Falcon Song

Falcon Song Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
10

Universal acclaim- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A guitar playing drifter helps a rancher's granddaughter find her true calling.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Mar 20, 2014
    50
    With its developers-versus-ranchers intrigue and touches of magic realism, the movie ends up playing like a mild-tempered oddity.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    It's a light drama pulled from the recent past. Not too subtle, but the
    movie stays honest. I haven't seen anything like this since Dallas,
    It's a light drama pulled from the recent past. Not too subtle, but the
    movie stays honest. I haven't seen anything like this since Dallas,
    Alf, and Little House on the Prairie were on TV. It's kitsch - some
    people get that and some people don't. It comes across like a simple
    film, but I think it takes a sophisticated viewer to understand the
    point. It was fun seeing Martin Kove again in a movie (the sweep the
    leg guy from Karate Kid). Gabriel Sunday was really funny, but I
    wouldn't say it's a "Caddyshack" comedy but these guys get goofy. Dare I
    say cartoon-like? That was the style of a lot of great eighties movies.
    Falcon Song finds something new in something old lol. I enjoyed it.
    Cool poster - feels like the film!
    Collapse
  2. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    This film stands out to me because of the successful creation of a storybook world. It seems to cut all ties from modern references in itsThis film stands out to me because of the successful creation of a storybook world. It seems to cut all ties from modern references in its plight to give us something nostalgic, yet entirely new. It's glossed over in a subtle way, almost like the memories of a 80's pop culture junkie, but WITHOUT any pop culture references. Falcon Song is not self aware, yet true to its cinematic heritage. This may be the film's strongest feature.

    Gabriel Sunday is an explosive talent and his performance seems to charge each scene with a natural magnetism. Rainey Qualley plays it down, delivering a great opposite to Sunday and maintains this special balance as a girl with suppressed passions. Martin Kove seems to dig deeper into his character than many of his recent roles, including a humorous nod to 1930's Erol Flynn in the quirky finale. James Storm has a commanding presence and subtlety in his delivery that is solid as a rock.

    The movie makes a valiant attempt at reviving a lost style. While clearly low budget, the vision is strong and true, despite its several shortcomings in the writing. Falcon Song throws away the crutches often utilized by artists in the independent arena. For this, I am left with a positive impression.
    Expand
  3. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    Revival cinema done right - I like this flick because it plays like a rarity in today's film world. It's an authentic homage to a past era inRevival cinema done right - I like this flick because it plays like a rarity in today's film world. It's an authentic homage to a past era in cinema minus the "remember when" irony that usually leads retro movies. While its certainly not the most moving story, it does create a sense of escapism. The look, dialogue, and acting style definitely nails the old school. Film buffs will appreciate this aspect, while others just seeking beautiful landscapes, horses, ranch life, and western Americana will be appeased. Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.