Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 22, 1998
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 180 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
139
Mixed:
21
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
JoseMay 17, 2006
Can I give it a negative score? The worst movie that I almost saw. The only movie that I've ever seen that I could not finish watching.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
HorlanJun 7, 2012
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is a total mess. During the 95% of the movie, it uses all the most obvious ways to show hallucinations, trying to hide the lack of ideas and good screenplay. This is the worst Terry Gilliam's production -Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is a total mess. During the 95% of the movie, it uses all the most obvious ways to show hallucinations, trying to hide the lack of ideas and good screenplay. This is the worst Terry Gilliam's production - pointless, disgusting and incredibly stupid. And even Benicio del Toro is not able to help it. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
AnthonySAug 5, 2008
This movie is downright awful. You can sit down for two hours,which feels more like two years and wonder what the point of this is?There is no wit,no fresh views. Most stunning is that these characters should have been dead about two minutes This movie is downright awful. You can sit down for two hours,which feels more like two years and wonder what the point of this is?There is no wit,no fresh views. Most stunning is that these characters should have been dead about two minutes into the film as the mix of alcohol and drugs surely would have killed them. Finally this movie is all hype.....yet is one of the worst films I've ever watched. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
PatC.May 5, 2004
Initially quite interesting, but like drug use in general it becomes tedious and just kinda trails off into nowhere.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
GaborA.Oct 16, 2004
After years and years of trying. Movies after movies in the likes of 12 Monkeys and Brazil. Terry Gilliam finally does it. Top five worst movies of all time for fear and loathing. Congrajulations. And this one his his worst yet by far. How After years and years of trying. Movies after movies in the likes of 12 Monkeys and Brazil. Terry Gilliam finally does it. Top five worst movies of all time for fear and loathing. Congrajulations. And this one his his worst yet by far. How the man responsible for the Monty Python movies is responsible for this mind bogglingly terrible movie in a series of shit is unphathomable. This movie needs to come with a warning: Not to be enjoyed by anyone not actively ODing or capable of tying their shoes. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
CamApr 27, 2005
Worst movie ever made.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
MarkB.Jun 21, 2005
The fact the someone who can't spell "marvelous" gave this a 10 epitomizes the kind of people who recommend this trash. If you like quality movies you will hate it; if you like to laugh more than once during a flick you will hate it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JonathanQuimbyOct 21, 2006
A classic to those who were to stoned to realize they were watching a movie. A favorite to teenagers who saw the twisted cover art and decided to stop there. Brought Thompson's work to a new generation of "fans" who spell genius with an O.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
oxanaJan 3, 2015
The single half-star comes from Johnny Depp being in the movie. That's it. Without him, I wouldn't have watched this to the end. Not my type of movie, at all. I didn't find a proper plot, and the hazy, drugged images were so annoying... Oh,The single half-star comes from Johnny Depp being in the movie. That's it. Without him, I wouldn't have watched this to the end. Not my type of movie, at all. I didn't find a proper plot, and the hazy, drugged images were so annoying... Oh, well, perhaps I should watch this again, just to be sure I got it right the first time ;) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews