User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    Field of Dreams, according to "The Bro Code", is the only movie a bro can cry at. Well, I can see why that is so. This movie is so dramatic and lighthearted, one of those late 80's movies that will never be made again, a rare masterpiece in filmmaking. Yeah, this movie can be sappy and melodramatic, but it's still recommended by me.
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I am not American and therefore do not care about the great American sport of baseball. But this film isn't just about baseball it's about hope and the fulfilment of dreams. It's also about patriotism and the pride of being America (courtesy of a monologue provided by James Earl Jones). Despite being a very American movie this is a truly wonderful movie that everyone should see even if you don't like baseball (or America for that matter). Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    With "Field of Dreams", Phil Alden Robinson creates one of the most heartwarming sports movies I've ever seen. Though it isn't really a sports movie at heart, in my opinion. This movie is mostly about getting an oppurtunity to fulfill one's deepest wishes. Throw in some really heartfelt messages on father/son relationships and you have me sold. Kevin Costner, Amy Madigan, and Ray Liotta are all incredible in their respective roles, but James Earl Jones steals almost every scene he's in in this movie. The guy gives a fantastic speech towards the end of this movie that made me smile ear to ear. In the end, "Field of Dreams" is a really and truly powerful sports drama. It features a wealth of well developed and executed themes and a heap of great performances. Awesome movie. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    if you are a guy and you dont rate this movie a 10 then you need to grow a pair. just watch how i met your mother the tv show they talk all about how great this movie is in one episode................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    1
    This movie horrified me. Managing to be bathetic and trite while simultaneously being outlandish and grandiose, the movie fell from whatever place it had occupied on the shelf, to a despairing Gehenna at my deepest loathing. The acting was full of overextended, sloppy gesticulations and Wagnerian squawking, ineffectual delivery and spastic presence. The writing was sufferable at best. Truly a disappointment. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    It was a little too much fictional for me, the story wasn't all that good, it was normal, but it was entertaining, but even like that I was very disappointed and was expecting more. Though Kevin and Amy could have done a better job
  7. Jul 24, 2011
    8
    I thought it was a spectacular movie. It was really great and it really taught you the lesson of bringing back the past every once in awhile. It was a cool mixture of drama, mystery, and comedy. It's a classic Kevin Costner movie and will be in my favorites for a long time.
  8. Oct 31, 2010
    8
    not the best family movie, but it has great entertainment and it teaches us about bringing back the past.

    Rating: 88%
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. 60
    If you're in the right mood this movie will bring a tear to your eye. If you're not you're probably already watching "Reservoir Dogs".
  2. Despite a few wrong turns early on, the movie gathers graceful momentum and heads straight to the warm heart of the book - that fond spot located just on the safe side of sentimentality, a feel- good place that doesn't leave any feel-stupid fallout.
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    50
    In spite of a script hobbled with cloying aphorisms and shameless sentimentality, Field of Dreams sustains a dreamy mood in which the idea of baseball is distilled to its purest essence.