Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2006
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 39 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
10
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
JordanD.Nov 19, 2006
I don't think I've ever seen a more jaded piece of garbage in my short life. Written as if by a would-be activist who considers himself very clever for managing to address every single contemporary crisis in American society; from I don't think I've ever seen a more jaded piece of garbage in my short life. Written as if by a would-be activist who considers himself very clever for managing to address every single contemporary crisis in American society; from immigration, to figuring out what to do with our life, to corrupt organizations, to animal rights, and of course the global environmental crisis. The film became so convoluted with attempted themes that none of theme seemed to matter in the least. They were badly addressed, on-the-nose and didactic, failing to bring any real understanding or insight to any of the causes that were so obviously far from the filmmaker's hearts. Makes me want a hamburger. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JasonW.Nov 19, 2006
Possibly one of the worst movies I have ever seen. It is bad on two levels: the first is that the movie does not deliver its message well, and the second is that its message is bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
EricY.Mar 19, 2007
I thought it would never end... How boring. I was entertained for a while, but got tired of the movie. Don't waste your time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MarkBayerDec 13, 2006
Richard Linklater's misshapen interpretation of Eric Schlosser's rigorously researched best seller that blows the whistle on Ronald McDonald and his ilk may not be the worst movie of the year per se (Poseidon, The Black Dahlia, Richard Linklater's misshapen interpretation of Eric Schlosser's rigorously researched best seller that blows the whistle on Ronald McDonald and his ilk may not be the worst movie of the year per se (Poseidon, The Black Dahlia, Lady in the Water, The Sentinel and You, Me and Dupree just put up too tough a race), but if there were a special designation for 2006's most ineffective film, this would win it in a walk. The wildly prolific and uneven Linklater, who in the last four years brought us the lovely, sublime Before Sunset, the visually striking A Scanner Darkly, the solidly entertaining School of Rock and the totally unnecessary Bad News Bears remake, makes (with not only Schlosser's blessing but also his co-participation) a fatal mistake that dooms it from square one: instead of molding Schlosser's material into the powerful documentary it should've been, Linklater turns it into a ponderous, lumpy, frequently inept and painfully dull work of fiction! It's a tragic shame, because Schlosser's work eviscerates not only the fast food industry but the culture that allows and encourages it to thrive in so many different ways that it cries out for a Michael Moore, Robert Greenwald or Errol Morris to do it justice. In doing so it would almost surely have been a far more effective indictment than Morgan Spurlock's overrated Super Size Me, which suffered from too many specious or dishonest arguments (let's face it, you can get a hair in your burger at any restaurant in town, not just McDonald's) but an idiotic premise and "hook" (anybody who's stupid enough to eat nothing but Golden Arches food for a month when there are affordable alternatives is of course not only guaranteed to get sick but almost deserves to!) To Schlosser's credit (and admittedly Linklater's) he asks us to look at our dining choices altruistically rather than merely out of a selfish concern for our health; while he has much to say about the impure elements that make it into Quarter Pounders in the factory (and that also occasionally make it ONTO them in the restaurant as well, depending on just how disgruntled your local servers happen to be) he also arouses our compassion and concern for the inhumane treatment both of the cattle that are used and of the immigrant labor who are more or less treated LIKE cattle. Linklater makes the miscalculation of, rather than SHOWING us much of this, having various guest actors mostly look at the camera and TELL us about it; he saves the gut-wrenching visuals until nearly the end, but given just how surprisingly wooden and amateurish most of his capable cast is here (except Maria Full of Grace's Catalina Sandino Moreno, who has some heartwrenching wordless moments) it's doubtful that much of the audience will be awake at that point to watch. (For all its faults, Super Size Me certainly wasn't boring!) Schlosser's book is this generation's parallel to Upton Sinclair's 1906 expose of meat-packing practices in urban Chicago, The Jungle; Sinclair always regretted that, for all the changes his book and its uproar forced upon the industry, that the public didn't see the bigger picture Sinclair intended and embrace socialism (or at least reform the more heartless aspects of capitalism). Any movie in which a group of high school kids (including a fast food employee) engage in an endless scene of agitprop chatter unpleasantly reminiscent of the worst campus-protest movie of 1971 before deciding to stick it to The Man by freeing a herd of cattle, and the main audience response elicited isn't solidarity or even sympathy with their cause but rather irritation at their naivete in wondering why Bessie and Elsie stay right where they are and DON'T make a break for it isn't going to come anywhere near achieving either Sinclair's or Schlosser's greater or lesser aims. In fact, it's emblematic of Fast Food Nation's total failure in communicating its arguments that less than 48 hours after seeing it, I bought and ate a Big Mac and fries...and the irony didn't even occur to me for several MORE hours! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SwanAug 27, 2007
I can't believe I paid $4.71 at Blockbuster to rent this excuse for a movie. And I can't believe I watched the entire thing. Nothing in this movie felt seemless. Most of the storylines are left completely undone--in an annoying I can't believe I paid $4.71 at Blockbuster to rent this excuse for a movie. And I can't believe I watched the entire thing. Nothing in this movie felt seemless. Most of the storylines are left completely undone--in an annoying way, not a contently ponderous one. (Did Raul take the meth? Did the cows ever get out of the fence?) There are just too many things going on. What's-her-face decides to be an "individual", but all she really becomes is part of the whiny hippy crowd with squeaky-voiced Avril Lavigne who recites the obvious complaints about the powers that be. Redundant, boring. Every scene was too long and I absolutely hated the soundtrack. Also, why was the focus on MANEUR in the burgers the whole time? There are so many other thing wrong with factory farming. I feel like the bloody scene at the end was supposed to make up for lack of story in an "artsy" way. Instead, it ended up being irrelevant except for the gag reflex. Overall, I hated this movie and I want a refund. Then, I want to give my refund to Morgan Spurlock, who truly deserves it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ThaiK.Feb 28, 2009
Any book or video that exposes corporations as totalitarian top down non-democratic highly subsidized immoral institutions must receive some merit for their input toward social responsibility. This film hints at this concept. However, there Any book or video that exposes corporations as totalitarian top down non-democratic highly subsidized immoral institutions must receive some merit for their input toward social responsibility. This film hints at this concept. However, there is no question that the book this film is based on deserves substantial recognition for the effectiveness of clarifying this terrible reality of corporate interference that bleeds into society like an unseen plague. Just the one fact highlighted in the book, not mentioned at all in the movie, that details how the corporate sector has gone from advertising on the sides of busses to editing and providing school books that 'compromise' topics of health when fast food is mentioned should be enough to frighten the general population into learning much more about these parasites. The film is a terrible attempt at portraying anything near the value of the book, but like I said, any hint or mention of the nasties that go on because of the highly concentrated power in the corporate sector is worth something. My main suggestion is to please read the book. After that read another and another. Any book of any lean, right-left-middle, doesn't matter since learning is the reason for reading. Television and mass media, your own newspaper, all market what they want you to become by providing highly censored content. Books are usually written by passionate people with real purpose behind their concerns for society, just like Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation - the book, not the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkoSNov 23, 2006
Easily the most BS movie I've seen all my life and not far from the worst. A complete and utter hypocrisy of a movie, it tries to make up for it's lack of a plot and a message by throwing cameos and shoving products in your face at Easily the most BS movie I've seen all my life and not far from the worst. A complete and utter hypocrisy of a movie, it tries to make up for it's lack of a plot and a message by throwing cameos and shoving products in your face at every opportunity. Should be shown at film schools all around the world under the premise of 'How not to make a movie'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful