Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 8, 2005
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 664 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
327
Mixed:
145
Negative:
192
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
"Fantastic Four" is not fantastic as it sounds. Its not like "Spiderman" or "Iron Man". Its worse than them. Its terrible with diverse problems; starting from the acting to the visuals, everything is childish and a waste of time. Save"Fantastic Four" is not fantastic as it sounds. Its not like "Spiderman" or "Iron Man". Its worse than them. Its terrible with diverse problems; starting from the acting to the visuals, everything is childish and a waste of time. Save yourself and watch something alse. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
5
billrullerMay 16, 2012
I can understand why this was criticized too much, but to me personally I kinda thought it was decent. It still could've done better though. I do like the cast to the heroes and villain. The action scenes are pretty good, but the sad part isI can understand why this was criticized too much, but to me personally I kinda thought it was decent. It still could've done better though. I do like the cast to the heroes and villain. The action scenes are pretty good, but the sad part is that there was only 2 scenes. Also, this whole movie does is always make pointless catch phrases so it would sound funny. They didn't have to make the whole movie humorous. I was surprised to the performance of Julian McMahon as Dr. Victor von Doom, he was better than I thought. But the thing I really disliked about this movie was the annoyance of Human Torch and complaining of The Thing. The Thing always **** and complained through out the whole friggin' film, I wanted Mr. Fantastic to use his elastic body to cover Things mouth. There was a few flaws with this film, but I still enjoy watching it. It's just not a great superhero alliance film, like X-Men, Watchmen, Kick-Ass, and The Avengers. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2011
It's not one of Marvel's best titles, it's settles on mediocrity and never really goes anywhere all that interesting, but some good action sequences and humor help hold up the bland plot, an ok movie that fans of the comic will appreciate.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaSep 12, 2014
I've never really followed Fantastic Four, but this film proved to be a decent one in the line of less than complimentary comic-based movies. Not the best by any means but it had a lot of things working for it.

There were laughs,
I've never really followed Fantastic Four, but this film proved to be a decent one in the line of less than complimentary comic-based movies. Not the best by any means but it had a lot of things working for it.

There were laughs, nonchalant and light-hearted moments; the characters worked - and that's the most important aspect.

Of course, a superhero flick is as good as its villain, and I didn't quite grasp Dr. Doom. He was okay, but not amazing. They didn't focus on him enough, I think, to give him depth.

Not the deepest, most dramatic film of all time, or one to provide unexpected turns of events, but it still shines at its own right.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
MovieLonely94Jun 11, 2011
Four astronauts named Reed Richards, Susan Storm, Johnny Storm, and Ben Grimm gain superpowers after being affected by a cosmic radiation exposure and uses them to save their town, but little do they know that Victor Van Doom has also beenFour astronauts named Reed Richards, Susan Storm, Johnny Storm, and Ben Grimm gain superpowers after being affected by a cosmic radiation exposure and uses them to save their town, but little do they know that Victor Van Doom has also been infected with a full power so dangerous that they must stop it before its too late.

I'm gonna give a thumbs up for the cinematography, the CGI, the action scenes, and the acting.

However, I'm gonna give a thumbs down for the bland script, the plot holes, the overused clichés, and the dumbest moments where Johnny Storm as the Human Torch carries an action figure of the Thing in which Ben as the Thing destroys it.

Fantastic Four is a very mediocre marvel movie, but it has the potential of the comics with strong performances, cool CGI, and unique action sequences.

2.5/5 stars
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
ImUnavailableMar 2, 2012
it is clear that Fantastic Four doesn't want to take itself too seriously. In some cases this can be a good thing for a movie to do. This does not, however, give a movie permission to aim low. But that is precisely what FF does. Boringit is clear that Fantastic Four doesn't want to take itself too seriously. In some cases this can be a good thing for a movie to do. This does not, however, give a movie permission to aim low. But that is precisely what FF does. Boring characters, cliche writing and underwhelming action combine to make this an entirely forgettable film that wastes most of its potential. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 28, 2013
Don't listen to the other critics on this one, Fantastic Four is fantastic! The effects are great, some moments are humorous, and it actually moves along without lagging.
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
5
FredBobOct 17, 2006
The movie was ok at best. The biggest problem is that one of the hottest women in the world (Alba) has to go invisible. Too bad!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JekSpaceyMay 3, 2014
I would be a coward if I did not admit that I enjoyed this film (of course the most fun is given by the shapes of Jessica Alba) , but even if I did not admit that it has one of the worst screenplays ever written for a cinecomic . Take theI would be a coward if I did not admit that I enjoyed this film (of course the most fun is given by the shapes of Jessica Alba) , but even if I did not admit that it has one of the worst screenplays ever written for a cinecomic . Take the Raimi Spider-Man , which I think best represent how it should be done a cinecomic , in those films there's always been a dramatic side and a funny side , but neither of them prevailed over the other, Raimi was able to keep them in perfect balance , making it believable ( as a film about a man spider to be credible ) most of the events !
In " Fantastic 4 " this balance there is absolutely , in fact, the film tends to give more benefit to the side comic caring about the psychology of the characters and their state of mind after having acquired powers . The consequence is a characterization of the characters to the limits of trivial !
Another weak point is the villain , anonymous and absolutely no bite , really badly written !
On the plus side we definitely special effects incredible , absolutely not at the level of the film, and the music , which surely would have had even more impact if the film had been conceived differently!
If you want to see a cinecomic studied well and with great directing and screenwriting , stay completely away from this mess !
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
mobiusJul 20, 2005
Ok if your a young teenager or a 30 somthing geek who has strange fetishes with super heros then your going to absolutly love this film. But if your none of the above then all this film is actually a revampt version of Power Rangers. i may Ok if your a young teenager or a 30 somthing geek who has strange fetishes with super heros then your going to absolutly love this film. But if your none of the above then all this film is actually a revampt version of Power Rangers. i may buy a copy of it on DVD but even then i recomend that you wait for the january sales and pick it up for a few quid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JustinN.Jul 9, 2005
For once, Ebert was right on with his review. Tthe action is decent, but the story is ho-hum and the characters are as developed as that lump of mold growing under my refrigerator. If you're looking for a really good superhero flick, For once, Ebert was right on with his review. Tthe action is decent, but the story is ho-hum and the characters are as developed as that lump of mold growing under my refrigerator. If you're looking for a really good superhero flick, just watch Batman Begins or rent Spiderman 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TheElusivePossomAug 30, 2005
You have to take a film like Fantastic Four with a pinch of salt, because it is what it is: an FX-laden, cheesy-line-riddled action-fest. In terms of depth, it's on a par below X-men and Spiderman, swapping multi-dimensional character You have to take a film like Fantastic Four with a pinch of salt, because it is what it is: an FX-laden, cheesy-line-riddled action-fest. In terms of depth, it's on a par below X-men and Spiderman, swapping multi-dimensional character presentation and believable plights with tighter costumes and firmer buttocks; perhaps a fair trade? The film reflects the powers of its heroes well: it seems hot at first, but soon requires huge stretches of imagination, resulting in a plot that is rocky, and at times invisible. The extent to which The Thing's wife harshly breaks of their marriage based on his new image is ridiculous. Otherwise, the film manages to hold your interest for as long as it lasts, but culminates in a dire conclusion (it hurts to compare the final epic battle of this film and any other super-hero flick, it really does). Just about worth seeing, but everyone will anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
heirloomJul 8, 2005
Forgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KeithAug 7, 2005
I was left with an empty "Daredevil" feeling from this movie. Not worth a big screen shell out of cash. Paced ever too quickly and lacking deth with the characters. I enjoyed the first and last reels the most. The exposition of the cosmic I was left with an empty "Daredevil" feeling from this movie. Not worth a big screen shell out of cash. Paced ever too quickly and lacking deth with the characters. I enjoyed the first and last reels the most. The exposition of the cosmic storm was intriguing and the action and character interaction once they were all settled in with their powers was enjoyable. The middle however was choatic, silly, and just downright mishandled by Tim Story who needs to learn how to tell one. Thumbs down and the sequel should be handed over to someone who can fix this mistake and bring these great characters some dignity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SamOct 26, 2005
Even though it's no Batman and Robin (by this I mean it's not terrible), it's still no Batman Begins (by this I mean it's not Spectacular). That is pretty much the whole movie, the FX are not terrible but aren't Even though it's no Batman and Robin (by this I mean it's not terrible), it's still no Batman Begins (by this I mean it's not Spectacular). That is pretty much the whole movie, the FX are not terrible but aren't great, the acting isn't awful but not classic, and the only thing that isn't either is the dialouge, and I don't mean that in a good way. Batman Begins, Red Eye, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and the Underated War of the Worlds are still better, but I will more likely than not still get this. I won't use money or gift certificates though. I'll wait for my birthday or if my friend wants to give it. So it's good, but I won't use money top own it though. I disagree with almost everyone who said this was the best movie of the summer, but I'm not calling them retarded or stupid as I usually do, since the only time I do it is when they insult my opinion, and since they don't I'll respect their opinion, as long as they respect mine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelB.Dec 7, 2005
It stays true to the story of the comics and it has Jessica Alba in it, so that will be enough to draw in a lot of fans. However, it just doesn't have the energy that some of the other recent Marvel comics-turned-movies, such as the It stays true to the story of the comics and it has Jessica Alba in it, so that will be enough to draw in a lot of fans. However, it just doesn't have the energy that some of the other recent Marvel comics-turned-movies, such as the X-Men series and Spiderman series, have. Still, I suppose it's much better than that god awful version of Daredevil with Ben Affleck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarkAJul 11, 2005
Average and immediately forgotten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EdwardE.Jul 11, 2005
Not great, no bad. Just summer fluff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TonyB.Jul 19, 2005
It wasnt all that bad but it wasnt very good either i think the fight between the thing and mr fantastic pissed me off the most because when he was all tangled in him u could tell how fake it was and gaarrr it wasnt as good as i was expectingIt wasnt all that bad but it wasnt very good either i think the fight between the thing and mr fantastic pissed me off the most because when he was all tangled in him u could tell how fake it was and gaarrr it wasnt as good as i was expecting it to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DavidMJul 25, 2005
"Fantastic Four" is a decent popcorn movie, but it really left me feeling like there was a lot missing. The only acting job I cared for was Michael Chiklis' take on The Thing's self-pity and disgust at people's reactions to "Fantastic Four" is a decent popcorn movie, but it really left me feeling like there was a lot missing. The only acting job I cared for was Michael Chiklis' take on The Thing's self-pity and disgust at people's reactions to his appearance. Ioan Griffudd was too good at being banal and stuffy Reed Richards, and Jessica Alba was completely miscast as the geneticist Susan Storm. Frankly I think she got the role just for the caught-visible-without-clothing gags. Chris Evans is predictable as the insanely cocky Human Torch, although the play between Torch and The Thing is often funny. Victor von Doom has become a ruthless millionare instead of an ruthless dictator, but he still does his best to play the psychotic power-mad role anyways. The ending was dropped off so much at the end, it was as if the director was begging to do a sequel. With the stilted dialogue, silly love triangle and shameless product marketing, I hope they find someone else to do it. Just bring back Michael Chiklis! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
J.G.B.Jul 8, 2005
FF has its fun moments, especially scenes with Johnny Storm (Chris Evans) and the Thing (Michael Chiklis). Those two are the only reasons to see the movie - they made the movie enjoyable, but weren't enough to have me come away feeling FF has its fun moments, especially scenes with Johnny Storm (Chris Evans) and the Thing (Michael Chiklis). Those two are the only reasons to see the movie - they made the movie enjoyable, but weren't enough to have me come away feeling satisfied. Alba is super hot, but not the most believeble in her particular role. Reed Richards never believably emerges as the leader he's supposed to be. In the comics, the Fantastic Four always battled baddies on a bigger, more cosmic scale than Spiderman or Batman did. Yet this movie seems so much smaller and superficial than the great Spiderman, X-Men, and Batman movies. Even Hellboy blows this movie away in terms of larger than life action and huge superhero battles. The pacing is just horrible, as the "big" climax seems to just end suddenly. The FF defeat a terrible, TERRIBLE version of Dr Doom in less than ten minutes without ever appearing to be in any real peril. I thought it was still the middle of the movie and there was going to be a REAL finale to come. They literally have to show a graphic on the screen that says "THE END" just to make you realize that it really was over that quickly. Before this movie, Dr Doom was considered the most powerful, commanding, and complex villain in comic book history, but this screenplay takes away everything great about the character and just repalces it with your typical "evil-for-no-reason-billionare-sociopath" character. Oh yeah, and suddenly Dr Doom can shoot lightning and is made out of metal. (No) Thank you to Tim Story and company for flushing Marvel's greatest villain down the shitter, and possibly guaranteeing that the world will never get to see a FF movie done right. Hopefully enough 8 year olds will see the movie that it will warrant a sequel. But PLEASE get a writer and director that have an iota of a clue next time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidJul 9, 2005
Not bad....not great, but entertaining nonetheless. Go see it at the cheap matinee price.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MingC.Aug 8, 2005
Personally, the only highlight of this movie was Doom. All the charcters we one demension (even Doom), but he was strangely satisfying. My only regret was that we didn't see more of the "Dr.Doom" Doom. He looked like he was starting to Personally, the only highlight of this movie was Doom. All the charcters we one demension (even Doom), but he was strangely satisfying. My only regret was that we didn't see more of the "Dr.Doom" Doom. He looked like he was starting to be kickass, before they defeated him with a supernova. Can somebody say "cheap plot conclusion"? P.S: that end with the FF on a party boat, was really, REALLY, pathetic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
IlzeS.Sep 10, 2005
Movie was a lot laughable. There are funny jokes, some kind of adventure. I liked Jessica Alba & Ioann Gruffud. Only, Gruffud is better in King Arthur. Funny, small movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KeenanSAug 9, 2009
An insipid, and painfully stupid comic book flick. This film quite simply; is not fantastic on any level. From the numerous cliches, to the stupid action scenes, to the awful dialogue and humor, Fantastic Four falters under the weight of its An insipid, and painfully stupid comic book flick. This film quite simply; is not fantastic on any level. From the numerous cliches, to the stupid action scenes, to the awful dialogue and humor, Fantastic Four falters under the weight of its ineptitude and fails to entertain. You have much better options when it comes to comic book films like; Watchmen, Sin City, The Dark Knight, Iron Man, or the Spider-Man trilogy. Go see one of those instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamesB.Dec 11, 2005
Passible, light fun. Good cast, although Ioan Gruffudd, playing Reed Richards, seemed a little miscast. Probably would have been disappointed to have seen it in the theater...but, on DVD, not so bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChuckM.Dec 10, 2005
This hearkens back to the good old days of comic book movies that have no plotlines or reasonable dialogue. Comicdom's first family is given the 1960's camp treatment instead of the intelligence offered to Spider-Man & Batman This hearkens back to the good old days of comic book movies that have no plotlines or reasonable dialogue. Comicdom's first family is given the 1960's camp treatment instead of the intelligence offered to Spider-Man & Batman Begins - or even the Hulk. Disappointing to a lifetime FF fan, but not unentertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SuhaybA.Jul 15, 2005
Less than average comic adventure. Funny at times, but not really too much of a story line and some cheesy action. Also, more time could have been spent on the animation, looks very old school.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Jul 23, 2005
Before 9/11, a scene in which superheroes save a team of firefighters wouldn't look so conspicuous. Maybe it's the ultimate indictment against our current administration whose harshest critics regularly dub as being Orwellian-like. Before 9/11, a scene in which superheroes save a team of firefighters wouldn't look so conspicuous. Maybe it's the ultimate indictment against our current administration whose harshest critics regularly dub as being Orwellian-like. With the help of our media(a big part of this film), we're asked to forget a lot of things that might cast our leader in a bad light, so why not forget about the pivotal event that started it all. It's truly a bizarre sight to see New York's finest being reduced from their stature as heroes they've deservedly enjoyed since that fateful day. Even though we have to sit through a love triangle that has the gravitas of junior high, extreme sports boosterism, and the implausible moment when the Thing(Michael Chiklis) willingly returns to his life as functional rock, "The Fantastic Four" shows us an America that our president's critics say that he and his advisers(and Fox News: the film is subtle, they use a Fox affiiliate) live in: a science-fiction one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RirenDec 31, 2006
This movie manages to be stupid, mediocre, and very cool at the same time. It isn't a great film like Spiderman, but it still has its own moments and character. Given the source material, and Jessica Alba, its simply impossible for this This movie manages to be stupid, mediocre, and very cool at the same time. It isn't a great film like Spiderman, but it still has its own moments and character. Given the source material, and Jessica Alba, its simply impossible for this movie to fail its audience on all levels, and it doesn't. Like I said, it has its moments, which prove that it's more than a meaningless presentation of the IP. But overall, its a rather stupid movie, in many ways. Plus, it lacks the excitement and build up of the characters *as superheroes*, which left me feeling a bit unsatisfied. If you're into superheroes, it's an entertaining flick, but it's not a great movie, and is nothing compared to what comic book movies can be (for that, see Batman Begins and Spiderman). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffM.Aug 25, 2006
It really does suffer in to the unavoidable comparison to The Incredibles...and most other comic book movies made in the last 3 years. With a different director, the second installment would have shot of making a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StephenC.Jul 29, 2007
The story is good, but the only part I liked was the one action sequence
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JacobJul 26, 2015
Fantastic Four’s decent cast, serviceable banter, and amazing effects on the Thing both in looks and character show the crew has some handle on the group but unfortunately the story gives them nothing to work with. Once the group gets thereFantastic Four’s decent cast, serviceable banter, and amazing effects on the Thing both in looks and character show the crew has some handle on the group but unfortunately the story gives them nothing to work with. Once the group gets there powers nothing happens. Little action, no crime fighting just characters sitting around and doing nothing until the last 10/15 where the audience witnesses a decent fight with a poor quality Doom. With the way comicbook movies have evolved over the years this film becomes even more of a joke/cheesefest as time goes on. Thankfully, the sequel, which this film surprisingly got, picked up the pace a bit and regardless of its problems was better and somewhat resembled what a Fantastic Four movie should be. Hopefully the reboot will continue the trend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lususgreeneMay 11, 2011
The FF deserved better. This is an Iconic comic franchise. Legendary, as big as they get. Yet for the movie they slap this together? The poor casting on Dr. Doom, Invisable Women, and Reed Richards didn't help. Not that these people are badThe FF deserved better. This is an Iconic comic franchise. Legendary, as big as they get. Yet for the movie they slap this together? The poor casting on Dr. Doom, Invisable Women, and Reed Richards didn't help. Not that these people are bad actors, nor can they be expected to save such a weak script, but they absolutly do not potray the FF characters well. Marvel Should buy back the rights to this franchise and make the movie it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FilmReviewsSep 4, 2012
While it haves great actors, "Fantastic Four" wasn't worth enough. It is an enjoyable movie, but It doesn't go to the level of Batman, or Iron Man. The story is a bit predictable, but the comedy was funny at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Rox22Apr 20, 2015
To be fair, I feel this movie isn't as bad as many make ir out to be. The Fantastiv is a great comic, but it is one of those comics that simply only works on paper (or digital page.)

The effects are pretty good and I thought the casting
To be fair, I feel this movie isn't as bad as many make ir out to be. The Fantastiv is a great comic, but it is one of those comics that simply only works on paper (or digital page.)

The effects are pretty good and I thought the casting was generally good all round. Alba may not be a perfect visual depiction of Sue Storm, but I thought she did OK.

My main gripe with this movie is the writing.OMG, could they messed Dr Doom up any more! Granted, McMahon is doing his best with what he's been given, it still isn't enough to hide the butchering his character underwent in the writers script. For shame Mark Frost and Michael France!

Plot is also incredibly underwhelming. Granted, it does work very well as a F4 origin story, a shame it didn't do much else.

Overall:
Fantastic 4 is a decent, but flat, origin story. It doesn't do too much wrong, but fails to be interesting, aside from a few moments here and there. Worth a watch, but only as a rental.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Tessara_VejganJan 13, 2015
Rewatched it recently on BD. Its an ok movie. Has its moments but ultimately mediocre. Story was not very good. acting was average, effects were nice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SuperheroMoviesMay 17, 2014
Fantastic Four lacks the emotional depth and storytelling ability that has made past Marvel films so memorable, but the light humor of the characters occasionally makes it worth the while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
marcmyworksDec 3, 2013
A cheesy yet action packed motion picture based on the classic comic. Despite poor special effects,
Story, casting and acting, and a final battle that will leave you wanting more, the directing isn't half bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
bfoore90May 6, 2016
Not as bad as what is presented but mediocre at best. The plot is bland and some of the acting is pretty corny but its pieced together with some good comedy and some flashy action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
juliankennedy23Jul 27, 2014
Fantastic Four: 4 out of 10 Some comic book heroes don't translate well to film. Daredevil was a case in point. While a blind guy wearing a cherry red leather outfit might work on the panels of a comic book it looks silly on screen. (Not thatFantastic Four: 4 out of 10 Some comic book heroes don't translate well to film. Daredevil was a case in point. While a blind guy wearing a cherry red leather outfit might work on the panels of a comic book it looks silly on screen. (Not that this excuses the horrible Daredevil movie mind you) Mr. Fantastic (The stretching guy) of the Fantastic Four suffers this same fate. When he stretches it looks either disgusting (hand squeezing under the crack beneath a door) or quite silly (every other time he stretches.) Not that the character is helped by Ioan Gruffud's somnolent performance. He makes up one third of the most sleep inducing love triangle ever filmed.

The lady in question is the Jessica Alba who looks fantastic in and out of her costume (She turns invisible when naked sorry guys. But some dutiful frame by frame DVD action will surprise the patient) but she expresses no emotion about either man (Or for that matter having superpowers. But I guess looking like Jessica Alba is kind of a superpower in itself). The third part is our pseudo villain Dr. Doom. (I say pseudo because he turns villain sometime around the closing credits in the most truncated villain performance in the history of superhero films) Dr. Doom as written for the comics is the perfect screen super villain. Which begs the question why he is barely in this movie and more importantly why he is a metrosexual evil businessman (Forced to be evil because his IPO went down in price and the bank is pulling out? Which shows a remarkable lack of knowledge how IPO's work) When Alba tells Gruffud she never slept with Doom we have to believe her. I have a hard time believing these saccharine characters go the bathroom let alone have sex.

The other two members of the four (Evans and Chiklis) give competent if one note performances. But by the time all the introductions and back-story is completed the movie is over. With no villain, unimaginative action set pieces and some shaky special effects Fantastic Four is more mediocre than fantastic. Though there is that one frame of a not quite invisible Alba that is Fantastic indeed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MrMovieBuffFeb 1, 2016
Tim Story directs this animated, family friendly movie...not superhero movie, that is 'Fantastic Four'.

In this movie, we follow some iconic scientists including Reed Richards (Ioan Gruffudd), Sue Storm (Jessica Alba), her brother Johnny
Tim Story directs this animated, family friendly movie...not superhero movie, that is 'Fantastic Four'.

In this movie, we follow some iconic scientists including Reed Richards (Ioan Gruffudd), Sue Storm (Jessica Alba), her brother Johnny Storm (Chris Evans) and Ben Grimm (Michael Chiklis), along with Victor Von Doom (Julian McMahon) to travel to space, only to find themselves in an accident that leaves them with extraordinary abilities.

Reed can stretch further than any human being can, Sue can turn invisible to the point where you'll forget that she is even in the room, Johnny can manipulate fire hotter than Super Nova, and Ben turns into a giant rock. Victor has also been affected by the accident, which allows him to produce bolts of energy.

The main issue with this movie, to start of with, is the content...it is rated 'PG' from where I'm from. That is an issue, the genre of superhero movies are not "family films", kids can still watch them, but where is the violence? Where is the grittiness? Where is the occasional time where our heroes can speak with realistic dialogue and not having any trouble using the occasional curse word every now and then?

This film is nothing but a cliched cartoon with an over-reliance on special effects that does not do a good enough job covering its thinly written story and non-sympathetic heroes.

I don't hate this movie as much as most people do...but I can see the reasons as to why some would anyway, but I will say that this movie does get a rating of a "Fantastic" 4...out of 10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheDude-Aug 6, 2015
Despite the esteemed cast and good special effects fantastic four is trying to be a comedy rather than a superhero movie but the worst part is the comedy isn't even funny, also the movie really lacks in character development.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoJul 25, 2015
Here 's another Marvel movie because beyond the Fantastic Four director Tim Story was fair as in the sequel, but do not despair because the restart in this year will be better than the two of Story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EOB900Aug 25, 2015
I know people say this is bad but i honestly i think its ok
I think the choices to play the fantastic four are great choices and i like its creativity and its gets a few laughs
But unfortunately the film does lack a story and a villian
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeJan 14, 2016
Marvel's first attempt to make a Fantastic Four movie was handled out to 20th Century Fox Film Corporation which we all thought it would've been a good idea. This was obviously better than the 2015 reboot although the Thing is way too small.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
nahtan1244Feb 14, 2016
An ok movie. The best characters are johnny storm and Reed Richards. Sue storm and ben grimm are not very good. This movie gets the comedy element of the fantastic four right and dr.doom's look was taken straight from the comics and veryAn ok movie. The best characters are johnny storm and Reed Richards. Sue storm and ben grimm are not very good. This movie gets the comedy element of the fantastic four right and dr.doom's look was taken straight from the comics and very good. However the action scenes are cheesy and not well done. also the acting can at times be a little choppy. Overall this is an ok but borderline bad adaptation of the fantastic four Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DyliebarMar 2, 2016
It's an okay film, I will admit that!! I liked the action, I liked the characters, it was a fun time!!! Even though the storytelling was a bit off and the acting was really corny at times!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FuturedirectorApr 25, 2016
A superhero film that uses inappropriate story-telling, simple action, more love and friendship than violence (as it shouldn't), same characters, simple visual effects and a bad beginning. Until now, any Fantastic Four film is a good one. ButA superhero film that uses inappropriate story-telling, simple action, more love and friendship than violence (as it shouldn't), same characters, simple visual effects and a bad beginning. Until now, any Fantastic Four film is a good one. But it's coming, at least, now we've this not-satisfactory-enough "action" film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
Adapting The Fantastic Four was never going to be easy. Any Fantastic Four film has to respect the beloved characters at the team's core, the first fruit of the Stan Lee/Jack Kirby collaboration which—alongside Lee and Steve Ditko'sAdapting The Fantastic Four was never going to be easy. Any Fantastic Four film has to respect the beloved characters at the team's core, the first fruit of the Stan Lee/Jack Kirby collaboration which—alongside Lee and Steve Ditko's Spider-Man—revolutionized comics in the early '60s by introducing problem-ridden heroes. Following the source material means establishing four distinct personalities, getting the family-like team dynamic right, making sure there's action, throwing in some laughs, creating convincing special effects, and getting the origin story out of the way while still making room for an adventure. That's a lengthy checklist. Fantastic Four puts half a click next to a single box.

To focus on the positive, Tim Story's Fantastic Four—the product of a decade of development, countless screenwriters, and several directors who drifted in and out of the project—comes alive whenever the focus shifts to the relationship between the Human Torch (Chris Evans) and The Thing (Michael Chiklis). After encountering a cosmic storm while working alongside Julian McMahon (as a business tycoon who spends the film slowly turning into Dr. Doom), Evans, Chiklis, Ioan Gruffudd (playing the stretch-tastic super-scientist Reed Richards), and Jessica Alba (playing the Invisible Girl) return to Earth with strange—and in Chiklis' case, disfiguring—powers. Chiklis becomes destructively depressed; Evans, as probably the least angst-ridden comic-book hero ever created, can't wait to take to the skies, show off for girls, and perform motorcycle stunts. (That last part doesn't make a lot of sense, but a trip to the X-Games provides plenty of opportunities for product placement.) Chiklis conveys a real humanity beneath his none-too-impressive monster suit, and Evans makes it clear that his constant teasing is, in its own way, an attempt to keep his buddy from plunging into despair. It's nicely played by both actors.

Then there's the rest of the movie. The obvious product of countless revisions, Fantastic Four jumps from character to character and scene to scene with little logic and gives everyone but Evans and Chiklis a single defining character trait to go with their powers: McMahon is megalomaniacal. Gruffudd is dull. Alba is, well, the girl. Sure, the characters should be iconic, but they don't have to be living action figures. There's a spark-free love triangle between Gruffudd, Alba, and McMahon, and eventually, everyone starts stretching, disappearing, flaming, or clobbering as the plot dictates. Then the film ends with the promise of many more adventures to come. But who would want them? Not comic-book fans, who've been spoiled by too many good movies like Batman Begins and the Spider-Man series. Not action fans, who will wonder why the fireworks fizzled. And not the morbidly curious looking for the truly terrible film that the early trailers promised. Instead, they'll find something much worse: A garish mediocrity.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews