Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 22, 1998
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 182 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
141
Mixed:
21
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
VerdugoAug 20, 2012
An audio-visual Masterpiece. It shows the devastating consequences of drug abuse mixed with brillant acting. This movie is greatly underrated and I guess some people voting it down don't understand it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
godslonelymanNov 6, 2010
Truly a masterpiece. I appreciate the extreme divisiveness of opinions about the film, but simply don't understand it. Faithful adaptation, and nearly perfect film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
LukeH.Mar 1, 2008
This is a very good film the reviews do not do it justice. It is not a stoner film it is a unique, funny, provocative and disturbing view of America, and with Terry Gilliam unique directorial vision it's a powerhouse film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoshL.Apr 6, 2008
An excellent movie IMHO, but I'm really not here to discuss this. I love this film and I really could not care less what some others have said about it. I would, however, like to point out the fact that whenever someone makes a spelling An excellent movie IMHO, but I'm really not here to discuss this. I love this film and I really could not care less what some others have said about it. I would, however, like to point out the fact that whenever someone makes a spelling or grammatical error that supports the movie they are insulted by being called "druggies that can't tie their own shoelaces". Pity. And Mark B., I find it rather interesting that you caught marvellous, but failed to catch such atrocities as "congrajulations" and "unphathomable". Really, top notch work. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BuzzMay 3, 2008
I love this movie. It's funny and provoking and I can imagine, it's just what Mr. Thompson had in mind when he was writing his novel.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EMSullivanAug 24, 2005
Unique, addictive movie that isn't quite for everyone. The first half shines with great performances and oddball humor. The second half doesn't quite have the same qualities and might leave people feeling rather uneasy, but it does Unique, addictive movie that isn't quite for everyone. The first half shines with great performances and oddball humor. The second half doesn't quite have the same qualities and might leave people feeling rather uneasy, but it does have it's moments. Mark B. seems like the kind of person who would stand to argue that there's only one way to spell "color." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GraemeS.Jun 26, 2007
An amazing film. Incredible acting, suitably psychedelic visuals and, surprisingly, hilarious and profound all at the same time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
M_elleSchulzAug 24, 2007
I am not a drug addict, in fact, at 35, I have never once partook in any unprescribed narcotic. I am not a fan of drunks, in fact I tend to leave parties early to avoid them. A huge fan of Depp (this is his best ever, if not most popular, I am not a drug addict, in fact, at 35, I have never once partook in any unprescribed narcotic. I am not a fan of drunks, in fact I tend to leave parties early to avoid them. A huge fan of Depp (this is his best ever, if not most popular, performance) and of Hunter Thompson (an irrepressible writer of modern literature), I felt I was adeptly escorted into a world of excess and depravity I could never, in my sobriety, have entered on my own. Depp animates Thompson's paranoid and hilariously caustic commentary on the socially acceptable 'swine' and their equally, if acceptable, excesses. I bought the ticket, and LOVED the ride! Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelC.Mar 4, 2008
Hunter S Thompson's stunning book is marvelously captured on screen. A great performance by Johnny Depp. A great commentary on American life, past, present and future.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JohnoDec 10, 2005
Could never match the book, what that would be be impossible. Terrys' baby is vastly under appreciated. (I'd better check my spellings now since a schoolteacher below believes that the only way have a valuable opinion is be able to Could never match the book, what that would be be impossible. Terrys' baby is vastly under appreciated. (I'd better check my spellings now since a schoolteacher below believes that the only way have a valuable opinion is be able to spell. Whatever - weren't you at the police convention in Vegas in 1971?) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkS.Dec 13, 2008
Pure quality, a perfect intimidation of the great doctor!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NF123Aug 19, 2010
Based off my favorite book, directed by one of my favorite directors, starring on of my favorite actors, what could go wrong? Very little! The film is incredibly faithful to the book and in my opinion one of the great underrated movies. WordBased off my favorite book, directed by one of my favorite directors, starring on of my favorite actors, what could go wrong? Very little! The film is incredibly faithful to the book and in my opinion one of the great underrated movies. Word of advice, if your planning on watching the film READ THE BOOK FIRST. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
A surprisingly accurate adaptation of Hunter S. Thompson's odyssey of self-revelation, self-destruction and the American Dream. In fact, I'd say the movie is better than the book because Gilliam's visuals gives a sensory overload that reallyA surprisingly accurate adaptation of Hunter S. Thompson's odyssey of self-revelation, self-destruction and the American Dream. In fact, I'd say the movie is better than the book because Gilliam's visuals gives a sensory overload that really packs the in(s)anity into form. Thankfully, the hilarious antics of Depp and del Toro really follow suit. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
geedupJul 4, 2012
This film is EXTREMELY underrated on this metascore thing. But not surpirsing-people usually really like this movie or are incredibily irritated with it. Obviously the visuals take you by surprising which will add to your experience or makeThis film is EXTREMELY underrated on this metascore thing. But not surpirsing-people usually really like this movie or are incredibily irritated with it. Obviously the visuals take you by surprising which will add to your experience or make you ill. Additionally, the dialog is a bit disjointed. But the two elements together define this film. Definite cult classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleSep 26, 2013
I admit, I almost turned this one off early on into the film, but I am glad I made it all the way through. The directing really makes you feel as if you are under the influence and really puts you into the mindset of Duke (Johnny Depp'sI admit, I almost turned this one off early on into the film, but I am glad I made it all the way through. The directing really makes you feel as if you are under the influence and really puts you into the mindset of Duke (Johnny Depp's character). As for the acting, it was quite good as well and Depp really played the role of the constantly under the influence writer very well. Only gripes were the utter lack of character development, which certainly hurts. The seemingly all over the place plot would normally be a gripe of mine as well, but in a film like this, it certainly makes a ton of sense. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
JoseMay 17, 2006
Can I give it a negative score? The worst movie that I almost saw. The only movie that I've ever seen that I could not finish watching.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
HorlanJun 7, 2012
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is a total mess. During the 95% of the movie, it uses all the most obvious ways to show hallucinations, trying to hide the lack of ideas and good screenplay. This is the worst Terry Gilliam's production -Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is a total mess. During the 95% of the movie, it uses all the most obvious ways to show hallucinations, trying to hide the lack of ideas and good screenplay. This is the worst Terry Gilliam's production - pointless, disgusting and incredibly stupid. And even Benicio del Toro is not able to help it. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
AnthonySAug 5, 2008
This movie is downright awful. You can sit down for two hours,which feels more like two years and wonder what the point of this is?There is no wit,no fresh views. Most stunning is that these characters should have been dead about two minutes This movie is downright awful. You can sit down for two hours,which feels more like two years and wonder what the point of this is?There is no wit,no fresh views. Most stunning is that these characters should have been dead about two minutes into the film as the mix of alcohol and drugs surely would have killed them. Finally this movie is all hype.....yet is one of the worst films I've ever watched. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JonathanQuimbyOct 21, 2006
A classic to those who were to stoned to realize they were watching a movie. A favorite to teenagers who saw the twisted cover art and decided to stop there. Brought Thompson's work to a new generation of "fans" who spell genius with an O.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
jd_cocoMar 26, 2012
One of my favorite crazy movies to watch. It's so entertaining and Johnny Depp does a great job capturing his role in this movie. This movie will always be one of my favorites.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
Well then, that was a movie. Aside from the fact that it's one of the weirdest and trippiest movies I've ever seen, I found it entertaining and funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SantaFeb 3, 2010
Two genius: Thompson and Gilliam = Master-piece !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterS.Jan 27, 2007
Spinning visuals and disoriented dialogue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisWJan 4, 2006
Man, this is a genious movie based on a genious book written by a genious author, hard to believe not very many people can actually understand his work. Rest in piece Hunter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EonOct 25, 2006
One of those few movies that deserve a 100 out of 100, and this, of course makes it one of the most underrated movies of Metacritic. I really think it had something to do with the fact, that Drug War is the best-selling war nowadays ( those One of those few movies that deserve a 100 out of 100, and this, of course makes it one of the most underrated movies of Metacritic. I really think it had something to do with the fact, that Drug War is the best-selling war nowadays ( those of you who didn't get it - this movie makes fun of your life style, maybe that is why you hated it so much, I mean, it must really hurt too look inside damaged self). Overall - a kind of masterpiece, that is really RARELY made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlakeJ.Mar 11, 2007
I love it. It holds a special place in my heart. I was won over in the first 10 minutes...right after Johnny looks around all glazed eyed and says "We can't stop here...this is bat country!" A precursor to druggie movies as we know them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamA.Dec 20, 2008
A brilliant capsule of what Gonzo is all about to the new Thomsonite. Beautifully disgusting, lovable, hate-fueled and terrifying all at the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeSOct 11, 2009
This movie is nothing less than a work of art, and in my opinion is Johnny Depp's best film, no questions asked. I find it discouraging that many critics failed to grasp the true aim of this movie, which is not to explore drug use (in This movie is nothing less than a work of art, and in my opinion is Johnny Depp's best film, no questions asked. I find it discouraging that many critics failed to grasp the true aim of this movie, which is not to explore drug use (in which case it actually would suck), but rather to explore the shift in the American culture and spirit that was taking place at the time. Great movie, and GREAT acting by both leads. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
YogaP.Apr 27, 2009
This is not a pretty movie; it's often unfunny; it's very frightening and fairly accurately portrays the dementia and paranoia that can come from drug abuse. (Yes, I've know people that crazy.) I don't know if this is This is not a pretty movie; it's often unfunny; it's very frightening and fairly accurately portrays the dementia and paranoia that can come from drug abuse. (Yes, I've know people that crazy.) I don't know if this is really a movie you like; you just want to watch it two or three times a year to see what you missed the last time. This might be great to show to kids if you want them to avoid drugs: Honey, you want to behave like that? I feel about this the way I often feel about David Lynch films: Not sure II really like them much but compelled to watch them again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SlingS.Dec 23, 2006
First off i would not recommend watching this while under the influence of any serious drugs (the dinosaur blood orgy comes to mind but there are other scenes as well). um, phenomenal book I'd read it first. best ever reflection on what First off i would not recommend watching this while under the influence of any serious drugs (the dinosaur blood orgy comes to mind but there are other scenes as well). um, phenomenal book I'd read it first. best ever reflection on what the American dream really amounts to. if you are a religious republican voter you will hate this film, which is why i love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickJ.Jun 15, 2008
A masterpiece. A stunning combination of visually pleasing effects that bring to life the hilarious anarchist antics of a genius subculture outlaw.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
cwp62492Nov 14, 2011
A masterpiece, simply the epitome of excellent acting by Johnny Depp who lived with the character he portrays for a period of time, just to ensure a competent imitation of him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
oxanaJan 3, 2015
The single half-star comes from Johnny Depp being in the movie. That's it. Without him, I wouldn't have watched this to the end. Not my type of movie, at all. I didn't find a proper plot, and the hazy, drugged images were so annoying... Oh,The single half-star comes from Johnny Depp being in the movie. That's it. Without him, I wouldn't have watched this to the end. Not my type of movie, at all. I didn't find a proper plot, and the hazy, drugged images were so annoying... Oh, well, perhaps I should watch this again, just to be sure I got it right the first time ;) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Anti-JarheadJul 31, 2012
Meaningful, thoughtful, and excellently crafted. Movies like this help us explore ourselves and reality we create. This one additionally make this in a very entertaining way. If only You can keep up with the movie... Just like with NaturalMeaningful, thoughtful, and excellently crafted. Movies like this help us explore ourselves and reality we create. This one additionally make this in a very entertaining way. If only You can keep up with the movie... Just like with Natural Born Killers it's best to watch it couple times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineOct 18, 2014
It's pretty hard to describe the movie since it mostly consists of drug hallucinogenic adventures of two guys, but yeah, the movie is great. Terry Gilliam could capture and show the sense of madness and surrealism here. A must-watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KristianBKAug 13, 2014
Funny, psychedelic, sometimes a mess, but interesting enough to keep you in this weird trip through the movie. Hard to watch, but nevertheless, one of the movies you just have to give it a try. and in the end there are two possible outcomes:Funny, psychedelic, sometimes a mess, but interesting enough to keep you in this weird trip through the movie. Hard to watch, but nevertheless, one of the movies you just have to give it a try. and in the end there are two possible outcomes: you either love it or you hate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SlaveOfSelfFeb 3, 2014
simply amazing. watched so many times and it still gives me joy. i suspect only ones that dont like it, are the ones that are 100% against drug use. and to those i say, it clearly shows the bad side of bad trips that are results of overuse assimply amazing. watched so many times and it still gives me joy. i suspect only ones that dont like it, are the ones that are 100% against drug use. and to those i say, it clearly shows the bad side of bad trips that are results of overuse as well, and in no way glorifies it after all. movie has a massive points on many levels, just not all can spot them apparently. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gamer2424May 18, 2016
A polarizing film. My first viewing left me confused, and I hated it. After a second viewing with better knowledge on the novel and the director's style, I began to admire it. It's a great performance from both Depp and del Toro, and itA polarizing film. My first viewing left me confused, and I hated it. After a second viewing with better knowledge on the novel and the director's style, I began to admire it. It's a great performance from both Depp and del Toro, and it captures the insanity that drugs can lead to. I also loved the soundtrack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GregePorterAug 31, 2015
Bottom line: Well done and very trippy movie.

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is the story about journalist Raoul Duke and his attorney, Dr. Gonzo. Duke is on an assignment to report on a big motorcycle race held outside of Las Vegas. The
Bottom line: Well done and very trippy movie.

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is the story about journalist Raoul Duke and his attorney, Dr. Gonzo. Duke is on an assignment to report on a big motorcycle race held outside of Las Vegas. The two decide to make the trip a drug fueled journey to search for the American Dream.

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is the adaptation of the novel of the same name by Hunter S. Thompson. Thompson, if you aren’t familiar, was the Rolling Stone journalist responsible for inventing “Gonzo Journalism” which focuses on the experience of an event rather than event itself as in the case of traditional journalism. The product of Gonzo journalism is something of a stream of consciousness: half fact, half fiction.

This is a really rather grotesque movie and, quite honestly, I didn’t really like it. At the same time, it was quite a good movie. That sounds contradictory. If it was a pretty good movie, why wouldn’t I like it? Well, the guys in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas are taking an obscene amount of drugs. It’s a trip that might very well kill them. It isn’t a happy experience and the movie illustrates that well particularly through the cinematography.

The acting in this film is really good. I was initially turned off because I saw Johnny Depp acting like Captain Jack Sparrow or the Mad Hatter or Tonto and I for one am sick of drunken Keith Richards. But this is the first movie that he ever acted this way. With that in mind, I’ll let it pass. And after watching some interviews with Hunter S. Thompson, I found Depp’s impression spot on. Benecio Del Toro’s performance as Dr. Gonzo is stellar. The pair jump between the effects of the drugs seamlessly as naturally as if one drug wears off to be replaced by another.

Throughout Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas we never really know what is true and what is a drug induced hallucination. You can say this type of thing about lot’s of movies but here it transcends the movie itself. When I said that Thompson’s work is half fact and half fiction, I really meant that we can’t really take very much of it as “fact”. I always thought Fear and Loathing was about Hunter S. Thompson and his friend going to Vegas but, really, it is about the invented character, Duke, going to Vegas. I wasn’t particularly familiar with Hunter S. Thompson so I watched a 1970’s or ‘80’s BBC documentary about him. The documentary maker, like so many of Thompson’s fans, confused Thompson with Duke. The filmmaker even took Thompson the Vegas hoping to see the cult hero in action. Thompson then spoke about this tendency. When he is invited to speak at a university, are they hoping to hear Raoul Duke or Hunter S. Thompson? I originally thought that the premise, a motorcycle race, was the “fact”. I made the mistake of reading fiction as “non-motorcycle race” instead of “everything.” The identity of Raoul Duke, the film’s narrator, adds another layer of fiction to the film; even though Depp looks and sounds like Thompson, he is Raoul Duke.

To add another layer of uncertainty, consider the marketing campaign for this film. According to an interview I heard, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas focused heavily on TV spots and the majority of them featured Cameron Diaz even though she's in the movie for about a minute. It feels like the truth of this movie is muddled into fiction on every level; from the story to the marketing, nothing is reliable.

Would I recommend Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas? You might want to pass, for the time being, if you are looking for something light and fun, but other sure; it is a weird and disconcerting movie but enthralling.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsJun 7, 2016
A very divisive, but honest film. The cinematography is purposefully disorienting, but once you get used to its hectic pace, there is a lot to enjoy here. Strong performances by its actors and a thought provoking script really propel thisA very divisive, but honest film. The cinematography is purposefully disorienting, but once you get used to its hectic pace, there is a lot to enjoy here. Strong performances by its actors and a thought provoking script really propel this movie to great heights. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews