Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 13, 2009
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 412 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
363
Mixed:
22
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MattFoxJan 14, 2017
Wes Anderson sure does understand word Fantastic meaning. I should've made this review a long time ago. This is one of my favorite movie of all time. Everything in this movie is literally Fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TrailesqueDec 29, 2016
This gets my usual response to a well-made animated flick - it is cool to look at, but the story and characters are not very interesting. I don't know why that is the case with so many of them, but it is. The animation is gorgeous and seemsThis gets my usual response to a well-made animated flick - it is cool to look at, but the story and characters are not very interesting. I don't know why that is the case with so many of them, but it is. The animation is gorgeous and seems to be a mix of stop motion and CGI. And the script - eh - based on a Roald Dahl tale, it focuses on a crafty fox who raises the ire of some nasty farmers by stealing their chickens and cider. This causes a backlash, and it becomes all out war between cute critters and creepy farmers. For some reason, top actors like Clooney and Schwartzman were given the voice-over roles, which ends up being more distracting than effective. The best of them was Wolodarsky as the shy, goofy possum. The music choices were weird and took me out of the film. A word about Wes Anderson - I know I'm supposed to like his slight, whimsical movies, but I don't. The humor is bland and the stories are usually pointless. Frankly, I don't get him, and I don't get why so many people like him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ScraperNov 28, 2016
Halfway through this movie is when it hit me: this is terrible. Anderson has taken to laboring over the cuteness and quaintness of his movies that nothing has any meaning or substance. Everything he does is to serve this pathetic inner-childHalfway through this movie is when it hit me: this is terrible. Anderson has taken to laboring over the cuteness and quaintness of his movies that nothing has any meaning or substance. Everything he does is to serve this pathetic inner-child issue that it's simply nauseating. That aside, there's so much dialogue in the Fantastic Mr. Fox, with all of it amounting to nothing, that I was sad afterward that I saw it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersNov 22, 2016
2009 was the year of childhood, wasn't it? Where Spike Jonze explores the honesty and emotions that go into childhood with "Where the Wild Things Are," Wes Anderson decided to invoke nostalgia and memories in his adaptation of Roald Dahl's2009 was the year of childhood, wasn't it? Where Spike Jonze explores the honesty and emotions that go into childhood with "Where the Wild Things Are," Wes Anderson decided to invoke nostalgia and memories in his adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic children's book "Fantastic Mr. Fox." And while I hate making a pun involving the film's title, I can't lie, the movie really is "Fantastic." The "weird" animation style works wonders for it, adding to its unique feel (and also looking beautiful to boot), the film is rather hilarious, well-written, fun, and it features some extremely memorable characters. Again, it's not for everyone, and some may find it a bit too "arthouse," but "Fantastic Mr. Fox" is a brilliant animated feature that begs for repeat viewings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 26, 2016
Fantastic Mr. Fox completely lives up by its name. It's 'fantastic' that it actually works for a movie called 'Fantastic' Mr. Fox. You'll pretty much enjoy the movie as the same way as I did myself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawJul 26, 2015
Wes Anderson’s stop-motion puppet show, adopted from Roald Dahl’s beloved children novel, has evaded from me for all these years, again, I’m not an avid animation fan and particularly into children’s fare, but this winsome gem can nimbly edgeWes Anderson’s stop-motion puppet show, adopted from Roald Dahl’s beloved children novel, has evaded from me for all these years, again, I’m not an avid animation fan and particularly into children’s fare, but this winsome gem can nimbly edge into my Top 10 film of the year.

Mr. Fox (Clooney) used to enjoy his adventurous life as a food-stealer with Ms. Fox (Streep), but now he is a suave columnist, they have a son Ash (Schwartzman), and lead a quiet life living underground. Nevertheless, as a wild animal, Mr. Fox cannot reconciled to the quiet life which Ms. Fox urges him to hew to, he purchases a new tree house regardless of his lawyer Mr. Badger (Murray)’s persuasion because three meanest human farmers are living nearby. Later Mr. Fox’s teenage nephew Kristofferson (Eric Chase Anderson) comes to stay with them, whose athletic bent walks away with Mr. Fox’s commendation and leaves a gauche Ash pale in comparison.

keep reading my review on my blog: please google cinema omnivore, thanks
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Potarto72Dec 21, 2014
Nobody's really ever seen something quite like Fantastic Mr. Fox. It's entirely created with stop motion photography, but doesn't feel like a typical stop motion film. It has a mature edge, not only in its content (characters swearNobody's really ever seen something quite like Fantastic Mr. Fox. It's entirely created with stop motion photography, but doesn't feel like a typical stop motion film. It has a mature edge, not only in its content (characters swear frequently, but each word is replaced with the word "cuss"), but also in its style. The uniqueness and strange nature never get in the way. Stop motion animals and Wes Anderson seem to be a match made in heaven. The film works very well in just about every aspect, it would be difficult not to enjoy it. The characters are surprisingly great for a family film, and the comedy is appealing to just about any audience imaginable. All in all, it's impressive that Anderson could make such a blended and unique film, without letting the strangeness interfere with his style. Fantastic Mr. Fox really shouldn't be passed up by anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SuperkidNov 9, 2014
I love this movie. The stop-motion animation is fantastic and the lip sync basically perfect. I also love the story it just makes me happy at the end and it just made me think throughout the movie. I just got so into it i wanted to be some ofI love this movie. The stop-motion animation is fantastic and the lip sync basically perfect. I also love the story it just makes me happy at the end and it just made me think throughout the movie. I just got so into it i wanted to be some of the characters cause they seemed so real. No. This isn't an action movie. No. This is not a drama. This is a good nice not random completely sturdy, steady comedy with a nice fan base but I feel like the fans don't truly love this movie. I love and i know i gave it an 8 but that;s because I think it could be a little funnier and there's a few very small kinks in the story but I just feel the fan base isn't very strong and that they could take it or leave it. But at least I still like iit and it makes me wanna do stop-motion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleAug 30, 2014
This was a ton of fun to watch. This one is classic Wes Anderson and he really brought his trademark style and appeal to animation in a fantastic way. The voice acting from this great cast, including George Clooney, Meryl Streep, JasonThis was a ton of fun to watch. This one is classic Wes Anderson and he really brought his trademark style and appeal to animation in a fantastic way. The voice acting from this great cast, including George Clooney, Meryl Streep, Jason Schwartzman, Eric Anderson, Bill Murray, and Owen Wilson, is great and really, everyone played their roles very well. The animation is also great and I really enjoyed the look and feel of the film. On top of that, this one is very Wes Anderson in terms of the way it was filmed and in the story itself, as on the surface it is about a fox who steals chickens and other things from nearby farmers, but it goes much deeper than that, allowing it to be a great film for all ages to enjoy. I really hope Wes Anderson tackles animation again at some point, because Fantastic Mr. Fox was truly great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodMay 3, 2014
So far, as of writing this short, brief, review, i have only watched 2 of Wes Anderson's Films "The Grand Budapest Hotel" and "Fantastic Mr. Fox", also a tiny bit of "Moon-rise Kingdom" and i have to give all my praise to Anderson's bizarreSo far, as of writing this short, brief, review, i have only watched 2 of Wes Anderson's Films "The Grand Budapest Hotel" and "Fantastic Mr. Fox", also a tiny bit of "Moon-rise Kingdom" and i have to give all my praise to Anderson's bizarre and unique style of filming, it really makes you feel as if your within the film, you are a character, with that out of the way lets began. Anderson's Fantastic Mr. Fox is very different from the tale , yet, still manages to feel the like the original, bizarre i know, while also expanding on such a small, modest, kids tale into an elaborate sophisticated story and character driving thrill ride full of charm and wit, which is all i ever ask for within a film, Charm, Plot, Characters and Wit, when all of these are done with the utmost care and compassion while trying to stay close to the source material yet also breaking it into something more, you know by now that i absolutely adored this film.

10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscApr 3, 2014
like most of Wes Anderdson's films they end up terrible like Moonrise Kingdom . But he step up his game for once and a film that is thrilling , violent and fun . Grade A
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NAQURATORApr 3, 2014
On the same level as coraline in the world of stop motion. An incredible story from roald dahl that translates perfectly into this movie and the style fits it very well. From the voices to the details everything comes together perfectly toOn the same level as coraline in the world of stop motion. An incredible story from roald dahl that translates perfectly into this movie and the style fits it very well. From the voices to the details everything comes together perfectly to create this heartwarming story with a message! A real must watch for every age.

Just my opinion
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mrniceFeb 16, 2014
It's so much fun and visually interesting it won't matter if you catch all the meaningful dialogue and the fast paced plot. I absolutely adored the movie, a man in his mid-twenties completely joyous to get to experience such a sweet animation film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
XavierBlaqDec 26, 2013
Though a few morbid scenes might make this a little much for really young children, this animated masterpiece from Wes Anderson is the funnest movie I have seen in years. Honestly, I couldn't believe this adaption of the Roald Dahl classicThough a few morbid scenes might make this a little much for really young children, this animated masterpiece from Wes Anderson is the funnest movie I have seen in years. Honestly, I couldn't believe this adaption of the Roald Dahl classic could be this good but the voice-acting is among the best I have ever seen, so the characters, who are just as important as the plot in this film, come to life in a way that is simply amazing. This movie must be seen to be believed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cag11Nov 29, 2013
This movie remains as a personal favorite. Not only does it have great plot with a great acting and comedy, it also is made from stopmotion, which is my personal favorite. I would try not to be bias however.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RayzorMooseNov 16, 2013
Fantastic Mr. Fox is fantastic.
The screenplay is a great adaption from the book with good comical twists. The dialogue is witty, funny, and clever. Its very rare to experience a PG with such incredible writing and execution. Fantastic Mr.
Fantastic Mr. Fox is fantastic.
The screenplay is a great adaption from the book with good comical twists. The dialogue is witty, funny, and clever. Its very rare to experience a PG with such incredible writing and execution. Fantastic Mr. Fox is an instant classic that walks among that of Toy Story.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JosueDiazJun 24, 2013
Though I hear it isn't much like the book at all, when looking at it for the film itself it's nothing short of great. The characters are much deeper than that of a typical animated film. The has that typical Wes Anderson tone to it but in aThough I hear it isn't much like the book at all, when looking at it for the film itself it's nothing short of great. The characters are much deeper than that of a typical animated film. The has that typical Wes Anderson tone to it but in a claymation film. Nonetheless an overall great film with a lot of character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LaGuertaApr 24, 2013
Relentless in it's intricately amusing ways, Fantastic Mr Fox is animated perfectly and written with an abundance of intelligence and wit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
t0mD76Oct 3, 2012
To all the people here saying how terrible this movie is, i can only say, give it a few tries. There is such a wealth of humour in here, so many great lines, silly repeating jokes and a great love of language. Its main failing seem to beTo all the people here saying how terrible this movie is, i can only say, give it a few tries. There is such a wealth of humour in here, so many great lines, silly repeating jokes and a great love of language. Its main failing seem to be that it isn't really a kids film, and isn't really much to do with the original books, more just a hanger to place a Wes Anderson movie on. And seriously, anyone who rates Pixar animation over this really needs to get a grip (and this is coming from someone who really loves Pixar movies) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
choopyJun 16, 2012
idk, i didn't see any comedy, any action, any anything in this movie, the only thing i found about it was it was boring. i mean, it seems to be aimed at children, but most of it is pointed at adults. so in all, it just wasn't my thing
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Chaseyo2Jun 6, 2012
Absolutly great movie. Very fun with alot of comedy as well. It has its own style. Extremly creative, qnd has great voice actors. George clooney, owen wilson, and bill muray. Also other great under rated actors. This movie is animated, butAbsolutly great movie. Very fun with alot of comedy as well. It has its own style. Extremly creative, qnd has great voice actors. George clooney, owen wilson, and bill muray. Also other great under rated actors. This movie is animated, but some of the best ive seen. Its a must see Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuJun 6, 2012
Fantastic Mr. Fox is unmistakably a Wes Anderson movie. It may be stop motion animated and based on a classic children's book, but it's as slavish to Anderson's style as Rushmoore or The Life Aquatic. Prime amongst it's qualities is theFantastic Mr. Fox is unmistakably a Wes Anderson movie. It may be stop motion animated and based on a classic children's book, but it's as slavish to Anderson's style as Rushmoore or The Life Aquatic. Prime amongst it's qualities is the familiar off kilter humor and gentle catharsis that made his previous works such essential viewing. Fantastic Mr. Fox is overflowing with charm, impressive animation and belly-rumbling laughs. An excellent film for children and adults alike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BikerjamesJun 2, 2012
Wes Anderson instantly became one of my favorite directors after seeing this great animated film. His quirky style was perfect for this story, and voice-overs were outstanding. Clooney in particular was brilliant. I am a huge fan ofWes Anderson instantly became one of my favorite directors after seeing this great animated film. His quirky style was perfect for this story, and voice-overs were outstanding. Clooney in particular was brilliant. I am a huge fan of animation and I usually don't like it when I recognize an actor's voice because I only think of the actor while watching the film, but in this case the famous actors (George Clooney, Meryl Streep, Bill Murray) became the characters they voiced and were perfect. The music was also brilliant throughout. I hope Wes Anderson makes more animated films in the future. BRILLIANT! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
FujiforkerMay 16, 2012
Fantastic Mr. Fox was not terrible, but there was a lot happening that just didn't work for me. I was unpleased with the choices of voices they had for the characters (with a mighty exception of Willem Dafoe's Voice as 'The Rat'). TheFantastic Mr. Fox was not terrible, but there was a lot happening that just didn't work for me. I was unpleased with the choices of voices they had for the characters (with a mighty exception of Willem Dafoe's Voice as 'The Rat'). The animations were good and eye-catching, but I honestly think the fox characters would be a little bit scary for younger children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LandFApr 19, 2012
Stop motion is a curious art. It never looks as real as CGI, and it's not as fluid as CGI. Also, it's extremely difficult to master. In fact, one would wonder why anyone would bother making a stop motion movie, as opposed to a CGI movie. TheStop motion is a curious art. It never looks as real as CGI, and it's not as fluid as CGI. Also, it's extremely difficult to master. In fact, one would wonder why anyone would bother making a stop motion movie, as opposed to a CGI movie. The reason, is that stop motion has an odd, old fashioned, hand made feel to it. And somehow, that feel has been captured and placed into this movie, and it's not just evident in the animation. Fantastic Mr. Fox is inspired from Roald Dahl's picture book by the same name. The film follows the story of Mr. Fox, who starts stealing farmer's merchandise again, without telling his wife. Mr. Fox has been planning some "great heist," despite his promises to his wife, claiming he would quit. Soon, the three meanest farmers of them all (Farmers Boggis, Bunce, and Bean), decide to end Mr. Fox's reign once and for all. The film's dry humor is both witty and hilarious. No movie in the world can stand up to the unique humor that Fantastic Mr. Fox displays. I give points to the outstanding voice talents (namely for George Clooney and Meryl Streep), and the comedic score by Alexandre Desplat. The animation is spectacular. By far the best I've seen in a stop motion film. It's truly fantastic. Even for stop motion, it looks incredibly good fashioned, and that is a very good thing. Unlike the book, however, this is not a piece of entertainment I can recommend for younger children. It's too dark, and they probably won't get many of the jokes (they may get a kick out of all the fuzzy animals, however). This is more of an older kids and parents flick. Fantastic Mr. Fox is fun, entertaining, unique, and visually wonderful. It is not hard to understand why they call it "Fantastic" Mr. Fox. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nascentMar 18, 2012
Fantastic Mr. Fox: An absolute masterpiece in children's cinema. Unlike typical kid films, not dumbed down or shallow. Fun, clever, and meticulously well shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HMWMar 7, 2012
I was so looking forward to this movie, everyone said it was so great but when I saw it, it was the worst movie I ever saw. The storyline made no since, the characters had no personality. Overall, do not see this movie, it is a waste of time.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
peanutbutterJan 19, 2012
This movie is charming, funny, sweet, pretty, and has an awesome soundtrack to boot. The voice acting is fresh and classic, though sometimes very to the point in a funny Wes Anderson way. You say, "Well I don't like Wes Anderson, he's weird."This movie is charming, funny, sweet, pretty, and has an awesome soundtrack to boot. The voice acting is fresh and classic, though sometimes very to the point in a funny Wes Anderson way. You say, "Well I don't like Wes Anderson, he's weird." Well I can respect that, but I'd like to ask you to give this movie a shot all the same. The thing that separates it from the rest of his work is how sweet it is. If the rest of his films were Grey Poupon... this film is like warm apple cider. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Jan 2, 2012
Fantastic Mr. Fox surprisingly has a lot of heart, actually more than most movies. And the movie has support of its star studded voice cast who give funny performances. Altogether the movie is funny, clever and heartfelt with fitting stopFantastic Mr. Fox surprisingly has a lot of heart, actually more than most movies. And the movie has support of its star studded voice cast who give funny performances. Altogether the movie is funny, clever and heartfelt with fitting stop motion animation. I give this movie 91%. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
tearsoftimeDec 1, 2011
Fantastic Mr. Fox is a stop motion animated film about woodland creatures doing things. I donâ
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
spielbrick90Oct 27, 2011
A excellent animated movie that I bet pretty much all adults will chuckle or evan laugh out load at. Goerge Clooney and Meryl Streep were really good at voicing mr and mrs fox and definitely the right choice of all the actors and actresses inA excellent animated movie that I bet pretty much all adults will chuckle or evan laugh out load at. Goerge Clooney and Meryl Streep were really good at voicing mr and mrs fox and definitely the right choice of all the actors and actresses in the world to portray them. Bill Murray was also great at voicing the badger. I have watched the film quite a few times and I enjoyed every single one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RodrigoBGCSep 26, 2011
Funny, this movie is just........different, Fantastic Mr Fox is a good example of how we can find stories in every single element of the nature, but this movies is not another stupid talking animal movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 25, 2011
Interestingly its choice of presenting the visuals using clay is definitely one of what makes "Fantastic Mr. Fox" a good movie. But its the childish, simple script you'll love.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
skeletonking123Sep 10, 2011
t was definetly a breath of fresh air in originality and it had fantastic visuals. Stop motion has always been one of my favorite art styles and the thing I don't like about it nowadays is that people prefer all slam bam in your face cgt was definetly a breath of fresh air in originality and it had fantastic visuals. Stop motion has always been one of my favorite art styles and the thing I don't like about it nowadays is that people prefer all slam bam in your face cg effects, and nothing organic, and it is getting very old, but when you see something like this it is just fantastic. And this is a dying art to filmmaking, think about it it has been 3 years since another Wallace and Gromit film, and 2 years since a Stop Motion film has had a theatrical release, and thats why I think this is a dying art. I love all the details that are put into the characters, like how the fur on the puppets constantly moves throughout the scenes, plus the voice acting is really, really funny and entertaining. I didn't know who George Clooney was until this movie and im happy it introduced me to him, plus this movie i think has the biggest all star cast ever for a stop motion film, Bill Murray, Adrian Brody, George Clooney, Owen Wilson, even the small part characters have big actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
J-ShapAug 27, 2011
Wes Anderson is a filmmaker who can run along a bizarre path, stop, look over at some odd detour, contemplate about it, and then keep on running. Fantastic Mr. Fox is Anderson in his purest form, and arguably his most entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
kowalskiAug 27, 2011
From the point of view of someone who hasn't been brought up in the US and wasn't familiar with the novel or the character of Mr. Fox, this movie presents quite an issue. It's not particularly funny, there's a certain creepiness about it, andFrom the point of view of someone who hasn't been brought up in the US and wasn't familiar with the novel or the character of Mr. Fox, this movie presents quite an issue. It's not particularly funny, there's a certain creepiness about it, and I'm not convinced about Clooney dubbing the main character. Overall, it left me with a very upsetting feeling of being tricked into watching something that turned out to be something completely different. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
TheAnti360FoxApr 27, 2011
We all must admit, we don't usually like stop motion that much, unless it's something Tim Burton. But in this case, it's different. Fantastic Mr. Fox got everything right... the soundtrack, the visuals, the voice cast... it all made thisWe all must admit, we don't usually like stop motion that much, unless it's something Tim Burton. But in this case, it's different. Fantastic Mr. Fox got everything right... the soundtrack, the visuals, the voice cast... it all made this stop-motion movie something that flew into Pixar territory, and in a huge way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KingmushApr 10, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/04/fantastic-mr-fox.html

If you know me, which to be honest, not many of you do aside from what I post here you should know that Wes Anderson is my all time favorite director. His other works include
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/04/fantastic-mr-fox.html

If you know me, which to be honest, not many of you do aside from what I post here you should know that Wes Anderson is my all time favorite director. His other works include The Life Aquatic, Rushmore, etc. So when I heard he was doing an actual animated (or claymation I guess) I was at first skeptical but then excited to see if he could do it.

I am happy to report that this movie is great. Now I'm not one for much animation, sure I watch all of Pixar's movies but aside from that I don't venture out into the world of animation too often, but I'm glad I did for this one. Fantastic Mr. Fox's style is unprecedented, it is a fast paced, hilarious, and surprisingly mature rendition. If you don't know already the story line is essentially about a father fox who used to be a big time chicken stealer, well he gets back into the game trying to steal from the three biggest farms. Hilarity ensues of course.

But laughter at the plight of father fox and co. isn't the only thing this movie has to offer. There are also very good morals in place (surprising for a movie about robbery) but it tells the tale of a forgotten son, jealously, and pressure. Sounds kind of cheap when you type it out but it really isn't. So definitely go see this movie if you haven't already, you won't be sad.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Misslove14xxMar 12, 2011
Fantastic Mr. Fox was actually even better than I imagined it to be. I thought it would lean a lot on the lead voices (George Clooney and Meryl Streep) I think the movie would have done fine with out them (not to say they weren't a greatFantastic Mr. Fox was actually even better than I imagined it to be. I thought it would lean a lot on the lead voices (George Clooney and Meryl Streep) I think the movie would have done fine with out them (not to say they weren't a great finishing touch). With a quirky storyline and witty dialogue, this movie will leave you entertained and satisfied. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sreekiranMar 6, 2011
Title: fantastic mr. fox
Punchline: wild animals
Type: animation Script: an average script. Mr. fox steals the chickens , refrigerated ones and alcohol from some peasants. They hatch a plan to kill fox. Fox obliges his mistake to his wife.
Title: fantastic mr. fox
Punchline: wild animals
Type: animation

Script: an average script. Mr. fox steals the chickens , refrigerated ones and alcohol from some peasants. They hatch a plan to kill fox. Fox obliges his mistake to his wife. He says that he is responsible for this and he will do anything to continue this. But mistake goes the other way. His son ash and cousin christopherson plan a secret route to bring back the stolen tail. This brings trouble and christopherson is been kidnapped by the peasants. Now fox and rest need to do save christopherson. What they do? And how they do ? is the rest of the movie

Execution: the two questions in the script are perfectly executed. Editing is quick and movie does not lose the tempo. Perfect execution. Nice ending scene. Direction and screenplay: direction is good and narrated perfectly. Screenplay is gripping giving nice mood to the average script.

Casting: all the voices for the foxes and expressions by the animals like beavers rats and mice, rabbits are good. Their animation is perfect. Dialogs and action are perfectly synchronized.

Music and background score: the music is good. Background score is good during the tractor scene. Gun shots and explosions are reverberating and perfectly engineered.
Cinematography: this is the main life to the movie. Nice scenaries , nice cities , nice shops and good camera work. All the scenes are perfectly captured.

Editing: very quick and movie has a short running time. Good editing and really works well with the narrative speed.

Cgi/ production values: the visual effects ( animation ) are good. Production values are worthy. Entertainment value: a colorful rich treat for young children. With parents spending 90 minutes with them , this movie is a rejoice to watch during weekends. Final analysis: the movie begins with fast paced narration and the first half ends well. The second half has a serious tone to the script and execution is perfect. The climax is good and will cause goose bumps for more to come. Overall the movie is a treat to watch

Rating: 3.75/5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheInnocentFeb 5, 2011
For anyone who enjoyed Roald Dahl as a child, be aware: this movie is one of the greatest disappointments I've ever seen. Shoddy writing, inexplicably stupid characters, and a generally foolish plot hit me where it hurts. George Clooney,For anyone who enjoyed Roald Dahl as a child, be aware: this movie is one of the greatest disappointments I've ever seen. Shoddy writing, inexplicably stupid characters, and a generally foolish plot hit me where it hurts. George Clooney, who I usually enjoy immensely, actually managed to make me want to punch him in the mouth; none of the other actors managed even that large of a rise from me, instead filling me with resigned disgust. By the end, I was cheering for Boggis, Bunce, and Bean. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
Chucky666Jan 8, 2011
Best animated movie I've seen in a long time!! If you are tired of the typical, soulless animated crap that's out there these days, give this movie a try. Subtle humor, wonderful animation. Great movie. Not perfect, but very enjoyable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
LynJan 8, 2011
A fun story that balanced the expected cartoon-style character development with adventures and bright, madcap action. My only complaint is the fact that professional voice actors seem to be nearing extinction as money-grubbing movemakers hireA fun story that balanced the expected cartoon-style character development with adventures and bright, madcap action. My only complaint is the fact that professional voice actors seem to be nearing extinction as money-grubbing movemakers hire the big names, even though the stars go unseen. George Clooney's voice is so recognizable -- and his persona is so un-fox-like--that it was impossible not to feel throughout that his voice was kind of miscast. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
txrangersfan72Dec 19, 2010
One of the most entertaining, funny, clever and wonderfully voiced animated film I've ever seen. Wes Anderson's screen adaptation is brilliantly cast, uniquely animated as clever as the cast who voice the main characters.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
TubieNov 2, 2010
This movie bored me to the point I almost fell asleep many times during it. The beautiful animation and style can only keep you entertained for so long. The story is just a poor excuse. I am sorry but this movie with the cast and director itThis movie bored me to the point I almost fell asleep many times during it. The beautiful animation and style can only keep you entertained for so long. The story is just a poor excuse. I am sorry but this movie with the cast and director it had should have been much much better. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Oct 18, 2010
Fox retires from stealing chickens, becomes a journalist, wants to steal from three big farms, doesn't tell wife, farmers want him dead.
Brilliantly animated adaptation of Roald Dahl's book which is helped by solid voice work from George
Fox retires from stealing chickens, becomes a journalist, wants to steal from three big farms, doesn't tell wife, farmers want him dead.
Brilliantly animated adaptation of Roald Dahl's book which is helped by solid voice work from George Clooney, Bill Murray & co.
The Stop-Motion reminded me of 1970's Eastern European fairytales which I'd seen when I was younger & really does add to the whole feel & setting of the film.
Some nice music used throughout as well.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
smijatovSep 6, 2010
This is definitely a good film. Visually it is rather interesting and quite engaging in a way, which is rather refreshing for animated features. The musical score was definitely the high point of the film! Simply brilliant. However, neverThis is definitely a good film. Visually it is rather interesting and quite engaging in a way, which is rather refreshing for animated features. The musical score was definitely the high point of the film! Simply brilliant. However, never having read the book, the film itself does not seem to have a point to it. If one watches it and disregards that it's a children's book originally, one would ask themselves "what the heck is the point of this thing???" despite it being rather entertaining. Also, the actors did an excellent job with the voice-over, especially George Clooney, and it was lovely to hear Meryl Streep's voice!

Overall, it is definitely a good film, but keep in mind that it does not necessarily have a point to it. It's a children's story turned into a film. Fun, but not very deep/challenging.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DarkCriticSep 1, 2010
Fantastic Mr. Fox is the best animated film of the year! It was based on the book by Roald Dahl,who created Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. It's a great stop-motion animated film since The Nightmare Before Christmas and Wallace & Gromit.Fantastic Mr. Fox is the best animated film of the year! It was based on the book by Roald Dahl,who created Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. It's a great stop-motion animated film since The Nightmare Before Christmas and Wallace & Gromit. The setting was beautiful. The story is very funny and very dark edge at the top. The characters are way awesome. George Clooney plays the best voice of Mr. Fox,he does react like Danny Ocean from The Ocean's Trilogy. So does Meryl Streep who voices Mrs. Fox,she's more foxxy like the other films that she done. Bill Murray was better playing as the owner of the tree,well done dude! So I enjoy this movie! It's was done by Wes Anderson who created slow and seriously films like The Royal Tenebaums and The Life Aquatic of Steve Zissou,but that his first independent animated film and it's sure it's great! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
A bombastic, unbarred children's tale whose only considerable flaw is that it is too much fun. Both Wes Andersen and George Clooney are at their peak.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
BenTMar 29, 2010
This movie is incredible, its not going to cater to you with easy jokes and physical humor, but its hilarious. Dont be fooled by the blowhards below me, watch this movie immediately.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
m1Mar 29, 2010
Finally, a non-3D animated film! I don't mind 3D animated films in general; they're actually one of my few preferences for the use of 3D. But the old fashioned method of Fantastic Mr. Fox's animation was riveting and colorful. Finally, a non-3D animated film! I don't mind 3D animated films in general; they're actually one of my few preferences for the use of 3D. But the old fashioned method of Fantastic Mr. Fox's animation was riveting and colorful. Wes Anderson added humor and surprising tension to draw you into these characters and feel sympathy for them. Despite the unnecessary drug content, this movie is highly recommended and should have won Best Animated Film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PhillipJ.Mar 26, 2010
The humour is outstanding and the style superb. The brilliance of it can miss those not looking for it. It shouldn't be taken as a book adaption or a genre-defined movie. The realism of the closeness to the averageness of it is what The humour is outstanding and the style superb. The brilliance of it can miss those not looking for it. It shouldn't be taken as a book adaption or a genre-defined movie. The realism of the closeness to the averageness of it is what drives Mr. Fox to look for a way out of the dull life he is in. There are many deep emotional levels that appeal to the heart of human nature and the dark side of business as seen by nature. Some things seem underplayed, but the story is solid. Don't go looking for something that makes you laugh every second especially if you have a close-mind. This movie is 50% opinion and 50% art. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CraigMMar 24, 2010
I absolutely adored this movie. Easily one of my favorites so far this year. I don't really think too many people will end up watching it, but I highly recommend it to anyone. Well, anyone with a decent sense of humour at least.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JohnJ.Mar 1, 2010
I'm not understanding the harsh criticism this film is getting from some people on here. "unwatchable", "worst attempt at film making...", "boring boring boring dumb". Well-crafted and witty films like this restore my faith in Hollywood I'm not understanding the harsh criticism this film is getting from some people on here. "unwatchable", "worst attempt at film making...", "boring boring boring dumb". Well-crafted and witty films like this restore my faith in Hollywood after being clubbed over the head with productions like Avatar. Perhaps that's what's wrong with the aforementioned 'reviewers', they've subjected themselves to too many low-brow cinematic beatdowns that they can't identify talented filmmaking when it's presented to them in a subtle and sophisticated fashion. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DanFFeb 26, 2010
Divisive film. Wow. I love this movie and can't wait to get it on DVD. I'm a huge fan of Wes Anderson films, and it's a pleasure to have one that's completely innocent (with brilliant uses of the word "cuss"). I suppose Divisive film. Wow. I love this movie and can't wait to get it on DVD. I'm a huge fan of Wes Anderson films, and it's a pleasure to have one that's completely innocent (with brilliant uses of the word "cuss"). I suppose if you're used to Disney and all the other movies produced in the same vein, this may come off poorly. However, if you watch carefully, there are scores of clever and charming moments that made me laugh out loud. Like a good meal or a quality album, this takes a little more thought to enjoy than say, your typical summer blockbuster. Thank goodness for dry humor. I watched this with my parents, who I thought would not enjoy the film. They loved it almost as much as I did, and with good reason. It's a lovely film, and beautiful (with great use of Helvetica all over the place). I enjoyed the characters and the dilemma. Another plus: Wes Anderson seems to understand that PG doesn't have to mean "kids movie." See this and pay careful attention - you'll be rewarded. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MattAFeb 24, 2010
It's hard for me to explain why i loved this movie so much. Maybe it was its beautiful art style. Maybe it was because of its fast paced structure? Maybe it was because of its subtle off-beat humor? I think it was its capability to It's hard for me to explain why i loved this movie so much. Maybe it was its beautiful art style. Maybe it was because of its fast paced structure? Maybe it was because of its subtle off-beat humor? I think it was its capability to blend all of the these aspects together into a full cohesive experience that was enjoyable on so many levels. I don't have any kids, and don't know if they would find this movie to be fun or funny... but I... a 22 year old man... found it to be completely fulfilling and it greatly surpassed my expectations. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
KennethSFeb 15, 2010
I felt it was just an average film with average characters that didn't move me at all. I appreciated the stop-motion animation and the beautiful score, but the story was boring and rather tedious. It's not as witty or humorous as I felt it was just an average film with average characters that didn't move me at all. I appreciated the stop-motion animation and the beautiful score, but the story was boring and rather tedious. It's not as witty or humorous as Roald Dahl's fantastic book. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SandiCFeb 12, 2010
This was the worst movie I have ever seen next to "Mountains of the Moon"...I was with a group of 8 of us, and not a single person including the kids had one thing good to say about it when if finally ended...boring, boring, boring, dumb!! I This was the worst movie I have ever seen next to "Mountains of the Moon"...I was with a group of 8 of us, and not a single person including the kids had one thing good to say about it when if finally ended...boring, boring, boring, dumb!! I kept wanting to leave, but thought it had to get better...never did! It was 90 min. I'll never get back! Although it felt like days sitting there being annoyed! Can't figure out what the hype is all about because it was BAD!! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
TimDFeb 7, 2010
This may have been the single most enjoyable movie of 2009. The visual style lends to an all pervasive sense of playfulness that never slips, even in more serious moments. The script is excellent and all the actors deliver their lines This may have been the single most enjoyable movie of 2009. The visual style lends to an all pervasive sense of playfulness that never slips, even in more serious moments. The script is excellent and all the actors deliver their lines perfectly. There is not a film I saw this year I would recommend more readily. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ultrafattyFeb 7, 2010
Quite simply the laziest and worst attempt at film making I have ever had the misfortune of sitting through.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
RyanFFeb 3, 2010
Amazing movie, great cast, and just plain awesome. are all words i would use to describe this movie. with its great sense of humor, and perfect timing on all the jokes makes this one of my favorite movies ever.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
FrankGJan 24, 2010
Unwatchable. Not funny for adults, dull for kids. There are no entertaining issues here, just a waste of talent. It isn't clear why this nostalgic amateurish animation technique was used, but it looks like a student film. Though it Unwatchable. Not funny for adults, dull for kids. There are no entertaining issues here, just a waste of talent. It isn't clear why this nostalgic amateurish animation technique was used, but it looks like a student film. Though it looks like critics were impressed by A-list talent working on this kind of movie, the big question for the rest of us is what cellular service they used to phone in these performances. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
SethBJan 23, 2010
Best film of '09. Saw it twice and will but it right wen it comes out on DVD. Its a witty, lovable film in a sea of unlikable crap to come out this year (transformers 2, G.I. Joe) No matter what genre it says, it is not a kids movie. Best film of '09. Saw it twice and will but it right wen it comes out on DVD. Its a witty, lovable film in a sea of unlikable crap to come out this year (transformers 2, G.I. Joe) No matter what genre it says, it is not a kids movie. They won't get most of the jokes that Wes put in. In fact, he had to add a censor word to replace what were originally swears(the word is Cus) He did this because it was based of a kids book so he had to make it kid friendly. If you haven't seen it yet, see it on DVD. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
LenBJan 19, 2010
Clever! Dashing funny! Its got a thrilling speed this is the type of movie I love! I was very impressed so entertaining! Go See this film right now! amazing! The drums in the movie in some of the exciting scenes really buzz it up a bunch Clever! Dashing funny! Its got a thrilling speed this is the type of movie I love! I was very impressed so entertaining! Go See this film right now! amazing! The drums in the movie in some of the exciting scenes really buzz it up a bunch this movie is cunning and sinister, total knock-out awesome film! Gotta love it as fun as ratatouille!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JonahCJan 17, 2010
The worst kind of movie is a movie that makes you feel nothing. At least a really bad movie will make you emote, it will make you angry so at least you care. I sat in the theater and the movie rolled and I felt almost nothing. The main The worst kind of movie is a movie that makes you feel nothing. At least a really bad movie will make you emote, it will make you angry so at least you care. I sat in the theater and the movie rolled and I felt almost nothing. The main character is wholly unlikeable and I didn't care about any of the rest of the cast. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SuzanneJan 13, 2010
This was my favorite movie of 2009. Intelligently imagined and meticulously detailed. I fell in love, and took friends to see it with me for a total of four viewings!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
KenDJan 11, 2010
Wary of quirky Wes Anderson films about the privileged and anxious? So was I, but he's knocked this one out of the park. It's a labour of love, wonderfully written, casted and crafted (a thoroughly appropriate word in this Wary of quirky Wes Anderson films about the privileged and anxious? So was I, but he's knocked this one out of the park. It's a labour of love, wonderfully written, casted and crafted (a thoroughly appropriate word in this context.) Made for smiles not yuks, and all the better for it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
SuzyWJan 8, 2010
Not exciting and witty like the book it's based on. Gimmicky.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
5
SausageJan 5, 2010
Fantastic Mr Fox has the quirkiness of most Wes Anderson movies which work wonderfully with the 1970's palett, unfortunately however it also has the forced, trying to hard, moments of the Darjeeling Limited. The feel of the movie works Fantastic Mr Fox has the quirkiness of most Wes Anderson movies which work wonderfully with the 1970's palett, unfortunately however it also has the forced, trying to hard, moments of the Darjeeling Limited. The feel of the movie works and certain scenes fit together just perfectly creating a "realistic" Roald Dahl world with a touch of charm. Pity then that Wes Anderson resorts to his "awkwardness" tool, which breaks the movies flow, stops the fun and pulls the rug under the feet of any child (or in my case; adult) trying to enjoy it!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ScottA.Dec 31, 2009
More playful than anything W.Anderson has done, but more disciplined, too, probably because he he's guided by his source material. This explains why it goes a bit off-the-rails emo-loony the way W.Anderson movies do when he creates an More playful than anything W.Anderson has done, but more disciplined, too, probably because he he's guided by his source material. This explains why it goes a bit off-the-rails emo-loony the way W.Anderson movies do when he creates an epilogue the movie never had. Still, there are the cute moments you would expect with an animated movie voiced by Clooney, Meryl, J.S., and Owen Wilson (the whackball tutorial is a highlight), even if the title character kind of comes off as kind of a selfish, self-satisfied a-hole. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TomS.Dec 23, 2009
Beautiful, funny and tragic all at the same time. Fantastic Mr. Fox is nothing short of life affirming.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RandyM.Dec 17, 2009
Superb, fun and artistic, "Fantastic Mr. Fox" is a whimsically hilarious tale that simply must be experienced. Cheers to Wes Anderson's creative genius.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesH.Dec 16, 2009
I loved this quirkly film. It had me hooked in the first 5 minutes and grinning and laughing throughout. The animation was perfect for the quirky type of film it was. George Clooney was great in the lead role, but everyone else was up to the I loved this quirkly film. It had me hooked in the first 5 minutes and grinning and laughing throughout. The animation was perfect for the quirky type of film it was. George Clooney was great in the lead role, but everyone else was up to the challenge as well. Pixar finally has some competition, as this movie AND "A Christmas Carol" were BOTH better than "Up". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EvanS.Dec 15, 2009
It breaks my heart that this movie is bombing, It deserves to be seen - and I don't use those words often.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinL.Dec 13, 2009
UP, you have competition at the Academy Awards this year! To keep it short, this was a great film that had me grinning the entire way through. A must see.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KurtC.Dec 9, 2009
Cant See how people wouldn't find this funny. And as much as its meant to be a kids movie its really is not. To Louisa, its meant to be a kids movie ! Why the cuss are you going so deep into how the animals are sized and a possum in Cant See how people wouldn't find this funny. And as much as its meant to be a kids movie its really is not. To Louisa, its meant to be a kids movie ! Why the cuss are you going so deep into how the animals are sized and a possum in Britain and that the foxes only have one cub, Jesus Christ, its an animated 'kids' movie.. The toys talk in toy story, does that bother you ? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NathanB.Dec 8, 2009
Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant. This movie didn't require an explanation.. It was absolutely beautiful and possessed the right amount of "Art".
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkSDec 7, 2009
One of the best movies I've ever seen. Go see this movie. You may love it and you might hate it, but if you do love it you'll smile for a month of Sundays.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
daphnecDec 6, 2009
This was a pretentious, boring, painful to watch piece of "I am so cool. Look-it me I am a hip director" movie. So it was somewhat visually interesting. I think I would have enjoyed it a lot more if the sound had malfunctioned in the This was a pretentious, boring, painful to watch piece of "I am so cool. Look-it me I am a hip director" movie. So it was somewhat visually interesting. I think I would have enjoyed it a lot more if the sound had malfunctioned in the theater. Then I wouldn't have had to hear the ridiculous dialog and painfully bored hip dialog. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NavyB.Dec 5, 2009
Back to form for Anderson after a couple of uneven films. I thought this was great ... funny, cool to look at, great performances and good humor.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
CarolynM.Dec 4, 2009
Beautifully executed and essentially dull; 5 minutes after leaving the theatre we asked ourselves, "What was that about?"
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
LouisaDec 4, 2009
A review for any people out there who wanted to see an animal movie: this is not it. To give some context for my review: I totally loved Bottle Rocket, Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, and The Life Aquatic. For me (my sister violently A review for any people out there who wanted to see an animal movie: this is not it. To give some context for my review: I totally loved Bottle Rocket, Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, and The Life Aquatic. For me (my sister violently disagrees) the Darjeeling Limited and its prequel, for all their magical sets and wonderful details, was just recycling the previous movies, and I found the Fantastic Mr. Fox, for all its amazing, unique animation, even more recycled. For a movie all about delightful detail, why do we have an opossum in Britain? a pair of foxes with only one cub? beagles without a trace of beagleishness? a rat the size of a fox? The reason is that this is not a movie about animals, it is a movie about people, and in fact this is a movie about people we've already seen in previous Wes Anderson movies. Several times I had an eerie (and not necessarily negative) feeling of deja vu, feeling that Anderson had literally recreated scenes from his live-action movies in puppet form. Roald Dahl is nowhere to be found ("The Fantastic Mr. Fox," which I only read out of curiosity after finding the movie so un-Dahl-ish, was for me not anywhere near the top 10 best Dahl stories, but I was interested to see it was almost completely different in its sense of humor and its priorities--it was really about a fox, for one thing, not a human in a fox's clothing). Anderson's characters' lack of animalness stands in sharp contrast to Pixar's recent terrific movie "Up," where the bird and dogs are wonderfully real and beast-like--even though clearly imaginary. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JenniferF.Dec 4, 2009
Absolutely delightful. Best thing Wes Anderson has done since Rushmore.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChadSDec 3, 2009
Franklin Bean(Michael Gambon), a manufacturer of apple cider, is no Davy Crockett, but he, as well as his farmer friends, are not the men in black hats; are not in actuality, on closer inspection, the bad guys. Unlike Crockett, who opposed Franklin Bean(Michael Gambon), a manufacturer of apple cider, is no Davy Crockett, but he, as well as his farmer friends, are not the men in black hats; are not in actuality, on closer inspection, the bad guys. Unlike Crockett, who opposed the removal of Indians from their homestead, Bean wants the animals off his land. (Note: It's the wolf who's the stand-in for the Native American, not the meadow animals.) Although it's only natural that you, the moviegoer, should side with the talking critters, don't overlook the fact that it's the foxes who start the war, in which the landowners are forced in a position to defend their respective livelihoods. Interestingly enough, the filmmaker uses The Beach Boys' "Heroes and Villains" during a scene where Mr. and Mrs. Fox(voiced brilliantly by George Clooney and Meryl Streep) steal chickens. The Brian Wilson-penned song calls into question the role of the foxes as either being heroes(the natural assumption made by the audience), or anti-heroes. Despite being adorable and wryly funny, they're undoubtedly the latter, as the sequence is preceeded by the opening scene's uncanny resemblance to the one in Fred Zinneman's "High Noon", where the posse of gunslingers congregate while being scored by a Tex Ritter ballad("Do Not Forsake Me"). There's a juxtaposition at work, as the song reflects the protagonist's desire to see "Frank Miller dead". Likewise, "Fantastic Mr. Fox" uses "The Ballad of Davy Crockett", and Davy Crockett is not Mr. Fox: it's Bean. In both cases, the protagonist's song humanizes the villain. The filmmaker pays homage to the imagery in "High Noon" where one gunslinger is approached by his associate on horseback, as Mr. Fox is joined by Mrs. Fox in a meadow before they they plunder a squab farm. The foxes are lovable, but they're thieves, and worse, don't have the excuse of being indigenous creatures, because they're civilized, a cut above the wild animals(like the wolf). (The badger, played by Bill Murray, is an industrialist; he owns a flint mine.) Most notably, Kristofferson(voiced by Eric Chase Anderson), the foxes' charge, arrives by train, as Frank Miller does in the Gary Cooper film, and like the "High Noon" antagonist, this slightly effeminate visitor is targeted for death. The filmmaker references this fact, arguably: Ash(voiced by Jason Schwartzman) owns a train set that he demonstrates for Kristofferson, which is followed by a cut to the actual train he arrived on. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
davemDec 2, 2009
Zero mention by anyone of the fact that this is a roaldh Dahl book? written yonks ago!? it gets to hollywood and all of a sudden its written by wes anderson! i suppose he wrote charlie and the chocolate factory too?? Is there one film critic Zero mention by anyone of the fact that this is a roaldh Dahl book? written yonks ago!? it gets to hollywood and all of a sudden its written by wes anderson! i suppose he wrote charlie and the chocolate factory too?? Is there one film critic reporter anywhere in the usa who actually researches? Buy your kids the book people! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KarlTDec 2, 2009
Wes Anderson's style shines through even to the animated genre. It is brilliantly written and brilliantly directed. It is not on the same level as UP in terms of animated films, but it is certainly enjoyable. Take your kids to see this Wes Anderson's style shines through even to the animated genre. It is brilliantly written and brilliantly directed. It is not on the same level as UP in terms of animated films, but it is certainly enjoyable. Take your kids to see this one, and you will have an equally "fantastic" time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrandonTDec 1, 2009
Don't see Twilight, see this. It's just brilliant.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DFiddyDec 1, 2009
Superb! Wes' world ported over to animation very well. I had the biggest grin on my face throughout the entire movie. Extremely well done production, voice acting, script...come to think of it, I enjoyed every little detail of it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshFDec 1, 2009
Fantastic mr fox is nothing short of fantastic. very creative. if you like art, then that is exactly what this movie is. it's art. very refreshing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
M.T.ElliottNov 30, 2009
Being a Wes Anderson fan is not required for this fun and quirky screen adaptation, but enough of his style seeps through for those that are. The story is never too childish and Dahl's source material rich and -frankly- bizarre enough Being a Wes Anderson fan is not required for this fun and quirky screen adaptation, but enough of his style seeps through for those that are. The story is never too childish and Dahl's source material rich and -frankly- bizarre enough to keep adults guessing- with a good amount of near-cussing thrown in too. The stop motion fills the screen with an array of sights that leave the viewer wishing they had a pause button. Be prepared to leave the theater ready to watch it again as this film, like many of Anderson's other movies, will get improve with a second viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HenryANov 30, 2009
It makes you feel good. Great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SeanKNov 30, 2009
My absolute favorite animated film already. The humor was spot-on, the stop motion was incredibly done, the voice acting was perfect, and the style was just bewilderingly effective.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndyNov 30, 2009
An excellent adaptation of Roald Dahl's noted children's book, with a terrific roster of readers and entertaining both for kids and adults.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlexBNov 29, 2009
A highly entertaining film with great visuals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobWNov 29, 2009
Witty, intelligent, fun. Great soundtrack too.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
DaveWNov 28, 2009
This is a Fantastic Mr. Fox. I laughed, I smiled and I laughed some more at this quirky little film. I was even smiling on the way out. The music even made me laugh. I think adults will like this even more than kids will. The voices were This is a Fantastic Mr. Fox. I laughed, I smiled and I laughed some more at this quirky little film. I was even smiling on the way out. The music even made me laugh. I think adults will like this even more than kids will. The voices were great and though the "animation" was a little different you get swept up in the story. Spread the word about this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BradG.Nov 28, 2009
Didn't like it at all. Pixar's got it beat. Animation was not up to par, and the characters never grabbed my attention. One of my fellow moviegoers slept through 98% of the movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
EmilyC.Nov 28, 2009
Truly one of the worst movies I've ever seen.
0 of 7 users found this helpful
1
JanetM.Nov 28, 2009
Weird and creepy......Wouldn't recommend it at all.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MatthewANov 28, 2009
Truly, absolutely spectacular. One of the best movies I've ever seen, and certainly the most original. Anderson has managed to squeeze more character out of a collection of miniature animal puppets than is exhibited in the majority of Truly, absolutely spectacular. One of the best movies I've ever seen, and certainly the most original. Anderson has managed to squeeze more character out of a collection of miniature animal puppets than is exhibited in the majority of live actors, and every painstakingly animated moment is a joy to behold. The Fantastic Mr. Fox truly lives up to its name! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful