Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 29, 2011
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 547 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
426
Mixed:
85
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ComasiSep 25, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is my favorite Fast & Furious movie. A lot of over the top action, funny lines, and an awesome performance by Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson. The villain in the movie doesn't really make you hate him enough that you want him to die now. But it still satisfies you when he gets shot and dies even though the execution was very quick and is quickly forgotten after he dies. After the heist, you feel the weight when the cast tries to open the vault. When they open the vault, you actually feel happy for them. I did. And I'm glad they showed how the group spent their lives after their the heist. It's a really good movie and really enjoyable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FDT44Apr 30, 2011
'Fast" fans will be left aghast in this latest installment of the racing series as the stunts soar to even greater, insurmountable lengths; impervious to limitation and restraint. Just when you think the crew can't make their objective'Fast" fans will be left aghast in this latest installment of the racing series as the stunts soar to even greater, insurmountable lengths; impervious to limitation and restraint. Just when you think the crew can't make their objective anymore difficult, they do, and execute with such foreseen efficiency, that the approaching quandary seems all the more likely. By the same token, 'Fast Five' is the facility to a much more enjoyable story-line and plot, going beyond life on the circuit. Even so, a few issues remain: "tongue-and-cheek" dialogue, predictability, troubles with continuity, and an overusage of moth-eaten expressions. Aside from subtle deficiencies, the film manages to sway the viewer away from such foibles, and instead, sublimate faced-paced visuals of daring brutes, tantalizing women, and enough tempo to make you wonder what just hit you. 'Fast' is geared up to thrill, and does just that, as entertainment wins the race against normalcy; making for far-fetched, fast, and furious fun. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RJSmooveApr 29, 2011
Best in the series by far. Great additions to the collective cast of the series, great action set pieces, and an all around enjoyable ride. And stay through the credits!
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
BrahmaBullMay 1, 2011
Totally rocked (literally, The Rock). Summer action has officially begun. If you even slightly enjoyed the previous movies, this one proves the series is still going strong. Vin is slightly chunkier and beefier but the rest of the castTotally rocked (literally, The Rock). Summer action has officially begun. If you even slightly enjoyed the previous movies, this one proves the series is still going strong. Vin is slightly chunkier and beefier but the rest of the cast looks just like they always did. Tyrese along with Luda pumps up the hilarity and Dwayne is no bit player. The Rock puts in a performance that is arguably one of his best in an action film. The racing is slightly de-emphasized in favor of stunt driving, but it's all here: cars, babes, tunes. More guns and hand-to-hand combat than ever before to top it all off. You don't necessarily need to know the history of the characters, but this movie keeps extending what fans are familiar with. Add the "heist" twist and you've got yourself a winner. Watch for the surprise ending! My only question after all is said and done is: how did the producers get permission to destroy Rio De Janeiro as much as they did? Crazy destruction!!! "Fast" is fun!!! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleApr 30, 2011
As several others have mentioned, you absolutely have to sit through the credits. Quite a payoff at the end. This movie is the Oceans 11 of the Fast & The Furious franchise, but you have the benefit of knowing the cast of characters from theAs several others have mentioned, you absolutely have to sit through the credits. Quite a payoff at the end. This movie is the Oceans 11 of the Fast & The Furious franchise, but you have the benefit of knowing the cast of characters from the earlier films. It's just a lot of fun. Guns, fistfights, car chases, heists, destruction, bad guys in power, revenge, robin hood - it's all here. And the wry smile from Dom (Vin Diesel) brings it all together. I was a little surprised the critics were on board for this one, but I can see why they liked it for the most part. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Manymade1May 3, 2011
I don't think anyone expected the fifth film of the series to be the best. Up to this point the only one I liked was the first one, but after seeing this one possibly the greatest car themed film ever. it's full of action, comedy, drama,I don't think anyone expected the fifth film of the series to be the best. Up to this point the only one I liked was the first one, but after seeing this one possibly the greatest car themed film ever. it's full of action, comedy, drama, babes, and way more. True it didn't have too much racing in it for a street racing film , but the use of street racing was one of the main reasons none of the films got good reviews, and because of the fact that the last chase scene is one that you'll never forget. I definetly recommend this film to all, whether your a fan of racing or not. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
8
xanderveeApr 29, 2011
If you walk in the theater simply expecting a fun movie to to put you in the middle of yet another experience of ridiculous driving, explosions, gunfire, and a few laughs along the way, you will be very pleased. Some fans may be disappointedIf you walk in the theater simply expecting a fun movie to to put you in the middle of yet another experience of ridiculous driving, explosions, gunfire, and a few laughs along the way, you will be very pleased. Some fans may be disappointed to find that this latest installment of the series does not focus as much on street racing as the other movies may have, but the highly insane finale will be sure to leave everyone satisfied. Hint: Stay through the credits. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
gamefriekApr 30, 2011
I have been a fan of this series ever since the first movie came out in 2001. When I heard this movie was going to come out, I was very excited; especially since seeing the fourth so many times. After the movie, I said to my friend, "That wasI have been a fan of this series ever since the first movie came out in 2001. When I heard this movie was going to come out, I was very excited; especially since seeing the fourth so many times. After the movie, I said to my friend, "That was one of the best movies I've seen in a while." I was completely serious too. From the giant gun fights and the fight between Vin Diesel and the Rock, to the high octane car chases, this movie has it all. I'm very excited to see the sixth movie that they are working on now. I hope it's as good as this was. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
thesaxmaniacMay 2, 2011
You need to let yourself go before you walk into this fun, action-packed film. It's filled with the usual - babes, fast cars, ridiculous stunts, and a list of story Clichés. Just don't expect a realistic film, because theYou need to let yourself go before you walk into this fun, action-packed film. It's filled with the usual - babes, fast cars, ridiculous stunts, and a list of story Clichés. Just don't expect a realistic film, because the director doesn't want you to. They don't take themselves seriously and that means this makes for one of the most fun experiences in a theater in recent memory. Go with a big, lively audience and a fun group of friends and you will have yourself a damn good time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
Andy92Apr 30, 2011
i am not going to as far as saying this movie deserves a perfect 10 but it gets a good 9 as a fan of the series since the first movie. what i really liked about this movie is the inspiring teamwork shown in Dom's crew they stay by each otheri am not going to as far as saying this movie deserves a perfect 10 but it gets a good 9 as a fan of the series since the first movie. what i really liked about this movie is the inspiring teamwork shown in Dom's crew they stay by each other no matter what and its them against the world i mean they have got a city full of corrupt working for the most powerful man in Rio and they all have an elite federal agent after them this is the kind of thing that builds up big suspense. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
PleiadesPowerApr 29, 2011
Suspension of disbelief and overacting by The Rock aside, this more than any of the other movies was the most fun. Lots of unexpected comic relief, stunning action sequences, and I'm gonna say it, heart. I went in with low expectations andSuspension of disbelief and overacting by The Rock aside, this more than any of the other movies was the most fun. Lots of unexpected comic relief, stunning action sequences, and I'm gonna say it, heart. I went in with low expectations and came out thoroughly entertained. Go see it and have a crazy good time rooting for our favorite bad guys! Oh, and make sure you sit through the credits for a "Holy cow, no way!" moment. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuyBrianApr 30, 2011
Like most of its predecessors, FAST FIVE is indeed big, bold and brainless...but it works, as the concept swings away from car racing to a broader, more action viewer friendly OCEANS 11 meets CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER meets the World WrestlingLike most of its predecessors, FAST FIVE is indeed big, bold and brainless...but it works, as the concept swings away from car racing to a broader, more action viewer friendly OCEANS 11 meets CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER meets the World Wrestling Federation hybrid. It's too long, it's pretty cheesy and it defies all laws of physics - but put all that aside (which you should be doing anyway...because it's a FATS AND FURIOUS sequel) and there's a great deal of pre-summer, eye-rolling, fun to be had. Far from a ten, I'm giving FIVE a seven. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Shiro_May 1, 2011
Great film. pure escapism. Best of the series. never slow. action packed adventure. Great locations and not bad acting for the best part. cant wait for the next one..........
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
lovemusicMay 15, 2011
BEST ONE OF THE SERIES. it was a great action movie. it was **** car bashing madness. vin diesel and the rock gives the movie life. good job fellas. great improvement. i finally liked a fast and the furious movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
davenbettridgeOct 23, 2011
Fast Five was a big improvement from the past few films in the Fast and Furious franchise. The actors although are goofs, were well used and the climax of the story was solid, entertaining, well edited and thrilling. The movies best partsFast Five was a big improvement from the past few films in the Fast and Furious franchise. The actors although are goofs, were well used and the climax of the story was solid, entertaining, well edited and thrilling. The movies best parts were actually in the character development scenes which I'm glad to say had likable charm. The audience will need to turn their brain off which is generally something that annoys me but Fast Five did seem to get away with. Vin Diesel gives a poetic speech about the importance of family - then goes on a driving rampage that would kill 50 police officers. Fast Five was some fun and breaths some life into a declining series. Recommended for an action time.â Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
sleeknightOct 5, 2011
Best in the series. Loved hauling the safe part. Was the most action ever. Also like seeing Dom with the FBI agent at end, was hoping for that. Looks like Lettie is still alive or maybe a start for another movie that was shown after end ofBest in the series. Loved hauling the safe part. Was the most action ever. Also like seeing Dom with the FBI agent at end, was hoping for that. Looks like Lettie is still alive or maybe a start for another movie that was shown after end of movie. What do you think??? Dom and Bryan are great together, hope they do another series. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
wishmasterJul 18, 2011
I only saw the first 15 minutes of the movie, and I do not really taste anything bad, I felt so uncomfortable to see Diesel is the worst actors I've seen, I lost myself in the scenes, went in one side and out of the other (literally). very disgusting
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
impudenceNov 8, 2011
This is the worst movie I have ever watched. What happened to the racing? As absurd as the previous movies were this one crosses every line of absurdity. Let me "ruin" the end for you ... a pair of dodge chargers manage to pull a multi-tonThis is the worst movie I have ever watched. What happened to the racing? As absurd as the previous movies were this one crosses every line of absurdity. Let me "ruin" the end for you ... a pair of dodge chargers manage to pull a multi-ton safe from a wall and drag it down the road at high speeds. I had as low of expectations as possible for this movie, however the movie somehow went lower. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
AragondApr 29, 2011
All air and no head, but a popcorn-muncher, a pleasing-enough hi-octane version of the o-so-repeated-to-death heist movie. It's amiable, got some decent-enough stunts, but the story isn't exactly going to test your mental agility, norAll air and no head, but a popcorn-muncher, a pleasing-enough hi-octane version of the o-so-repeated-to-death heist movie. It's amiable, got some decent-enough stunts, but the story isn't exactly going to test your mental agility, nor tantalise your thirst for more. It's okay. Big screen price-tag required? Nah, this is a straight-to-video bonanza! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
nbozinatorMay 1, 2011
actually pretty bad movie, this series really did need a new turning point because the story was getting old and i'mm not sure this delivers. For a car movie not much actually involves cars and 90% of the movie is vin diesel and friendsactually pretty bad movie, this series really did need a new turning point because the story was getting old and i'mm not sure this delivers. For a car movie not much actually involves cars and 90% of the movie is vin diesel and friends either complaining or figuring out to do with the rock occasionally put in to mix things up.

the action is ok put the story is terrible it is predictable cliched and same old, this movie really wasn't what this title needed to help it.
Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
5
ZacharyMatsonApr 29, 2011
Finally the Fast and the Furious has some creditability. Now I'm not saying I loved this movie, but I did enjoy the crap out of it, it's only flaws are some not so good acting and a weak plot, but overall, I really enjoyed myself watchingFinally the Fast and the Furious has some creditability. Now I'm not saying I loved this movie, but I did enjoy the crap out of it, it's only flaws are some not so good acting and a weak plot, but overall, I really enjoyed myself watching this and wouldn't mind giving it a second viewing. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
greyskies7May 6, 2011
In retrospect I'm not really sure why I expected anything at all from this movie. I guess it was the B+ from the A.V. Club. Stupid. Paul Walker is the least charismatic actor I've ever seen on the big screen. Vin Diesel seems to beIn retrospect I'm not really sure why I expected anything at all from this movie. I guess it was the B+ from the A.V. Club. Stupid. Paul Walker is the least charismatic actor I've ever seen on the big screen. Vin Diesel seems to be caricaturing himself. The Rock, of course IS caricaturing himself, which yields the only mild entertainment of the movie apart form the fantastic train seen at the beginning. The rest of the movie is horribly scripted, pathetically acted, rote B-movie action with an A-movie budget. This movie makes me wish I could take back the "2" I just gave Hanna, which was also awful but provided far more entertaining minutes than Fast Five. A.V. Club: you owe me 2+ hours of my life back. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
1
YogiBearJun 3, 2011
The worst movie of series.. They destroyed so much cars for nothing, no good chases, no story no nothing.. Seems like they are just milking out the franchise.. Sorry but a 1 from me
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
3
ShiiraJun 8, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In chronicling the travails of the Brazilian underclass, "Fast Five" is no "Pixote", the Hector Babenco neo-realist classic about lost childhood, but at least it pays lip service to the poor, which is marginally better than an amoral filmmaker such as Michael Bay, whose infamous chase sequence involving Hummers laying waste to a Cuban hillside shantytown in "Bad Boys 2", makes almost no filmic reference to the impoverished people who reside there. The human collateral damage caused by the SUVs goes unacknowledged by both the driver(Will Smith) and the passenger(Martin Lawrence), because a third-world citizen isn't the equivalent of a first-world one. So even though the U.S. feds(led by Dwayne Johnson), in "Fast Five", chase Dominic Toretto and his friends through an honest-to-goodness favela, firing at will without any self-consciousness about nicking an innocent bystander, the exotic on-location set is not utilized merely as background for a standard Hollywood-style shootout. On the lam from the law, Vince, last seen in "The Fast and the Furious", has been hiding out in the Rio slums for the past ten years, and during the interim, he marries a Brazilian local and fathers a child with her. Likewise, since Canada is too easy, Dom, a recently escaped convict, joins his old childhood friend, along with ex-cop Brian O'Conner and Dom's sister Mia, who are also wanted for their part in the bus hijacking that frees the bald linchpin en route to a federal penitentiary. Despite the fact that all the Portuguese-speaking parts are assigned to crooked cops and criminals, the filmmaker does attempt to put a human face on the favela inhabitants. When Rosa allows the fairer Toretto to put little Nico to sleep, both the mother and child are signified as people through Mia's Americanism. By proxy, they're no longer just ordinary Brazilians. And then there's Elena, a neighborhood girl-turned-cop who, initially anyway, is seemingly the only honest law officer in all of Rio de Janerio. More interaction with the visiting fugitives would further distance the Rio locals from the same filmic life of faceless anonymity that confronts other third-world denizens whose respective countries serve as a backdrop for some crisis which often doesn't include them. While "Fast Five" has just enough cultural sensitivity to stave off comparisons with a Michael Bay production, it still, however, bears the unmistakable stench of American imperialism. (For instance, the scene where the ersatz "Ocean's Eleven"-like outfit brazenly race in police cars.) The filmmaker wants the moviegoer to care about Rosa, but not necessarily her countrymen. We never get to meet them. When Mia goes to an open market, her visit is cut short before she gets the chance to talk with a vendor, somebody other than Rosa who'd give the favela populace a collective identity. Thanks to Vince, the ambushing of Mia, orchestrated by Reyes(the unofficial "governor" of Rio), goes awry, so the quota on Brazilian kidnappings, at least one a day according to the Jason Kohn documentary "Manda Bala(Send a Bullet)", gets left to some other Portuguese goon and his henchmen. Contrary to Brazil's reputation as a glamorous tourist destination, the South American country with the seventh highest GDP is plagued by high crime rates, nefarious government officials, and a disproportionate amount of poor people. In "Manda Bala", a frog farmer, who was thought to be involved in a money-laundering scheme with then-Governor Jader Barbalho, tells the camera proudly that he chose the frogs, after his wife issued him an ultimatum which put the small businessman's aquaculture business in opposition with their marriage. The money was just too good. Love, both the brotherly and romantic kind, also takes a backseat in "Fast Five", as well, since Mia is allowed to go out alone, unescorted, without notice. Dominic and Brian are too busy mulling over their potential hundred-million dollar payday. This cast of characters were a whole lot more likable when they were rebels without a cause, mere small-time crooks who'd boost semi trucks at great risk for the incommensurate payoff of DVD players in the Rob Cohen original. By sequestering the thieves from the natives, the ugliness of their greed will go unnoticed by most moviegoers, who are conditioned to root for the good guys, or at the very least, the anti-heroes. Sure, they give Vince's widow a cut of the money, but that's a mere pittance in lieu of the innumerable poverty-stricken Brazilians who wallow in abject destitution. It's one thing to steal from Americans on domestic soil, but it's a whole other thing to steal from the people of a developing country. "Fast Five" is a film of its time. This updating of Steven Soderbergh's "Ocean's Eleven" very much captures the zeitgeist of the post-economic collapse. These criminals don't give a f*ck about who they steal from, as long as they get paid. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
5
QadoshMay 7, 2011
I liked the first movie in this series, but was not very impressed with this one. Aside from the fact that most of what takes place in this movie is beyond any scope of reality, the acting was poor. On a positive note: the action was almostI liked the first movie in this series, but was not very impressed with this one. Aside from the fact that most of what takes place in this movie is beyond any scope of reality, the acting was poor. On a positive note: the action was almost non-stop, so if that is all you like then you will love this movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
donnelbrMay 4, 2011
Tough to say too much about this film. On the positive, the stunts and special effects are top notch. The story, screenplay, and acting are dumb. But what should I expect, right? I just think perhaps this genre of movie isn't for me. ITough to say too much about this film. On the positive, the stunts and special effects are top notch. The story, screenplay, and acting are dumb. But what should I expect, right? I just think perhaps this genre of movie isn't for me. I can't help thinking of Mike Judge's Idiocracy when imagining the people who REALLY enjoy a film like this. ...and man has "The Rock" been juicing! He looks like a character from Gears of War. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Apr 30, 2011
"Tho Not as Fast or Furious as its predecessors and completely implausible Fast Five is still a full - blown adrenalin pumping thrill ride. That holds you in the drivers seat till the Intense and Epic Final Act that will leave you breathless"Tho Not as Fast or Furious as its predecessors and completely implausible Fast Five is still a full - blown adrenalin pumping thrill ride. That holds you in the drivers seat till the Intense and Epic Final Act that will leave you breathless and shocked" .. B+ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
BikerjamesMay 16, 2011
This movie fits in well with the others in the series. It is a well made action flick with great special effects that you will forget entirely in a couple of months. The best part of the movie is the opening train sequence. The carsThis movie fits in well with the others in the series. It is a well made action flick with great special effects that you will forget entirely in a couple of months. The best part of the movie is the opening train sequence. The cars pulling the safe at the end (not a spoiler since it is in the previews) will have you rolling your eyes in disbelief, but it is still exciting. The Rock actually gives one of his best screen performances to date. Not great but a fun movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
StealthgearOct 19, 2011
This is the worst Fast and Furious movie yet. There is almost no underground racing. Now the characters are on the run in a 3rd world country and decide to rob a bank. Some wrestler FBI guy is out to get them. This movie is filled with badThis is the worst Fast and Furious movie yet. There is almost no underground racing. Now the characters are on the run in a 3rd world country and decide to rob a bank. Some wrestler FBI guy is out to get them. This movie is filled with bad dialogue and poor acting. End of story. This resembles nothing of the first Fast and Furious movies. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
jdrandall38Aug 23, 2011
Not at all what I expected. The Rock, although I like him, was such an unnesiccary addition to the great series. What was with this movie? Everyone is a criminal now? Rio De Janeiro? I didn't know they were known for cars. Have you everNot at all what I expected. The Rock, although I like him, was such an unnesiccary addition to the great series. What was with this movie? Everyone is a criminal now? Rio De Janeiro? I didn't know they were known for cars. Have you ever seen the streets? It would be impossible to race there! Not well thought out by the producers. And the Vault seen dragging though the street at the end? WHAT? Two Peterbuilt trucks couldn't pull a vault through buildings and around corners let alone two muscle cars! The others in this series are admittedly "over the top" but this one takes the cake, then bakes another and takes that one too. 4/10 Collapse
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews