User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 322

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2014
    8
    I love this movie. The stop-motion animation is fantastic and the lip sync basically perfect. I also love the story it just makes me happy at the end and it just made me think throughout the movie. I just got so into it i wanted to be some of the characters cause they seemed so real. No. This isn't an action movie. No. This is not a drama. This is a good nice not random completely sturdy, steady comedy with a nice fan base but I feel like the fans don't truly love this movie. I love and i know i gave it an 8 but that;s because I think it could be a little funnier and there's a few very small kinks in the story but I just feel the fan base isn't very strong and that they could take it or leave it. But at least I still like iit and it makes me wanna do stop-motion. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2014
    8
    This was a ton of fun to watch. This one is classic Wes Anderson and he really brought his trademark style and appeal to animation in a fantastic way. The voice acting from this great cast, including George Clooney, Meryl Streep, Jason Schwartzman, Eric Anderson, Bill Murray, and Owen Wilson, is great and really, everyone played their roles very well. The animation is also great and I really enjoyed the look and feel of the film. On top of that, this one is very Wes Anderson in terms of the way it was filmed and in the story itself, as on the surface it is about a fox who steals chickens and other things from nearby farmers, but it goes much deeper than that, allowing it to be a great film for all ages to enjoy. I really hope Wes Anderson tackles animation again at some point, because Fantastic Mr. Fox was truly great. Expand
  3. May 3, 2014
    10
    So far, as of writing this short, brief, review, i have only watched 2 of Wes Anderson's Films "The Grand Budapest Hotel" and "Fantastic Mr. Fox", also a tiny bit of "Moon-rise Kingdom" and i have to give all my praise to Anderson's bizarre and unique style of filming, it really makes you feel as if your within the film, you are a character, with that out of the way lets began. Anderson's Fantastic Mr. Fox is very different from the tale , yet, still manages to feel the like the original, bizarre i know, while also expanding on such a small, modest, kids tale into an elaborate sophisticated story and character driving thrill ride full of charm and wit, which is all i ever ask for within a film, Charm, Plot, Characters and Wit, when all of these are done with the utmost care and compassion while trying to stay close to the source material yet also breaking it into something more, you know by now that i absolutely adored this film.

    10/10
    Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2014
    7
    like most of Wes Anderdson's films they end up terrible like Moonrise Kingdom . But he step up his game for once and a film that is thrilling , violent and fun . Grade A
  5. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    On the same level as coraline in the world of stop motion. An incredible story from roald dahl that translates perfectly into this movie and the style fits it very well. From the voices to the details everything comes together perfectly to create this heartwarming story with a message! A real must watch for every age.

    Just my opinion
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    It's so much fun and visually interesting it won't matter if you catch all the meaningful dialogue and the fast paced plot. I absolutely adored the movie, a man in his mid-twenties completely joyous to get to experience such a sweet animation film.
  7. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Though a few morbid scenes might make this a little much for really young children, this animated masterpiece from Wes Anderson is the funnest movie I have seen in years. Honestly, I couldn't believe this adaption of the Roald Dahl classic could be this good but the voice-acting is among the best I have ever seen, so the characters, who are just as important as the plot in this film, come to life in a way that is simply amazing. This movie must be seen to be believed. Expand
  8. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    This movie remains as a personal favorite. Not only does it have great plot with a great acting and comedy, it also is made from stopmotion, which is my personal favorite. I would try not to be bias however.
  9. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    Fantastic Mr. Fox is fantastic.
    The screenplay is a great adaption from the book with good comical twists. The dialogue is witty, funny, and clever. Its very rare to experience a PG with such incredible writing and execution. Fantastic Mr. Fox is an instant classic that walks among that of Toy Story.
  10. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Though I hear it isn't much like the book at all, when looking at it for the film itself it's nothing short of great. The characters are much deeper than that of a typical animated film. The has that typical Wes Anderson tone to it but in a claymation film. Nonetheless an overall great film with a lot of character.
  11. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Relentless in it's intricately amusing ways, Fantastic Mr Fox is animated perfectly and written with an abundance of intelligence and wit.
  12. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    To all the people here saying how terrible this movie is, i can only say, give it a few tries. There is such a wealth of humour in here, so many great lines, silly repeating jokes and a great love of language. Its main failing seem to be that it isn't really a kids film, and isn't really much to do with the original books, more just a hanger to place a Wes Anderson movie on. And seriously, anyone who rates Pixar animation over this really needs to get a grip (and this is coming from someone who really loves Pixar movies) Expand
  13. Jun 16, 2012
    4
    idk, i didn't see any comedy, any action, any anything in this movie, the only thing i found about it was it was boring. i mean, it seems to be aimed at children, but most of it is pointed at adults. so in all, it just wasn't my thing
  14. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    Absolutly great movie. Very fun with alot of comedy as well. It has its own style. Extremly creative, qnd has great voice actors. George clooney, owen wilson, and bill muray. Also other great under rated actors. This movie is animated, but some of the best ive seen. Its a must see
  15. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    Fantastic Mr. Fox is unmistakably a Wes Anderson movie. It may be stop motion animated and based on a classic children's book, but it's as slavish to Anderson's style as Rushmoore or The Life Aquatic. Prime amongst it's qualities is the familiar off kilter humor and gentle catharsis that made his previous works such essential viewing. Fantastic Mr. Fox is overflowing with charm, impressive animation and belly-rumbling laughs. An excellent film for children and adults alike. Expand
  16. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Wes Anderson instantly became one of my favorite directors after seeing this great animated film. His quirky style was perfect for this story, and voice-overs were outstanding. Clooney in particular was brilliant. I am a huge fan of animation and I usually don't like it when I recognize an actor's voice because I only think of the actor while watching the film, but in this case the famous actors (George Clooney, Meryl Streep, Bill Murray) became the characters they voiced and were perfect. The music was also brilliant throughout. I hope Wes Anderson makes more animated films in the future. BRILLIANT! Expand
  17. May 16, 2012
    4
    Fantastic Mr. Fox was not terrible, but there was a lot happening that just didn't work for me. I was unpleased with the choices of voices they had for the characters (with a mighty exception of Willem Dafoe's Voice as 'The Rat'). The animations were good and eye-catching, but I honestly think the fox characters would be a little bit scary for younger children.
  18. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    Stop motion is a curious art. It never looks as real as CGI, and it's not as fluid as CGI. Also, it's extremely difficult to master. In fact, one would wonder why anyone would bother making a stop motion movie, as opposed to a CGI movie. The reason, is that stop motion has an odd, old fashioned, hand made feel to it. And somehow, that feel has been captured and placed into this movie, and it's not just evident in the animation. Fantastic Mr. Fox is inspired from Roald Dahl's picture book by the same name. The film follows the story of Mr. Fox, who starts stealing farmer's merchandise again, without telling his wife. Mr. Fox has been planning some "great heist," despite his promises to his wife, claiming he would quit. Soon, the three meanest farmers of them all (Farmers Boggis, Bunce, and Bean), decide to end Mr. Fox's reign once and for all. The film's dry humor is both witty and hilarious. No movie in the world can stand up to the unique humor that Fantastic Mr. Fox displays. I give points to the outstanding voice talents (namely for George Clooney and Meryl Streep), and the comedic score by Alexandre Desplat. The animation is spectacular. By far the best I've seen in a stop motion film. It's truly fantastic. Even for stop motion, it looks incredibly good fashioned, and that is a very good thing. Unlike the book, however, this is not a piece of entertainment I can recommend for younger children. It's too dark, and they probably won't get many of the jokes (they may get a kick out of all the fuzzy animals, however). This is more of an older kids and parents flick. Fantastic Mr. Fox is fun, entertaining, unique, and visually wonderful. It is not hard to understand why they call it "Fantastic" Mr. Fox. Expand
  19. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Fantastic Mr. Fox: An absolute masterpiece in children's cinema. Unlike typical kid films, not dumbed down or shallow. Fun, clever, and meticulously well shot.
  20. HMW
    Mar 7, 2012
    0
    I was so looking forward to this movie, everyone said it was so great but when I saw it, it was the worst movie I ever saw. The storyline made no since, the characters had no personality. Overall, do not see this movie, it is a waste of time.
  21. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    This movie is charming, funny, sweet, pretty, and has an awesome soundtrack to boot. The voice acting is fresh and classic, though sometimes very to the point in a funny Wes Anderson way. You say, "Well I don't like Wes Anderson, he's weird." Well I can respect that, but I'd like to ask you to give this movie a shot all the same. The thing that separates it from the rest of his work is how sweet it is. If the rest of his films were Grey Poupon... this film is like warm apple cider. Expand
  22. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Fantastic Mr. Fox surprisingly has a lot of heart, actually more than most movies. And the movie has support of its star studded voice cast who give funny performances. Altogether the movie is funny, clever and heartfelt with fitting stop motion animation. I give this movie 91%.
  23. Dec 1, 2011
    2
    Fantastic Mr. Fox is a stop motion animated film about woodland creatures doing things. I donâ
  24. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    A excellent animated movie that I bet pretty much all adults will chuckle or evan laugh out load at. Goerge Clooney and Meryl Streep were really good at voicing mr and mrs fox and definitely the right choice of all the actors and actresses in the world to portray them. Bill Murray was also great at voicing the badger. I have watched the film quite a few times and I enjoyed every single one.
  25. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Funny, this movie is just........different, Fantastic Mr Fox is a good example of how we can find stories in every single element of the nature, but this movies is not another stupid talking animal movie
  26. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    Interestingly its choice of presenting the visuals using clay is definitely one of what makes "Fantastic Mr. Fox" a good movie. But its the childish, simple script you'll love.
  27. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    t was definetly a breath of fresh air in originality and it had fantastic visuals. Stop motion has always been one of my favorite art styles and the thing I don't like about it nowadays is that people prefer all slam bam in your face cg effects, and nothing organic, and it is getting very old, but when you see something like this it is just fantastic. And this is a dying art to filmmaking, think about it it has been 3 years since another Wallace and Gromit film, and 2 years since a Stop Motion film has had a theatrical release, and thats why I think this is a dying art. I love all the details that are put into the characters, like how the fur on the puppets constantly moves throughout the scenes, plus the voice acting is really, really funny and entertaining. I didn't know who George Clooney was until this movie and im happy it introduced me to him, plus this movie i think has the biggest all star cast ever for a stop motion film, Bill Murray, Adrian Brody, George Clooney, Owen Wilson, even the small part characters have big actors. Expand
  28. Aug 27, 2011
    8
    Wes Anderson is a filmmaker who can run along a bizarre path, stop, look over at some odd detour, contemplate about it, and then keep on running. Fantastic Mr. Fox is Anderson in his purest form, and arguably his most entertaining.
  29. Aug 27, 2011
    2
    From the point of view of someone who hasn't been brought up in the US and wasn't familiar with the novel or the character of Mr. Fox, this movie presents quite an issue. It's not particularly funny, there's a certain creepiness about it, and I'm not convinced about Clooney dubbing the main character. Overall, it left me with a very upsetting feeling of being tricked into watching something that turned out to be something completely different. Expand
  30. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    We all must admit, we don't usually like stop motion that much, unless it's something Tim Burton. But in this case, it's different. Fantastic Mr. Fox got everything right... the soundtrack, the visuals, the voice cast... it all made this stop-motion movie something that flew into Pixar territory, and in a huge way.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Feb 18, 2014
    90
    Fantastic Mr. Fox may be his most purely pleasurable film to date, evoking the Dahl books and Rankin-Bass productions that so transported him as a kid.
  2. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    80
    Genuinely original: a silly, hilarious and oddly profound adaptation for adult-sized children.
  3. Anderson has created a world as stylized and inventive as anything he's done... "Fox" is a visual delight.