 9/11 was that doing business with Saudis means you hate America, support terrorism, and are a bad person. Expand
  26. DaleG.
    Jul 6, 2004
    2
    Nobody is challenging Moore's right to speak his mind, but they have the duty to point out where he is being misleading. In response to the previous reviewer, if you truly support Michael Moore's message, you CANNOT vote for Kerry/Edwards, two Senators who voted to authorize the Iraq War. You MUST, if you have any conscience at all, Vote for RALPH NADER. My problem with the film Nobody is challenging Moore's right to speak his mind, but they have the duty to point out where he is being misleading. In response to the previous reviewer, if you truly support Michael Moore's message, you CANNOT vote for Kerry/Edwards, two Senators who voted to authorize the Iraq War. You MUST, if you have any conscience at all, Vote for RALPH NADER. My problem with the film is this: there were so many problems with the intelligence going into the war, and a true investiation into why Kerry, Hillary Clinton, and other world leaders relied on this faulty intelligence is at the core of what went wrong with the war. If Bush lied, so did Kerry and so did Hillary. The most that all of them can be guilty of is relying on sub-par intelligence, and that is certainly not lying. But again, if you want to vote for an anti-war candidate, your ONLY choice is RALPH NADER (because Howard Dean, the only Democrat against the war, is now out of the race). Expand
  27. JasonM.
    Aug 1, 2004
    0
    A 3rd grade attack with little more than urban legend type support for its claims. Sad that this is so popular, it illustrates that lack of critical thinking in American and elsewhere. Figures, the democrats are "so good" with education, can't even teach people to be skeptical when watching a movie. Jokeametary.
  28. AndréR.
    Aug 25, 2004
    0
    Not at all a documentary just a tendentious fiction movie with merely political objectives.
  29. RachelO.
    Aug 2, 2004
    0
    Nadine, ignorant? Did you read that Mr. bin Laden, not the notorious black sheep Osama saw the film and reported all of the inaccuracies. Only one member of the extensive family went to the wedding. The family was not flown out of the US the next day after 9/11. To discredit an entire family because Michael Moore wants all bin Laden's to be terrorist to place blame on Bush is Nadine, ignorant? Did you read that Mr. bin Laden, not the notorious black sheep Osama saw the film and reported all of the inaccuracies. Only one member of the extensive family went to the wedding. The family was not flown out of the US the next day after 9/11. To discredit an entire family because Michael Moore wants all bin Laden's to be terrorist to place blame on Bush is ludicrous. This is nothing more than hurtful propaganda with a vengeful purpose. The film is a joke and is not in anyway a documentary. Let's see how many affluent American's would send their sons and daughters into harms way? The answer is none. Expand
  30. JasonF.
    Aug 7, 2004
    0
    Ralph Nader for President now that's the ticket. What are his qualifications? Consumer affairs? You would have to be a complete moron to waste your time and a vote on a know nothing who would not be able to acheive a thing in the Congress controlled by the Asses and Elephants. As for the movie it was a jokementary. Only a complete moron could actually believe the distorted twisted Ralph Nader for President now that's the ticket. What are his qualifications? Consumer affairs? You would have to be a complete moron to waste your time and a vote on a know nothing who would not be able to acheive a thing in the Congress controlled by the Asses and Elephants. As for the movie it was a jokementary. Only a complete moron could actually believe the distorted twisted facts as presented by one Michael Moore. This might play on Saturday night as a spoof but anyone who knows the facts must realize that this was pure BS liberal propaganda. It was laughable. Expand
  31. Harrison
    Sep 14, 2004
    0
    Dave have you ever learned about propaganda or being quoted out of context? Do you even know what the question was? If you believe this crap I have a bridge I want to sell you? Pure exploitation to inflame the left wing liberals. Be careful what you wish for because it could come true.
  32. JohnD.
    Sep 8, 2004
    0
    It was absoletely horrible. A worthless biast movie that only aims to spear a great leader.
  33. BruceW.
    Feb 10, 2005
    3
    It was good but it had nothing to do with the book Faernheit 451 so I was dissapointed.
  34. DaveH.
    Jul 20, 2005
    2
    This movie confuses me. By now I don't know what's true or not anymore--both sides are convincing. Maybe that shows my stupidity, but there are tons of stupid people on this planet. Oh, by the way, it was boring.
  35. CameronC.
    Oct 11, 2004
    1
    This movie is trash. It is filled with numerous lies. Boycottliberalhollywood.com lists 59 lies. it has been discredited by the 9-11 commission. Its sad the a lying lardbutt baffoon can make millions off of b.s. Not to many idiot swing voters are gonna be like "OH SO THATS WHAT HAPPENNED!! Better vote for Kerry!!
  36. Fusichinucca
    Oct 12, 2004
    0
    The liberals are sick if this is what they intend to hang their hats on? Moore is so biased in his hatred of the Bush family that he portrays his entire administration as the Sinister Bumbling Beverly Hillbillies who are tied directly to 911. If this was any other country Moore would be in prison or worse. For anyone to remotely believe any of this obvious propaganda suggests that you may The liberals are sick if this is what they intend to hang their hats on? Moore is so biased in his hatred of the Bush family that he portrays his entire administration as the Sinister Bumbling Beverly Hillbillies who are tied directly to 911. If this was any other country Moore would be in prison or worse. For anyone to remotely believe any of this obvious propaganda suggests that you may have a pea for a brain? There are so many blatant lies with questions answered out of context that it is frightening for this to be listed as a documentary? Jokementary may be more suitable. Expand
  37. TyroneA.
    Oct 14, 2004
    0
    Pure liberal BS propaganda without any substance or merit. An absolute joke. Let's see how many of you liberals are willing to send your children out to die. Since time began it is always the underprivilidged who are sacrificed for the haves. C'mon Michael recognize the truth. Better yet, you and your left wing Commie Hollywood pals send your children over seas to fight. Oh, you Pure liberal BS propaganda without any substance or merit. An absolute joke. Let's see how many of you liberals are willing to send your children out to die. Since time began it is always the underprivilidged who are sacrificed for the haves. C'mon Michael recognize the truth. Better yet, you and your left wing Commie Hollywood pals send your children over seas to fight. Oh, you don't want to fight at all? Tell that to the Muslims who are hell bent on their Great Jihad to kill all of us including you the fat pig who only can shoot his mouth off. Expand
  38. GateA.
    Nov 7, 2004
    0
    Well, the eleciton is over and the Republicans are thanking Michael Moore (the Democratic FACE) as he singlehandedly shifted the vote. If you haven't noticed my liberal friends, thirty-five states voted for BUSH. Forget about the Electoral College as that has long been outdated and should be outsourced along with Kerry, his wife Teresa to the countries where they offer jobs. After Well, the eleciton is over and the Republicans are thanking Michael Moore (the Democratic FACE) as he singlehandedly shifted the vote. If you haven't noticed my liberal friends, thirty-five states voted for BUSH. Forget about the Electoral College as that has long been outdated and should be outsourced along with Kerry, his wife Teresa to the countries where they offer jobs. After all, Teresa is only worth $750,000,000 but she does pay 15% in tax. What a country as he allegedly represented you the common middle class man? If you believe that I have a bridge I would like to sell you. The fact is that we did not start this war - the enemy did! They are hell bent on destroying all of us and our culture. Can't you liberals get it through your thick skulls. 70% of America got it right in this past election. Of course in the Inner Cities where the average income is WELFARE they voted for Kerry along with you. When will we ever learn? As for Michael Moore he thanks you for your support as this windbag is now sleeping on his fine satin sheets, reading books to kids at school and laughing at all of you all the way to his bank. Thank God America has a brain. God Bless our brave servicemen protecting our way of life overseas. They need our support not your scorn. Expand
  39. MichaelM.
    Oct 21, 2004
    1
    When I think of Michael Moore, I think of a fat jerk off who fudges his facts in his movies to get people more enthralled by them. I hated Farenheit 9/11. The reason - if you research almost everything stated in the film by him, it's either false or embellished. Bottom line - I hate celebrities who think since people like their movies, that people will want to hear their political When I think of Michael Moore, I think of a fat jerk off who fudges his facts in his movies to get people more enthralled by them. I hated Farenheit 9/11. The reason - if you research almost everything stated in the film by him, it's either false or embellished. Bottom line - I hate celebrities who think since people like their movies, that people will want to hear their political ideas. I'd rather put my faith in Secretary of State Colin Powell, then Secretary of State Michael Moore. There's a fine line between calling in to question the decisions made by the president, and being unpatriotic and obnoxious. I pray to god it won't be nominated or heavens forbid win Best Picture. If it does, it will just show how low we've sunk as a people. It's not really a movie, just a friggin' protest by an arrogant fat liberal who has a problem with authority. Expand
  40. JohnV.
    Dec 16, 2004
    0
    He's so dishonest. Anyone who won't admit that is just as dishonest and wrong as Moore is. I'd be ashamed if I were like you.
  41. Harold(USA)L.
    Oct 23, 2004
    0
    Sean from Canada take your liberal BS views and take a hike. You love the US for the protection we offer stand by as our brave American soldiers give their lives to protect you! You have the unmitigated gall to complain? If it were up to us American's we would tell the Muslims/Islims take your best shot at the Canadians as we will turn our heads the other way. What would you do then? Sean from Canada take your liberal BS views and take a hike. You love the US for the protection we offer stand by as our brave American soldiers give their lives to protect you! You have the unmitigated gall to complain? If it were up to us American's we would tell the Muslims/Islims take your best shot at the Canadians as we will turn our heads the other way. What would you do then? Cry for Michael "The Pillsbury Doughboy" for help? The fact remains that we did not start this, the Muslims/Islims/Arab faction did. Have you heard of the Great Jihad? This all goes back to the Roman Empire when not to pay their taxes they started, ahem, this religious movement. They have sworn not to rest until all of wester civilization is dead, gone and buried. Now take your crapola and peddle it north of the border where it belongs. I would rather fight the enemy on his turf rather than having suicide bombers come here. Before 911 you would have us believe that bin Laden and his camp were not a threat to us either? I know it was American propaganda. I only wish Bush and his administration would be smart enough to close the borders of the United States to you and your like so that we can see you squirm when they come for you in the night. Absolutely unbelievable that a Canadian liberal can comment on the very country that protects your Ass. By the way little snowbird, have you left for Florida to avoid the cold weather. Only in America/Canada can we have this type of garbage. Support our troops and pray for their safety in that they all come home safely. Expand
  42. YoonC.
    Oct 25, 2004
    0
    Moore's bag of farts, puss, and vomit has made him rich and has unwittingly outed every moronic anti-american dolt from the closet. when mccarthy used such demagoguery, it was called hysteria. when moore pulls a similar stunt, it's called truth telling. moore is stalinism + too many big macs + southpark. beerbellitariat.
  43. LarryT
    Oct 28, 2004
    0
    Simple garbage, lies and utter fabrication. Moore got richer and a large part of the got seriously dumber.
  44. AngryRepublican
    Oct 29, 2004
    0
    This movie is so dumb by the time I left I thought, "Well, Michael Moore has just made America stupider." You wimpy liberals can go have a botox operation with John Kerry, you idiotic losers.
  45. WendyC.
    Oct 7, 2004
    0
    Bush 40 - Kerry 10 is the landslide score of the states voting on election day. As for Michael Moore he is nothing more than a buffoon who promotes propaganda. This movie was a total joke as is Moore.
  46. EdwardL.
    Oct 9, 2004
    0
    Total garbage not even worthy of responding to. Moore looks like and is a complete jackass. With this propaganda he has lost all credibility.
  47. DaveY.
    Jun 22, 2004
    0
    Moore's penchant for loud and aggravating interviews detracts highly from the film, but the filmmakers lack of direction and complete infusion of ego into his work are the real problems. The lack of solid info is also evident.
  48. Elliott
    Jun 22, 2004
    3
    That's the film's greatest problem: it is a polemic, NOT a documentary. It is really such a shame that people will see this uneven, hollow, and occasionally entertaining and shocking film as a reality.
  49. RightFight
    Jun 22, 2004
    0
    This film is dirty, destructful, untrue, left-wing propaganda. Moore knows nothing of loving his country and should be taken to court for this (and possibly executed). It's just this type of film that is destroying our society, a society with good, traditional, catholic values built on male dominance and female subserviance, male and female marriages (no gays for me, thank you!). If This film is dirty, destructful, untrue, left-wing propaganda. Moore knows nothing of loving his country and should be taken to court for this (and possibly executed). It's just this type of film that is destroying our society, a society with good, traditional, catholic values built on male dominance and female subserviance, male and female marriages (no gays for me, thank you!). If you see this, you are just as bad as the rest of them. lets bring an end to the left wing! :) Expand
  50. Jonathan
    Jun 23, 2004
    3
    Actually, I DID see it already at a special screening and it is, as I think Variety has indicated, a "cinematic campaign brochure." Regardless of your political affiliation, the film is a testament to Moore's abominable arrogance and self-righteousness. I'm actually surprised people are backing it so much.
  51. FredW.
    Jun 23, 2004
    0
    If I could give this movie a negative number, I would. I walked out of this movie so I don't know how it ends, but the first 90 minutes were so shamelessly liberal I thought I was going to puke. Why does Michael Moore only pick tradgedies to make movies about, spinning them into someone else's fault? Wouldn't surprise me if his producers were the DNC.
  52. JoeH.
    Jun 23, 2004
    2
    I was told that if we put politics aside, the movie would be "entertaining." It was anything but, just insulting. I give a 2, but only for Moore's ability to turn the camera in the right direction at the right time.
  53. LarryM.
    Jun 23, 2004
    0
    I don't know if we should give Michael Moore a medal, but a ticket to another country would be nice. As a conservative Republican I went to this movie so I could criticize it, but having seen it, I don't have to.
  54. BrianM.
    Jun 23, 2004
    0
    The movie clearly contrives 911 events in a hopeless attempt to rationalize the director?s extremist political views - it is pure propaganda. It is to documentaries what Hitler?s venereal disease was to German Nationalism.
  55. Kevin
    Jun 24, 2004
    0
    The wort type of anti-American propaganda. It is entertaining while at the same time completely unfounded. I feel sorry for the simple minds that are going to mistake this for legitimate journalism. In the words of Michael Moore, what he does is NOT journalism, it's "comedy."
  56. S.Martin
    Jun 24, 2004
    1
    Michael Moore has achieved his objective, to make people flinch, and in some ways to make them laugh. He won't change anyone's mind, of course, as the liberals still demonize the Bush presidency, and the conservatives wonder how the liberals can be that naive. Had Mr. Moore used his considerable energy to try any form of logic to convince his audience he could be dangerous. As Michael Moore has achieved his objective, to make people flinch, and in some ways to make them laugh. He won't change anyone's mind, of course, as the liberals still demonize the Bush presidency, and the conservatives wonder how the liberals can be that naive. Had Mr. Moore used his considerable energy to try any form of logic to convince his audience he could be dangerous. As it is he is simply no longer relevant. Expand
  57. G.Pena
    Jun 25, 2004
    0
    This movie sucks. It has a lot of inaccuracies and outright lies, and is aimed solely at getting a new president elected. I don't call that documentary filmmaking. I think this film is an insult to documentarians everywhere.
  58. CameronS.
    Jun 25, 2004
    0
    Terrible movie, Way off from the truth, You can tell that it was edited A LOT! I got a headache from watching this movie. Its awful!
  59. AllenL.
    Jun 25, 2004
    2
    What I find unbelievable is the willingness of those rating this film to give it a high score without even checking the facts! (As Moore's ability to twist the facts is not up for debate: see Bowling for Columbine) If its a documentary, as its promoted, then its clearly a 0-2 in terms of credabilty. Repeat after me, opinions are not facts. If you rate it higher, please be honest and What I find unbelievable is the willingness of those rating this film to give it a high score without even checking the facts! (As Moore's ability to twist the facts is not up for debate: see Bowling for Columbine) If its a documentary, as its promoted, then its clearly a 0-2 in terms of credabilty. Repeat after me, opinions are not facts. If you rate it higher, please be honest and do so on the sole basis of filming in the documentary style. Otherwise your rating is worthless and you're clearly looking through partisan glasses. One last thought, no one else can sign you up for the military, you have to do that yourself (contrary to what the film tries to show). Expand
  60. DianeR.
    Jun 26, 2004
    0
    This is not entertainment. if i was Bush i would sue Moore for Slander. I am a democrat and i am ashamed of my party and will vote for Bush in nov. after seeing this trash
  61. SunnyS.
    Jun 26, 2004
    0
    This movie is fraudulant. Michael Moore is nothing more than a spinster, he's just an angry liberal who appeals to the gullible and moronic. Though there arn't any sites out yet to analyse this tripe please check these whether you agree with me or not on wether he is a liar to evaluate both sides of the argument: http://www.moorewatch.com/ http://www.bowlingfortruth.com/
  62. RyanS.
    Jun 26, 2004
    2
    I was enjoying the movie for the most part, until Moore made a bald-faced lie that is uncontrovertable. He states about 2/3 of the way through the film that Saddam Hussein had never killed a single American before the Gulf Wars. I hope he's ready to send an apology to my best friend and his mother who lost their father/husband who was working in Kuwait as a consultant and was killed I was enjoying the movie for the most part, until Moore made a bald-faced lie that is uncontrovertable. He states about 2/3 of the way through the film that Saddam Hussein had never killed a single American before the Gulf Wars. I hope he's ready to send an apology to my best friend and his mother who lost their father/husband who was working in Kuwait as a consultant and was killed by Iraqui soldiers who invaded Kuwait. Sovereign Kuwait!! That was possibly the most offensive, insensitve thing I've ever heard on film. I'm telling my friend not to see the movie, but he insists on watching it. It sickens me, thinking back to Moore's self-righteous tone of voice as he tells this reckless, ignorant lie. Makes me want to puke. Playing it fast & loose with the facts, juxtaposing mutilated Iraqi children with American soldiers listening to death metal music -- all is in poor taste, but excusable. Nobody takes the guy all that seriously anyway. But insisting that Saddam never killed any Americans is a slap in the face of my best friend and his entire family. Shame on you, Michael Moore. Expand
  63. BlairF.
    Jun 26, 2004
    0
    This is pathetic.... all he wanted to do is bash the president, not get his point about 9/11 across in the movie.
  64. GoN.
    Jun 29, 2004
    0
    Moore claims that NO members of Congress have kids in Iraq. That's a flat lie. Four members of Congress have kids in Iraq. Moore claims that most of the soldiers dying in Iraq are minorities, specifically poor black soliders. That's another lie. 70% of all those American servicement dying in Iraq are white. Moore states that the Carlye Group received 1.4 Billion from the Saudis Moore claims that NO members of Congress have kids in Iraq. That's a flat lie. Four members of Congress have kids in Iraq. Moore claims that most of the soldiers dying in Iraq are minorities, specifically poor black soliders. That's another lie. 70% of all those American servicement dying in Iraq are white. Moore states that the Carlye Group received 1.4 Billion from the Saudis after the elder Bush joined their group. WRONG. That money went to Carlye 2 years BEFORE Bush 41 joined Carlyle, and he joined them as a NON-EQUITY partner, meaning he did not share in that money in the least. Documentary? Hardly. Mass-media libelous propaganda? You decide. Expand
  65. BillB.
    Jun 30, 2004
    0
    If you like Soviet-style propaganda, this movie is for you.
  66. TyroneB.
    Jun 30, 2004
    0
    Waste of money.. so many facts twisted into wrong perception. Just...awful.
  67. Chris
    Jun 30, 2004
    0
    Susan B. The people who are dividing this country are the pessimistic Democrats who can't stand that Bush is in control.
  68. EmilyM.
    Jul 1, 2004
    0
    People who rate this movie a 10 are brainwashed left wingers who blindly take what Moore has presented as fact and who in all probability were already Bush-haters. To call this movie a "documentatry" is a joke. Take you blinders off. This movie was 2 hrs of my life that I'll never get back. What a waste.
  69. TonyM.
    Jul 10, 2004
    3
    I believe that a really good documentary detailing the failures of the Bush administration could be made. This movie ain't it. There are several whopper lies that Moore includes, plus dozens of half-truths and intentional omissions that fatally undercut his message and his mission. The factual problems with the movie have been discussed at length in magazines and on the Internet. If I believe that a really good documentary detailing the failures of the Bush administration could be made. This movie ain't it. There are several whopper lies that Moore includes, plus dozens of half-truths and intentional omissions that fatally undercut his message and his mission. The factual problems with the movie have been discussed at length in magazines and on the Internet. If there is a strong case to be made against Pres. Bush, why stoop to lies and omissions? Also, why the smirky, adolescent humor (the Bonanza and Dragnet segments, the song "Cocaine", etc)? I guess I'm insulted that Moore thinks I'm dumb and gullible enough to swallow his lies and half-truths and be entertained by the sniggering grade school comedy. But then, he does have my seven dollars in his pocket. Expand
  70. Red,White&Blue
    Jul 14, 2004
    0
    Davey boy, give it a rest and go back to your homeland and play hockey. The United States IS the greatest country in the world. And yes, we are all very proud, as you should be about Canada. We do not need you telling us what Michael Moore is about. He is an extreme left wing liberal who is entitled to his opinion as are all Americans. Personally, I think Bush is an idiot. Having said Davey boy, give it a rest and go back to your homeland and play hockey. The United States IS the greatest country in the world. And yes, we are all very proud, as you should be about Canada. We do not need you telling us what Michael Moore is about. He is an extreme left wing liberal who is entitled to his opinion as are all Americans. Personally, I think Bush is an idiot. Having said that he is still the leader of the most powerful country in the world. His decisions do not have to be popular, but they do have to be in the best interest of America. You know nothing about politics nor are you privy to the inner circle as to why decisions are made. As for Moore his portrayal of the current administration is abominable. He would have us belive that they are all idiots. If so, all I can advise you quivering cowards is to bring it on. While he is President of this country he deserves the respect of all Americans. It doesn't matter what your party preference is. If he has done a bad job then us voters will remove him from office. Congress has checks and balances to make certain that nothing is done unless it is in a democratic manner. They approved his actions. This is no time to take pot shots at our leaders while our men and women are oversea's defending our way of life. Come November the proof will be in the pudding so to speak. We don't need an ingrate know-nothing like Moore to influence our decision. Vote with your heart but be informed. This film is nothing more than propaganda generated by a PT Barnum wanabe. Expand
  71. LeifG.
    Jul 15, 2004
    0
    Liberal propaganda. A pure tragedy that this tightly spun crap is passed off as a documentary.
  72. Lassiter
    Jul 16, 2004
    0
    Liberal propaganda at its extreme worst. How can anyone even be dumb enough to believe one tenth of the BS Moore spins in his web of untruth. Questions asked, answers supplied taken out of context to present Bush and his cronies in the worst possible light. Disgraceful.
  73. JillH.
    Jul 22, 2004
    2
    Michael Moore has stated that he just wants to get people to vote, and that he doesn't care who the people vote for as long as they just do it. I think that's the biggest lie I've ever heard. This movie is an overly biased movie, ripping into President Bush without a care to express the why and the how of the whole situation. People say it's "raw and unfiltered" but Michael Moore has stated that he just wants to get people to vote, and that he doesn't care who the people vote for as long as they just do it. I think that's the biggest lie I've ever heard. This movie is an overly biased movie, ripping into President Bush without a care to express the why and the how of the whole situation. People say it's "raw and unfiltered" but I've never seen such a filtered movie with such contempt for one man in all my life. Horrible movie. Expand
  74. DavidH.
    Jul 23, 2004
    0
    I was appalled at watching this very biased liberal view of the current administration. We have a government that is run by elected officials both Democrat and Republican. We have checks and balances. War is never popular with its citizens. What administration in its right mind would go to war with an election year coming up? Well, President Bush and our entire government including Kerry I was appalled at watching this very biased liberal view of the current administration. We have a government that is run by elected officials both Democrat and Republican. We have checks and balances. War is never popular with its citizens. What administration in its right mind would go to war with an election year coming up? Well, President Bush and our entire government including Kerry and Edwards supported him. Are you Liberals going to tell me that they were forced to? If they were, there is no point backing them either as they will throw their hands up and give away the key to our great country. The fact was that the evidence, as known, was presented to the Congress, and they all authorized this war. Were they all stupid? There are things that we simply do not know which would compromise national security. None of us are sitting where the current administration is so let's be grateful that someone stepped up to the plate. If you do not like what they have done during the past four years by all means vote them out of office. But don't vote them out because one Michael Moore has a vendetta with President Bush and his family. This film is a one sided liberal piece of propaganda slanted to make the current administration appear as if were Abbot & Costello meet the evil Empire. Hopefully, we are all smarter than that. Expand
  75. ShawnP.
    Jul 4, 2004
    0
    Ugh. Besides being completetely predictable with his tired left wing arguments, this movie is just plain boring. Why not look at the Clinton administration as well? Certainly there is some (actually much MORE) culpability there in that administration which virtually ignored al-Qaida and all other terrorist groups/dictatorial regimes (save Bosnia, when the whole Monica thing blew up). Have Ugh. Besides being completetely predictable with his tired left wing arguments, this movie is just plain boring. Why not look at the Clinton administration as well? Certainly there is some (actually much MORE) culpability there in that administration which virtually ignored al-Qaida and all other terrorist groups/dictatorial regimes (save Bosnia, when the whole Monica thing blew up). Have mistakes been made with this war? Absolutely. Do I think this administration knowingly lied about anything? No way. In a speech in the Senate on Oct 10, 2002 Hillary Clinton said this: "In the four years since the inspectors left, intelligence reports show that Saddam Hussein has worked to rebuild his chemical and biological weapons stock, his missile delivery capability, and his nuclear program. He has also given aid, comfort, and sanctuary to terrorists, including Al Qaida members." Notice she said "intelligence reports", NOT "Bush". Clearly the intelligence we had was not up to par. No doubt this was not helped by her husband slashing our intelligence budget for 8 years. I would still caution one thing though to you dems- old W. is much smarter than you give him credit for- all your crying about the WMD's, etc ,etc may come back to bite you yet- I don't think we've heard the end of this story- The Polish troops just found another 15 or so chemical shells and we've been finding them here and there- we may still find the motherload- it has to be somewhere, after all, Hillary said so... Expand
  76. Darren
    Aug 15, 2004
    0
    What is disturbing? Michael Moore twisting the truth to serve his own purpose? The wealthy bin Laden family disowned Osama long ago but why should a documented fact get in the way of good propaganda.
  77. JoshuaF.
    Sep 5, 2004
    0
    This movie is an outright propaganda piece. Any of Moore's valid points (and there might be a couple in there) are cancelled out by his complete disregard for the truth and facts. His painful twisting of the facts is pervasive through all of his movies, but has reached an climax in F9/11.
  78. BenA.
    Jan 24, 2006
    1
    Moore's dishonesty and tasteless tactics invalidate any point he may make -- whether I might agree with him, or not. If you haven't yet, please see all the misleading and dishonest tactics he uses. When I first saw this movie, I thought it was great, but after learning about all of the deceit, I just can't trust this man anymore.
  79. GregoryS.
    Nov 10, 2004
    0
    How can this possibly be passed off as a documentary? It's propaganda, plain and simple, and probably not very much unlike that which misleads Middle Easterners into calling this country Satan. If you believe everything that this film has to say, you'd probably be trying to kill an American soldier in Iraq right now if you had been brought up in that country, because you're How can this possibly be passed off as a documentary? It's propaganda, plain and simple, and probably not very much unlike that which misleads Middle Easterners into calling this country Satan. If you believe everything that this film has to say, you'd probably be trying to kill an American soldier in Iraq right now if you had been brought up in that country, because you're obviously very gullible. Expand
  80. Malcolm
    Oct 25, 2004
    0
    I only wish that all the liberals could be herded together and sent to a place, perhaps Iraq, where their collective voices could be heard. There they would have an opportunity to show brotherhood, equality and tolerance to their fellow IRAQIAN and LIBERAL thinking neighbors. The conservative right wing of Americans could then sit back, kick up our heels and lets these Liberal freedom I only wish that all the liberals could be herded together and sent to a place, perhaps Iraq, where their collective voices could be heard. There they would have an opportunity to show brotherhood, equality and tolerance to their fellow IRAQIAN and LIBERAL thinking neighbors. The conservative right wing of Americans could then sit back, kick up our heels and lets these Liberal freedom peace pacifiers teach the IRAQIANS and the Muslim/Islam/Arab faith about fairness and equality for all. Of course we to the right would not have to lift a finger as one by one they would be beheaded in about two weeks times. After all, they would not want us to do anything because we only fight unjust wars. Just for once, load up the boat and send them all over there to make world a better place to live? Let's make Michael Moore the leader of this movement. How come we don't see the BIG MAN walking around there? He just stays home here in America insulting his government while counting his money on his finally trimed lawn while lying in silk sheets in his hammock between his two Evergreen trees. He loves taking money from fools like you Liberals. Expand
  81. KenH.
    Jun 23, 2004
    0
    Divisive and destructive is what I'd call it. We're at war, and Mr. Moore is busily fabricating incendiary lies and packaging them as entertainment?
  82. MelissaM.
    Jun 23, 2004
    0
    Pure liberal dogma. I consider myself middle-america, but Mr. Moore started this move with left-wing justification, and wrote to the margin. Not as many out and out lies as in B4C, but still, this is just a liberal nut trying to make a buck, and using any topic (without shame), to do it.
  83. KyleH.
    Jun 24, 2004
    0
    How can you call this movie a documentary? You can't.
  84. PatrickM.
    Jun 25, 2004
    0
    Pure Crap. Half truths and lies. Moore sees only one side and makes the war seem like pure aggresion....its national defense. But then again I must be on of the "fooled", except for the attention, I dont know why he would put together this "love letter to the enemy" He is either the biggest media whore alive or the shallowest individual ever.
  85. EA
    Jun 25, 2004
    0
    Conspiracy mongering at it's worst. The moveon.org / Howard Zinn crowd goes to the movies.
  86. GaryB.
    Jun 25, 2004
    1
    Junk, next Moore will tell me that Bush is responsible for Jimmy Hoffa's disappearance, The Bermuda Triangle, and the Lindberg kidnapping. Moore must not be able to trust anyone since apparently everything is a conspiracy.
  87. FrankW.
    Jun 25, 2004
    1
    This was complete crap. I wouldn't watch it if I were you...
  88. ShamiulK.
    Jun 26, 2004
    0
    Moore's science fiction blatantly takes a side without any providing much substantive argument, it blinds the viewer to take his side or no side. After watching this sci-fi doc, I felt as an intimidated and threatened Muslim-American. In the case of Moore and his self-rightousness, I am glad to say I'd rather have an uneducated foe.
  89. ChrisF.
    Jun 27, 2004
    1
    Without a doubt, a work of fiction. The facts are twisted, or just plain wrong.
  90. BillO.
    Jun 28, 2004
    1
    The evolution of Michael Moore's new film is fascinating to watch. After winning an award at the Cannes Film Festival, Mr. Moore returned triumphantly to Hollywood and made this statement to reporters on June 9th: "We want the word out. Any attempts to libel me will be met by force. The most important thing we have is the truth on our side. If they persist in telling lies, then The evolution of Michael Moore's new film is fascinating to watch. After winning an award at the Cannes Film Festival, Mr. Moore returned triumphantly to Hollywood and made this statement to reporters on June 9th: "We want the word out. Any attempts to libel me will be met by force. The most important thing we have is the truth on our side. If they persist in telling lies, then I'll take them to court." "Them" were critics who were questioning the accuracy of Moore's charges against the Bush administration. "Truth" is rock solid information which, apparently, Michael Moore was sure he possessed. But then a funny thing happened on the way to the Metroplex. The Nine Eleven Commission findings clashed with Moore's thesis that the Bushies had done something dastardly immediately after the attack by letting a bunch of Saudis, including members of the Bin Laden family, fly out of the USA while everybody else was grounded. Apparently, that is not true, at least according to the FBI and the Commissioners, none of whom were jurors at the Cannes Film Festival. So by June 20, Michael Moore had "evolved" a bit as many in Hollywood tend to do. He said this on an ABC News program: "(The movie) is an op-ed piece. It's my opinion about the last four years of the Bush administration. And that's what I call it. I'm not trying to pretend that this is some sort of, you know, fair and balanced work of journalism." No mention of truth this time but, as responsible columnists know, all op-ed pieces are supposed to be grounded in truth and facts should be cited in backing up one's op-ed opinion. Uh-oh. But just when Michael Moore was floundering in a sea of skepticism, New York Times critic A.O. Scott came to the rescue with this assessment Moore's film: "It might more accurately be said to resemble an editorial cartoon ..." Paging Shrek! In the space of two weeks the Moore movie had gone from truth to opinion to cartoon, albeit an editorial one. But the hits just keep on coming. Los Angeles Times film critic Kenneth Turan wrote this about Fahrenheit 9/11: "It is propaganda, no doubt about it, but propaganda is most effective when it has elements of truth ... " So we're back to the truth now garnished with "elements." I have seen the first half of Michael Moore's movie and here's the deal. It's slick propaganda that indicts President Bush for a variety of things using cut and paste video interspersed with the opinions of far left people like Democratic Congressmen Jim McDermott and John Conyers. For me, the first sixty minutes were tedious but I have to interview guys like that everyday so I'm jaded. Any skilled filmmaker, and Moore is that, could fashion a movie making any American look like a pinhead. That's easy to do. Just get a bunch of video, some people who hate the guy, some factoids that may or may not be true, heat it up with sardonic rhetoric and serve. Presto, Fahrenheit 9/11. So let's stop with the nonsense. If you want to pay 9 bucks to see Moore carve up the President, knock yourself out. But don't be calling me up telling me about truth, or elements thereof. This is rank propaganda and the American public is welcome to it. It will not evolve any further. Expand
  91. JoelV.
    Jun 28, 2004
    2
    Somewhat entertaining but mostly over blown and ridiculous. Moore ruins the real impact he could have made. The Discover channel would have done a much better job and been more convincing I'm sure, but I guess that's not the the point. I would not feel any more secure living in the U.S.A. if Michael Moore's kind were running it. His appeal to the lowest parts of human Somewhat entertaining but mostly over blown and ridiculous. Moore ruins the real impact he could have made. The Discover channel would have done a much better job and been more convincing I'm sure, but I guess that's not the the point. I would not feel any more secure living in the U.S.A. if Michael Moore's kind were running it. His appeal to the lowest parts of human nature and lack of supporting evidence make the future seem bleak, kind of like Ray Bradbury's book "Farhrenheit 451". Expand
  92. Baker
    Jul 12, 2004
    3
    Entertaining and moving sometimes but altogether too sentimental and personal to call this film a documentary.
  93. Larrie
    Jul 13, 2004
    0
    This film is a disgrace. We have men and women going to war and dying to protect our way of living. And this idiot Moore wants to show a mother grieving because her son died and blaming the Government. We share in her grief but did anyone think she would be doing a jig? Of course she is sad because if she was like Moore and his buddies she would not have permitted her son to join the This film is a disgrace. We have men and women going to war and dying to protect our way of living. And this idiot Moore wants to show a mother grieving because her son died and blaming the Government. We share in her grief but did anyone think she would be doing a jig? Of course she is sad because if she was like Moore and his buddies she would not have permitted her son to join the service. That's the whole point. Moore is presenting a one sided view blaming the current administration. How about Clinton not taking care of the problem before Bush inherited it? Does he get a free pass? We have problems that is for sure. But America was despised before Bush came along or have we forgotten? Politics aside, this is the greatest country on this planet. Don't let a left wing liberal BS artist like Moore state the obvious in order to influence your vote. How many of his kids and his friends are in the armed services? We know the answer don't we? ZERO! This film although well done is a disgrace to all Americans. Expand
  94. Adam
    Jul 18, 2004
    0
    Moore takes cheap shots at Bush and his administration in a shockingly disrespectful way. He also lies by presenting only information that supports his biased views. A disgraceful movie that comes nowhere near to an intellectual debate about terrorism and Iraq.
  95. Janet
    Jul 18, 2004
    0
    Robbie R I believe you don't get the point at all. If the liberal mentality had its way everybody would play nice, there would never be a war, everyone would share equally, and we would not live in a free capitalistic society. Unfortunately, for the uninitiated this is not life. There are mean evil greedy people who would love to kill all Americans. And never forget for a minute that Robbie R I believe you don't get the point at all. If the liberal mentality had its way everybody would play nice, there would never be a war, everyone would share equally, and we would not live in a free capitalistic society. Unfortunately, for the uninitiated this is not life. There are mean evil greedy people who would love to kill all Americans. And never forget for a minute that you .... liberals are on the top of the list. Lucky for you, the popular majority understands this and the current administration is there to protect us. As for your comment about the Hollywood Liberals not endorsing the war, well, we know that. They are chicken .... babies who would crap in their pants if they ever had to fight or actually work for their livelihood. Or do you call playing in front of camera for millions actually working? C'mon now, we live in a real world. Be grateful that there are those out there ready to give their own lives to protect your sorry asses. Now Robbie do you get the point? Expand
  96. ZacharyM.
    Jul 21, 2004
    0
    The sad thing about this movie is that most uninformed people will see it thinking that they are getting an unbiased view of the last 4 years. Anyone who regularly watches political news will obviously see that the first 3/4's of this movie shows lie after lie, and point after point shown out of context. The saddest part is that democrats are calling this movie great which makes the The sad thing about this movie is that most uninformed people will see it thinking that they are getting an unbiased view of the last 4 years. Anyone who regularly watches political news will obviously see that the first 3/4's of this movie shows lie after lie, and point after point shown out of context. The saddest part is that democrats are calling this movie great which makes the democratic people look stupid and out of the loop. The movie is tagged with the "documentary" genre which is also misleading since documentaries are supposed to be works of nonfiction and objectiveness. It's sad to think that many swing voters or people who would have voted for Bush might now be turned off by nothing more than 2 hours of lies. There is some sadness in the movie (towards the end), but those moments are soon ruined when he again starts pointing fingers at Bush. I did not support the war in Iraq, but the house, senate, and president did. Notice the 'house' and 'senate' part of that sentence. The reason we have our government setup the way we do is to not put all the decision making in one persons hands. Many democrats (including Kerry and Edwards). Look at this factual piece of information from Edwards appearing on CNN on 2/24/02: "Iraq and Saddam Hussein present the most serious and most imminent threat." Didn't see that in the movie did we. If you're going to see this movie, be informed. Don't be a sheep. Expand
  97. HarrisonW.
    Jul 24, 2004
    1
    You liberals are girlie men who cry in your beer. Michael Moore is a joke and calling this a documentary is nothing more than revisionist history. Have you ever seen what Michael Moore looks like? Now that's a joke. As for Hollywood's liberals, what they do play acting, is not work. Sorry, but everyone of us would trade places with them in a heartbeat. They have no connection to You liberals are girlie men who cry in your beer. Michael Moore is a joke and calling this a documentary is nothing more than revisionist history. Have you ever seen what Michael Moore looks like? Now that's a joke. As for Hollywood's liberals, what they do play acting, is not work. Sorry, but everyone of us would trade places with them in a heartbeat. They have no connection to real people who work hard for a day's pay. Janet was on the money. If you don't like our country is run go over to Iraq and give them your opinion on being a liberal. Be sure to bring a basket to catch your head when it falls off chopping block. You are talking about a third world backward nation that despises ALL Americans. When will the lightbulb go off in the very tiny pea you have for brains? Do us all a favor and go to Canada. Expand
  98. AlbertW.
    Sep 25, 2004
    0
    Why wouldn't this guy move to Cuba, together with the rest of Hollywood's commie crap? (Sean Penn, Susan Sarandon, Oliver Stone et al...). He thinks their health care and education is second to none....why wouldn't he move there and live there? Because he (and the others) want to enjoy everything America stands for - liberty, free enterprise...and freedom of expression, Why wouldn't this guy move to Cuba, together with the rest of Hollywood's commie crap? (Sean Penn, Susan Sarandon, Oliver Stone et al...). He thinks their health care and education is second to none....why wouldn't he move there and live there? Because he (and the others) want to enjoy everything America stands for - liberty, free enterprise...and freedom of expression, which includes even right to spread such a falsified s..t as his work. Expand
  99. MarshallM.
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Yeah! go Aaron j. ! he's right, he just twists facts with ficiton, with some good editing, he can make anyone look like a criminal. i wish he'd just go away and live in england or something, since he thinks america is so bad. or at least, he think s our leaders are. either way, he's an un-patriotic idiot.
  100. aaronj.
    Mar 25, 2005
    0
    This has to be the worst film i have ever seen. moore uses propaganda, lies and decieving information to prove his point. moore is a menace to society!
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Moore stays "on message" here from first shot to last. There is no debate, no analysis of facts or search for historical context. Moore simply wants to blame one man and his family for the situation in Iraq the United States now finds itself in…So the real question is not how good a film is Fahrenheit 9/11 -- it is undoubtedly Moore's weakest -- but will a film help to get a president fired?
  2. Reviewed by: David Gates
    60
    That's the real problem with Fahrenheit 9/11: not the message, but the method… Moore’s default mode is overkill: he even notes that on the night before the attacks Bush slept on "fine French linen." Surely scratchy muslin wouldn't have stopped the evildoers.
  3. 70
    Fahrenheit 9/11 offers the thrill of a coherent explanation for everything, but parts of the movie are no better than a wild, lunging grab at a supposed master plan. [28 June 2004, p. 108]