Fahrenheit 9/11

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 495 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LucaT.
    Jun 29, 2004
    2
    Much of this information was already known, in fact, CBC's 'the fifth estate' did a special on the ties between the Bin Ladens and the Bushs which was more informative, better produced and better written. The movie had far too many news clips and irrelevant Micheal Moore clips (what was up with the peace group???) . I would have rather watched Bowling for Columbine again!!
  2. DarwinF.
    Jul 20, 2004
    0
    Left wing liberal propaganda without any opportunity for debate. Mr. Moore is very convincing at placing blame but does not provide a fair chance to respond to his charges. For that reason this film cannot be classified as a documentary. Instead it is a paid (by you) commercial for Kerry/Edwards. Very disappointing to say the least.
  3. DonaldI.
    Sep 2, 2004
    2
    It is truly fortunate that Michael Moore still lives in America. If he released this piece of tripe in another country, he'd most likely be imprisoned before he could utter another larcenous, poisonous word. A totally irresponsible work by a man not particularly noted for his balanced sense of perspective. Not exactly a good quality in someone who proclaims himself to be a It is truly fortunate that Michael Moore still lives in America. If he released this piece of tripe in another country, he'd most likely be imprisoned before he could utter another larcenous, poisonous word. A totally irresponsible work by a man not particularly noted for his balanced sense of perspective. Not exactly a good quality in someone who proclaims himself to be a documentary filmaker. If he is such, then Leni Riefenstahl should qualify for that honor as well. An utterly reprehensible mess. I can't seem to make up my mind if he should be tried for treason or just simply ignored for filming it. This film has gotten too much recognition as is. Save your money. Expand
  4. Brendan
    Jun 24, 2004
    0
    Absolute terrible presentation of a viewpoint supported only by fiction. Moore like the coward he is fails to give the facts, and like the Hollywood today, has fallen victim to the mental disorder of liberalism and Bush-bashing
  5. JoeR.
    Jun 25, 2004
    1
    WHAT A BUNCH OF LIES! But I guess thats what most movies are, FICTION. Good thing MM lives in a country that provides him the right to make such garbage.
  6. JimS.
    Jul 1, 2004
    1
    I just saw that Hezbollah endorsed the film & wants to distribute it to all of its associates in the middle east. That's one hell of an endorsement! And driving by the Federal Building in LA yesterday, I saw posters showing Michael Moore as a god-like figure and Bush with a swastika on his head. Is this what the left wing in this country has come to??? Nice movie...
  7. Amber
    Jul 11, 2004
    0
    I have to laugh at how all you liberals are being taken in by this BS piece of propaganda. No one is denying that it it is more important who you know, than what you know. All in a free society network. Moore's film is meant to swing your vote against the current administration. Brainwashing is a wonderful instrument when used against individuals who are unable to think for I have to laugh at how all you liberals are being taken in by this BS piece of propaganda. No one is denying that it it is more important who you know, than what you know. All in a free society network. Moore's film is meant to swing your vote against the current administration. Brainwashing is a wonderful instrument when used against individuals who are unable to think for themselves. Research all the facts before jumping to the predictable conclusion this Canadian wants you to make. Be careful what you wish for... Expand
  8. Fantasy
    Jul 10, 2004
    0
    I don't care if you are a Republican or Democrat but you need to open your eyes. The Bush administration may have a lot to answer for and that is certainly true. But the way, Michael Moore, a Canadian portrays him is disrespectful, totally unfair and taken out of context. This is a film that delves heavily into innuendo with unsupported allegations. The summations are spoon fed to I don't care if you are a Republican or Democrat but you need to open your eyes. The Bush administration may have a lot to answer for and that is certainly true. But the way, Michael Moore, a Canadian portrays him is disrespectful, totally unfair and taken out of context. This is a film that delves heavily into innuendo with unsupported allegations. The summations are spoon fed to the audience as the entire film is subjective. What's so troubling is that Mr. Moore, a Canadian, is attempting to swing the vote in an election year. If not for the United States, Mr. Moore and his fellow Canadians would all be speaking German this morning lest he ever forget. If you buy into his left wing liberal ideaology, it's not his son or daughter who will be drafted. Although the film is very clever be aware that it is a total piece of propaganda to influence your vote. Expand
  9. Melissa
    Jul 2, 2004
    0
    What a bunch of B.S. Lying liberal dogma. Mr. Moore takes tragedy and turns it into gold for himself. What a traitor to this country.
  10. KaynI
    Jul 3, 2004
    0
    Fahrenheit is a movie length political ad. Moore appears to be a bitter person filled with hatred. I would not recommend Americans to trust such a man. Bitterness and hatred impairs sound judgement. I can see his delusion from the other side of the world (Nagaland). Acquiring wealth making movies, living in comfort and security, Moore can never comprehend what it's like staring Fahrenheit is a movie length political ad. Moore appears to be a bitter person filled with hatred. I would not recommend Americans to trust such a man. Bitterness and hatred impairs sound judgement. I can see his delusion from the other side of the world (Nagaland). Acquiring wealth making movies, living in comfort and security, Moore can never comprehend what it's like staring terror face to face. In one flashing moment, with clarity...you can see the face of evil. President Bush can see that and that's what Americans soldiers are fighting against and Moore is bent on stopping him. Please take my word for it, I know what terror is. Expand
  11. LukeJ.
    Jul 6, 2004
    1
    Unfortunately, it is a complete travesty to call this film a documentary. Calling it a documentary is quite possibly the furthest thing from the truth. Michael Moore has put together a masterful film, that no one can argue. However, the mastery is rooted within the films clever editing techniques which only serve to perpetuate Michael Moore's false premise. The film at times does Unfortunately, it is a complete travesty to call this film a documentary. Calling it a documentary is quite possibly the furthest thing from the truth. Michael Moore has put together a masterful film, that no one can argue. However, the mastery is rooted within the films clever editing techniques which only serve to perpetuate Michael Moore's false premise. The film at times does come right out and lie, however, this is not what happens in the majority of the film. Rather, Michael Moore chooses to leave out crucial details allowing him to paint his own version of events. I suggest that anyone viewing this film do a little research about its truthfulness. I further suggest you read the review found in Newsweek by David Gates as it outlines many of the film's inherent flaws. Expand
  12. BobH.
    Jul 9, 2004
    0
    Michael Moore has done a masterful job of spinning his web of innuendo and deceipt against the current administration. It really doesn't matter which Party you support. Because a film like this is so masterfully designed that it will make you challenge your own beliefs? It will make you laugh, cry and eventually drive you to your boiling point. This is what it was intended to do. It Michael Moore has done a masterful job of spinning his web of innuendo and deceipt against the current administration. It really doesn't matter which Party you support. Because a film like this is so masterfully designed that it will make you challenge your own beliefs? It will make you laugh, cry and eventually drive you to your boiling point. This is what it was intended to do. It is the ultimate in propaganda films and a must see. After viewing it you will understand exactly why American's are so despised. Of course this has billed as a documentary. But strangely, the accused have no opportunity to refute the charges made against them, or to present their point of view. Only the writer and producer one Michael Moore as the Judge and Jury. He will have you believe that The "Three Stooges" and their inbred cousins are running our country. His ultra left wing liberal views are so transparent. But in making his point he reveals his own hypocrisy. For example, it's a well known fact that the Armed Services recruit from the impoverished regions of the U.S. Every country has done so from the beginning of time. It affords impoverished youth to earn money for college and the opportunity to learn a trade? It's a great offer in times of peace. Did those who enlisted of their free will actually think they were joining the Boy Scouts? Michael goes to Capital Hill to see if he can induce any of our legislators to send their own children into harm's way. Needless to say they brush him off. His fallacy in asking this question is what would happen if he asked the same thing of his Left Wing Hollywood friends? They too would look at him incredulously? What affluent American in his right mind is going to send his kid into war? Of course, the failing with the entire liberal majority is that if no one enlisted, then the draft would have to be reenacted. Let's see how many would then be willing to send their own children to their deaths? How come the Hollywood Liberals do not send money to Flint, Michigan and other needy regions to abolish poverty? But, Michael if he can swing the election for the Democrats can't wait until he sleeps on that fine linen he makes fun of in the White House. Michael will take the $50 million in blood money and sleep very well as our brave soldiers die on the battlefield. Is this a great country or what? Where else can you Monday morning quarterback against your own government without any fear of reprisal? Try that in the Middle East and see what happens? We fail to recognize that indeed America is a Capitalistic society. And thank God it is. Expand
  13. BillyB.
    Oct 14, 2004
    3
    Yet another reason why it's ridiculous to claim that this film is a "documentary" -- Moore fails to show that 73% of all soldiers in today's military support President Bush. Instead, he spotlights a deserter and the mother of a killed soldier. Great sample there, Mike.
  14. dsmobey
    Oct 15, 2004
    3
    Despite all the praise, and regardless of politics, it all falls to pieces at last with the fat lady walking around crying. It seems like she is the last 1/3 of the film. Moore seems to think she sums up everything, but she has little to say and what she does say is contradictory. She certainly doesn't sell the point. If it were a 10 point movie (and it's not) up until then, Despite all the praise, and regardless of politics, it all falls to pieces at last with the fat lady walking around crying. It seems like she is the last 1/3 of the film. Moore seems to think she sums up everything, but she has little to say and what she does say is contradictory. She certainly doesn't sell the point. If it were a 10 point movie (and it's not) up until then, you'd have to subtract at least five points for wasting my time and his film. Expand
  15. CarolC.
    Oct 18, 2004
    0
    Lee, you're here to discuss the film? Okay, you really believe that our President and his administration are in cahoots with bin Laden with regard to 911 and this is a coverup? C'mon, have some common sense. Moore twists answers to match up with questions that were NEVER posed to those who respond. And you think this a fair and balanced film? In any other country but America, Lee, you're here to discuss the film? Okay, you really believe that our President and his administration are in cahoots with bin Laden with regard to 911 and this is a coverup? C'mon, have some common sense. Moore twists answers to match up with questions that were NEVER posed to those who respond. And you think this a fair and balanced film? In any other country but America, Moore and Commie thinkers such as you from the left wing would be in jail or worse. The bottom line is that we did not start the Great Jihad. The Muslims want you dead on that you can be certain. Where do you want to fight the war? In the streets of America or across the pond in Iraq? Your choice home or away as nothing else matters. Before 911 you will have us all believe that there was no chance of bin Laden attacking America either. Take your liberal BS and go bye-bye. As for the movie if you want to reflect on its worthiness as a documentary then by all means do so. But to say it was fair is nothing more than bold faced lie. Moore is left wing liberal who prefers that the Bush administration be toppled. To use the greatest tragedy in American history as his sounding board discredits the brave men and women fighting to protect our way of life. Expand
  16. [Anonymous]
    Jun 25, 2004
    0
    How can anyone say this movie is fully accurate and truthful when the intent of this Bush-hating director is apparent. He picks and chooses the material he has to destroy W. If you are a negative person and relate to the negativity of Moore and Kerry, by all means, see it. Better to be positive and proactive in my book. This movie is "passive negatism" at its worst. My production called How can anyone say this movie is fully accurate and truthful when the intent of this Bush-hating director is apparent. He picks and chooses the material he has to destroy W. If you are a negative person and relate to the negativity of Moore and Kerry, by all means, see it. Better to be positive and proactive in my book. This movie is "passive negatism" at its worst. My production called "Bill" will be 2 hours staring at a cigar and explaining its uses - all true! Expand
  17. StanJ.
    Jun 26, 2004
    0
    Absolute garbage. Mr. moore was just chatting with the British media and said the American public was the dumbest group of people in the world... I'm sure he was refering to those on his side of the aisle who march in lockstep and buy into this trash without questioning anything... Iraq wasn't such a bad place before we got there? Tell that to the Kurds and the untold thousands Absolute garbage. Mr. moore was just chatting with the British media and said the American public was the dumbest group of people in the world... I'm sure he was refering to those on his side of the aisle who march in lockstep and buy into this trash without questioning anything... Iraq wasn't such a bad place before we got there? Tell that to the Kurds and the untold thousands who were systematically slaughtered, dismembered and raped by the Hussein family... Bush lied about the WMD's and Iraq's links to al-Qaida? Umm- no... There is more and more evidence coming out daily of each of these... Unfortunately you just won't hear about it from Dan Rather... Hmm, and let's see, Vladimir Putin last weekend announced to the world that his own Russian intelligence agents gave the US information before the war that the Iraqi's were planning attacks against the US at home and abroad- that's HUGE news (not to mention a huge blow to Mr. moore and his fellow spineless, limp-wristed, blowhard left-wing wacko friends) why is it not being reported? Too bad the media of this country is far too close to the side of Mr. moore... Expand
  18. MarcusQ.
    Jun 26, 2004
    0
    AWFUL MOVIE, Was not even close to the real truth, Michael Moore is a liar and a traitor to his country!
  19. PatC.
    Jun 27, 2004
    1
    Prequel to a future award-winning documentary about a filmmaker's rabid personality disorder. Holds American leadership to a hypothetical standard that humans, especially the likes of Mr. Moore, cannot and have never satisfied. Of course Cannes liked it - they're the ones without petroleum resources who get an uninterrupted supply without expending any guilt or blood. Excuse me, Prequel to a future award-winning documentary about a filmmaker's rabid personality disorder. Holds American leadership to a hypothetical standard that humans, especially the likes of Mr. Moore, cannot and have never satisfied. Of course Cannes liked it - they're the ones without petroleum resources who get an uninterrupted supply without expending any guilt or blood. Excuse me, but our government officials and those of us who unapologetically use petroleum products did not fly those airliners into those buildings. 1 point for demonstrating that our system of government still protects a cheap-shot imbecile's right to speak out. Maybe another point later on if our country proves wise enough to sort out the hypocrisy inflicted by the irresponsible polarizers on both sides. Expand
  20. D.A.
    Jun 28, 2004
    0
    Michael Moore twisted and created "information" to back up his bogus points. He blatantly states false information and assumes more than he is due.
  21. JamesF.
    Jun 30, 2004
    0
    Excuse me, uh, Kel R, (4 messages down), it's called homophobia. keisha's performance had more passion.
  22. Stan.R.
    Jul 16, 2004
    3
    Quick update on the children of Congress score. Sam Bond, son of Republican Senator Kit Bond, is finishing up training at Quantico's infantry officer's school and will be heading off to Iraq shortly. From what I just heard at MSNBC, Senator bond didn't "sign his son up" for the service, he did it under his own free will, his own sense of duty. So those of you looking for a Quick update on the children of Congress score. Sam Bond, son of Republican Senator Kit Bond, is finishing up training at Quantico's infantry officer's school and will be heading off to Iraq shortly. From what I just heard at MSNBC, Senator bond didn't "sign his son up" for the service, he did it under his own free will, his own sense of duty. So those of you looking for a tangible example of the kids of those in power volunteering for the war, there's one for you. Sorry Mikey... (Sucks that a patriotic act screws with your thesis, huh! Sucks that every time your country makes progress, you look like a fool. Trust me, rooting against the united states will always be a losing postion, Mike. But I'm sure France will always have their arms open to you...) Expand
  23. BrandonE.
    Jul 1, 2004
    0
    It is not Bush that is dividing the country like some people think, but movies like this supported by Democrats who can't stand that Bush is in control. Bush-Cheney 2004!!
  24. JohnK.
    Jul 3, 2004
    0
    Give me a break. Documentary? Hardly. Your film needs to at least be based on real facts to qualify for a documetary. This film is dangerous propoganda at best and high treason at worst... Mr. Moore's pandering to our enemies in a time of war is beyond despicable. Pity we couldn't have traded Mr. Moore for Paul Johnson or Nick Berg. Don't give this clown a penny of your Give me a break. Documentary? Hardly. Your film needs to at least be based on real facts to qualify for a documetary. This film is dangerous propoganda at best and high treason at worst... Mr. Moore's pandering to our enemies in a time of war is beyond despicable. Pity we couldn't have traded Mr. Moore for Paul Johnson or Nick Berg. Don't give this clown a penny of your hard earned cash. Expand
  25. ColbyC.
    Jul 3, 2004
    1
    Mr. Moore attempts to make 2+2=5 throughout this movie. Bush's family has done business with the Bin Ladins (who, except for their RENOUNCED family member Osama, are well respected businessmen throughout the world), therefore Mr. Bush allowed them to "OWN AMERICA" (which Mr. Moore says throughout the movie.) Walking away from Fahrenheit 9/11 was that doing business with Saudis means Mr. Moore attempts to make 2+2=5 throughout this movie. Bush's family has done business with the Bin Ladins (who, except for their RENOUNCED family member Osama, are well respected businessmen throughout the world), therefore Mr. Bush allowed them to "OWN AMERICA" (which Mr. Moore says throughout the movie.) Walking away from Fahrenheit 9/11 was that doing business with Saudis means you hate America, support terrorism, and are a bad person. Expand
  26. DaleG.
    Jul 6, 2004
    2
    Nobody is challenging Moore's right to speak his mind, but they have the duty to point out where he is being misleading. In response to the previous reviewer, if you truly support Michael Moore's message, you CANNOT vote for Kerry/Edwards, two Senators who voted to authorize the Iraq War. You MUST, if you have any conscience at all, Vote for RALPH NADER. My problem with the film Nobody is challenging Moore's right to speak his mind, but they have the duty to point out where he is being misleading. In response to the previous reviewer, if you truly support Michael Moore's message, you CANNOT vote for Kerry/Edwards, two Senators who voted to authorize the Iraq War. You MUST, if you have any conscience at all, Vote for RALPH NADER. My problem with the film is this: there were so many problems with the intelligence going into the war, and a true investiation into why Kerry, Hillary Clinton, and other world leaders relied on this faulty intelligence is at the core of what went wrong with the war. If Bush lied, so did Kerry and so did Hillary. The most that all of them can be guilty of is relying on sub-par intelligence, and that is certainly not lying. But again, if you want to vote for an anti-war candidate, your ONLY choice is RALPH NADER (because Howard Dean, the only Democrat against the war, is now out of the race). Expand
  27. JasonM.
    Aug 1, 2004
    0
    A 3rd grade attack with little more than urban legend type support for its claims. Sad that this is so popular, it illustrates that lack of critical thinking in American and elsewhere. Figures, the democrats are "so good" with education, can't even teach people to be skeptical when watching a movie. Jokeametary.
  28. AndréR.
    Aug 25, 2004
    0
    Not at all a documentary just a tendentious fiction movie with merely political objectives.
  29. RachelO.
    Aug 2, 2004
    0
    Nadine, ignorant? Did you read that Mr. bin Laden, not the notorious black sheep Osama saw the film and reported all of the inaccuracies. Only one member of the extensive family went to the wedding. The family was not flown out of the US the next day after 9/11. To discredit an entire family because Michael Moore wants all bin Laden's to be terrorist to place blame on Bush is Nadine, ignorant? Did you read that Mr. bin Laden, not the notorious black sheep Osama saw the film and reported all of the inaccuracies. Only one member of the extensive family went to the wedding. The family was not flown out of the US the next day after 9/11. To discredit an entire family because Michael Moore wants all bin Laden's to be terrorist to place blame on Bush is ludicrous. This is nothing more than hurtful propaganda with a vengeful purpose. The film is a joke and is not in anyway a documentary. Let's see how many affluent American's would send their sons and daughters into harms way? The answer is none. Expand
  30. JasonF.
    Aug 7, 2004
    0
    Ralph Nader for President now that's the ticket. What are his qualifications? Consumer affairs? You would have to be a complete moron to waste your time and a vote on a know nothing who would not be able to acheive a thing in the Congress controlled by the Asses and Elephants. As for the movie it was a jokementary. Only a complete moron could actually believe the distorted twisted Ralph Nader for President now that's the ticket. What are his qualifications? Consumer affairs? You would have to be a complete moron to waste your time and a vote on a know nothing who would not be able to acheive a thing in the Congress controlled by the Asses and Elephants. As for the movie it was a jokementary. Only a complete moron could actually believe the distorted twisted facts as presented by one Michael Moore. This might play on Saturday night as a spoof but anyone who knows the facts must realize that this was pure BS liberal propaganda. It was laughable. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Moore stays "on message" here from first shot to last. There is no debate, no analysis of facts or search for historical context. Moore simply wants to blame one man and his family for the situation in Iraq the United States now finds itself in…So the real question is not how good a film is Fahrenheit 9/11 -- it is undoubtedly Moore's weakest -- but will a film help to get a president fired?
  2. Reviewed by: David Gates
    60
    That's the real problem with Fahrenheit 9/11: not the message, but the method… Moore’s default mode is overkill: he even notes that on the night before the attacks Bush slept on "fine French linen." Surely scratchy muslin wouldn't have stopped the evildoers.
  3. 70
    Fahrenheit 9/11 offers the thrill of a coherent explanation for everything, but parts of the movie are no better than a wild, lunging grab at a supposed master plan. [28 June 2004, p. 108]