Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 29, 2011
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 542 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
423
Mixed:
83
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
MarcDoyleApr 30, 2011
As several others have mentioned, you absolutely have to sit through the credits. Quite a payoff at the end. This movie is the Oceans 11 of the Fast & The Furious franchise, but you have the benefit of knowing the cast of characters from theAs several others have mentioned, you absolutely have to sit through the credits. Quite a payoff at the end. This movie is the Oceans 11 of the Fast & The Furious franchise, but you have the benefit of knowing the cast of characters from the earlier films. It's just a lot of fun. Guns, fistfights, car chases, heists, destruction, bad guys in power, revenge, robin hood - it's all here. And the wry smile from Dom (Vin Diesel) brings it all together. I was a little surprised the critics were on board for this one, but I can see why they liked it for the most part. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
darktylerJul 23, 2011
ave been a fan of this series ever since the first movie came out in 2001. When I heard this movie was going to come out, I was very excited; especially since seeing the fourth so many times. After the movie, I said to my friend, "That wasave been a fan of this series ever since the first movie came out in 2001. When I heard this movie was going to come out, I was very excited; especially since seeing the fourth so many times. After the movie, I said to my friend, "That was one of the best movies I've seen in a while." I was completely serious too. From the giant gun fights and the fight between Vin Diesel and the Rock, â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mau1133May 18, 2011
oh come on this movie was great, i took my girlfriend and she loved it, action packed and long becuase there is alot going on in this one, well worth it. let me think what else, oh the two regeton guys made me laugh alot they should do moreoh come on this movie was great, i took my girlfriend and she loved it, action packed and long becuase there is alot going on in this one, well worth it. let me think what else, oh the two regeton guys made me laugh alot they should do more movies together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gamefriekApr 30, 2011
I have been a fan of this series ever since the first movie came out in 2001. When I heard this movie was going to come out, I was very excited; especially since seeing the fourth so many times. After the movie, I said to my friend, "That wasI have been a fan of this series ever since the first movie came out in 2001. When I heard this movie was going to come out, I was very excited; especially since seeing the fourth so many times. After the movie, I said to my friend, "That was one of the best movies I've seen in a while." I was completely serious too. From the giant gun fights and the fight between Vin Diesel and the Rock, to the high octane car chases, this movie has it all. I'm very excited to see the sixth movie that they are working on now. I hope it's as good as this was. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
Andy92Apr 30, 2011
i am not going to as far as saying this movie deserves a perfect 10 but it gets a good 9 as a fan of the series since the first movie. what i really liked about this movie is the inspiring teamwork shown in Dom's crew they stay by each otheri am not going to as far as saying this movie deserves a perfect 10 but it gets a good 9 as a fan of the series since the first movie. what i really liked about this movie is the inspiring teamwork shown in Dom's crew they stay by each other no matter what and its them against the world i mean they have got a city full of corrupt working for the most powerful man in Rio and they all have an elite federal agent after them this is the kind of thing that builds up big suspense. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ComasiSep 25, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is my favorite Fast & Furious movie. A lot of over the top action, funny lines, and an awesome performance by Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson. The villain in the movie doesn't really make you hate him enough that you want him to die now. But it still satisfies you when he gets shot and dies even though the execution was very quick and is quickly forgotten after he dies. After the heist, you feel the weight when the cast tries to open the vault. When they open the vault, you actually feel happy for them. I did. And I'm glad they showed how the group spent their lives after their the heist. It's a really good movie and really enjoyable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BrahmaBullMay 1, 2011
Totally rocked (literally, The Rock). Summer action has officially begun. If you even slightly enjoyed the previous movies, this one proves the series is still going strong. Vin is slightly chunkier and beefier but the rest of the castTotally rocked (literally, The Rock). Summer action has officially begun. If you even slightly enjoyed the previous movies, this one proves the series is still going strong. Vin is slightly chunkier and beefier but the rest of the cast looks just like they always did. Tyrese along with Luda pumps up the hilarity and Dwayne is no bit player. The Rock puts in a performance that is arguably one of his best in an action film. The racing is slightly de-emphasized in favor of stunt driving, but it's all here: cars, babes, tunes. More guns and hand-to-hand combat than ever before to top it all off. You don't necessarily need to know the history of the characters, but this movie keeps extending what fans are familiar with. Add the "heist" twist and you've got yourself a winner. Watch for the surprise ending! My only question after all is said and done is: how did the producers get permission to destroy Rio De Janeiro as much as they did? Crazy destruction!!! "Fast" is fun!!! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
supersigyOct 24, 2011
You know those lazy action script moments that piss you off so much they pull you out of the movie: guy with gun walks close enough to get it batted away, kingping says "kill them" as he leaves the room-good guys pick lock at last second,You know those lazy action script moments that piss you off so much they pull you out of the movie: guy with gun walks close enough to get it batted away, kingping says "kill them" as he leaves the room-good guys pick lock at last second, late twist negates everything that happened 10 minutes ago, etc etc? Well this movie has all of them and then some. They should make Tokyo Drift 2. At least that one was stupid fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Apr 30, 2011
"Tho Not as Fast or Furious as its predecessors and completely implausible Fast Five is still a full - blown adrenalin pumping thrill ride. That holds you in the drivers seat till the Intense and Epic Final Act that will leave you breathless"Tho Not as Fast or Furious as its predecessors and completely implausible Fast Five is still a full - blown adrenalin pumping thrill ride. That holds you in the drivers seat till the Intense and Epic Final Act that will leave you breathless and shocked" .. B+ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryMay 4, 2011
Things have changed in this 5th installment of the "Fast & Furious" series: the stars are more pumped, Dwayne Johnson is the antagonist and it's more about action than the cars. This time Van Diesel, Paul Walker and Jordana Brewster are onThings have changed in this 5th installment of the "Fast & Furious" series: the stars are more pumped, Dwayne Johnson is the antagonist and it's more about action than the cars. This time Van Diesel, Paul Walker and Jordana Brewster are on the run in Rio, where they decide to stage one big final robbery. The movie basically becomes a heist flick that's bookended by two elaborate, action-packed chases. Sure, there's lots of fast driving, but it's not about racing. Still, there's plenty of macho posturing and quick-cut fights to add that testosterone edge. NOTE: Stay thru the credits until you get a double cameo surprise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BikerjamesMay 16, 2011
This movie fits in well with the others in the series. It is a well made action flick with great special effects that you will forget entirely in a couple of months. The best part of the movie is the opening train sequence. The carsThis movie fits in well with the others in the series. It is a well made action flick with great special effects that you will forget entirely in a couple of months. The best part of the movie is the opening train sequence. The cars pulling the safe at the end (not a spoiler since it is in the previews) will have you rolling your eyes in disbelief, but it is still exciting. The Rock actually gives one of his best screen performances to date. Not great but a fun movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
zero298May 5, 2011
What do Fast 5 and Ocean's 11 have in common besides numbers in their title? Watch this movie to find out. I really enjoyed this movie. I'm not exactly a big fan of the series, but all of the cheese and ridiculousness of this film kept meWhat do Fast 5 and Ocean's 11 have in common besides numbers in their title? Watch this movie to find out. I really enjoyed this movie. I'm not exactly a big fan of the series, but all of the cheese and ridiculousness of this film kept me very entertained despite not knowing the character relationships from the previous films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerJan 5, 2012
A good time if your a fan of the series or just like cheesy action movies with fast cars, the plot is surprisingly good, I wish it could have had a more intense feel, the plot really sets it up for one, but the goofy characters and cheesyA good time if your a fan of the series or just like cheesy action movies with fast cars, the plot is surprisingly good, I wish it could have had a more intense feel, the plot really sets it up for one, but the goofy characters and cheesy lines keep it from reaching it, and speaking of cheesy dialog all of the Rock's lines were awful, some will literally caused you pain to hear, but the action is intense and hiss fight scene with Vin Diesel was pretty awesome, this is basically a movie created specifically for the fans, and includes characters from all the previous movies even Tokyo Drift, so it's a good movie with some extremely cheesy moments, and I don't see this changing your ming if you weren't already a fan, but there are worse movies out there, and if you want a action movie with fast cars for a weekend rental and have seen the others then this is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
xanderveeApr 29, 2011
If you walk in the theater simply expecting a fun movie to to put you in the middle of yet another experience of ridiculous driving, explosions, gunfire, and a few laughs along the way, you will be very pleased. Some fans may be disappointedIf you walk in the theater simply expecting a fun movie to to put you in the middle of yet another experience of ridiculous driving, explosions, gunfire, and a few laughs along the way, you will be very pleased. Some fans may be disappointed to find that this latest installment of the series does not focus as much on street racing as the other movies may have, but the highly insane finale will be sure to leave everyone satisfied. Hint: Stay through the credits. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuAug 18, 2014
Fast Five (or is that The Fast & the Furious 5? or Fast & Furious 5? Or Rio Heist... never mind) is a decent addition to the franchise which proves to be more fun than parts 2, 3 & 4. Dialing the action up to insane levels and adding in TheFast Five (or is that The Fast & the Furious 5? or Fast & Furious 5? Or Rio Heist... never mind) is a decent addition to the franchise which proves to be more fun than parts 2, 3 & 4. Dialing the action up to insane levels and adding in The Rock makes this a ton of stoopid fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FDT44Apr 30, 2011
'Fast" fans will be left aghast in this latest installment of the racing series as the stunts soar to even greater, insurmountable lengths; impervious to limitation and restraint. Just when you think the crew can't make their objective'Fast" fans will be left aghast in this latest installment of the racing series as the stunts soar to even greater, insurmountable lengths; impervious to limitation and restraint. Just when you think the crew can't make their objective anymore difficult, they do, and execute with such foreseen efficiency, that the approaching quandary seems all the more likely. By the same token, 'Fast Five' is the facility to a much more enjoyable story-line and plot, going beyond life on the circuit. Even so, a few issues remain: "tongue-and-cheek" dialogue, predictability, troubles with continuity, and an overusage of moth-eaten expressions. Aside from subtle deficiencies, the film manages to sway the viewer away from such foibles, and instead, sublimate faced-paced visuals of daring brutes, tantalizing women, and enough tempo to make you wonder what just hit you. 'Fast' is geared up to thrill, and does just that, as entertainment wins the race against normalcy; making for far-fetched, fast, and furious fun. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
allystewMay 26, 2011
Great action movie. If you enjoyed any of the others in the series you'll love this. For me its arguably the best yet. Story, action scenes, comedy and "The Rock" make this worth seeing. I really think the last action sequence is amongst theGreat action movie. If you enjoyed any of the others in the series you'll love this. For me its arguably the best yet. Story, action scenes, comedy and "The Rock" make this worth seeing. I really think the last action sequence is amongst the best car scenes I've seen in a very long time. So good to see real stunts and less CGI for a change. Its a bit hard to believe in places but thats not the point here. Simply leave your brain at the door sit back and enjoy the ride. I'm sure there is more to come from this series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyFendiJun 15, 2011
Race Cars speeding along the street of Rio De Jainero, All Casts come together all at once, the rooftop chasing and ultimate gun-shooting, what more can you ask for? Here comes the fifth installment of THE FAST AND THE FURIOUS (2001)Race Cars speeding along the street of Rio De Jainero, All Casts come together all at once, the rooftop chasing and ultimate gun-shooting, what more can you ask for? Here comes the fifth installment of THE FAST AND THE FURIOUS (2001) franchise, thiz is actually the bridging story between THE FAST AND THE FURIOUS: TOKYO DRIFT (2006) and is a direct connection to the ending scenes of FAST & FURIOUS (2009), when Dom (Vin Diesel) sentenced to 25 years in federal prison and Brian gang (Paul Walker) attempting to free him again. Justin Lin directs thiz sequel with identical pace and tone from previous movies. Just like the previous F & F movies, it is all about high-speed car racing, hot and sexy babes and some of cat and mouse criminal activities. Well, to tell you the truth, thiz time is more like a Heist movie than Car Race movie. We find very less of eye-catching Race Cars, the movie put aside many glamour factors, to do otherwise they step on the gas pedal to full throttle into pure Action. Frankly said, I did not know for sure, who were the real Fast Five in thiz movie. Certainly, the focus is still on two central characters, Dom and Brian. The rest is Dom sister, Mia (Jordana Brewster), the big-mouth Roman (Tyrese Gibson), the high-tech Tej (Chris Ludacris Bridges), the big-muscle Vince (Matt Schulze), the beautiful driver Gal (Gisele Harabo) and the charismatic Sung Kang (Han Lue) from TOKYO DRIFT. One thing for sure, there are more than five people. Thiz time they got a well-matched opponent, the ambitious Federal Agent Luke Hobbs played by Dwayne The Rock Johnson! Thiz seems to be a great selection. The Rock delivers a strong and believable tough guy performance, I am beginning to think thiz WWE sensation could be a great serious Actor as well. On the other hand, Vin Diesel performs one round of WWE wrestling scene with the The Rock, it is pretty entertaining to see two giant muscle brutally clash with each other in bare hand fight. It comes to my mind, if Vin Diesel will also be one hell of good wrestler in WWE ring? With all the hype and enthusiasm around, thiz is clearly not the last F & F movie to be made, they will be back to do their things again. Thiz implicit confirmation was exposed in one of Hobb famous lines, We will find em, we take em as a team and we bring em back. And above all else, we do not ever, ever let them get into cars (again).

Visit My Blog on JONNYâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PleiadesPowerApr 29, 2011
Suspension of disbelief and overacting by The Rock aside, this more than any of the other movies was the most fun. Lots of unexpected comic relief, stunning action sequences, and I'm gonna say it, heart. I went in with low expectations andSuspension of disbelief and overacting by The Rock aside, this more than any of the other movies was the most fun. Lots of unexpected comic relief, stunning action sequences, and I'm gonna say it, heart. I went in with low expectations and came out thoroughly entertained. Go see it and have a crazy good time rooting for our favorite bad guys! Oh, and make sure you sit through the credits for a "Holy cow, no way!" moment. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
PurpleUrpNov 15, 2011
By far, an improvement to the series with its epic scenes that range from the light heavyweight fight to an unbelievable heist. Fast Five leaves its predecessors in the dust with its new material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
codfather96May 6, 2011
Less cars, more destroying Rio with a safe. So the acting is very bad and at one point they say "This just turned from mission impossible to mission damn insane!" But you must forgive for this as this is by far the best action movie thereLess cars, more destroying Rio with a safe. So the acting is very bad and at one point they say "This just turned from mission impossible to mission damn insane!" But you must forgive for this as this is by far the best action movie there will all year and it is the best in the series by far. It even has that great heist movie feeling and and towards the end, The Rock (or Dwayne) by far has the best movie kill this year and there is a $1 million drag race. One word, AMAZING! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheChaser1985May 21, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this movie was a 6.5, but I'll give it a 7. It was enjoyable, but I won't ever watch it again unless I'm super bored. The races in the this movie were lame and there weren't enough. And although all the Dodge Chargers were cool, it was still cop car sedans. And how about at the end when Dom gets his Dodge and Brian gets his Skyline, they go to race and it doesn't even show it!? Come on! I'm hoping for another one in the series, simply so i can see that race! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gilbertMay 4, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Es la mejor de la saga por mucho,llena de adrenalina y emociones no da chance a relajarse,un elenco maravilloso lleno de agrabables sorpresas,dejando un poco a un lado las carreras y centrandose mas en una historia,exelente ambientacion Brazil es magnifico. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Manymade1May 3, 2011
I don't think anyone expected the fifth film of the series to be the best. Up to this point the only one I liked was the first one, but after seeing this one possibly the greatest car themed film ever. it's full of action, comedy, drama,I don't think anyone expected the fifth film of the series to be the best. Up to this point the only one I liked was the first one, but after seeing this one possibly the greatest car themed film ever. it's full of action, comedy, drama, babes, and way more. True it didn't have too much racing in it for a street racing film , but the use of street racing was one of the main reasons none of the films got good reviews, and because of the fact that the last chase scene is one that you'll never forget. I definetly recommend this film to all, whether your a fan of racing or not. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
8
RJSmooveApr 29, 2011
Best in the series by far. Great additions to the collective cast of the series, great action set pieces, and an all around enjoyable ride. And stay through the credits!
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
RoscoJun 5, 2011
Best entry in the series by far. After the successful reboot of the Fast & Furious franchise, Fast Five delivers all action, high-octane, adrenaline fuled ride and once again improves the series by soome distance. Continuing on from theBest entry in the series by far. After the successful reboot of the Fast & Furious franchise, Fast Five delivers all action, high-octane, adrenaline fuled ride and once again improves the series by soome distance. Continuing on from the fourth outing Brian (Paul Walker) and Mia (Jordana Brewster) manage to free Dom (Vin Diesel) whilst he is being transferred to prison. The manage to flee the country and end up in Rio however its not wrong before the authorities are on their case, in the face of Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, who is challenged with finding Dom and his team and extraditing them back to America all the while Dom has actually planned a Heist with a large payday - namely Brazilian crimeloard Hernan Reyes' £100million (Joaquim de Almeida) in order for him, Brian and Mia to start a new life. Many familiar faces return from previous installments and be sure to stay for the credits as theres a shock instore beyond the actual movie which sets things up perfectly for the next sequel. Fast 5 won't win any special awards but it will entertain the hell out of you. Some people might critisize the fact that they seemed to have moved the emphasis away from the street racing but its a bold move and one that they have got spot on imo! Now its all about the heist, eg Oceans but mixed up with great adrenaline filled action set pieces, explosive scenes throughout many with The Rock who is awesome as Hobbs bringing his wrestling skills into effect in his bad ass, no nonsense approach resulting in an immensly entertaining movie from start to finish. Fast Five is bigger, badder and better. A hugely enjoyable ride in what is the best Fast film to date! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LanhavocMay 3, 2011
Fast Five is definitely the best of the series and the most worthy to be called a sequel to the original. This movie has it all for the adrenaline junky: Fast cars, hot women, guns, and insane action sequences. If you didn't like this movieFast Five is definitely the best of the series and the most worthy to be called a sequel to the original. This movie has it all for the adrenaline junky: Fast cars, hot women, guns, and insane action sequences. If you didn't like this movie then your brain just isn't capable of suspending disbelief, go watch a documentary instead! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
thesaxmaniacMay 2, 2011
You need to let yourself go before you walk into this fun, action-packed film. It's filled with the usual - babes, fast cars, ridiculous stunts, and a list of story Clichés. Just don't expect a realistic film, because theYou need to let yourself go before you walk into this fun, action-packed film. It's filled with the usual - babes, fast cars, ridiculous stunts, and a list of story Clichés. Just don't expect a realistic film, because the director doesn't want you to. They don't take themselves seriously and that means this makes for one of the most fun experiences in a theater in recent memory. Go with a big, lively audience and a fun group of friends and you will have yourself a damn good time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuyBrianApr 30, 2011
Like most of its predecessors, FAST FIVE is indeed big, bold and brainless...but it works, as the concept swings away from car racing to a broader, more action viewer friendly OCEANS 11 meets CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER meets the World WrestlingLike most of its predecessors, FAST FIVE is indeed big, bold and brainless...but it works, as the concept swings away from car racing to a broader, more action viewer friendly OCEANS 11 meets CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER meets the World Wrestling Federation hybrid. It's too long, it's pretty cheesy and it defies all laws of physics - but put all that aside (which you should be doing anyway...because it's a FATS AND FURIOUS sequel) and there's a great deal of pre-summer, eye-rolling, fun to be had. Far from a ten, I'm giving FIVE a seven. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ReviewMediaJun 5, 2011
Fast Five. Action packed thrill ride gun firing explosion blowing WOW of a film. You would think that after all the other four films that five would be pushing the sequel's too far. now i can see that, However "Fast Five" is by far the bestFast Five. Action packed thrill ride gun firing explosion blowing WOW of a film. You would think that after all the other four films that five would be pushing the sequel's too far. now i can see that, However "Fast Five" is by far the best one out of all of them. i guess because they have put much more money into this film, the budget was an estimated $125,000,000, the film was well advertised and people were more aware of this film coming to the cinema and there was a big "hype" about it coming out. I think the hype towards this film was the audience responding to all the characters from the previous films are now featured together as one "big family" and working together as a team to do this last job. This films got it all, comedy action thrill suspense, muscle and guns and girls in next to nothing washing beautiful cars, i mean seriously can anything top that? watch and see, yet another must see film and will rock your night at the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews