Fargo

Fargo Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 561 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: An unsuccessful car salesman (Macy) plans to wipe out his personal debts by hiring a pair of small-time, out-of-town crooks to kidnap his wife (McDormand), then collect the ransom from her dad (Presnell), a wealthy tightwad.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Dizzily rich, witty, and satisfying.
  2. TNT RoughCut
    Reviewed by: Gabriel J.P. Goldberg
    100
    As gruesome as Fargo is, the Coens keep us laughing with a Hollywood-centric view of middle America.
  3. 100
    Rotates its story through satire, comedy, suspense and violence, until it emerges as one of the best films I've ever seen.
  4. 89
    An immersion into the characters' world in toto, from the "Oh geezes" and the "Oh, yaahs" to the dark and flinty core beneath.
  5. What mainly registers is the quiet desperation and simple pleasures of ordinary midwestern lives, the fatuous ways that people cover up their emotional and intellectual gaps, and the alternating pointlessness and cuteness of human existence. This may be a masterpiece of sorts, but it left me feeling rotten.
  6. 75
    It's easy to admire what the Coens are trying to do in Fargo, but more difficult to actually like the film.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    40
    All attitude and low aptitude.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 73
  2. Negative: 6 out of 73
  1. matta
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    A classic that still seems fresh, funny and completely new over a decade later. P.S. I know it seems nitpicky, but Metacritic, you have in A classic that still seems fresh, funny and completely new over a decade later. P.S. I know it seems nitpicky, but Metacritic, you have in the synopsis that Frances McDormand is the wife who gets kidnapped. She's not. She's the cop. Just thought I'd let you know. Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    No doubt an excellent film. In my opinion it is better than The Big Lebowski, No Country For Old Men, and other Coen brother movies. INo doubt an excellent film. In my opinion it is better than The Big Lebowski, No Country For Old Men, and other Coen brother movies. I thought it was very well written, directed, and had a great story. Highly recommend this one. Expand
  3. May 1, 2014
    10
    A comedy thriller by the hand of Ethan Coen, and a sharp script that makes us laugh while being at the edge of the seat. Short, Entertaining,A comedy thriller by the hand of Ethan Coen, and a sharp script that makes us laugh while being at the edge of the seat. Short, Entertaining, funny, brutal, unforgettable performances, murders, jokes. What's not to love in this masterpiece? Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Fargo is good because it manages to be darkly humorous but at the same time gory, violent and down to earth. The characters seem very real andFargo is good because it manages to be darkly humorous but at the same time gory, violent and down to earth. The characters seem very real and even relatable and the movie is just filled with classic moments. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    It stands as one fine achievement. It accomplished so much in storytelling yet it was incredibly simplistic. Very funny with heavy use ofIt stands as one fine achievement. It accomplished so much in storytelling yet it was incredibly simplistic. Very funny with heavy use of satire. The atmosphere around Fargo proves that the Coen brothers know how to direct a movie. And what a movie it is. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2015
    7
    Expectations are always high when you watch a film like "Fargo" for the first time two decades after its original release, but I stillExpectations are always high when you watch a film like "Fargo" for the first time two decades after its original release, but I still generally liked it a lot and found both the final resolution and the message in this film plausible. The soundtrack was also enchanting. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2014
    0
    Ok this movie is a kick in my ass. Kick in my ass. Kick ass. That's a good movie. Why? Because it's not extra-long, not boring and not forOk this movie is a kick in my ass. Kick in my ass. Kick ass. That's a good movie. Why? Because it's not extra-long, not boring and not for pure retards. At least Daniel Day Lewis is not in the movie. Because, please, he's idiot. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Every Coen Brothers Movie, Ranked

    Every Coen Brothers Movie, Ranked Image
    Published: February 24, 2016
    What is the best film directed by the Coen brothers? Find out as we rank all 17 of their movies.
  2. The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990

    The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990 Image
    Published: February 22, 2011
    With this year's Oscars rapidly approaching, we look back at ten best picture winners from the past two decades that seem like questionable choices today, and see which great films were snubbed as a result.
  3. Episode Review: Fargo Season 1 Finale

    Episode Review: Fargo Season 1 Finale Image
    Published: June 18, 2014
    Critics liked FX's adapation of the Coen brothers movie Fargo when it began, but how do they feel 10 weeks later? Inside, find reviews for last night's season finale.
  4. Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows Image
    Published: September 2, 2015
    Get the latest details on your favorite TV shows returning this fall, including Fargo, Transparent, Empire, American Horror Story, The Leftovers, The Affair, The Returned, Arrow, and The Knick.
  5. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2014

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2014 Image
    Published: October 7, 2014
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including Snowpiercer, Edge of Tomorrow, X-Men: Days of Future Past, Obvious Child, the first season of FX hit Fargo, and much more.