Lions Gate Films | Release Date: June 23, 2004
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 502 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
311
Mixed:
36
Negative:
155
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
choomtabi31May 9, 2016
It's always nice to get another option on a subject and keep your mind open to different points of views.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-754-Fahrenheit-911
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
timrichieOct 19, 2014
Regardless of the factuality of the events shown in the film, and regardless of the controversy that surrounds it, the movie is so meticulously made, you find yourself (even temporarily) convinced that every single thing Moore throws at you is true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JonathanS.Jun 26, 2007
I really liked this movie, and when I came out of the cinema I had a great feeling. Maybe this would open the eyes about the war in Iraq, even if you ask people on the street they usually say that the war was wrong. It really surprised me I really liked this movie, and when I came out of the cinema I had a great feeling. Maybe this would open the eyes about the war in Iraq, even if you ask people on the street they usually say that the war was wrong. It really surprised me that he won the next election, at maybe he shouldn't have, and he actually cheated like the movie says he does. A lot of these clips that Michael shows in his movie, had been shown in the news and I recognized some of them, and you have to admit that Bushes behavior has been very weird. Even though some people say that this is propaganda, all lies and is stupid just doesn't want to see the facts. A lot of these things are true, and can anyone actually stand up and tell me why a war where hundreds of thousand people have died? Was it to force democracy down on a middle eastern country, how many Iraqis do you think are happy about this war? The only ones that are happy is Bush and those blinded greedy people that follow him. I cant give you a certain number of how many people have died in Iraq since bush are hiding the numbers (i wonder why), but its quite high and at least above 100.000 people. I cannot rate this a shining 10 because Moore got a little carried away and actually told some lies. I thought this movie was really good and i liked it a lot, i loved his humor and there is no extreme editing in this movie to make bush look bad, there of course a little but who can blame him? A lot of these are live interviews with people and aren't in any way edited so that they somehow say something else that what they mean. This movie is great, not just does more give the audience what they want he also opens eyes. The leader is always a reflection of the people he leads, remember that America. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StacieL.Apr 13, 2007
I don't care if people think that Michael Moore has twisted facts and edited the footage to make George Bush look bad. Personally I think George did this himself. All that Michael did was give us facts, have his say on it and let us I don't care if people think that Michael Moore has twisted facts and edited the footage to make George Bush look bad. Personally I think George did this himself. All that Michael did was give us facts, have his say on it and let us decide whether or not Bush was right about his actions. This film has made me open my eyes to the cruelness and the lies that's in the world. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
8
ProudCitizenMar 27, 2007
As mark twain said, and excuse me if I slightly misquote him: "Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it." Courteous and respectful dissension and public discourse must always thrive in As mark twain said, and excuse me if I slightly misquote him: "Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it." Courteous and respectful dissension and public discourse must always thrive in America, as they are the back-bone of our society. Our beautiful nation is not perfect, and thus it is our duty as informed and intelligent citizens to, at times, look upon America with a critical eye. We criticize in an effort to help this country grow. We all love America, and this best thing we can do to help it grow is to work together. We identify the missteps, and do our best right this country's course. Michael Moore in his own overly partisan, but adroit, way exposed this administrations hypocrisy and guile. Moore clearly shows how Bush and his political allies, through manipulation and trickery, lead this country into an interminable conflict in the Middle East. Bush purported that an invasion of Iraq was necessary in a larger war against terror, but, as Moore points out, any discernible observer clearly sees that this war is solely about control of Iraqi oil fields. Michael Moore reminds us that we must question and challenge our government to keep it on a rewarding and benevolent course. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.Oct 10, 2006
Never could one film have so polarized opinions on both sides of the political spectrum within the USA as this. Although some of Mr. Moore
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeNov 13, 2005
I've just got to say, America is full of morons and brainwashed people. Americans (mainly just stupid people) let this monster of a president into office, and now he's completely screwed up America and this movie exposes it. If I've just got to say, America is full of morons and brainwashed people. Americans (mainly just stupid people) let this monster of a president into office, and now he's completely screwed up America and this movie exposes it. If this country completely depending on the direct vote of the people, that piece of garbage in the white house wouldn't be our president. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
msNov 12, 2005
First of all...I would like to say that some of you are perhaps the worst and most utterly judgemental critics I have ever read reviews from. And secondly I would like to state that some of you are the most overly enthusiastic and light First of all...I would like to say that some of you are perhaps the worst and most utterly judgemental critics I have ever read reviews from. And secondly I would like to state that some of you are the most overly enthusiastic and light hearted critics I've ever seen. Most of those who gave this movie a red score were the following: Conservative, closed minded, totally anti liberal, judgemental, overly harsh, condecending ,biased, and most importantly uninformed. Most of those who gave overwhelmingly positive reviews were : Liberal, overly passionate, anti Bush, fans of MM's previous films, overly positive, closed minded, and most importantly uninformed. I say these things because those that went into the theater to see this film as a liberal supporter or a conservative opposition to MM, were being exactly that! If you cannot put your politics to the side and look, listen, and try to understand then your opinion should not even be taken seriously because whether left or right when you wrote...it was all because you either hated or loved George Dubya Bush. I am a liberal independant and I will admit that I was rather happy to see advertisements for this film. I hate George Bush beyong belief but his film did not make my disgust of the president any stronger...it solidified it. For those who claim it is propaganda I will say that during a few moments it did seem that way. But to totally ignore the evidence behind what MM is saying is just ignorant. To those who say that it is 100% truth I pitty you, for there are many statements made or rhetorical questions asked that are simply the strong opinion of the film maker that are backed by evidence shown earlier in the film. As a documentary it blew my mind as to the extent that information such as this could be aquired, proven, and used in an entertaining yet informal way. Many documentaries come off as rather dull or ordinary to me but this one was so funny, so painful, and so heartbreaking that it was almost as if it was a drama. MM's comentary during the film is well placed and mostly witty but I will admit it became a little over the top on occasion. Actually MM doesn't do much of the bashing in the film. Although we know that through the film's style he is he most of the time lets the president make a fool of himself. Like when Mcarthy was being interviewed in the 50's all MM has to do is let the clips roll and you find out exactly what kind of a person this man is. I'm sure by now you are thinking one of two things, that I am stupid, shallow, biased, and ignorant for my statemtns or "Right on man! That is so true!" I would prefer if you could wtahc this movie once more without your biases and then maybe you people could actually review this movie...or any movie for that matter. Good day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaneS.Apr 21, 2005
This is one of the best documentaries I've ever seen, with Moore's Bowling for Columbine. It is fantastic. People who say Moore is dishonest is because they are clearly drugged/brainwashed and are Bush-supporters. I myself am This is one of the best documentaries I've ever seen, with Moore's Bowling for Columbine. It is fantastic. People who say Moore is dishonest is because they are clearly drugged/brainwashed and are Bush-supporters. I myself am neither Republican or Democrat, I do not like to limit myself. I vote who I think is the best candidate. And clearly America was dumb again. Oh well. There's always Canada. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabbyH.Mar 30, 2005
This movie was amazing. Ya know, people say that Moore is dishonest, his facts arent true, blah blah blah. Just the videos of Dubya show you how much of an idiot he is. I would be ashamed to be a Bush supporter after seeing this movie in This movie was amazing. Ya know, people say that Moore is dishonest, his facts arent true, blah blah blah. Just the videos of Dubya show you how much of an idiot he is. I would be ashamed to be a Bush supporter after seeing this movie in fear of being pelted by tomatoes in public. Keep these movies coming, Mr. Moore! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CaptainCraigFeb 20, 2005
Even if only half of the facts in this production are correct....its the scariest move you will ever see. I give it 8 points for the productions values and 2 more for the guts to make it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MuhammadK.Dec 1, 2004
This documentary is not propaganda nor is it 'fair and balanced' as one critic said. Documentaries are supposed to be fair like FOX (sarcasm intented). It is 'in your face' free-speech for Bush Inc. by members of a This documentary is not propaganda nor is it 'fair and balanced' as one critic said. Documentaries are supposed to be fair like FOX (sarcasm intented). It is 'in your face' free-speech for Bush Inc. by members of a Democratic nation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeS.Nov 15, 2004
Hello again Sparklemotion. you complaints would be okay, if not for the fact that Britian, our largest ally, has only lost about 70 soldiers. The democrats did not embrace Moore and you cannot say that he is the reason that Bush won. Hello again Sparklemotion. you complaints would be okay, if not for the fact that Britian, our largest ally, has only lost about 70 soldiers. The democrats did not embrace Moore and you cannot say that he is the reason that Bush won. Americans are not smart enough to allow that to happen, it would require actually becoming infromed, which most did not. Instead they chose to vote with their hearts. About the movie, you may have disagreed with it, but that is no reason to give it a zero. Moore's passion on the topic is noticable to all, and that is commendable, in an age where we are faced with mindless movies all the time. There are many things that I disagree with, but that doesn't mean that I can't see their passion, that does not mean that I have to hate something. That is one of the few things we have left in America, freedom of speech. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregWNov 11, 2004
Yes, it was infuriating at times, some part for the material, some part for Moore's simplistic and skewered take on some subjects. I didn't believe it all, but really -- what intelligent person believes everything put in front of Yes, it was infuriating at times, some part for the material, some part for Moore's simplistic and skewered take on some subjects. I didn't believe it all, but really -- what intelligent person believes everything put in front of them these days? I guess that's why so many Republicans got so up-in-arms about it. Not only did they not like what was said, they assumed everyone who saw it would take it as absolute truth. Hey, only Fox News watchers do that! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.Nov 6, 2004
In reality, it is a nine, but I wish to counter-balance the conservative fools who give it zeros. They just want the ****ing tax breaks. Moore gives an insightful look into the darker side of big buisness. In its nature, it is to point out In reality, it is a nine, but I wish to counter-balance the conservative fools who give it zeros. They just want the ****ing tax breaks. Moore gives an insightful look into the darker side of big buisness. In its nature, it is to point out people who get power, and abuse it. Since Bush is one of the best examples now, he just happens to get bashed. Anyway, Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PHOct 30, 2004
There is, of course, a reason people on the far-right want you to avoid this movie: It's entertaining and damning of Bush at the same time. They are entitled to their opinion, of course, as long as they've seen the film. What There is, of course, a reason people on the far-right want you to avoid this movie: It's entertaining and damning of Bush at the same time. They are entitled to their opinion, of course, as long as they've seen the film. What troubles me is their belief that patriotism can not encompass dissent. (Though they never had a problem with this when Clinton was in office!) To those on the far-right who say "Move to Canada!" or whatever new version of "love it or leave it" they can manage, I say that the idea of a nation with millions of nuclear weapons and exclusively made up of neo-cons is a very scary though. Me and my moderate-to-left-leaning ass are staying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MishaOct 29, 2004
Watching the movie hasn't changed my mind much, as I already had a strong opinion about the whole thing... My message to everyone - open your eyes! Wake up to face the music. Moore has done a great job to shake us all up.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DecepticonP.Oct 26, 2004
Just see it and work it out for yerself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidC.Oct 23, 2004
This documentary was excellent. I wish it didn't have to resort to showing the mangled bodies of innocent children to get the point across. I also did notice some of the collaborators and Micheal stuffing words in people's mouths a This documentary was excellent. I wish it didn't have to resort to showing the mangled bodies of innocent children to get the point across. I also did notice some of the collaborators and Micheal stuffing words in people's mouths a couple of times. But this is an eye openner of a doc. I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatriciaS.Oct 23, 2004
Verry goooodddd.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VassilisI.Oct 23, 2004
This was a very good documentary film. Of course some of the things Michael Moore says are already common knowledge (perhaps in all the world except USA). The bin Laden family financial affairs with George W. Bush for example is something we This was a very good documentary film. Of course some of the things Michael Moore says are already common knowledge (perhaps in all the world except USA). The bin Laden family financial affairs with George W. Bush for example is something we all knew! The film contains some really breath taking moments. I must say that although I don't like your President (I'm from Greece), I was really shocked when this happened. Shocked and sad. Anyway, about the film... Moore doesn't say a word about the part of Israel in this case and about the neo-conservatives (Cheney - the real US President for me -, Rumsfeld and Wolfowitz) who in 2000 stated that a huge terrorist act would justify a war in Iraq (are they prophets or what?). Also, I didn't like the scene when he asked the members of the Parliament to send ther children in Iraq, it didn't contain class. But I think it was a good thing that some Americans start to think whether their goverment is telling the truth or not. Food for thought, nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyTOct 22, 2004
Yes I agree with Greg T. I really couldnt have said it better. Now, I do believe that this too is a propoganda piece, not different from what Bush does. But it is the powerful moments in the second half, that bring the point across, Yes I agree with Greg T. I really couldnt have said it better. Now, I do believe that this too is a propoganda piece, not different from what Bush does. But it is the powerful moments in the second half, that bring the point across, climaxing in Geoge Orwell's quotation. As Greg said, we have come a long way since our 'cave man days', in some aspects.Science and Technology grown in leaps and bounds. But otherwise, we are stuck in a time-warp. Individuals are still demonized in order to further personal causes. I wish this movie hadnt done the same to Bush too though. I would have liked a more sympathetic view to Bush, rather than potraying him as a villain of sorts. But yes, in general, it does show how people can be influenced into buying anything without substansial proof (you need to look no further than responses below. The vicious anti-Islam tirade is shocking. Everyone here seems to think that Muslims are out to conquer the world based on NO proof except Bush's words. The CAUSE for 9/11 is apparently cited as a move by Islami terrorists to 'conquer the world'. LOL, WHOM did you hear that from? ), but in general, I wish that Moore himself maintained the same fairness that he expects from political elite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanG.(fromCanada)Oct 22, 2004
First off.....Carol C & Tyrone A...shows how much you really know about the the world outside the precious US of A. The terrorists are ISLAM NOT MUSLIM. There is a difference but u yanks are to hard headed to make an informed opinion. Next , First off.....Carol C & Tyrone A...shows how much you really know about the the world outside the precious US of A. The terrorists are ISLAM NOT MUSLIM. There is a difference but u yanks are to hard headed to make an informed opinion. Next , not once did Moore say his film is fair and balanced. It is his opinion based on FACTS. Tell me one part of the movie that is a direct lie....it may put a dramatic spin on it but it is true. Next he affirmed that Iraq wasnt a place to fight terror. (unless you take in to account the terrorists came to Iraq...once the US went in). If you guys took all the troops from Iraq and put them in Afganistan and the rest of the world ...the world would be safer. And then you Americans could actually afford decent health care and better HOMELAND security (which is precisely what u need) I dont get peoples conservative me first, f*** everyone else who disagrees with us..view. The most scary part of far 911 was the black congressmen who got shafted after the 2000 election. That blew me away. 911 is a deserved inditment of Bush and his cronies...who wanted the invade Iraq right after 911. Finish what his dad didnt. It makes me sick. This docu is a must view for any american who cares about their country. THE TERRORISTS HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH IRAQ....when are u bush supporters going to get this through you thick skulls!!! Props to Micheal Moore for fighting the powers that be...its the best way to show that a democracy is working. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenM.Oct 21, 2004
An important film for those who can open their eyes and minds.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanessaR.Oct 21, 2004
Tell it like it is Roger Moore! Those critics who will not face reality are the ones who need to be in Iraq fighting an unnecessary war. Obviously, they do not have any children there fighting an unecessary war.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GregT.Oct 20, 2004
Most of the reviews below are not based on the movie, but on political bent and belief. As a documentary, this film was interesting and fairly comprehensive. There may be lies in it, skewed against the current U.S. Administration. But the Most of the reviews below are not based on the movie, but on political bent and belief. As a documentary, this film was interesting and fairly comprehensive. There may be lies in it, skewed against the current U.S. Administration. But the corpses were real and so was the Iraqi woman screaming "Oh God. Where are you? I beg for vengence." And vengence, they will get, if it kills them. Bush stated in this film "They are not happy being occupied. I wouldn't be happy if we were occupied." And indeed that is at least one truth. This movie documents not just the recent war in Iraq but the failure of human beings generally to evolve much beyond the cave man days, in which, in the modern era, we are still all hitting each other over the head with clubs, in an ultimately vain attempt at controlling dictators, governments, land, oil and religion. We are in a helluva mess and indeed "God, where are you?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeeD.Oct 17, 2004
Alas, I knew this would happen. No one can actually view Fahrenheit 9/11 as a MOVIE, and thus all of these grades you see before you are all based on people's personal opinion and not the actual quality of the film. I agree with Alas, I knew this would happen. No one can actually view Fahrenheit 9/11 as a MOVIE, and thus all of these grades you see before you are all based on people's personal opinion and not the actual quality of the film. I agree with Moore's politics [almost] completely, but we all know this film is not a masterpiece, nor is it an abomination. Moore skillfully allows his subject to do most of the work, leaving the viewer with an ernest experience, although not all of the points will have stuck together by the timw you wake up the next morning.The MOVIE is solid, though nothing worth crying over. The politics... take it somewhere else. We're here to discuss film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthieuR.Oct 11, 2004
A must see for anyone foolish enough to actually support this war. Drop the tough guy act and rhetoric, and actually witness some of the horrors we are guilty of.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AchimH.Oct 11, 2004
Important movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jifuOct 8, 2004
Resolution 1441 did not authorize the war. Many people feel that the war was illegal, such as Hans Blix and Kofi Annan, who said that the invasion did not have the Security Council approval and was therefore illegal. Not that Americans care Resolution 1441 did not authorize the war. Many people feel that the war was illegal, such as Hans Blix and Kofi Annan, who said that the invasion did not have the Security Council approval and was therefore illegal. Not that Americans care what the U.N. thinks. As to the movie: the best of his movies so far. The editing and music were superb, and only once or twice did the pacing seem off. This was a very moving work of art that really hits the emotions. I am happy that it is being called more than a documentary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrentKOct 5, 2004
I think any person who gave it a 0 is a Republican, and a scared one at that. Moore makes such valid points, that your fear is justified. See this movie. Very eye-opening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuF.Oct 5, 2004
People who think Michael Moore is a communist are wrong. He is made this movie because he knows the potential of America and Bush is simply ruining the lives of families and America's good name.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PayamM.Oct 5, 2004
I loved the movie. I made me both laugh and cry, but most importantly, it makes me want to vote. I signed up last week and I know where my vote is going. The DVD came out today and I am buying a copy for my mom, and my brother, my dad, my I loved the movie. I made me both laugh and cry, but most importantly, it makes me want to vote. I signed up last week and I know where my vote is going. The DVD came out today and I am buying a copy for my mom, and my brother, my dad, my aunts, and my neighbor. Oh, and one for myself. Thank you Michael for showing us that you can't bribe the "rich" forever. No the common middle class knows whats going on. We have power in numbers and that will be reflected in our votes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Oct 5, 2004
Every thread of this film, which challenges "Hoop Dreams" for the spot of best documentary ever, is not fiction but fact. People who disagree with Moore would love to find something in this film that was fabricated, but it isn't. That Every thread of this film, which challenges "Hoop Dreams" for the spot of best documentary ever, is not fiction but fact. People who disagree with Moore would love to find something in this film that was fabricated, but it isn't. That is, at its very core, the genius of "Fahrenheit 9/11". It's reality not fantasy, and even at that, it's more riveting than any other film I've seen so far this year. Completely amazing in every way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MooreforpresidentMOct 5, 2004
Best movie Ive seen all year. A lot of you out there need to open your ignorant eyes and see that the Bush Administration is corrupt. Do you know what that word means?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlejandroD.Sep 30, 2004
Excelent movie, which shows a lot of things that people who only base on what the media says, wouldn't know otherwise. I don't understand why some people still defend Bush, knowing that he is after all just a puppet. He is not Excelent movie, which shows a lot of things that people who only base on what the media says, wouldn't know otherwise. I don't understand why some people still defend Bush, knowing that he is after all just a puppet. He is not capable of being the president of a country that has that much influence around the world. Especially a president who only cares about money, killing other people, and doesn't care a bit about the earth. Good job Michael Moore, you are THE MAN!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IbanescuE.Sep 24, 2004
A movie that speaks loud and clear about hypocrisy and stupidity... i can only ask myself how comes that many americans still praise bush as a great leader... maybe its the president they deserve after all :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JHSep 22, 2004
Was it pure, unbias journalism.... No. Movies like this are important because they express an opinion. The mainstream media also does this but they can't admit it. Moore explores territory of central importance to the people of the Was it pure, unbias journalism.... No. Movies like this are important because they express an opinion. The mainstream media also does this but they can't admit it. Moore explores territory of central importance to the people of the United States. Casting doubts as it goes, 9/11 illustrates a critical version of contemporary political events. What makes it so incendiary is it's frankness, contrasted with the current, lazy eyed, media-ocrity that commercial news broadcasting has become famous for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PerttiK.Sep 13, 2004
Great Leader my ass ! Maybe the best film this year... Moores got some balls to publish this kind of propaganda but luckily its good. i can only pity americans who wont still believe that Bush is far more worst than any of these "diktators" Great Leader my ass ! Maybe the best film this year... Moores got some balls to publish this kind of propaganda but luckily its good. i can only pity americans who wont still believe that Bush is far more worst than any of these "diktators" ... first he supports Bin Ladens troops and woops there goes the neighbourhood (WTC) Great piece of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DekeM.Sep 10, 2004
Don't listen to the fascists, go see the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveSep 10, 2004
How can anybody claim this movie is a 'bunch of lies' or 'fictitious' when much of the movie is made up of actual quotes that came straight from George W. Bush's mouth? Some things may be exaggerated, but the essence How can anybody claim this movie is a 'bunch of lies' or 'fictitious' when much of the movie is made up of actual quotes that came straight from George W. Bush's mouth? Some things may be exaggerated, but the essence of the film cannot be disputed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkB.Sep 3, 2004
Woodrow Wilson once described D. W. Griffith's Birth of a Nation as being "history written with lightning". Cinematically, of course, he was right; but if spin doctors had existed back then, they would've informed him that even in Woodrow Wilson once described D. W. Griffith's Birth of a Nation as being "history written with lightning". Cinematically, of course, he was right; but if spin doctors had existed back then, they would've informed him that even in 1916, publicly extolling a film that, however well made, amonts to a 2 1/2 hour recruiting poster for the Klan maybe isn't the thing for a U. S. President to do. Well, maybe the current White House resident won't be using those words to describe Michael Moore's brilliantly entertaining, thought-provoking "op-ed documentary" right now, but clearly many moviegoers are doing just that...and more will follow if Moore accomplishes his stated goal of making George W. Bush a "one-term wonder". I'll be among the first to admit that some of the film's inevitable criticisms aren't TOTALLY without merit:his attempt to read the president's mind on 9/11 is at best spurious-- who knows what any of us in Bush's position would do when receiving the horrible news... and the only individual who truly knows what was going through Bush's mind then was Bush. Sadly, too, Moore's attempt to go for the emotional gut late on isn't 100% successful because an inevitable by-product of ALL wars good or bad, justified or unjustified is far too great a number of Lila Lipscombs. All valid, and yet Moore's film succeeds AT WHAT IT SETS OUT TO DO for the same reasons that Oliver Stone's dazzling, incendiary JFK did 13 years ago. Both films are masterful in their use of the "spaghetti-on-the-wall" attack: Stone threw every possible conspiracy theory, widely discussed or whispered, at the audience within three hours; he didn't care if you bought into all or even most of them--he just wanted to put a bug in your ear to at least question the Warren Commission. Moore, in like fashion, knows that he's not going to fully convince you of every accusation he levels at Bush & Co., but he also knows that if a few are true, they've got some 'splainin' to do...and if a few more are true as well, screw the elections, let's begin impeachment proceedings ASAP! Along with Mel Gibson's The Passion of the Christ (of all films to compare this to!) Fahrenheit 9/11 has irrevocably redefined everything the studios thought they knew about what they thought audiences wanted to see, which is why I honestly can't see why ANYONE who truly loves film, regardless of whether they think that Bush's actions in Iraq are the greatest humanitarian act since the days of Oskar Schindler or that he deserves more terms in office than FDR, would pass this film up. (This includes all you Metacritic contributors who didn't let your refusal to see it stop you from giving it a big fat goose egg!) Perhaps, too, "the choir" that Moore has been accused of preaching too is bigger than even he imagined; not only did he quintuple his own previous box office record (and that for any documentary), but the fact that lots of other elephant-shooting documentaries (The Hunting of the President, Control Room, Bush's Brain, Outfoxed, The Corporation...even, in its own way, Super Size Me) are playing in theaters and doing well indicates that there are definitely some raw nerves out there itching to be tapped. Let's face it; paying to see ANY movie (plus refreshments, babysitting, parking and maybe dinner) is definitely more of a commitment than just clicking on Fox News or Rush Limbaugh...or even buying a Regnery Press book that may or may not get finished. So to those of you who want that unregenerate, America-hating traitor Moore and his work wiped off the face of the earth, may I humbly suggest this: make your OWN liberal-bashing, anti-Kerry movie, get it into theaters, and I'll be delighted to pony up my $6.50 for a matinee ticket. After all, EVERYONE (including, believe it or not, Moore) has the right to persuade fellow Americans to their point of view, and then in November we get to decide who was the most persuasive. That's what the America that you vociferously claim to be the only ones who truly love is all about, isn't it? Well, isn't it? Hmmmm? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewH.Aug 26, 2004
Extremely well made and interesting. but the man definetly stretches the facts and makes a lot of matters look much worse than they really are. other than that though its just a really interesting politically based documentary/comedy that Extremely well made and interesting. but the man definetly stretches the facts and makes a lot of matters look much worse than they really are. other than that though its just a really interesting politically based documentary/comedy that all democrats should see and republicans should avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SharonAug 22, 2004
Contrary to another reviewer who states that Moore takes a cheap shot at Bush and his administration, I say wake up and smell the coffee. We have been duped by our government and it is really sad. Thanks to 9/11 we can question what has been Contrary to another reviewer who states that Moore takes a cheap shot at Bush and his administration, I say wake up and smell the coffee. We have been duped by our government and it is really sad. Thanks to 9/11 we can question what has been going on instead of believing everthing that we hear. I, for one, am not voting for George Bush in this election - and, it seems to me, others would be wise and smart to do so also. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnneGAug 22, 2004
I'm an Australian who has visited the States many times and loved both the countryside and the people I met there. But I a, shocked at the number of 0 votes for this film!!! Almost all of them claim that Moore is lying or I'm an Australian who has visited the States many times and loved both the countryside and the people I met there. But I a, shocked at the number of 0 votes for this film!!! Almost all of them claim that Moore is lying or misrepresenting the truth but I haven't read ONE which actually points out in which areas he has lied. The Marines in the car park definitelt exist, do they not? The young Iraqi boy with his left arm totally mangled is not a lie, is he? I would LOVE to hear from some viewers who can present their side of the story and show that Bush sent his troops (with Australian backup) for a viable reason. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiceAug 19, 2004
If i could i would give this movie a 15 it was awesome any1 who hates this movie obviously fell asleep during the movie this movie tells you things u would have never known. if anyone thinks that this movie was all lies is a moron.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
N.ChurchillAug 10, 2004
Very disturbing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TimE.Aug 6, 2004
It seems both types of people who are leaving comments on this movie are completely ignorant of each other. yes, this movie was somewhat non-ojective and one sided, but it also brought up some valid points that needed to be brought to theIt seems both types of people who are leaving comments on this movie are completely ignorant of each other. yes, this movie was somewhat non-ojective and one sided, but it also brought up some valid points that needed to be brought to the attention of the American people. the presidency plays off of our fears for loss of our freedoms to keep itself in the white house. both candidates seem to be the same person dressed in different clothes- want to make a real difference? vote Ralph Nader. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NadineAug 1, 2004
Anyone who says this movie is anti-American needs to use their brains and take a better look at this movie. I've noticed the only people who don't like this movie are IGNORANT in every sense of the word and very closed minded.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DudeN.Jul 29, 2004
Excellent !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichealB.Jul 28, 2004
Good movie, this points out the horrible job the bush administration has done, and its consequences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesH.Jul 27, 2004
This is a film that lists a series of facts and then links these facts together with speculation. The speculation is of course, just speculation and will be dismissed and praised in equal measure. However, the facts are pretty hard to This is a film that lists a series of facts and then links these facts together with speculation. The speculation is of course, just speculation and will be dismissed and praised in equal measure. However, the facts are pretty hard to dispute and for an independant like me, it was difficult to reach a significantly different conclusion to Moore's speculation. Even the most die-hard Bush/GOP supporter will be left with a few questions to ask after watching this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlaiseD.Jul 26, 2004
Why the hell is support of the Patriot Act part of the Democratic Platform?? And why is a full committment to increasing troop support and democratization of Iraq until it's done in that document, written by Kerry??? When the hell will Why the hell is support of the Patriot Act part of the Democratic Platform?? And why is a full committment to increasing troop support and democratization of Iraq until it's done in that document, written by Kerry??? When the hell will the Democrats wake up and listen to Michael Moore? I'm about ready to jump off and head over to the Nader camp as the Democrats are wussies! I loved F911 and was hoping that the Democratic party would embrace it.... Oh well... Better luck in 4 years, I guess, when there will be a true 3-party race. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanG.Jul 23, 2004
An incredible wakeup call to the popular vote. All will be challenged to think for themselves in the age of manufactured news and fear-mongering.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SabrinaJul 23, 2004
I would just like to say that I thought the movie was great. It not only had evidence of Bush's relations with the Saudies, but it showed that for no reason we started a war with Iraq. He even admitted he wasn't worried about I would just like to say that I thought the movie was great. It not only had evidence of Bush's relations with the Saudies, but it showed that for no reason we started a war with Iraq. He even admitted he wasn't worried about Osama, wasn't that who we wanted to catch in the first place? And if this evidence is so untrue why isn't Moore in trouble? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyT.Jul 20, 2004
Not as good as 'Bowling for Columbine', it isn't as humorous and its more obvious. A lot of things were already known by me and we all Know Bush isn't the best president of the states ever. Still a very good effort from Not as good as 'Bowling for Columbine', it isn't as humorous and its more obvious. A lot of things were already known by me and we all Know Bush isn't the best president of the states ever. Still a very good effort from Moore to get the public to see what kind of a Nit-wit Bush actually is. And of course great timing in election year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelP.Jul 19, 2004
There's enough truth to make a damning case against the George W. Bush administration and enough exaggeration to leave the door open to plenty of doubt. Only the most extreme left or right wing viewer of the film could watch it and not There's enough truth to make a damning case against the George W. Bush administration and enough exaggeration to leave the door open to plenty of doubt. Only the most extreme left or right wing viewer of the film could watch it and not feel tugged in both directions by the film. It is a very powerful statement that may very well impact the fall election. The scenes from Iraq were among the most terrible war footage available, very up close and personal, very much footage every American should see and contemplate as the country decides how long to stay the course there. This is a movie to see with your most politically involved friends, followed by a trip to the bar for a spirited debate. I went this evening because everyone in my office is talking about the film. I suspect those conversations are being repeated across the country. Probably good conversations for the country to be having in an election year. Definitely see this film if you care about your country. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardG.Jul 18, 2004
As some that is and was against the Iraq war from the beginning this movie plays with my senses, it tells me a little more, why I may be against the war. This movie is great, moore does a good job of making you hate what he hates and making As some that is and was against the Iraq war from the beginning this movie plays with my senses, it tells me a little more, why I may be against the war. This movie is great, moore does a good job of making you hate what he hates and making you love what he loves, by incorporating music and by showing average people telling there stories. This movie truely lets one think about George Bush, and ask "Why is he not going after Bin Laden and the terrorist?" "Why is he focusing on Iraq". It seems to me that Bush needs to answer all these questions quickly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnN.Jul 17, 2004
Gets you thinking ! Is it time we all had ?more? of a think, it may not be all as bad as you?re made to think, but of only some of it is true, is it time for big changes and safe guards in democracy ?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobbieR.Jul 17, 2004
Regardless of your point of view, the idea is to expose yourself to information for your own analysis. If you choose to ignore it, that's your prerogative, but it certainly doesn't forbid Moore's individual right to free Regardless of your point of view, the idea is to expose yourself to information for your own analysis. If you choose to ignore it, that's your prerogative, but it certainly doesn't forbid Moore's individual right to free speech. Also, to Bob H., you are being disingenous and intentionally mis-stating the point of Moore's issue with the lack of political offspring enlisted for military service. The "Hollywood liberals" you attack did not vote for or in many cases support/endorse military engagement in Iraq. Moore's point is that the very people who opted to send our troops to war had no PERSONAL stake in their welfare. Essentially, he questions whether their resolve would have been affected had their own sons and daughters been at risk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianH.Jul 16, 2004
The scared conservative nitpicking about this movie is hilarious. I haven't read anything that really undercuts the basic message of the film. It rightly takes this criminal administration to task...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillH.Jul 16, 2004
Those 7 minutes of Bush sitting in the Florida classroom after he'd been told the country was under attack said it all to me!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolL.Jul 15, 2004
In my opinion, the best Michael Moore movie so far. He used more restraint than I would have been able to in painting a multi-layered picture of a know-nothing, well-connected C-student who stole one election and HOPEFULLY will not make off In my opinion, the best Michael Moore movie so far. He used more restraint than I would have been able to in painting a multi-layered picture of a know-nothing, well-connected C-student who stole one election and HOPEFULLY will not make off with a second!! The black screen with the sounds of September 11 in NYC made it clear how jaded we have become to the visuals of the day; the sounds themselves were chilling and new. His unflinching look at Lila Lipscomb underscored the tragedy of the betrayal of our citizens' trust by the current administration. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleRJul 15, 2004
I very much enjoyed this documentary...let me just say it's not a surprise...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Dannys.Jul 14, 2004
If nothing else, this movie has truly accomplished something by provoking thought and noisy discussion. It seems that everywhere I go, I hear people debating the facts and observations presented in Fahrenheit 9/11. This is the sound made by If nothing else, this movie has truly accomplished something by provoking thought and noisy discussion. It seems that everywhere I go, I hear people debating the facts and observations presented in Fahrenheit 9/11. This is the sound made by a non-complacent, non-apathetic group of people. This is the sound of democracy in action. This is the same sound heard after Moore's controversial Oscar acceptance speech for Bowling for Columbine, and anyone who has viewed that DVD's bonus features will know that this is exactly the sort of reaction Moore is looking for- not necessarily 100% agreement, just a passionate reaction either way. Yet again, he has definitely succeeded in that context with his most recent work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveN.Jul 14, 2004
Alright... Here's a Canadian's perspective (which, from what I've been I've been reading here will undoubtedly be attacked simply because I'm Canadian): I thought the film, as a documentary, was well done. No, Alright... Here's a Canadian's perspective (which, from what I've been I've been reading here will undoubtedly be attacked simply because I'm Canadian): I thought the film, as a documentary, was well done. No, it's not unbiased, but it shouldn't be - even CNN isn't unbiased! Perspective is about seeing things from different angles or viewpoints. Perspective is good and allows you to make better decisions. Perspecitve is never a bad thing. But I'm also looking at what Moore was probably up against to even attempt a project like this. Other reviewers claim that anybody who agreed with points in this film are "brainwashed". I don't know, I have to wonder what has the greater capacity to brainwash: seeing one biased film or seeing biased news and other media everyday. Think about that. The very fact that many Americans brag that the US is "the greatest country in the world" is part of the problem. Sure America has a lot of great people, it's a beautiful country, and it's a free country... but lots of countries are like that. There's nothing wrong with being proud of where you come from, but really, get over yourselves! And to "Fantasy", regarding your comment that Canadians would be speaking German right now if it weren't for the US, maybe that's true, but Canada got into WWII and fought for our freedoms long before the US joined in. So enough Canada bashing already. By your rationale, Americans would be speaking French if it weren't for Canadians. Can't we give this a rest? We're all great okay? And by the way, France is a fantastic country too! All you guys out there who are saying that Moore lies or fabricates his points, would you be so kind as to point out specifically where he has done this? I'd like to be able to check this out. Moore backs up all his information, and shows how I can check it out, so if you know of a discrepancy, point it out! Don't just say he lies. Just because someone sees this film and agrees with the perspective presented, doesn't mean that they saw the film and changed their minds. Many people are quite well read and informed on these issues, and applaud Moore bringing them to light in mass media. Hey, to many people this will be an eye opener, but whatever they believe, this film is getting people to talk about US policies. It's getting people to discuss the role that greed and money play in how the US interacts with other nations. Try to think of the US as a person. Think about what kind of personality that person would have. Would you want that person, say as a co-worker or someone you have to interact with? C'mon, doesn't everybody love hanging out with a bossy friend who says they are the greatest person in the world, and only does things in their own interests? Despite how this all must sound, I'm not trying to bash the US. Seriously. As a Canadian, I love to travel in the US. Most of the people are very welcoming, accepting, and friendly, and the country has some of the most beautiful places on Earth. From my travels around the world, I think the only thing that sours Americans to others around the world is that Americans are bombarded with media telling them that they are greatest and better than everybody else, and after a while, some Americans proclaim it. Moore isn't Canadian, though I wouldn't have a problem if he was. He's a level headed American who isn't terribly happy with the way his country's leaders are playing in the global sandbox. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SoitgoesJul 14, 2004
This movie should be required viewing in November.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanB.Jul 13, 2004
This is an inspiration of a movie from a compassionate, patriotic man. Anyone who calls this film anti-American has obviously not seen it... and anyone who has not seen the film should not comment on it - I'm talking about certain White This is an inspiration of a movie from a compassionate, patriotic man. Anyone who calls this film anti-American has obviously not seen it... and anyone who has not seen the film should not comment on it - I'm talking about certain White House spokespeople, FoxNews, MSNBC, etc. This film is not propaganda and does not serve to brainwash people. The real brainwashing comes from the Bush administration - such as scare tactics used to get Americans to back an UNJUST war - and certain news commentators who chose to call Michael Moore a "fat socialist" and swear that he presents nothing but fiction even though they do not choose to see the film and do not actually explain what they believe to be lies. This crooked administration has tried to pull the wool over our eyes and this film was made to inspire people to not be controlled so easily. If this were Clinton or any other Democrat committing the same evils as Bush - they would be publicly executed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SashaB.Jul 13, 2004
An excellent movie, that should not be missed no matter what your political leanings. People are being killed daily because of Bush's policies, so one cannot ignore any side of this debate. It amazes me how many misconceptions about An excellent movie, that should not be missed no matter what your political leanings. People are being killed daily because of Bush's policies, so one cannot ignore any side of this debate. It amazes me how many misconceptions about this movie I have already heard. For instance, the comment from Fantasy, who thinks Moore must be Canadian. Sorry Fantasy, Moore is American, it is possible to be American and criticize the Bush administration after all. Frankly, no matter how biased you think this film is, there are important issues here that need to be discussed and not avoided. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshLJul 12, 2004
Michael Moore is NOT A Canadian! He was born and raised in Flynt Michigan, simple research can tell you. He's one of the most patriotic and brilliant people to have the guts to speak out in America against evil. This movie is Michael Moore is NOT A Canadian! He was born and raised in Flynt Michigan, simple research can tell you. He's one of the most patriotic and brilliant people to have the guts to speak out in America against evil. This movie is undoubtledly one-sided, but admittedly so, just as it is undoubtably genius. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DuncanJ.Jul 12, 2004
Right, So, about this Michael Moore thing: First thing that I want to say is that it was very American orientated this time. It was the last time too, in Bowling for Columbine, but he also expanded his outlook to further than just the Right, So, about this Michael Moore thing: First thing that I want to say is that it was very American orientated this time. It was the last time too, in Bowling for Columbine, but he also expanded his outlook to further than just the borders of the US. This time he focused on the internal set up in the U.S. vis-à-vis the American ruling class and it?s close and insidious ties, not just amongst it?s own members, but with outside agencies such as the Saudi ruling family. He also turned his attention to the ?little man?, the working class families, that are caught up in doing the actual fighting in Iraq. He followed the story of one woman, and the dreadful lose of her son in Iraq. She almost turned from pro army and war to anti army and war, and she was left with such pain, it was hard to watch. This film also highlighted an expansion in Michael?s understanding of the world, in terms of class struggle and hierarchical structures. He highlighted the conditions necessary to perpetuate the status quo in terms of fear. The documentary featured a psychologist who spoke very soundly on the ?state of fear? that is being produced by the colour coding of terrorist threats from green through blue on to orange and then to red. This colour coding system is backed up and enforced by continual changes in status level and unconfirmed and unfounded threats being broadcast on the daily or hourly news channels. The telling statement at this stage of the documentary was that there is no way that the ?threat?, or ?construed threat? as it should be labelled, will ever go to ?Green?. Although it is an obvious statement, it?s one that needs to be heard, as it will get folk thinking. The general feel of this documentary was one of intense knowledge being imparted. One felt like one was in a class room, with names, dates, facts, figures being thrown at one, however, although slightly laboured and a little overwhelming at times, the importance of what was being said was not diluted. In fact, the documentary cleverly used a lot of sound bites and historical footage to highlight just how irrational, opportunistic and parasitic the ruling class can be. With completely contradictory statements being heard from the mouths of high-level figures in the current US Bush administration. The impact of the facts and figures was further highlighted by some horrific footage of beheadings, burning bodies, wounded and dead civilians and disaffected and disillusioned American soldiers. There are two points that I am very glad that he rose. Firstly, he highlighted whom ?politicians? really ?work? for and secondly, hinted at the hierarchical structure that is the very nature of the whole system. First point first. There is footage of George W. Bush addressing a ruling class ?elite? dinner. To quote: ?What an impressive crowd: the haves, and the have-mores. Some people call you the elite, I call you my base..? More, much more, could have been made of this point, but as it was, it was sort of put out there, but glanced over. This is a central point to what it is to be ?under? capitalism. Working class folk, voters in general, have hitherto felt that the government and politicians were there for them, and to serve their needs, this highlights the fact that this was a completely false assumption. As already noted, this documentary was very American centred, however this point about politicians, if it was more generic, could have included a piece about the ?Privy Council? in the United Kingdom, and the fact that all cabinet members have to swear allegiance to a group of un-elected, un-accountable people. The second point, regarding the hierarchical structure of society ties in neatly with the first point of allegiance. The hierarchical nature of society and the controls and mechanisms that are necessary for it?s continuation were highlighted throughout the documentary in terms of fear and the control which that afforded the ruling classes over the oppressed masses. Latterly he highlighted the fact that maybe this was not the best way to organise production and hence society. Although, throughout the film, the proceeding two points were minor ones, the fact that Michael chose to include them in this piece is very telling, in terms of both his personal development and understanding as well as being very thought provoking to the general masses, like you and I. Another significant indicator of Michael?s thinking was the fact that the word ?Capitalism? was never once mentioned. One can take this as a very clever way of circumventing the irrational and dogmatic appeal that the word, and it?s connotations of freedom and justice, has on the American public, hence removing barriers to the film in terms of understanding and acceptance, from the populace at large. Or, if you look at it in a slightly more negative way, he still assumes that some form of capitalism is possible, with just the current ?big players? needing removed. In retrospect, it?s hard to cling to the idea that he feels that Capital is the way forward, though he?s been clever enough not to put a label on the god of the people. He has crucified the current system, in terms of its main players and supporters, but he has not labelled the system and hence can get away with that. I dare say that this cinematic piece would have been very differently received if he had labelled the system as capitalism and said that it was rotten to the core, which of course, in terms of decay, may not be a though that he shares. Another major aspect of this piece of work is that it was delivered via the cinema screens. In a sociological sense, media, especially the TV and the cinema have a huge impact on the psyche of individuals. It has been the media that has oppressed them, shaped them, made them think as they think and shown them they way forward for so many years, in all its formats, from TV through cinema, to the newspapers and books. It is fitting with both ironic justice and dialectical thought, that one form of weighted communication, cinema, will highlight the pitfalls, the terror and tyranny of the system that created it, hence showing the way forward to thinking individuals. As Karl Marx said; "What the bourgeoisie, therefore, produces, above all, is its own grave-diggers. Its fall and the victory of the proletariat are equally inevitable" He?s still accurate, all these years down the line. He has still to have his renaissance; we are still to have our chance to shine, as a race. Prison These walls that have been constructed They can not be seen, touched, smelled or affected You see, they crumble, from the inside Just like the sand, before the rolling tide. And just as surely as the tide comes and goes From here, to who knows? The walls are creaking and straining Inside their world, it?s continually raining Their sky is grey and overcast, they know they have to fight to the last, But when the last is, only we can decide Take it upon ourselves, do it with pride! In Solidarity, Dunk Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveOJul 12, 2004
When did Michael Moore become a Canadian? He was born in Michigan! Or maybe if you question the political climatic currently in this country you must be a foreigner. This is a profound movie no matter what your political bent. Of course the When did Michael Moore become a Canadian? He was born in Michigan! Or maybe if you question the political climatic currently in this country you must be a foreigner. This is a profound movie no matter what your political bent. Of course the right will attack and the left will use it as a rallying call, but the point is to discuss and think about these issues. Many comments have stated that the administration has not had a chance to respond, which is not true considering their view is the only one usually heard and took us to war. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianP.Jul 10, 2004
Fantastic. It should be a requirment for every American citizen to see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulD.Jul 10, 2004
This movie will open your eyes. Bush is a complete idiot who rode his name and his father's friends to the white house. Watch the movie and judge for yourself!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisO.Jul 9, 2004
Despite criticism from the right on the individual elements of the film the larger truths in this work shine through loud and clear. No matter what political affiliation, if you are a Patriotic American you cannot help but be moved to Despite criticism from the right on the individual elements of the film the larger truths in this work shine through loud and clear. No matter what political affiliation, if you are a Patriotic American you cannot help but be moved to question this administration?s policies. Policies which have lead to greater terrorist activity - not less -, meaning less security at home, and a squandering of the positive overall world support of America which existed immediately after 9/11. The critical element in my mind? why didn?t Bush wait until the weapons inspection?s had run their course before the attack on Iraq, we would then have retained the moral high ground and would have had a leg to stand on with world opinion. This film was the final straw of this Republican ? my vote will go against the Bush ?regime?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DamianP.Jul 9, 2004
Very funny movie. You couldn't make this stuff up if you tried, so it must be true. Right?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregH.Jul 7, 2004
A previous reviewer wrote: "if you truly support Michael Moore's message, you CANNOT vote for Kerry/Edwards, two Senators who voted to authorize the Iraq War. You MUST, if you have any conscience at all, Vote for RALPH NADER". This A previous reviewer wrote: "if you truly support Michael Moore's message, you CANNOT vote for Kerry/Edwards, two Senators who voted to authorize the Iraq War. You MUST, if you have any conscience at all, Vote for RALPH NADER". This sounds like a reasonable argument, but is really not practical. If someone's prime aim is to get rid of Bush, then only a vote for Kerry will do that. Sure I'd like Nader in the White House, but I would never forgive myself if my vote for him meant four more years of George W. Getting Bush out is, for me, the ultimate aim. For the sake of the US and our standing in the World. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyH.Jul 7, 2004
Phenomenal and incredible. This film will not convince any bush administration apologists... it takes too much pleasure in exposing Bush as the contemptible fool we all believe him to be. I am fairly certain that Moore specifically wants to Phenomenal and incredible. This film will not convince any bush administration apologists... it takes too much pleasure in exposing Bush as the contemptible fool we all believe him to be. I am fairly certain that Moore specifically wants to raise the ire of the informed left (and any fence-sitters as well) by encapsulating all of the arguments against this administration into a perfect summation, so that anyone who views it will be absolutely sure to vote Bush and co. out of office. One thing I was surprised about was how well Moore articulated a sense of concern for the people of the military that have been sacrificed by bush and rumsfeld, a feeling of pride and patriotism for the people in uniform who are willing to risk and die to protect and support the United States. It's impossible to watch this film, and not feel that these kids (and they are kids) need all the support they can get from everyone back safe within the borders of the US. Attack the film and Moore if you must, but the message is loud and clear. It's time to end the mistaken reign of GWB and his administration once and for all, for the good of the country and the world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhyllisS.Jul 6, 2004
See the movie. You will not regret it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArtW.Jul 6, 2004
What is it about the right wing that makes them want to quash any dissent toward Bush? This after 8 years of constant Clinton-bashing. This movie should be seen by all Americans, whatever your political stripe. Then decide. And attack the What is it about the right wing that makes them want to quash any dissent toward Bush? This after 8 years of constant Clinton-bashing. This movie should be seen by all Americans, whatever your political stripe. Then decide. And attack the evidence presented in this movie, not Michael Moore for shining a light onto it. Go Kerry-Edwards 2004! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RohiniB.Jul 6, 2004
Great Movie!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasS.Jul 6, 2004
I have been reading other users comments. None of the people denouncing the movie have attacked any of Moore's arguments, such as the link between Bush, the Bin Ladens and oil, the fact that the Bush administration flew the Bin Ladens I have been reading other users comments. None of the people denouncing the movie have attacked any of Moore's arguments, such as the link between Bush, the Bin Ladens and oil, the fact that the Bush administration flew the Bin Ladens out of the US right after the 9-11 attack or the fact that Bush sat in a classroom for upwords of 7 minutes when he heard the 2nd tower was bombed (what was he doing?). Yes, the movie is propaganda, but so is things the media says and things that the Bush administration say, such as Iraq had WMDs. All of the people have critiqued the method of the film and NOT its CONTENT. Please, start making an argument. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulW.Jul 6, 2004
Having watched this film its only gone to confirm what I and most of the people who don't live in the USA think that bush is a clown that should not get a second term in office or the whole world is doomed. Thank God for Michael Moore Having watched this film its only gone to confirm what I and most of the people who don't live in the USA think that bush is a clown that should not get a second term in office or the whole world is doomed. Thank God for Michael Moore lifting the lid on some awful unhanded things that the bush admin have been up to since they came to power. Thats why this film won best picture in Cannes. To everyone who thought this was a load of lies....open your eyes and get your head out of the sand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimOJul 5, 2004
The funniest parts of this movie were when Bush was talking on his ranch and at camp david. I really don't think he has a full functioning brain. But seriously so what if Mike spinned some stuff to show his point, he did an incredible The funniest parts of this movie were when Bush was talking on his ranch and at camp david. I really don't think he has a full functioning brain. But seriously so what if Mike spinned some stuff to show his point, he did an incredible job. Bush has made far too many mistakes that hurt America, 4 years was way too much for me, see ya later Georgie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndreaE.Jul 5, 2004
More akin to a newspaper editorial column than a news story, Michael Moore puts his opinion (that you should not re-elect Bush) to film in a witty, subversive, and entertaining way. The research (to support that opinion) is superficial, but More akin to a newspaper editorial column than a news story, Michael Moore puts his opinion (that you should not re-elect Bush) to film in a witty, subversive, and entertaining way. The research (to support that opinion) is superficial, but any thinking person can see what is opinion, and what is fact, and hopefully clarify their own opinions via the issues he touches on. Creative use of music, spot-on edits, and a flow that keeps your interest, is what I saw good about this film. Too many people are misunderstanding that to like this film is to agree with it, and to disagree with it requires one to dislike it. Let's try that standard on Chein Andalou. All those who like popped eyeballs can think it is a good film and all those who find it gross can think that whole film is bad? This IS good documentary film making, which needs to be seen in context to its intentions (to present one man's opinion, much like a newspaper editorial column) not judged by whether one agrees with that man's opinion or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
W.WagnerJul 5, 2004
Forces you to question not only the state of our country and its leaders, but also your own views regarding all things political. Hilarious and heartbreaking file footage makes the film. If only Moore could have kept his hatred on the Forces you to question not only the state of our country and its leaders, but also your own views regarding all things political. Hilarious and heartbreaking file footage makes the film. If only Moore could have kept his hatred on the cutting room floor and allowed the evidence to mount on its own; that would have bolstered the argument and sharpened the sting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryR.Jul 4, 2004
I don't know quite what to say about this movie. I was shocked by the utter horror and depravity of this administration. Moore has successfully disclosed an administration that is like a rotten onion; the more you peel, the worse you I don't know quite what to say about this movie. I was shocked by the utter horror and depravity of this administration. Moore has successfully disclosed an administration that is like a rotten onion; the more you peel, the worse you cry. I was deeply moved by Moore's conviction and courage. I can think of no one, including Al Franken, that has done a better job of revealing just how bad an unelected president can be and why we now deparately need the democratic process to work for the people this time. Sue your way into office? Only democracy loses. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattR.Jul 4, 2004
I find it hilarious that the typical conservative attack against this film is the usual "this is unsubstantiated propaganga! It's one sided!". Fine, prove it. PROVE that Saddam did have WMD or links to 9/11, PROVE that Bush isn't I find it hilarious that the typical conservative attack against this film is the usual "this is unsubstantiated propaganga! It's one sided!". Fine, prove it. PROVE that Saddam did have WMD or links to 9/11, PROVE that Bush isn't in cohoots with the Bin Laden family, PROVE that soldiers aren't being the short end of the stick by veteran benefits, and more importantly, PROVE that Moore's facts are untrue (funny, considering the most disturbing segments are those when dubya speaks and are therefore unstaged). Until then, deal with the fact that Moore had the drive and guts to make this piece. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidM.Jul 4, 2004
The rating given above says it all. See this movie. Be moved. Be awakened. Learn. To John K: We mourn the loss of Paul Johnson and Nick Berg - victims of war and all the atrocities associated with it. People like you are most unfortunate and The rating given above says it all. See this movie. Be moved. Be awakened. Learn. To John K: We mourn the loss of Paul Johnson and Nick Berg - victims of war and all the atrocities associated with it. People like you are most unfortunate and you sully humanity by stating that Michael Moore should be beheaded as these poor innnocents were. The likes of you, as the appointed one's base, are despotic, fundamentalistic, tunnel-visioned, dogmatic and unwilling to deal with reality portrayed in this movie (documentary or not). We have one who is appointed to the highest office in the land denying the reality of this war and the strategic deception that created it. Why focus on the coffins coming home (in fact, he suppresses all of this and as much dissent as his "team" can muster)? Why focus on the dead Iraqi innocents when he can focus on profit and his messianic vision of "peace" and "freedom". The images of this war are ugly and distasteful - because that is the nature of war, sir. Michael Moore and other sources of news like Al Jazeera bring home the truth and you refer to it as treason and propaganda. What about the massive American propaganda machine? The truth of this war is bitter as is your denial of it. Yank your head out of the sand, sir. People are dying - Americans and Iraqis. This war is horrible in the extreme (and getting worse) and this great country's name is sullied in the world by the acts of an imperialist who chose to deceive the world in launching this preemptive offensive. This country is now in greater danger of being attacked than ever before. Sad to say, but it's true - we are no more "secure" today than we were pre 9/11. The truth of the war is bitter, sir. You might deny it to others, but be kind to yourself and don't deny it to yourself. Question what you have been told by this administration as we question Michael Moore, too. Keep your mind and heart open - Open to reality. Open to truth. Peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnC.Jul 4, 2004
Well done & by-and-large factualty correct. I don't buy that pipeline stuff though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterA.Jul 4, 2004
This movie was a brilliant achievement, one of the most patriotic compositions ever put to cellulite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MistyJul 4, 2004
Things that make you go hmmm! Everyone should know the Gore should have been our President. But no, with all the right people in place, no one could beat a cheater. No matter what, Bush will be our President for another term if that pipeline Things that make you go hmmm! Everyone should know the Gore should have been our President. But no, with all the right people in place, no one could beat a cheater. No matter what, Bush will be our President for another term if that pipeline is not finished. He will make sure of that. Everyone knows that there is no other reason for our soldiers to still be in Iraq risking their lives for nothing. Bush still have not found weapons of mass destruction, but he has struck gold (OIL). I hope that the pipeline is finished before his term is up. That way so many of our American soldiers won't continue to die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PrestonF.Jul 4, 2004
Entertaining, no matter you're view on Mr. Moore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnL.Jul 3, 2004
Go see the movie. Then donate to the Kerry campaign.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KittyM.Jul 3, 2004
every documentary has an angle. there's no such thing as a truly objective documentary. moore can get to the masses, which is great! most documentaries i see depicting the true, sad ongoings in the world reach few theatres. for those every documentary has an angle. there's no such thing as a truly objective documentary. moore can get to the masses, which is great! most documentaries i see depicting the true, sad ongoings in the world reach few theatres. for those who are still in denial, Moore has a plenty of papers to back up his film! i'm sure his fact checkers will gladly send the blinded some evidence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyR.Jul 3, 2004
Sure, it's one-sided. But it doesn't pretend not to be. And I saw more caring for what this country is supposed to be, more compassion for human suffering and more of the right questions than I've seen from anywhere else right Sure, it's one-sided. But it doesn't pretend not to be. And I saw more caring for what this country is supposed to be, more compassion for human suffering and more of the right questions than I've seen from anywhere else right now. At this important time in our history, it's the best kind of propaganda there is - the kind that demands that we live up to what we think we are as a country and stop blinking away the inconvenient facts. Kudos to Moore for having the guts to say it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LinhN.Jul 3, 2004
There is an obvious rift between the 1's and 9's here, and the right and left wingers, but let me ask one question... whats so wrong about being overly critical and skeptical about what our president is doing and how he acts, There is an obvious rift between the 1's and 9's here, and the right and left wingers, but let me ask one question... whats so wrong about being overly critical and skeptical about what our president is doing and how he acts, aren't we supposed to question our leadership? isnt this America? Isnt this a democracy? If you want a biased take on Bush, his actions, his war, etc then you should watch this movie, if you dont, you should see it just to be capable of realizing the otherside might have some type of point. nothing i mean absolutely nothing can rid me of the image of our president immedietly after the attacks on the world trade center. How did we elect a president so indecisive? If i was a betting man I would bet that not one other former president would have acted the way Mr. Bush acted that day. He was like your sports superstar who couldnt take the shot at the end not because he didnt have enough time, just because he didnt know how to. thats how bad it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SethB.Jul 3, 2004
Slanted, one sided, yes-but most documentaries I've seen are. Moore does not like this administration and gives facts and ideas to support his veiw. For all the detractors of the movie, show me some facts supporting your veiw that Slanted, one sided, yes-but most documentaries I've seen are. Moore does not like this administration and gives facts and ideas to support his veiw. For all the detractors of the movie, show me some facts supporting your veiw that Bush-Cheney are actually good for the country and it's people. It might me that there is no defense for this false, embarassing President now in control of the country. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TaylorJ.Jul 3, 2004
The most patriotic and emotionally moving movie that I've ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DennisP.Jul 2, 2004
Considering how corrupt and incompetent this administration is, I actually thought that Moore was a little too soft on Georgie W.Bush and his cabal of neoconservative ideologues. Still, huge kudos to Michael Moore for showing what the Considering how corrupt and incompetent this administration is, I actually thought that Moore was a little too soft on Georgie W.Bush and his cabal of neoconservative ideologues. Still, huge kudos to Michael Moore for showing what the corporate press will not. It's not only Bush who looks despicable here, but the mainstream media as well, who did nothing but cheerlead this horrible, unnecessary war. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful