User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 52
  2. Negative: 11 out of 52
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GregLA
    Apr 7, 2005
    1
    Not funny. Boring.
  2. CarolG.
    Apr 9, 2005
    7
    So many negative reviews came from men. As a woman, I found Jimmy Fallon absolutely adorable and hilarious. If a guy could make me laugh like that, I'd definitely put up with him in the summers for time in the winter.
  3. ChrisR.
    May 7, 2005
    8
    Fever Pitch is a romantic comedy starring Drew Barrymore and Jimmy Fallon (of Saturday Night Live fame). Barrymore is a successful business consultant focused on climbing the corporate ladder; Fallon is a high school teacher who has an addiction to the Boston Red Sox. Addiction did I say? Well, that's an understatement. He and his buddies are absolute fanatics about the Red Sox; when Fever Pitch is a romantic comedy starring Drew Barrymore and Jimmy Fallon (of Saturday Night Live fame). Barrymore is a successful business consultant focused on climbing the corporate ladder; Fallon is a high school teacher who has an addiction to the Boston Red Sox. Addiction did I say? Well, that's an understatement. He and his buddies are absolute fanatics about the Red Sox; when asked to define his love for the team, Fallon ranks the Sox as first, sex second and breathing third. Clearly, Fallon and his buddies are in a league of their own. After a chance meeting, Barrymore and Fallon become "interested" in the other and find themselves being drawn out of their cocoons (the office and the ballpark). They both realize that if they want to continue with the growth of their relationship, they will have to make some sacrifices regarding their respective addictions. The workaholic vs. the Soxaholic .... can their love flourish when she brings her laptop to the ballpark or he declines to take out-of-town trips with her because of the home series scheduled that weekend? Although this one didn't hit one out of the park, it's at least worth a two run double. The characters are endearing and the story charming, although a bit predictable .... actually, perhaps not as predictable as originally written. Much is made throughout the film of the "Bambino Curse" and the near century void of winning the World Series by the Sox while the Yankees did it 26 times during the same period; there was, of course, during the filming the anticipation that the Sox would lose ... but the movie was filmed during the year that the Sox actually won the Series. They had to re-write and re-shoot the ending because of this. I give it an 8.15. Expand
  4. JamesB.
    Apr 8, 2005
    2
    It was more than a little disappointing. I laughed maybe twice in the whole thing. Fallon is no Sandler.
  5. BrianG
    Nov 7, 2005
    2
    I love baseball. I hate this movie. Jimmy Fallon is a complete idiot in nearly every movie, and this one only exemplifies that even more. The movie is so scripted; you can easily guess the outcome, and what will happen next. Not to mention it is overly exaggerated. I know there are some extreme Red Sox fans, but this is ridiculous.
  6. JessicaH.
    Apr 14, 2005
    4
    No on-screen chemistry between Drew Barrymore and Jimmy Fallon. This movie would have been much better had it starred Adam Sandler. There were a few really funny parts, but on the whole, it was pretty wretched.
  7. Ross
    Apr 10, 2005
    1
    A dead thing on the screen. Not funny, not romantic, not convincing for a minute. Jimmy Fallon plays the whole movie like someone just woke him up from a nap; Drew Barrymore is like a Valley Girl playing dress up. It's the movie equivalent of cheez whiz: tasteless, fake and increasingly nauseating.
  8. PersnicketyR.
    Apr 18, 2005
    8
    Fallon is on-deck to be the next Adam Sandler. He swung for the fences and he scored with a tour de force performance in Fever Pitch. I think he is even funnier than Jim from Life According to Jim- hmm Imagine that!!
  9. [Anonymous]
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    I love this freakin movie! it is freakin awesome! u should freakin see it you freakin freakers!! ok, i am freakin out cause noone thinks this a freakin good movie! what is their freakin problem??? PLEASE SEE THIS FREAKIN MOVIE!
  10. LouieS.
    Apr 6, 2005
    7
    Not half bad. Drew Barrymore has never been more enjoyable. And finally a Farrelly Brothers movie this is tolerable to an audience with a mentality over 12. Aside for a scene where vomit is the star it's a breezy, entertaining film.
  11. SusanM.
    Apr 6, 2005
    9
    Go see this movie!!! It is so funny, the funniest movie I have seen this year. The chemistry between the characters is adorable, and there are too many hilarious parts to count. One part actually had me in tears laughing!!! Also, there are no long, drmatic cheesy moments like there are in most romantic comedies. So if you're a guy and not sure if you'd like it, you will, Go see this movie!!! It is so funny, the funniest movie I have seen this year. The chemistry between the characters is adorable, and there are too many hilarious parts to count. One part actually had me in tears laughing!!! Also, there are no long, drmatic cheesy moments like there are in most romantic comedies. So if you're a guy and not sure if you'd like it, you will, it's great. Expand
  12. HaroldL.
    Apr 8, 2005
    2
    This film was incredibly dull.
  13. Seth
    Apr 8, 2005
    4
    Mediocre. Fallon and Barrymore have no chemistry at all. Pretty flat, very few laughs, insanley ugly cinematography.
  14. ColinA.
    Jun 13, 2005
    0
    Drew barrymore is not believable as an educated, intelligent person. Jimmy Fallon is not believable as an adult. No one's quite explained how a memoir about footy becomes a fictional rom-com about baseball. Movies like this help explain why no likes Americans and why no one should like Americans.
  15. TonyB.
    Jan 5, 2006
    7
    You really don't have to be a Boston Red Sox fan to enjoy this film, but it would probably help if you were. "Fever Pitch" has some sensible things to say about fanaticism, loyalty and compromise, and it says them well. The scenes on the field are realistic enough, but those outside Fenway Park and in the stands are the best I've ever seen in a film about baseball. Drew You really don't have to be a Boston Red Sox fan to enjoy this film, but it would probably help if you were. "Fever Pitch" has some sensible things to say about fanaticism, loyalty and compromise, and it says them well. The scenes on the field are realistic enough, but those outside Fenway Park and in the stands are the best I've ever seen in a film about baseball. Drew Barrymore and Jimmy Fallon make an engaging couple, and they are complemented by a fine supporting cast. Expand
  16. Alicia
    Feb 1, 2006
    1
    It was so boring and dull. I had to watch it in 2 days to get through the movie without falling asleep. It did have a few funny parts, but the overall plot and story behind the movie makes the movie horrible.
  17. SeanK.
    Mar 3, 2008
    5
    The movie was scripted; I could easily guess the outcome at the end of the movie, and what will happen in the next scene before it even started. The fact I could guess what could happen next I felt like there was no reason to watch the movie. I also thought that Jimmy Fallon
  18. ChadS.
    Apr 13, 2005
    8
    In a "serious" Farrelly Bros. film, if there's a dog and vomit, he eats it off-screen. This taming of their sensibility(gross-out humor) in a grab for a larger audience recalls Kevin Smith's "Jersey Girl" in which Ben Affleck rents porn at a video store but all the raunch that surrounds such a transaction is blanched out. In both circumstances, the filmmaker reassures his In a "serious" Farrelly Bros. film, if there's a dog and vomit, he eats it off-screen. This taming of their sensibility(gross-out humor) in a grab for a larger audience recalls Kevin Smith's "Jersey Girl" in which Ben Affleck rents porn at a video store but all the raunch that surrounds such a transaction is blanched out. In both circumstances, the filmmaker reassures his audience that he hasn't completely loss his edge. The Farrelly's are saying, "Hey, we still like our fluids." "Fever Pitch" is no better or worse than "There's Something About Mary" because unlike Kevin Smith, the Farrellys were great even at their most sophmoric. "Fever Pitch" is no "___ _____", the film it's obviously paying homage to, but the echoes- each protagonist has an oddball obsession, an admission of naked bliss after sex, and freakin' Ione Skye- are a lot of fun. "Fever Pitch" is the best nakedly mainstream film since "13 Going on 30". Expand
  19. MarkB.
    Apr 14, 2005
    7
    It's a sports movie! It's a romantic comedy! It's a "guy film"! It's a "chick flick"! It's a floor wax! It's a dessert topping! Despite the fairly lukewarm box office reception to it (maybe release timing was TOO spot-on and too many men were going to ballgames and dragging their wives and girlfriends along), Fever Pitch is pretty successful at being most of It's a sports movie! It's a romantic comedy! It's a "guy film"! It's a "chick flick"! It's a floor wax! It's a dessert topping! Despite the fairly lukewarm box office reception to it (maybe release timing was TOO spot-on and too many men were going to ballgames and dragging their wives and girlfriends along), Fever Pitch is pretty successful at being most of the above, often simultaneously--despite a barely adequate performance by the leading man. Drew Barrymore, bouncing back from her rather uncomfortable, self-conscious turn as a semi-amnesiac in last year's 50 First Dates, is completely charming and captivating as a businesswoman who SHOULD know what she's getting into in her relationship with a Boston Red Sox fanatic once the weather warms up and the first pitch of the season is thrown, but doesn't--she so perfectly communicates her genuine affection and attraction to him AND her (mostly well-founded) fears and reservations that she succeeds in doing the near-impossible: adding suspense to a movie with an all but foregone conclusion. However, Not Ready For Prime Time Player Jimmy Fallon (in a role that would've been perfect for a younger Tom Hanks or a present-day John Cusack) proves that he's not ready for the big screen either; he looks tentative and unsure of himself most of the time, and his best acting in this movie is in the scene where his buddies put him through an intervention--largely because the bit plays like a Saturday Night Live sketch and is out of tone with the rest of the film. Veteran screenwriters Lowell Ganz and Babaloo Mandel have traditionally been at their best when writing character studies thinly disguised as sitcoms (Night Shift, Parenthood, City Slickers, Forget Paris) and they're largely in their element here; surprisingly, the direction by the Farrelly Brothers, whose raunchiest movies have always had a genuine element of sweetness and romantic feeling (particularly There's Something About Mary and Shallow Hal) therefore mostly dovetails nicely with the material. (They still can't resist a few, uh, lowball jokes that betray a testicular fascination that's best left to someone with more professional credentials than me to analyze.) I especially liked the Drew-centered finale, which very cleverly spins those get-me-to-the-church-on-time climaxes seen in The Graduate and many lesser-known romcoms, because it provides the perfect antidote to a similar theme in Barry Levinson's overrated Diner; in that one, I hated the cruel Baltimore Colts-centered football quiz that a similarly sports-obsessive Steve Guttenberg forces his fiancee to take in order for the wedding to proceed, and detested even more Levinson's depiction of the poor girl as a faceless nonentity. Here, as an infinitely preferable and more satisfying alternative, Barrymore gets to make the final decision. I'm not sure that I 100% agree with what she does, but to be completely honest, it would take a woman with the patience of Fever Pitch's Bambino-cursed hardcore Sox season-ticket holders (complete with Job sitting in the bleachers) to put up with MY obsessions with movies, NTN trivia, and really bad 1970s music, so who am I to judge? Expand
  20. DrewF.
    Apr 24, 2005
    0
    Brutal, painful, atrocious. It's apparent that no one involved understood the game of baseball (not even able to properly identify that Miguel Tejada is, in fact, a BLACK GUY!), they simply trotted out all of the commonly held cliches concerning RED SOX fans (which are no longer relevant seeing as how they've won the darned World Series!) and threw in terms like "Buckner", Brutal, painful, atrocious. It's apparent that no one involved understood the game of baseball (not even able to properly identify that Miguel Tejada is, in fact, a BLACK GUY!), they simply trotted out all of the commonly held cliches concerning RED SOX fans (which are no longer relevant seeing as how they've won the darned World Series!) and threw in terms like "Buckner", "Schilling's Sock" and "the curse of the Bambino" in an attempt to prove their baseball knowledge. The cliches don't stop there, though, as we ALSO manage to work in EVERY single Chick Flick cliche there is. I LAUGHED OUT LOUD during the scene where Barrymore calls Fallon to tell her she got her period, and he cradled the Baby-Sox uniform he had purchased. HYSTERICALLY BAD! Stephen King had more chemistry with that baseball then Fallon and Barrymore have in this entire film. Most of their scenes together have a real uncomfortable air about them. Fallon needs to be dropped into the abyss of failed-SNL stars PRONTO! Expand
  21. JimP.
    Apr 9, 2005
    8
    I had low, low expectations for this movie having seen Fallon in Taxi on a flight. But I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. Maybe it was all the baseball, but this was actually a great, funny, enjoyable romantic comedy. Not going to win any awards, but it seems to have something for everyone. Definitely a great date movie, and you'll leave the theater believing you got your I had low, low expectations for this movie having seen Fallon in Taxi on a flight. But I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. Maybe it was all the baseball, but this was actually a great, funny, enjoyable romantic comedy. Not going to win any awards, but it seems to have something for everyone. Definitely a great date movie, and you'll leave the theater believing you got your money's worth. Expand
  22. hughie8
    Jun 23, 2005
    9
    Really sweet and funny.........and pretty smart too!
  23. JohnR.
    Jun 23, 2005
    7
    Not a masterpiece, but enjoyable. It helps if you're a Red Sox fan.
  24. ElizabethL.
    Jul 27, 2005
    8
    I loved this movie. Its a great comeback for JImmy Fallon fromt the awful Taxi and he can really show off his acting chops in this film. You really care for these characters, they aren't just shadows on the screen.
  25. Robert
    Sep 17, 2005
    3
    I gave it a three cause I could see how it might be appealing to some people. Yet it really isn't funny at all and its so cliched. I watched it with about six friends and it seemed every five mins we were correctly predicting what would happen next. Jimmy Fallon is really annoying in just about every movie. So I already have a low opinion of him. This movie is a real dog.
  26. ElizabethD.
    Sep 18, 2005
    9
    Not a ten, but still an ah-mazing movie. Hated the thing with the pregency and the Red Sox booty pj thingy but still, great movie. I believe that's it easier to see when your a Red Sox fan but I'm a Yankee fan asnd still loved it - in fact my friend and I made fun of the bodies of all the baseball players thorughout the movie and had a blast. Go fricking see it everyone!
  27. VinceH.
    Apr 13, 2005
    5
    After directing what was arguably their most personal (and least funny) film, "Stuck on You", I was eager to see a Farrelly bros get some distance and make a film not based on one of their own screenplays. Overall this movie is just okay, but nothing special. Despite the surface distance, the Farrelly bros. still manage to throw in some personal touches in the film such as casting a lot After directing what was arguably their most personal (and least funny) film, "Stuck on You", I was eager to see a Farrelly bros get some distance and make a film not based on one of their own screenplays. Overall this movie is just okay, but nothing special. Despite the surface distance, the Farrelly bros. still manage to throw in some personal touches in the film such as casting a lot of their regulars and a specific shower scene about 3/4 into the film that I wouldn't be surprised wasn't in the script and was added as it is a pure Farrelly moment. I thought the way they shot the baseball scenes were visually interesting albeit a bit too reverential and "clean", if that makes any sense. I am certainly no Fallon fan, but for the first time here he was utterly charming (I thought) and actually funny. The whole thing is light, charming and fun but the characters are really stock-hollywood rom-com people we've seen dozens of times before and the moments that are meant to get big laughs mostly just got a chuckle from me. But still I'd recommend Fever Pitch as an unoffensive and light date movie, nothing more. Expand
  28. Jamie
    Apr 14, 2005
    9
    Who is this freak show with all the freakins'. Regardless, I enjoyed this movie and would encourages others to see it.
  29. Katherine
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    I really liked this movie. It was very funny. I am a Drew Barrymore and a Jimmy Fallon fan.
  30. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    This is a very fun movie. It's more of a entertaining movie than a crappy romantic comedy. Jimmy Fallon is Jimmy Fallon, so that's good, and Drew Barrymore probably gives her better performances.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. 75
    A curious mix of smarts and schmaltz.
  2. Ultimately goes the distance, it gets the job done with a halfhearted bunt rather than a solid line drive.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    80
    The Farrelly brothers are growing up, which in this case isn't a bad thing. With a tacked-on ending made necessary by the Boston Red Sox's improbable World Series run last fall, Fever Pitch proves a charming romantic comedy against "A Beautiful Mind"-type framework.