Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 6, 2002
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 41 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
12
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
FrankO.Jan 25, 2006
Had great hopes for this movie but DePalma just couldn't pull it off...too long, a waste of Peter Coyote's skills as an actor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
VladP.Apr 3, 2003
This move was very well shot, all the correctors match there rolls, it was suspenseful, electrifying, and exiting movie. The begging and the ending were great and the director Really nicely thought about the dream that the female actress had This move was very well shot, all the correctors match there rolls, it was suspenseful, electrifying, and exiting movie. The begging and the ending were great and the director Really nicely thought about the dream that the female actress had in the middle of the movie. The only thing the movies was missing is the subtitles when the correctors spoke French in numerous senses. Otherwise the movie as great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JerryH.Nov 5, 2002
This is a tough one. It's not offend your intellect horrible and it's not completely boring, but it's not good either. Most of the cast seems to be having fun, but they are slapped in a laboriously paced thiller. Doesn't This is a tough one. It's not offend your intellect horrible and it's not completely boring, but it's not good either. Most of the cast seems to be having fun, but they are slapped in a laboriously paced thiller. Doesn't exactly make it thrilling. Enjoy it for what it is -- a trifle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
YoonMinC.Oct 2, 2003
Empty but full-bodied exercise in cinema, far sleeker and more supple than DePalma's stylistic excesses of the late 70s and early 80s, more confident and masterly as a genre piece, and more elegant as a reshuffling of formula along new Empty but full-bodied exercise in cinema, far sleeker and more supple than DePalma's stylistic excesses of the late 70s and early 80s, more confident and masterly as a genre piece, and more elegant as a reshuffling of formula along new contours, and highly captivating as a splicing of noir with mysticism, this is perhaps DePalma's best since Carlito's Way, and certainly redeems his standing after the sheer inanity of Mission to Mars. Actually, both Mission and Femme show us a master in action, and both exceed the boundaries of formualic conventions by stepping into metaphysical territory; but whereas Mission inflates into New Age schlock, Femme Fatale is sinuous and lean, brutally seductive, thereby allowing for more satisfying visceral pleasure and titillating occultish speculations. It's best appreciated as a game, played by Depalma and appreciated by knowing cineastes; not so much the mystery of the story but the construction of action and suspense, and the machinations of the plot. Those who find this hollow have a point; it's not deep and perhaps even stupid and the material is tired just as the notion of the femme fatale; but DePalma's approach is fresh and his command of the medium is masterful and total, and at the very least it deserves praise as a feat of brilliant craftsmanship. Banderas is engaging, Stamos is venomously sexy, and the villains are truly menacing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattM.Feb 9, 2003
"Femme Fatale" is a film Alfred Hitchcock would be proud of. Director Brian DePalma crafts an elegant and intriguing heist thriller with more than its share of twists and turns. This is expert filmmaking: sleekly photographed, handsomely "Femme Fatale" is a film Alfred Hitchcock would be proud of. Director Brian DePalma crafts an elegant and intriguing heist thriller with more than its share of twists and turns. This is expert filmmaking: sleekly photographed, handsomely mounted, and visually stunning. It weaves a web of intrigue, danger, and seductiveness. The picture is sly and self-assured. Though Antonio Banderas receives top billing, "Femme Fatale" belongs to Rebecca Romijn-Stamos. Whether or not she is a great actress is debatable. Yet she is a true Hitchcock-ian heroine: icy, deliciously duplicitous, and sexy as hell. Her performance may not be spectacular, but it is certainly one of the bravest performances of 2002. "Femme Fatale" is undeniably one of the best films of the year. It is certainly one of the most pleasurable motion picture experiences I have had in a while. See it, if for nothing else, for Rebecca Romijn-Stamos's fearless, sexually-charged performance. She will leave you stunned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonK.Apr 26, 2003
Absolute trash. Plot holes the size of craters, absolutely atrocious acting across the board, and De Palma's love of cripplingly illogical plotlines combine to make this half-baked monstrosity damn-near unwatchable. Casting supermodels Absolute trash. Plot holes the size of craters, absolutely atrocious acting across the board, and De Palma's love of cripplingly illogical plotlines combine to make this half-baked monstrosity damn-near unwatchable. Casting supermodels in lead acting roles is a questionable tactic at the best of times; in this movie, Romijn-Stamos works extremely hard at looking good while doing nothing with what little she has to work with. Any one of the multiple plot twists that can only be characterized as childish would have ruined the movie; together, they weigh it down like stones in a sack. Being insulted by people is bad enough. But being insulted by movies...folks, that's just beneath our human dignity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ZeljkoM.Sep 24, 2003
Awfull!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SimpsonS.Nov 10, 2002
Sucked big time.....such a waste of a good lesbian scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TheIceManNov 12, 2002
What a huge piece of crap ! I wish that, like in the movie, I had a deja-vu preminition about what this movie was going to be like BEFORE paying for my ticket to see this load of garbage.....I would have seen something....ANYTHING else ! The What a huge piece of crap ! I wish that, like in the movie, I had a deja-vu preminition about what this movie was going to be like BEFORE paying for my ticket to see this load of garbage.....I would have seen something....ANYTHING else ! The ONLY saving grace about this movie was the lez scene between the two actresses in the first 10 minutes of the film. The rest is ALL crap.....absolutely stinky. Roger Ebert, and all the others that gave this thing a high rating are all smoking something pretty strong ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthieuR.Nov 9, 2002
Save for some parts of the ending that are a bit cliche, I really enjoyed this film. It is repleted with references to other works, subtle symbols and "clins d'oeil" to famous film directors (I kept thinking of Kiezlowski's Save for some parts of the ending that are a bit cliche, I really enjoyed this film. It is repleted with references to other works, subtle symbols and "clins d'oeil" to famous film directors (I kept thinking of Kiezlowski's "Rouge". The lack of dialogue is refreshing in today's "explain everything to the audience". Yes, it is an erotic film, but a very well done one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackD.Dec 20, 2002
Great tongue-in-cheek suspense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TimA.Dec 9, 2002
It had sexy babes, the movie was ok, but the story was messed up!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElijahOct 17, 2003
Gorgeous and trashy, Femme Fatale is the most exhilarating thing you could possibly have seen in the theaters last year. Even if it doesn't completely hold up in the end, it is a beautiful exercise in style featuring a marriage of Gorgeous and trashy, Femme Fatale is the most exhilarating thing you could possibly have seen in the theaters last year. Even if it doesn't completely hold up in the end, it is a beautiful exercise in style featuring a marriage of images and music that will stay with you for the rest of your life. DePalma shows his genius behind the camera here better than he ever has. Highly, highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonasMar 27, 2003
I am a little confused: I must have seen a different film than some of these viewers. This film was incredibly gorgeous, stylish, and sexy. It's amazing for a film to be so captivating when there is very little dialogue. One of the best I am a little confused: I must have seen a different film than some of these viewers. This film was incredibly gorgeous, stylish, and sexy. It's amazing for a film to be so captivating when there is very little dialogue. One of the best examples of a film that resembles a director's pure love of movies. It's one of the very best films of 2002. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardApr 4, 2003
A crock, but an entertaining one for the most part. People have been comparing this to "Mulholland Drive," but Naomi Watts is a much more compelling actress than Romijn-Stamos, and I think it's her performance that keeps the film from A crock, but an entertaining one for the most part. People have been comparing this to "Mulholland Drive," but Naomi Watts is a much more compelling actress than Romijn-Stamos, and I think it's her performance that keeps the film from being entirely successful. Banderas is much more interesting as a shlub, although his swishy act in the middle of the film struck me as curious. Overall, it's a beautiful film to watch, especially the opening heist sequence, but the points it seems to want to make about choices and possible futures is ultimately undercut by its heroine's lackluster acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnNov 26, 2002
Wonderful ... a "Mulholland Drive" that doesn't cheat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoviNov 6, 2002
Somewere someone forgot what kind of film this was going or trying to be. Other than the T&A you get from Romijn Stamos, this is one long borring film that in the end looks more like a failed attempt at a fantasy than a drama or action. The Somewere someone forgot what kind of film this was going or trying to be. Other than the T&A you get from Romijn Stamos, this is one long borring film that in the end looks more like a failed attempt at a fantasy than a drama or action. The first 10 minutes I enjoyed, after that, God help me, I could have stayed at home and watched Le Femme Nikita and lez porn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeyG.Nov 7, 2002
This was a loooong ass movie. So long, that I drank a friggen' Sprite at the beginning, ended up missing the best part of the movie (Rebecca's striptease and "session" with Antonio) while peeing in the bathroom, and still sat there This was a loooong ass movie. So long, that I drank a friggen' Sprite at the beginning, ended up missing the best part of the movie (Rebecca's striptease and "session" with Antonio) while peeing in the bathroom, and still sat there waiting for the damn thing to end for another hour. The makeout scene in the first 10 minutes and the above scene are basically the best things about this flick. It's pretty and well-photographed, yet, like in Body Double, the story only serves as background to the director's obsession about female sexuality. He doesn't reveal much though, literally and figuratively. Yeah, women can be crazy nutcases that can bring men to their ultimate demise. Oh, and the sky is blue. Tell me something I didn't know. And don't do it for three friggen' hours only showing me the side half of Rebecca's breasts!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaDec 8, 2002
Fabulous! Anyone who says otherwise is juat plain stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JosiahR.Dec 9, 2002
This is probably the worst movie I've seen since Brotherhood of the Wolf, and it gives Manos: The Hands of Fate a serious run for its money. The plot is pathetically pieced together, notoriously cliche', and its attempts at This is probably the worst movie I've seen since Brotherhood of the Wolf, and it gives Manos: The Hands of Fate a serious run for its money. The plot is pathetically pieced together, notoriously cliche', and its attempts at art-house cinematic tricks are laughable. I've always considered Scarface overrated, and this most recent film by Brian DePalma proves him a director to be panned. I must say though, my sides were aching from laughing so hard at this pathetic attempt at film-making. If you're looking for a movie to rip on a' la MST3K, go no farther than this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackJan 13, 2004
Great meta-thriller, with the usual DePalma hijinks, choreography and tongue-in-cheek preposterousness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElliottNov 15, 2002
The people who reviewed this probably don't like being puzzled by a film where you actually have to PUT THE PLOT together. Sure, it's hard work, but if you require logic in a movie - - don't watch this. It surely isn't The people who reviewed this probably don't like being puzzled by a film where you actually have to PUT THE PLOT together. Sure, it's hard work, but if you require logic in a movie - - don't watch this. It surely isn't for everybody (check the reviews), but for those of us who like movies as puzzles, Femme Fatale is a wild ride. It's too bad it wasn't very well-advertised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoeL.Nov 27, 2002
Points for babes only. movie sucked - walked out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpangleDec 15, 2016
I think I liked it? Easily described as love it or hate it, I did both during my viewing of Brian De Palma's Femme Fatale. I loved it in the beginning, lost it in the middle, came back around towards the end, lost it again, but then the finalI think I liked it? Easily described as love it or hate it, I did both during my viewing of Brian De Palma's Femme Fatale. I loved it in the beginning, lost it in the middle, came back around towards the end, lost it again, but then the final sequence convinced me I did enjoy the film. Now, these moments are not attributable to general flaws in the film. Definitely imperfect and highly flawed, Femme Fatale is simply just a cold and unwelcoming film. It slinks along and is both slow and precise, which makes it a hard film to fully appreciate in a single viewing. Yet, what is not hard to appreciate is a great De Palma mystery thriller with solid performances that keeps you guessing until the very end.

The greatest flaw in Femme Fatale is also the biggest spoiler, but it comes towards the end and definitely changes the perspective of the film. Here, much of the film seems to come together initially, but then back pedals and turns on its heels. As I always this kind of twist, the same applies here to Femme Fatale, which is unfortunate in an otherwise low-key and mysterious film that it would rely upon such a silly moment. Fortunately, it does turn around and return to being this mysterious film. With small details, terrific direction of the actors in terms of placing them in the frame and on the set, the final sequence is the highlight of the film. Bar none. Featuring De Palma's flair with big set pieces, this one has a lot of moving parts that come together poetically and make this third act come off with cinematic brilliance.

Not really featuring many notable tracking shots (obviously they are there, but none that really caught my eye as many of De Palma's tracking shots do), the film does feature a lot of split-screen. The other really notable tenant of any De Palma film, the split-screen is used heavily in this film and to exquisite effect. The split between Nicolas Bardo (Antonio Banderas) and our femme fatale Laure (Rebecca Romijn-Stamos) as Bardo takes pictures of her while on his balcony is incredible. De Palma uses this twice to show Bardo on his balcony during the second act and then again towards the beginning of the third. Both are pure brilliance and just look phenomenal on the screen.

As for the plot, it is honestly convoluted and a lot of it seems incredibly fortunate/convenient (particularly events surrounding the "seven years later" element), but the film is not set in the real world by any means. In a way, it is sort of fantastical, highlighted by the stilted and awkward dialogue and performances. Banderas and Romijn-Stamos hardly act human in this film. They seem almost robotic or alien. This could be attributed to bad acting, but it does feel entirely purposeful when considered in the context of the final twist that I may not have liked, but does make sense. There is a reason why this film unrealistic and almost dream-like throughout and the acting contributes to this feeling. Yet, the mystery element here is in large due to Romijn-Stamos' performance. Inherently mysterious, her character leaves Bardo and the audience completely in the dark throughout. De Palma does not offer a helping hand and forces his audience to put it together themselves as to what is occurring. By the end, things begin to come together, extraneous moments are enveloped in the rest of the plot, and the film begins to make sense. However, you must be willing to put it together because it is quite convoluted and, as I said, De Palma offers no assistance.

Thrilling, mysterious, and entirely unique, Femme Fatale is an engaging, hard to crack, and completely compelling work by Brian De Palma. As with much of his work, it is incredibly divisive, yet has been praised by certain critics (Ebert) and for good reason. De Palma knows how to make a movie and how to keep an audience on the edge of their seat throughout. Though cold and convoluted, Femme Fatale is a worthy film, but only if you are willing to provide the warmth and attention it needs to make sense.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SeriosityDec 29, 2012
All style, no substance, but it's very cool and superbly shot. You can say the whole is less than the some of its parts, but nearly every scene by itself is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews