User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 629 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 4, 2014
    2
    Very poor. Ben Grimm looks very sorry, looking like hardened Play-Doh instead of rock. Susan Storm (Jessica Alba) is here for the looks only, serving no real purpose to the story. The only good characters (heroes) in this story are Johnny Storm (insanely funny and awesome) and Reed Richards. The only two good characters come from good casting, while the others are misfires. Whoever wasVery poor. Ben Grimm looks very sorry, looking like hardened Play-Doh instead of rock. Susan Storm (Jessica Alba) is here for the looks only, serving no real purpose to the story. The only good characters (heroes) in this story are Johnny Storm (insanely funny and awesome) and Reed Richards. The only two good characters come from good casting, while the others are misfires. Whoever was responsible for casting Ben Grimm and Sue Storm needs to have their eyeballs shoved into their nasal cavity. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2014
    3
    With the news about the reboot of this super-hero group teaming up, I thought it was time to review this movie that is so silly to care much for. This super-hero flick carries an impressive cast but it's served with amounts of clich├ęs and mediocre special effects.
  3. Dec 23, 2011
    2
    Fantastic four assembles the worst cast to play superheroes I have ever seen. Boy do they do a bad job of it. It has okay special effects but a cheesey story. I give this movie 23%.
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    3
    Spiderman 2 raised the bar for the superhero movie. Fantastic Four misses the cut in every way imaginable.
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    You could torture people with this movie.
  6. Aug 28, 2010
    3
    probubly one of the most boring comic book movies ever done . you have 4 super heroes who dont fight crime and dont do much of any thing els till the very end . which is so anticlimatic and dull i wanted to forget i saw it. the only appealing parts of this film is jessica alba in her underware and the film starts out kinda intresting then just falls down the toilet into bordem.
  7. WesselK.
    Dec 13, 2005
    3
    If there's no story, the special effects have no function, and the characters are cartboard.
  8. May 17, 2015
    0
    Fantastic Four had the chance at being a spectacular action movie. This movie misses the mark in every way. The effects are alright at best, the story is lame and the cast was poorly assembled. The only actor that fits the movie is Jessica Alba having starred in Sin City the same year. A ton of money was blown on producing this movie. Another fantastic four movie is on the way with a newFantastic Four had the chance at being a spectacular action movie. This movie misses the mark in every way. The effects are alright at best, the story is lame and the cast was poorly assembled. The only actor that fits the movie is Jessica Alba having starred in Sin City the same year. A ton of money was blown on producing this movie. Another fantastic four movie is on the way with a new cast. I've seen the new cast and I still believe they could have cast appropriate actors. However, I'm not surprised they made another movie because this movie is absolutely dreadful. Expand
  9. DustinW.
    Jul 13, 2005
    3
    Plays like the first two hours of a four-hour movie. Kept waiting for something to actually happen. All character exposition and no action or plot.
  10. JayS.
    Jul 10, 2005
    2
    I'm a comic book fan. I drank two caffinated sodas and still fell asleep. This movie is a prime example of bloated hollywood fatcats selling out for pretty faces, shallow sex appeal, and mindless special effects over actual artistic expression, acting talent, and imagination. This movie plucks the heart and conviction out of comic book heroism and the mavel universe.
  11. LouS.
    Jul 8, 2005
    2
    Just plain STUPID. The story and dialogue is dumb, the special effects look cheesy as hell even if they are 'cutting edge,' and Dr. Doom has to be the LAMEST villain ever to grace an action film. He's supposed to look threatening but instead he looks more like a cheap Halloween costume. This movie isn't all bad. Jessica Alba is pretty hot as they milk a dozen or so Just plain STUPID. The story and dialogue is dumb, the special effects look cheesy as hell even if they are 'cutting edge,' and Dr. Doom has to be the LAMEST villain ever to grace an action film. He's supposed to look threatening but instead he looks more like a cheap Halloween costume. This movie isn't all bad. Jessica Alba is pretty hot as they milk a dozen or so risque jokes out of her powers (but she doesn't look right as a blonde - stick with your original color) . The Human Torch/missile chase is easily the best action sequence here. Michael Chiklis actually delivers a good performance, far better than this movie deserves - he's so sympathetic as the Thing, even the bad make-up design can't sink his performance. But, that doesn't compensate for the rest of the picture, which stinks. Go rent Spider-Man 1 or 2, or go see Batman Begins if you're at the theater, but I'd wait for this to come out on video and make use of that FAST FORWARD button because you'll only need to see 20, maybe 25 minutes of this. Expand
  12. Tonydannie
    Jul 10, 2005
    0
    Here I go like a fool to see this movie expecting greatness. That is what i get when i get my hopes to high. This movie was a slap on the face! It is like Marvel decided to punish us for going ga ga over Batman Begins. Who in their right mind would have gotten The diriector of "Taxi" To make something that could have been so much better! But instead, This guy destroys it. When it attempts Here I go like a fool to see this movie expecting greatness. That is what i get when i get my hopes to high. This movie was a slap on the face! It is like Marvel decided to punish us for going ga ga over Batman Begins. Who in their right mind would have gotten The diriector of "Taxi" To make something that could have been so much better! But instead, This guy destroys it. When it attempts to add humor it fails by adding annoyance. The action sequences were dull. And The acting is just plain horrible. I am not one to give bad reviews all the time. But my hand was forced to do this because I must warn those who go all drooly over jessica Alba. Stay home! Watch a Dark Angel re run. Dont waste your moola over this flick. If you must go spend happy, see Dark Water This weekend. Or catch War Of the Worlds if you have yet to see it. Or go see Star Wars Episode III for the first time or the 35th time. You have been warned. Expand
  13. JoeW.
    Jul 10, 2005
    1
    This is a very bad movie. It has some of the wost writing ever. It sounds like it was written by eighth graders. "I broke up with you.", "He started it!" Those are actual lines. Nothing makes sense, and the heros spend three quarters of the movie fighting each other. I would give this movie a zero, but it did have some cool effects.
  14. MonKey
    Jul 8, 2005
    0
    If you are looking for a movie full of horrible one liners...well this is for you.
  15. MattA.
    Jul 8, 2005
    2
    Right when I saw who the cast included and who the director was for this comic book remake I wrote it off as crap. I was right.
  16. Nitroglycerine
    Jul 8, 2005
    3
    Apart from the basic story-line of the movie, everything else is pathetic and pitiful. The special effects,the acting and the cheesy dialogues. All of it is a DISASTER.
  17. AdamT.
    Jul 8, 2005
    0
    Would give the equally inept Honeymooners and War of The Worlds a run for their money as the Worst Movie of The Year. A definite Razzberry contender.
  18. AdamN.
    Jul 8, 2005
    2
    Some ok visual effects, but everything else was just terrible.
  19. MalcomM
    Oct 20, 2005
    2
    Those of you who voted 10 for this piece of corny popcorn superhero B-gade flick obviously just got out of a dark and campy cave! Shame on you people! You guys just don't cut it being a critic. Ridiculous, simply ridiculous!
  20. SteveM.
    Jul 10, 2005
    1
    Though this film is sure, at every turn, to keep actual interpersonal relationships to a minimum and trite dialogue and beyond-cliched plot points to a maximum, all while maintaining a hefty amount of gratuitous skin and cleavage (cue Jessica Alba), it somehow ended up being the most interminable experience I've had in a theatre for a long, long time. Perhaps that is a feat in and of Though this film is sure, at every turn, to keep actual interpersonal relationships to a minimum and trite dialogue and beyond-cliched plot points to a maximum, all while maintaining a hefty amount of gratuitous skin and cleavage (cue Jessica Alba), it somehow ended up being the most interminable experience I've had in a theatre for a long, long time. Perhaps that is a feat in and of itself? Or maybe we have some of the most flat acting, one-dimensional characters, and complete lack of anything new, exciting, dynamic, or even really animate to thank for this tremendous stinker. Expand
  21. AlexE.
    Jul 10, 2005
    0
    Please go see "Batman Begins". If you absolutely must see this studio-processed, soulless dreck, then buy a ticket for "Batman Begins" and sneak into a matinee showing. If you must. Only if you must, because it's not worth it. Just please, please, please do not give your money to this movie. If you do, all you are saying is that you don't want to see classic comic books be Please go see "Batman Begins". If you absolutely must see this studio-processed, soulless dreck, then buy a ticket for "Batman Begins" and sneak into a matinee showing. If you must. Only if you must, because it's not worth it. Just please, please, please do not give your money to this movie. If you do, all you are saying is that you don't want to see classic comic books be treated with maturity and respect, but would rather have them be butchered, crammed with inane one-liners and "extreme" sports, and then dressed up in shoddy CG. Please don't support this movie. Expand
  22. DaveS.
    Jul 8, 2005
    0
    Holy crap, these people need to talk to Brad Bird about how to do a heroic quartet right.
  23. RobertN.
    Jul 9, 2005
    1
    Frankly, I can't believe how positive the reviews are for this abysmal flic. I like boneheaded action as much as the next guy, but Fantastic 4 is a major mess. I spent the whole time trying to figure out what the point of the story was. There is no focus, no tension, no one to root for, just set of boring, unlikable characters and disjointed scenes. Take the kids to see Batman Begins Frankly, I can't believe how positive the reviews are for this abysmal flic. I like boneheaded action as much as the next guy, but Fantastic 4 is a major mess. I spent the whole time trying to figure out what the point of the story was. There is no focus, no tension, no one to root for, just set of boring, unlikable characters and disjointed scenes. Take the kids to see Batman Begins and forget this stinker. Expand
  24. RobertoL.
    Sep 17, 2005
    0
    Worst comic book film ever.
  25. JerkGuy
    Oct 11, 2007
    3
    I
  26. TylerG.
    Aug 8, 2007
    0
    A just absolutely horrible film, no plot, the action is almost non-existent, it sucked worse than any movie I could possibly imagine, I would rather watch the CGI animated Barbie Doll movies than see this again. I don't recommend it to anyone. This movie sucks.
  27. AlO.
    Aug 6, 2009
    0
    I could have crapped a better script.
  28. MattyM.
    Dec 10, 2005
    1
    Does every year have to have a super hero movie like 2004's Catwoman? Judging by 2005's Fantastic Four, I'm afraid so.
  29. ClintM.
    Jul 11, 2005
    2
    Stick with the critics on this one and avoid it altogether. I'm always up for mindless summer fun (although I would have loved this one to be in the same league as X-Men, Batman ... or even Daredevil for that matter!). Instead we get a completely pointless, amateur, and quite frankly ... boring movie. I was actually shocked at the below average graphics and HORRIBLY below low acting Stick with the critics on this one and avoid it altogether. I'm always up for mindless summer fun (although I would have loved this one to be in the same league as X-Men, Batman ... or even Daredevil for that matter!). Instead we get a completely pointless, amateur, and quite frankly ... boring movie. I was actually shocked at the below average graphics and HORRIBLY below low acting (this will NOT boost Jessica Alba's asking price). I'd compare the movie to The Thing: stiff, clunky and destructive ... but at least he was solid, something the movie in no way was! Expand
  30. JohnW.
    Jul 10, 2005
    1
    Awful movie. cgi is cruddy compared to so many films that are out now. bad story with mean and boring characters. the point of the story is lost in the first 20 minutes. im still trying to figure out why doom's mask can withstand a supernova like the rest of his body when it's just a humanitarian award (another ?) from a poor country. nobody should see this god awful comic bookAwful movie. cgi is cruddy compared to so many films that are out now. bad story with mean and boring characters. the point of the story is lost in the first 20 minutes. im still trying to figure out why doom's mask can withstand a supernova like the rest of his body when it's just a humanitarian award (another ?) from a poor country. nobody should see this god awful comic book crap when they could see something like Batman Begins. Yech!!! Expand
  31. GlennM.
    Jul 11, 2005
    2
    I agree with Ebert which is somthing considering the Honeymooners ***, and Chicken Run***1/2, reviews.
  32. ZachL.
    Jul 12, 2005
    3
    Disappointing, only worth a rental if that, or just don't go in expecting anything major.
  33. J.H.
    Jul 12, 2005
    2
    Very disappointing. I was looking forward to this movie and cant believe how boring this was. I did manage to watch it all but was watching the clock the whole time for it to be over. I loved Ioan Gruffudd in horatio hornblower and feel sorry for him now hope his career isn't over. This is only worth a rental.
  34. BJN.
    Jul 23, 2005
    2
    Bad writing, bad tv movie acting, annoying characters, it looked juvenile in previews and it is. Charmless and the first movie in years I could have walked out of and not cared.
  35. Alann.
    Jul 7, 2005
    1
    This film may be the best unintentional comedy of the summer. Don't get me wrong -- as a serious, believable film -- it was an absolute disaster, but I don't think I've laughed this hard at a movie in a while. The best part is that every gadget/etc in this film is so painstakingly obviously labeled (see: "CAUTION: Hyper Cooling Unit"). Poor writing, poor acting, poor This film may be the best unintentional comedy of the summer. Don't get me wrong -- as a serious, believable film -- it was an absolute disaster, but I don't think I've laughed this hard at a movie in a while. The best part is that every gadget/etc in this film is so painstakingly obviously labeled (see: "CAUTION: Hyper Cooling Unit"). Poor writing, poor acting, poor directing. But if you're looking for a comedy that will entertain you -- this is it. Expand
  36. FrankS.
    Jul 8, 2005
    3
    What a waste of time and money... from the studio who created this mess and the viewer who sits through it. I'd rather watch the Roger Corman F4 version that you can find on bootleg at any Comic Book Convention.
  37. TomD.
    Jul 8, 2005
    1
    Minus the stars, there's little to recommend here. Took me right back to 'Wild Wild West', that summer unblockbuster from a few years back. You - don't remember that one? Well, this will be about as memorable in a few years. Nice product tie-ins with SBC, though. Other than that, watch the trailer a bunch and then go see the penguin movie for a much better time.
  38. NickH.
    Jul 8, 2005
    3
    I remember seeing the trailer months ago. I also remember then thinking, "Oh my God. This is going to be horrible." The cheesy catch phrases, dated effects, and "directed by Tim Story" all just made me go *ugh*. Oh, how right I was. It's just bad news when you see a preview for a flick and you can just 'tell' if it's a load of horse dung. Still, being a cynical I remember seeing the trailer months ago. I also remember then thinking, "Oh my God. This is going to be horrible." The cheesy catch phrases, dated effects, and "directed by Tim Story" all just made me go *ugh*. Oh, how right I was. It's just bad news when you see a preview for a flick and you can just 'tell' if it's a load of horse dung. Still, being a cynical bastard, I HAD to see it. I went along with some friends (they hadn't had the same preminition that I did) yesterday and I'll say this... I laughed harder at the crap this movie presented me with than I did during the Longest Yard. The dramatic scenes when the heroes discover their powers are actually hilarious poorly scripted failures at "suprise and shock" moments ("Look at me!" - sees floating clothes - "But! I can't!" OR "You're hot..." - glances at nurse, stammering - "Thank you... you too" - pause - "No, you have a horrible fever"). I nearly cried at this unintentional comedy gold. Doctor Doom doesn't seem evil, either. He just seems like an ass (unlike Willem DaFoe in Spiderman - EVIL). Not to mention the poorly paced and directed fight scenes. Why is Tim Story - remember Taxi, that was him - directing what SHOULD be a series of cool and explosive battles? Instead, the 'XXXXTREME' close ups of forcefields or fireballs, numerous flying cars, and combat-based gags end up being as funny as the "dramatic dialouge." Ok, so far we've established the poor dialouge and subpar fights. Need we mention the special effects? Even to the untrained eye you can just tell that Mr. Fantastic should look better when he's all stretched out (but, I still think it looks funny when a 'real' guy is stretched like that - doesn't translate well from the comics) and that Jessica Alba isn't becoming invisible too well (before she goes all clear and wavey you can actually pick out when she goes from "real" to CGI, just poorly done). Only the Human Torch looks decent. Moving on, Tim Story is Hollywood's Crap Director du jour - right near Uwe Bowell, shitifier of Alone in the Dark. Finally, why does Hollywood insist on changing origins? Not so much the 4's origin but Victor Von Doom's. He went from "disfigured, crazy ex-roomie of Mr. Fantastic who went on to rule a dystopian country and blames all his suffering on his 'perfect' roommate" to "generic power hungry wallstreetish assh*le." So, yea, sacrifice the interesting storyline to dumb it down for movie goers? That worked... and so did the crappy effects, bad director, and poor dialouge. I'm going to go rewatch X-Men 2 to get this movie out of my head. Expand
  39. ConorD
    Aug 11, 2005
    2
    I am a movie lover and not a bitter critic but I honestly thought F4 was one of the lamest movies I've seen for some time. I was bored watching it. Maybe the kids liked it but the standard in comic book films has risen in recent years and this has a straight to video feel about it.
  40. GloriaS.
    Aug 17, 2005
    1
    When will they learn that intelligent people also go to the movies?
  41. Morb
    Aug 18, 2005
    3
    Well at least it wasnt as bad as the Daredevil. it seems the yanks have run out of ideas for films and now have to either find a computer game to make a film from or some old comic. this is a straight to DVD film so dont bother going to the fliks just wait until christmas for it DVD release and then wait until the january sales to pick it up on the cheap. 3/10
  42. CaitlinB.
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    Worst movie ever. Some seens were not oppropriate for yonger viewers.
  43. MarcI.
    Dec 7, 2005
    2
    Stupide, and too much make-up.
  44. S.H.
    Jul 29, 2005
    0
    Horrible. Just horrible. My friend and I found ourselves laughing at all the "sad" parts - as denoted by the crappy Tinkly Piano of Love Lost. My favorite part was when The Thing attempted to pick up the engagement ring his fiance put on the ground with his ginormous fingers. I almost fell out of my chair laughing. That one laugh, however, was definitely not worth $17.50. The movie was Horrible. Just horrible. My friend and I found ourselves laughing at all the "sad" parts - as denoted by the crappy Tinkly Piano of Love Lost. My favorite part was when The Thing attempted to pick up the engagement ring his fiance put on the ground with his ginormous fingers. I almost fell out of my chair laughing. That one laugh, however, was definitely not worth $17.50. The movie was absurd, and completely illogical to the point of confusion if you thought about it at all. Expand
  45. Isaac
    Aug 18, 2005
    2
    What a total piece of crap... DON'T WAIST YOUR MONEY!!!
  46. markK
    Aug 23, 2005
    3
    This movie arely strings you along with glib lines and has just enough interest to tease you into not walking out of the theatre. You will find soon yourself thinking, "Why another action book to movie?", and don't worry, you won't be alone. Just to cap it off this movie has one of the most anticlimatic endings I can remember, and, as result, it's hard to even recommend This movie arely strings you along with glib lines and has just enough interest to tease you into not walking out of the theatre. You will find soon yourself thinking, "Why another action book to movie?", and don't worry, you won't be alone. Just to cap it off this movie has one of the most anticlimatic endings I can remember, and, as result, it's hard to even recommend this as a DVD release. Expand
  47. Alexa
    Mar 26, 2006
    0
    The acting was TERRIBLE! and the action scenes and dialogue were bad.
  48. JayD.
    Jun 28, 2007
    3
    The writers of this script need to be taken out and shot! Casting is likewise terrible, in that Jessica Alba out acts the vast majority of actors in this film. I don't recommend this movie to anyone over the age -of let's say- eight.
  49. NickV.
    May 11, 2009
    3
    Everything ranged from mediocre to bad in this movie. Jessica Alba and the guy who played Mr. Fantastic were hilarious every moment they weren't mean to be in their roles.
  50. May 28, 2012
    3
    It looks really cheap for a Marvel movie and the acting is horrendous from quite a few of the stars. This and its sequel are the only Marvel movies I don't recommend to anybody.
  51. Nov 28, 2012
    2
    Although it does have a small handful of entertaining moments, this movie still remains to be a complete slap in the face to the original characters and lore - thanks mostly to a mediocre script filled with forgettable characters and cheese.
  52. Dec 16, 2014
    3
    Three words..... What the f*** 3/10 (Poor)
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 35
  2. Negative: 11 out of 35
  1. This clumsy, cheesy, chintzy adaptation, with its F/X that look dated the moment you see them, is like something left over from the '60s.
  2. A comic-book movie unashamed of its roots, meaning it's unabashed about being silly, overwrought nonsense, which works to its benefit--so much so that you're almost rooting for it by the end.
  3. 30
    Directing seems an unduly elegant term for what Hollywood hack du jour Tim Story (Barbershop, Taxi) does here -- the action scenes are so choppily constructed that their excitement disappears faster than the Invisible Woman.